DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 13 recites the limitation "patterned layer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ravi et al. (US 20220189761).
As to claim 1 discloses a semiconductor die having one or more devices comprising: a layer comprising a patterned layer and an epitaxial layer grown by epitaxial lateral overgrowth wherein the patterned layer and the epitaxial layer merge to form a first surface of the layer; one or more epitaxial layers grown overlying the first surface of the layer wherein the one or more devices are formed in or overlying the one or more epitaxial layers; and a metal layer (Schottky barrier) coupled to a second surface of the layer (Fig. 3A-3F, 7A- 7C, 8A-8B; ¶15, 46, 63-65).
As to claim 2, the product of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Ravi discloses that the patterned layer comprises a plurality of trenches wherein the epitaxial layer is merged with the patterned layer (Fig. 3A).
As to claims 5 and 6, the product of claim 2 is taught as seen above. Ravi discloses that the pattern layer comprises of a plurality of pillars and the epitaxial layer merges in between adjacent pillars (Fig. 3A-3F).
As to claims 7 and 8, the product of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Ravi discloses that the layer can comprise of silicon such as silicon carbide (¶36).
As to claim 9, the product of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Ravi disclose that the one or more devices comprises of Schottky Barrier Diodes (¶22; Fig. 3A-3F).
Claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1-2 and 7-8 above.
As to claim 12 the product of claim 10 is taught as seen above. Ravi discloses that a metal layer is coupled to a second surface of the layer of pillars (¶46).
As to claim 13, the product of claim 10 is taught as seen above. Ravi discloses that the epitaxial layers may be single crystal (Abstract; ¶35-36).
As to claim 14, the product of claim 10 is taught as seen above. Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 9 above.
As to claim 15, the product of claim 10 is taught as seen above. Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7 and 8 above.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 2, 7 and 13.
As to claim 17, the product of claim 16 is taught as seen above. Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 9.
As to claim 18, the product of claim 16 is taught as seen above. Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as claim 12.
As to claim 19, the product of claim 16 is taught as seen above. Ravi discloses that the epitaxial layers may comprise of silicon carbide (¶5, 41).
As to claim 20, the product of claim 16 is taught as seen above. Ravi discloses that the patterned layer may be formed by etching (Abstract; ¶57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravi et al. (US 20220189761) in view of Singh et al. (US 20110221039).
As to claim 3, product of claim 2 is taught as seen above. Ravi discloses that the epitaxial layers can be 5-20 microns thick which falls within the recited thickness range (¶16). Ravi discloses that the epitaxial layer can be grown by lateral overgrowth (¶15) but fails to specifically teach or disclose that it comprises of vertical overgrowth as well. Singh discloses a method of making an epitaxial article (Abstract). Singh discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to make an epitaxial layer through vertical growth, lateral growth, or combinations thereof (¶37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the vertical epitaxial growth of Singh in the product taught by Ravi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional epitaxial layer in an epitaxial article. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 4, the product of claim 3 is taught as seen above. Ravi discloses that the epitaxial layers may be single crystal (Abstract; ¶35-36).
As to claim 11, the product of claim 10 is taught as seen above. Claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3 above.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745