DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim objection
Claim 1 recites 1. A power supply system comprising: a battery extender configured to output a first direct current (DC) power; and a power station electrically connected to the battery extender, the power station including: a battery, a DC input port configured to receive the first DC power from the battery extender, an alternating current (AC) input port configured to receive first AC power from an external power supply, a DC output ports configured to provide a second DC power to a first connected device, and an AC output ports configured to provide second an AC power to a second connected device.
DC outputs are plural and therefore, cannot be claimed in a singular form.
AC outputs are plural and therefore, cannot be claimed in a singular form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,6-9,12,16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pauken et al. (US 2024/0120757).
Regarding claim 1, Pauken et al. teaches a power supply system in (see fig. 9) comprising: a battery extender (148) configured to output a first direct current (DC) power (see 108 of fig. 4, shown as 108/120 in fig. 9) mounted on a power station in (see fig. 9); and a power station (see figs. 1, 2, shown as 20 in fig. 9) electrically connected to the battery extender,
the power station including:
a battery (see para 0027),
a DC input port (68, see para 0035, see fig. 4 which shows an expansion battery) configured to receive the first DC power from the battery extender (see para 0051—0053) ,
an alternating current (AC) input port (70, 78) configured to receive first AC power from an external power supply (see fig. 2 @ ac charging receptacles, 70, para 0036-0037),
a DC output ports (52 of figs.) configured to provide a second DC power to a first connected device, possibly via a DC/DC, (para 0025), and an AC output ports (54) configured to provide second an AC power to a second connected device in (see para 0028) wherein one or more AC and/or DC receptacles can be used to output power to AC and DC loads.
Regarding claim 6, Pauken et al. teaches wherein the power station further includes a solar panel configured to generate a third DC power in (see para 0037).
Regarding claim 7, Pauken et al. teaches a power supply system wherein the power station further includes a station housing having an upper portion, wherein the upper portion includes a contour (34) extending from the upper portion, wherein the battery extender includes an extender housing having a lower portion (see 138, 142 of fig. 5, para 0059), wherein the lower portion includes a recess configured to receive the contour.
Contour:
mold into a specific shape, especially one designed to fit into something else.
Regarding claim 8, Pauken et al. teaches the power supply system of claim 1, further including a charging accessory (146) connected between the battery extender (148) and the power station (20), wherein the charging accessory supplements “supplies” the first DC power provided by the battery extender to the power station in (see para 0053)
Regarding claim 9, Pauken et al. teaches the power supply system wherein the power station further includes a display situated on a housing of the power station, wherein the display (element 58 of power station) is configured to display information related to the battery (see para 0029).
Regarding claim 12, Pauken teaches wherein the power station further includes a controller (control system, 38, 46 of figs.) configured to control a flow of power from the DC input port and the AC input port to the DC output port and the AC output port, and wherein the controller is configured to control a flow of power from and to the battery (see para 0027-0028, 0035, 0051).
Regarding claim 16, Pauken appears to teach the output of an external battery port of a power station can be enhanced with a DC/DC power converter electrically connected between the battery extender and the power station (see para 0041), given that the battery extender (146) for instance could include a voltage converter (DC/DC converter).
Regarding claim 17, Pauken et al. teaches a power station comprising:
a plurality of batteries (see para 0027);
a direct-current (DC) input port (68) configured to receive a DC power from an external battery extender (see para 0035, 0051—0053) ;
an alternating current (AC) input port (70, 78) configured to receive a first AC power from an external power supply; (see fig. 2 @ ac charging receptacles, 70, para 0036-0037),
a DC output port (52) configured to provide a second DC power to a first connected device; an AC output port (54) configured to provide a second AC power to a second connected device (para 0025, 0028); and
a battery management system configured to charge the plurality of batteries in response to receiving power from at least one selected a group consisting of the DC input port and the AC input port (see 0035-0040, 0027-0029).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 USC 103 over Pauken et al. (US 2024/0120757) in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0102691).
Regarding claims 2-3, Pauken teaches a battery extender or expansion but fails to wherein the battery extender includes a non- removable battery or removable battery within a housing of the battery extender configured to removably receive a battery pack when the battery is removable or replaceable.
Wang teaches a battery expansion unit in (see para 0037) wherein a battery in an expansion or extender can be non-removable or replaceable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wang into that of Pauken thus making it possible to use a desired battery based on the capacity of the battery type and its associated usage/function in a load wherein in the case of a replaceable battery giving a user the option to replace depleted batteries or in the case of non-removable batteries, avoid cost associated with replacing the batteries with enhanced durability.
Claims 4-5 and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 over Pauken et al. (US 2024/0120757) in view of Rich et al. (US 2012/0098478)
Regarding claims 4-5 and 20, Pauken et al. fails to teaches a power station or charger wherein the battery is a non-removable battery within a housing of the power station or wherein the battery is a battery pack removably connected to the power station.
Rich et al. teaches a power station or charger wherein the battery is a non-removable battery within a housing of the power station or wherein the battery is a battery pack removably connected to the power station in (see para 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Rich into that of Pauken thus making it possible to use a desired battery based on the capacity of the battery type and its associated usage/function in a load wherein in the case of a replaceable battery giving a user the option to replace depleted batteries or in the case of non-removable batteries, avoid cost associated with replacing the batteries with enhanced durability.
Regarding claim 20, see the explanation as set forth above. The combination teaches wherein the plurality of batteries are non-removeable batteries within a housing of the power station.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 USC 103 over Pauken et al. (US 2024/0120757) in view of Deighton et al. (US 2023/0123166).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Pauken et al. fails to teach wherein the power station further includes a wireless charging station configured to provide power wirelessly to a device situated approximate to the wireless charging station as claimed in claim 10 and wherein the power station further includes a station housing having an upper portion, wherein the wireless charging station is embedded within the upper portion as claimed in claim 11.
Deighton teaches a power station such as shown in (see fig. 1 @130, fig. 2A @ 204) with inductive coupling coils or a wireless charging element embedded in the upper portion of the power station in (see para 0029, 0044), wherein powered devices (102) can be charged or powered.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Deighton into Pauken thus making it possible to charge devices by mounting them on the top of a charging station, conventionally known in the art, without wires or by getting rid of charging cables for convenience and for a better coupling effect.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 USC 103 over Pauken et al. (US 2024/0120757) in view of Gao et al. (US 2025/0087813).
Regarding claim 13, Pauken teaches a power station but fails to teach wherein, when the first connected device is connected to a first DC output port, the controller is configured to prioritize the flow of power to the first DC output port, and provide remaining input power from the DC input port and the AC input port to the battery.
Gao et al. teaches battery management module which can provide power from both an AC input and DC input to power loads in (see para 0113, 0167) and prioritize power to certain loads. Note that the battery when being charged can be classified a load and according to Gao, loads can be assigned a priority therefore, a load of the highest priority can be powered and then the battery “load” as a second priority can be considered, given the teaching of Gao et al..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Gao in that of the claimed invention thus making it possible to prioritize the powering or charging of loads based on criticality such as keeping certain loads functioning as a priority and the charging or powering alternative loads with remaining power.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 USC 103 over Pauken et al. (US 2024/0120757) in view of Harty (US 2013/0113413).
Regarding claim 14, Pauken seems to infer in (see para 0027, 0028, 0038) that AC input and a DC input can supply AC and DC power to charge a battery and which can be then used to power both DC and AC loads via the respective ports.
However, Pauken fails to teach explicitly wherein power from the DC input port, the AC input port, and the battery is combined and provided to at least one selected from a group consisting of the first connected device and the second connected device.
Harty teaches a power station wherein power from different sources including DC source, an AC source and that of a battery can be used to charge or power a load (vehicle battery) in (see fig. 1, para 0025-0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Harty into that of Pauken thus making it possible to provide multiple sources as the best option for power redundancy to meet the power needs for a plurality of loads with different types of power sources and power requirement as taught by Harty with flexible options.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 USC 103 over Pauken et al. (US 2024/0120757) in view of Tajima (US 2022/0239146).
Regarding claim 15, Pauken teaches a battery extender and a power station together with an AC and DC port but fails to teach explicitly wherein the power station further includes an inverter module converted to convert power received from the DC input port and the AC input port.
Tajima teaches in (see figs.) wherein a DC and AC input are coupled to an inverter system (1) which includes a converter and DC/AC for coupling an AC source to a load.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Tajima into Pauken et al. thus making it possible to power AC loads with a plurality of power sources in a redundant manner should in case one of the sources fails.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 USC 103 over Pauken et al. (US 2024/0120757) in view of Liu et al. (US 2025/0167565) and further in view of Uchida (US 2014/0021923).
Regarding claim 18, Pauken teaches charging of a plurality of batteries but fails to teach wherein, when in a first charging mode, the battery management system is configured to: charge a first battery of the plurality of batteries having a lowest state of charge; and charge, in response to the first battery being charged to a constant voltage charge state, a second battery of the plurality of batteries.
Liu teaches a battery management in (see para 0202-0216, 0256) that batteries with the lowest SOC can be identified for charging and the others on the list can be charged afterwards.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Liu into that of Pauken thus making it possible to charge the least charged batteries as a priority to avoid imbalance in batteries and enhance longevity of batteries and to protect loads.
The combination fails to teach charging batteries based on a constant voltage mode or state.
Uchida teaches a battery charging management wherein batteries can be charged using a constant voltage method in (see para 0113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Uchida into that of the combination for the advantage associated with constant voltage charging which is to avoid overcharging, smooth charging and battery longevity.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 USC 103 over Pauken et al. (US 2024/0120757) in view of Liu et al. (US 2025/0167565)
Regarding claim 19, Pauken fails to teach wherein, when in a first discharging mode, the battery management system is configured to: discharge a first battery of the plurality of batteries having a highest voltage; and discharge, in response to the voltage of the first battery being equal to a voltage of a second battery, both the first battery and the second battery.
Liu et al. teaches equalizing of batteries wherein a battery with the highest SOC can be discharged so that a plurality of batteries are balanced or equalized in (see figs. 7-10) in order making sure all the batteries have the same SOC after which they can be used in powering loads.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Liu into that of Pauken thus making it possible to avoid imbalances in batteries which can affect/damage a load and also, enhance the longevity of batteries by keeping them within the same range for charging and/or discharging.
Liu et al. teaches equalizing of batteries wherein a battery with the highest SOC can be discharged so that a plurality of batteries are balanced or equalized in (see figs. 7-10) in order making sure all the batteries have the same SOC after which they can be used in powering loads.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Liu into that of Pauken thus making it possible to avoid imbalances in batteries which can affect/damage a load and also, enhance the longevity of batteries by keeping them within the same range for charging and/or discharging.
June 2, 2026
/ROBERT L DEBERADINIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836