DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment filed 01/22/2026:
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are pending.
Claim 2 is cancelled.
Claims 5-7 are allowed.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 5, Examiner respectfully suggests amending the limitation “on the raised plurality of post of the at least one post assembly” on pg. 4 line 5 to “on the raised plurality of posts of the at least one post assembly”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et
al. (CN105711095- Machine translation provided herein), and further in view of Baric et al.
(US20150059503).
Regarding claim 1, Shen teaches a method of operating a three-dimensional (3D) printer
(Abstract: invention further claims a three-dimensional printing method, device and method of
the invention can replace the original print support), the method comprising:
receiving instructions to print a 3D structure, the instructions including a configuration
of the 3D structure;
determining, based on the received instructions, that the 3D structure includes a first
portion thereof that would be separated from a build surface of a platform assembly of the 3D
printer by an air gap along a portion of the build surface (“2) designed by CAD design system of
component three-dimensional entity to STL file format into an upper computer software. 3) the
upper computer layering and slicing the STL file to generate two-dimensional part layer profile
information processing necessary. 4) to ensure the stability of the printing parts are made of,
the upper computer calculates the vertical height of the supporting part distance zero,
converting into 15 corresponding to the corner of the linear stepping motor.”- see pg. 6);
determining coordinates of the portion of the build surface that corresponds to the air
gap (“calculating the supporting part of the three-dimensional model to be printed”- see pg. 4);
raising a post of at least one post assembly of the 3D printer over the portion of the build surface that corresponds to the air gap (“according to the calculating result of the step (2),
controlling the lifting unit drives the supporting plate to move to each desired
supporting position”- see pg. 4 and “supporting device of this invention supporting unit is
spliced by multiple supporting plate is set at the positive lower part of the three-dimensional
molding region of the three-dimensional printer, and is provided with a lifting unit controlling
said supporting plate moves to the three-dimensional model of each desired supporting
position supporting to be printed”- see pg. 3); and
printing the 3D structure (“8) finally form a part of auxiliary support structure, as shown
in FIG. 7, the printer starts printing.”- see pg. 6), wherein the printing of the 3D structure
includes depositing a flowable printing material on the raised post of the at least one post
assembly (“melting the moulded three-dimensional printing (FDM) technology is that the
printing material after heating to temperature of one exceeds the material melting point,
melting material is viscous liquid. extrusion printing material through a nozzle and contact to
the platform or before printing of the material after cooling solidification to form a solid”- see
pg. 1-2 and three-dimensional model 16 in Figure 7);
wherein the platform assembly of the 3D printer includes:
a first platform assembly plate (base plate 14; Figure 1); and
a second platform assembly plate (upper limiting plate 4; Figure 1) separated from the
first platform assembly plate (see base plate 14 separated from upper limiting plate 4 in Figure
1), wherein the second platform assembly plate defines the build surface (see Figure 7),
While Shen teaches a linear actuator raises the post of the at least one post assembly
(“5) the upper computer sends the instruction to the single chip machine, the single chip drives the corresponding position of the linear stepping motor 15 to rotate. 6) motor nut 12 under the
driving of the screw rod of 15 rotation of the linear step motor by feed nut shaft coupling 11 so
as to lift the lifting rod 3 to move.”- see pg. 6), Shen fails to teach the linear actuator of the post
assembly includes a threaded rod, wherein an entire length of the threaded rod extends
between the first and second platform assembly plates, and wherein the threaded rod is
pivotally coupled to the second platform assembly plate. Further, Shen fails to teach the linear
actuator of the post assembly includes a post assembly plate fixedly coupled to said post,
wherein the raising of the post of the at least one post assembly includes rotating the threaded
rod, and wherein the rotation of the threaded rod causes the post assembly plate and the post
of the at least one post assembly to be raised.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to modular platform assemblies for forming
three-dimensional objects (Figure 1 and Abstract: A linear actuator having particular application
for reconfigurable fixtures used to hold large area workpieces), Baric teaches a linear actuator
(Figure 2-6) for raising a post (thrust rod 22; Figure 6) of an at least one post assembly, wherein
the at least one post assembly (see linear actuator in Figure 2-6) includes:
a post (thrust rod 22; Figure 6);
a threaded rod (drive screw 70 with outer threads 74 in Figure 6), wherein an entire
length of the threaded rod extends between first and second platform assembly plates ([0042]
the drive screw 70 extends between the proximal and distal end walls 40 and 42; Figure 6), and
wherein the threaded rod is pivotally coupled to the second platform assembly plate ([0044]
The bearing 78 may be coupled, such as rotatably journaled, to an axially extending reduced
diameter portion 88 of the drive screw 70 at the second end 90. The drive screw 70 may be rotatably connected to the bearing 78 disposed at the second end 86 within the distal end wall
42); and
a post assembly plate (thrust/guide plate 92; Figure 4) fixedly coupled to said post
([0050] The thrust/guide plate 92 forms one-piece with the thrust rod 22. In an embodiment,
the thrust rod is connected to the thrust/guide plate 92 in any suitable manner), wherein the
raising of the post of the at least one post assembly includes rotating the threaded rod, and
wherein the rotation of the threaded rod causes the post assembly plate and the post of the at
least one post assembly to be raised ([0041] rotational movement of the drive screw 70 may
cause the translatable nut member 72 to be driven axially along the longitudinal axis A of the
actuator housing 20. Thereby, axial movement of the thrust rod 22 coupled to the translatable
nut member 72 may be effected, the axial movement of the thrust rod 22 also being along the
center axis of the actuator housing; see Figure 4). The use of a solid thrust rod with an off-set
axis of the drive screw enables the thrust rod per unit size to handle greater loads and be less
expensive as opposed to hollow thrust rods when the drive screw is coaxial with the thrust rod
(see Abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the linear actuator of Shen with the linear
actuator of Baric to yield the predictable result of raising the post over the portion of the build
surface that corresponds to the air gap. There would have been a reasonable expectation of
success to substitute the linear actuator of Shen with the linear actuator of Baric, since both
Shen and Baric are directed to providing modular build surfaces that provide object support
and accommodate for the formation of complex objects (see [0003] of Baric and “supporting plate moves to the three-dimensional model of each desired supporting position supporting to
be printed, so as to replace the existing print support, simple structure, convenient to use,
saving printing material, simplify the printing process and effectively improves the printing
efficiency”- pg. 3 of Shen as well as the complex geometry of object 16 of Shen in Figure 7).
Further, the linear actuator of Baric has a known benefit of handling greater loads and being
less expensive than the hollow thrust rod with coaxial drive screw of Shen.
Regarding claim 3, Shen modified with Baric teaches the method of claim 1.
Further, Baric teaches wherein the post assembly plate (thrust/guide plate 92; Figure 4)
is further slidably connected to an elongated structure (anti-rotation guide 26; Figure 4 and
Figure 6) of the platform assembly to slide along a length of the elongated structure ([0052] he
proximal end 60 of the thrust rod is supported against radial movement via a portion of the
thrust/guide plate 92 abutting an inner wall of the actuator housing 20 and the anti-rotation
guide 26 slidably coupling to the thrust/guide plate 92. During use the anti-rotation guide
passage 102 slides along the anti-rotation guide 26 while the drive screw passage 100 slides
along or adjacent to the drive screw 70) and to avoid rotating together with the threaded rod
when the threaded rod is rotated ([0032] an anti-rotation guide 26 for preventing rotation of
the thrust rod relative to the drive screw assembly 24). The elongated structure prevents
rotation of the post and maintains its alignment along a longitudinal axis to only move along the
longitudinal axis ([0051] The anti-rotation guide 26 prevents rotation of the thrust rod 22 and
allows the thrust rod 22 to maintain alignment with the longitudinal axis A and only move
axially along the longitudinal axis A).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the linear actuator of Shen with the linear
actuator of Baric to yield the predictable result of raising the post over the portion of the build
surface that corresponds to the air gap. There would have been a reasonable expectation of
success to substitute the linear actuator of Shen with the linear actuator of Baric, since both
Shen and Baric are directed to providing modular build surfaces that provide object support
and accommodate for the formation of complex objects (see [0003] of Baric and “supporting
plate moves to the three-dimensional model of each desired supporting position supporting to
be printed, so as to replace the existing print support, simple structure, convenient to use,
saving printing material, simplify the printing process and effectively improves the printing
efficiency”- pg. 3 of Shen as well as the complex geometry of object 16 of Shen in Figure 7).
Further, the elongated structure has a known benefit of preventing rotation of the post and
maintaining its alignment along a longitudinal axis to only move along the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 4, Shen modified with Baric teaches the method of claim 3. Further,
Shen teaches wherein the raised post has a round bar shape (see lifting rod 3 in Figure 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to for an informality (see “Claim Objections” above), but would be allowable if rewritten to correct the informality.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art is: Shen et al. (CN105711095- Machine translation provided herein), and further in view of Baric et al. (US20150059503).
Regarding claim 5, Shen teaches a method of operating a three-dimensional (3D) printer
(Abstract: invention further claims a three-dimensional printing method, device and method of
the invention can replace the original print support), the method comprising:
receiving instructions to print a 3D structure, the instructions including a configuration
of the 3D structure;
determining, based on the received instructions, that the 3D structure includes a first
portion thereof that would be separated from a build surface of a platform assembly of the 3D
printer by an air gap along a portion of the build surface (“2) designed by CAD design system of
component three-dimensional entity to STL file format into an upper computer software. 3) the
upper computer layering and slicing the STL file to generate two-dimensional part layer profile
information processing necessary. 4) to ensure the stability of the printing parts are made of,
the upper computer calculates the vertical height of the supporting part distance zero,
converting into 15 corresponding to the corner of the linear stepping motor.”- see pg. 6);
determining coordinates of the portion of the build surface that corresponds to the air
gap (“calculating the supporting part of the three-dimensional model to be printed”- see pg. 4);
raising a plurality of posts of at least one post assembly of the 3D printer over the portion of the build surface that corresponds to the air gap (“according to the calculating result of the step (2), controlling the lifting unit drives the supporting plate to move to each desired
supporting position”- see pg. 4 and “supporting device of this invention supporting unit is
spliced by multiple supporting plate is set at the positive lower part of the three-dimensional
molding region of the three-dimensional printer, and is provided with a lifting unit controlling
said supporting plate moves to the three-dimensional model of each desired supporting
position supporting to be printed”- see pg. 3; see multiple lifting rods 3 lifted in Figure 7); and
printing the 3D structure (“8) finally form a part of auxiliary support structure, as shown
in FIG. 7, the printer starts printing.”- see pg. 6), wherein the printing of the 3D structure
includes depositing a flowable printing material on the raised plurality of post of the at least one post assembly (“melting the moulded three-dimensional printing (FDM) technology is that the printing material after heating to temperature of one exceeds the material melting point,
melting material is viscous liquid. extrusion printing material through a nozzle and contact to
the platform or before printing of the material after cooling solidification to form a solid”- see
pg. 1-2 and three-dimensional model 16 in Figure 7);
wherein the platform assembly of the 3D printer includes:
a first platform assembly plate (base plate 14; Figure 1); and
a second platform assembly plate (upper limiting plate 4; Figure 1) separated from the
first platform assembly plate (see base plate 14 separated from upper limiting plate 4 in Figure
1), wherein the second platform assembly plate defines the build surface (see Figure 7),
While Shen teaches a linear actuator raises the plurality of posts of the at least one post assembly (“5) the upper computer sends the instruction to the single chip machine, the single chip drives the corresponding position of the linear stepping motor 15 to rotate. 6) motor nut 12 under the driving of the screw rod of 15 rotation of the linear step motor by feed nut shaft coupling 11 so as to lift the lifting rod 3 to move.”- see pg. 6), Shen fails to teach the linear actuator of the post assembly includes a threaded rod, wherein an entire length of the threaded rod extends between the first and second platform assembly plates, and wherein the threaded rod is pivotally coupled to the second platform assembly plate. Further, Shen fails to teach the linear actuator of the post assembly includes a post assembly plate fixedly coupled to said post, wherein the raising of the plurality of posts of the at least one post assembly includes rotating the threaded rod, and wherein the rotation of the threaded rod causes the post assembly plate and the plurality of posts of the at least one post assembly to be raised.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to modular platform assemblies for forming
three-dimensional objects (Figure 1 and Abstract: A linear actuator having particular application
for reconfigurable fixtures used to hold large area workpieces), Baric teaches a linear actuator
(Figure 2-6) for raising a post (thrust rod 22; Figure 6) of an at least one post assembly, wherein the at least one post assembly (see linear actuators 12 in Figure 1-6) includes:
a post (thrust rod 22 of linear actuators; Figure 1 and Figure 6);
a threaded rod (drive screw 70 with outer threads 74 in Figure 6), wherein an entire
length of the threaded rod extends between first and second platform assembly plates ([0042]
the drive screw 70 extends between the proximal and distal end walls 40 and 42; Figure 6), and
wherein the threaded rod is pivotally coupled to the second platform assembly plate ([0044]
The bearing 78 may be coupled, such as rotatably journaled, to an axially extending reduced
diameter portion 88 of the drive screw 70 at the second end 90. The drive screw 70 may be rotatably connected to the bearing 78 disposed at the second end 86 within the distal end wall
42); and
a post assembly plate (thrust/guide plate 92; Figure 4) fixedly coupled to said post ([0050] The thrust/guide plate 92 forms one-piece with the thrust rod 22. In an embodiment, the thrust rod is connected to the thrust/guide plate 92 in any suitable manner), wherein the raising of the post of the at least one post assembly includes rotating the threaded rod, and wherein the rotation of the threaded rod causes the post assembly plate and the post of the at least one post assembly to be raised ([0041] rotational movement of the drive screw 70 may cause the translatable nut member 72 to be driven axially along the longitudinal axis A of the actuator housing 20. Thereby, axial movement of the thrust rod 22 coupled to the translatable nut member 72 may be effected, the axial movement of the thrust rod 22 also being along the center axis of the actuator housing; see Figure 4). The use of a solid thrust rod with an off-set axis of the drive screw enables the thrust rod per unit size to handle greater loads and be less expensive as opposed to hollow thrust rods when the drive screw is coaxial with the thrust rod (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the linear actuator of Shen with the linear
actuator of Baric to yield the predictable result of raising the post over the portion of the build
surface that corresponds to the air gap. There would have been a reasonable expectation of
success to substitute the linear actuator of Shen with the linear actuator of Baric, since both
Shen and Baric are directed to providing modular build surfaces that provide object support
and accommodate for the formation of complex objects (see [0003] of Baric and “supporting plate moves to the three-dimensional model of each desired supporting position supporting to
be printed, so as to replace the existing print support, simple structure, convenient to use,
saving printing material, simplify the printing process and effectively improves the printing
efficiency”- pg. 3 of Shen as well as the complex geometry of object 16 of Shen in Figure 7).
Further, the linear actuator of Baric has a known benefit of handling greater loads and being
less expensive than the hollow thrust rod with coaxial drive screw of Shen.
However, Shen and Baric fail to teach wherein the threaded rod of the at least one post assembly is arranged between the plurality of posts. Shen teaches the threaded rod is arranged within or underneath each plurality of posts (see Figure 4 and Figure 5 of Shen), and Baric teaches the threaded rod is adjacent to a post (thrust rod 22; Figure 3) and between an actuator (housing 20; Figure 3), but fails to teach the threaded rod is arranged between the plurality of posts.
Claims 6 and 7 depend from claim 5 and would, therefore, be allowed pursuant to addressing the objection of claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Shen (CN105711095) and Baric (US20150059503) are not analogous art, and that Baric fails to cure the deficiency of Shen because Baric fails to teach/suggest method steps for using its linear actuator in a 3D printer (see pg. 9-10 of Remarks), Examiner respectfully disagrees. When determining “the relevant field of endeavor” the invention’s subject matter in the patent application should be considered, “including the embodiments, function, and structure of the claimed invention” (see MPEP 2141.01(a)I.). While broadly the claimed invention is directed to a 3D printer, it is also directed to a variously configurable platform assembly holding three-dimensional objects. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would be prompted to look to linear actuators of variously configurable platform assemblies holding three-dimensional objects if there was a teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so.
Regarding Applicant's argument that Examiner fails to provide a teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify Shen with Baric (see pg. 10 of Remarks), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Rejections on obviousness must be supported with “some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness”. An example of a rational that may support a conclusion of obviousness includes simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2141.III.). Therefore, Examiner does not argue whether the linear actuator of Baric can be substituted with the linear actuator of Shen, but argues that a rational to support the conclusion of obviousness is substituting the linear actuator of Baric with the linear actuator of Shen to yield the predictable result of raising and lowering the post over the portion of the build surface to support a three-dimensional object, and that there would have been a reasonable expectation of success for such a substitution (see pg. 6 of Office Action mailed 10/23/2025). Further, Examiner states on pg. 7 of the Office Action mailed 10/23/2025 that the linear actuator of Baric has a known benefit of handling greater loads and being less expensive than a hollow thrust rod with a coaxial drive screw, which is the linear actuator configuration that Shen teaches. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to substitute a hollow thrust rod with a coaxial drive screw, as Shen teaches, with the linear actuator of Baric for the benefit of handling greater loads and reducing costs.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743