DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of invention I claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 8/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that inventions I and III overlap in scope and that invention I/III and invention II relate to the same general concept. This is not found persuasive.
In regards to invention I and III, while the newly amended claim 20 changes the mode of operation such that a second signal indicates an image is available, the inventions still require different modes of operation. For clarification, invention I requires “receiving a first signal …, the first signal indicating that an image is available”. In invention I the second signal is a different signal that is transmitted to a threat detection scanner. However, the mode of operation in invention III requires “receiving a second signal…, the second signal indicating that an image is available”. In invention III, the first signal is a transmission to a threat detection scanner. Inventions I and III appear to have reversed signals and therefore have different modes of operation. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments to not properly show that the inventions are overlapping is scope. If Applicant’ amends the claim to overlap in scope with invention I the Examiner would consider entering the claim into examination at a future point in prosecution.
In regards to invention II, the assertion that the inventions are related to the same general invention concept is not an adequate argument. The Examiner had provided evidence that the invention has a different mode of operation, does not overlap in scope and is not an obvious variant of either of invention I/III. Therefore, without providing evidence to the contrary the argument is not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "ready signal" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For clarification, a ready signal is defined in claim 3, however, claim 5 does not include claim 3 as an intervening claim. The Examiner will interpret the “ready signal” as the “second signal” of claim 2 as this is the signal that is defined in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howarter et al. US 2008/0129821 hereinafter referred to as Howarter in view of Ang et al. US 2018/0167585 hereinafter referred to as Ang.
In regards to claim 1, Howarter teaches:
“A method for remote identification of security threats in an imaged object at a remote viewing location of a plurality of remote viewing locations”
Howarter paragraph [0006] teaches a method for displaying security content on a set top box. The method includes recording security content from a wireless camera in response to camera activity. The user receives an indication that the security content has been received. The security content is communicated to a display. Howarter Figure 1, inter alia, teaches a plurality of cameras located around a home.
“comprising: receiving a first signal over a communication network, the first signal indicating that an image is available, the image being generated by a [camera] located at a separate physical location”
Howarter paragraph [0057] and Figure 6 teaches the wireless device receives a camera alert [Step 604]. The camera alert may be an audible or touch-sensitive signal, such as a vibration, that indicates that a signal is being received from a wireless camera. In another embodiment, Howarter paragraph [0031] teaches Camera 200 may transmit a message containing data like a photograph or video clip via an email message, for example, by sharing access to stored photograph or video contents via a link to uploaded contents or by transmitting a copy of contents through an email message.
“acquiring the image over the communication network in response to the first signal”
Howarter paragraph [0057] and Figure 6 teaches once a camera alert is received in Step 604, the user may select to view the camera view or security content by pushing a button, saying a key word or phrase, or otherwise indicating to the wireless device. In another embodiment, Howarter paragraph [0031] teaches Camera 200 may transmit a message containing data like a photograph or video clip via an email message, for example, by sharing access to stored photograph or video contents via a link to uploaded contents or by transmitting a copy of contents through an email message. The Examiner interprets that accessing stored files via the link is equivalent to acquiring the image over the communications network.
Howarter does not explicitly teach:
“first threat detection scanner” and “generating a threat report based on the image, the threat report indicating an assessment of whether the image depicts a security threat; and transmitting the threat report over the communication report to the first threat detection scanner”
Ang paragraph [0036] teaches Networked Camera 110 may execute a facial detection algorithm to determine the identity of a person who crossed the perimeter. The person may be identified as a threat, in which case a notification may be sent to one or more devices. The Examiner interprets that the network camera which performs facial detection is equivalent to a threat detection scanner. Additionally, the determination that a person is a threat is equivalent to generating a report and sending a notification is equivalent to transmitting the report. The Examiner interprets that modifying Howarter to use the camera of Ang would produce the claimed invention. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Howarter in view of Ang to have included the features of “first threat detection scanner” and “generating a threat report based on the image, the threat report indicating an assessment of whether the image depicts a security threat; and transmitting the threat report over the communication report to the first threat detection scanner” for help with monitoring a surrounding area (Ang [0002]).
In regards to claim 2, Howarter/Ang teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“further comprising transmitting a second signal over the communication network”
Howarter Figure 6 and paragraph [0056] teaches The process begins by a triggered camera recording a camera view [Step 602]. In one embodiment, the camera may be triggered by a doorbell. In another embodiment, the security camera may be motion sensitive for detecting the presence of individuals or motion.
In regards to claim 3, Howarter/Ang teach all the limitations of claim 2 and further teach:
“wherein the second signal is a ready signal transmitted to at least the first threat detection scanner of a plurality of threat detection scanners, the plurality of threat detection scanners being located at one or more separate physical locations from the remote viewing location”
Howarter Figure 6 and paragraph [0056] teaches The process begins by a triggered camera recording a camera view [Step 602]. In one embodiment, the camera may be triggered by a doorbell. In another embodiment, the security camera may be motion sensitive for detecting the presence of individuals or motion. The Examiner interprets that the trigger signal indicates an event is ready to be monitored.
In regards to claim 4, Howarter/Ang teach all the limitations of claim 3 and further teach:
“further comprising receiving the first signal from the first threat detection scanner in response to transmitting the ready signal”
Howarter Figure 6 shows the process of receiving the camera alert 604 only happens after the step of triggering in step 602. Additionally, the Examiner interprets that uploaded photograph or video contents can only be uploaded after the camera is activated, which would be in response to the triggering signal.
In regards to claim 7, Howarter/Ang teach all the limitations of claim 3 and further teach:
“wherein the first signal includes a storage location for the image generated by the first threat detection scanner”
Howarter paragraph [0031] teaches Camera 200 may transmit a message containing data like a photograph or video clip via an email message, for example, by sharing access to stored photograph or video contents via a link to uploaded contents or by transmitting a copy of contents through an email message. The Examiner interprets a link is equivalent to a storge location.
In regards to claim 8, Howarter/Ang teach all the limitations of claim 3 and further teach:
“further comprising obtaining the image from the storage location indicated by the first signal”
Howarter paragraph [0031] teaches Camera 200 may transmit a message containing data like a photograph or video clip via an email message, for example, by sharing access to stored photograph or video contents via a link to uploaded contents or by transmitting a copy of contents through an email message. The Examiner interprets that when the link is pressed the images are obtained from the location.
In regards to claim 9, Howarter/Ang teach all the limitations of claim 3 and further teach:
“wherein acquiring the image further comprises receiving the image from the first threat detection scanner”
Ang teaches in th4e abstract the networked cameras may be able to transmit real-time images and live high-definition (HD) video, as well as email, text, or audio notifications to users regarding the status entry. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Howarter in view of Ang to have included the features of “wherein acquiring the image further comprises receiving the image from the first threat detection scanner” for help with monitoring a surrounding area (Ang [0002]).
In regards to claim 11, Howarter/Ang teach all the limitations of claim 3 and further teach:
“wherein acquiring the image over the communication network further comprises acquiring the image via a direct communication over the communication network”
Howarter paragraph [0038] teaches when the doorbell 308 is pushed or activated by an individual, the doorbell may instruct the front door camera to stream live data, record a video, or take a still image of the person at the door 306 to send to the cell phone 312 or the set top box 103 of FIG. 1. The doorbell 308 may be equipped to send and receive network signals directly.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howarter in view of Ang in view of Nodder US 2021/0274130 hereinafter referred to as Nodder.
In regards to claim 5, Howarter/Ang teach all the limitations of claim 2 but do not explicitly teach:
“wherein the ready signal is transmitted to a server”
Transmitting a signal to a server is a basic form a digital communications. This features does not provide any unpredictable results. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12).
Nodder paragraph [0048] teaches the automation hub 157 sends vehicle data 159 to the monitoring server 160 that includes the vehicle's GPS coordinates, a potential arriving home event (e.g., the GPS coordinates indicate the vehicle 155 entered an area defined by a geofence surrounding the property 102), as well as a status of normal use. Nodder paragraph [0110] teaches similar to scenario 300, based on GPS location information from the vehicle automation hub, the monitoring server may confirm that the vehicle is arriving home. Based on the confirmation, the monitoring server may activate a surveillance mode, which triggers one or more sensors of the vehicle or the property to monitor the environment surrounding the vehicle and home. For example, the monitoring server may trigger a camera on the property, as well as a camera on the vehicle, to record image data. The Examiner interprets that data, such as the GPS coordinates, is equivalent to the ready signal because this signal indicates the system is ready to monitor the property based on the location of the vehicle. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Howarter/Ang in view of Nodder to have included the features of “wherein the ready signal is transmitted to a server” because the owner's comfort and convenience may be enhanced by automating home actions performed by the property monitoring system in response to vehicle data (Nodder [0007]).
In regards to claim 6, Howarter/Ang teach all the limitations of claim 5 but do not explicitly teach:
“further comprising receiving the first signal from the server”
Howarter teaches an embodiment in paragraph [0031] camera 200 may transmit a message containing data like a photograph or video clip via an email message, for example, by sharing access to stored photograph or video contents via a link to uploaded contents or by transmitting a copy of contents through an email message. The Examiner interprets an email with a link to view images is equivalent to a first signal because it is a signal that indicates an image is available.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL E TEITELBAUM, Ph.D./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422