DETAILED ACTION
Notice on Prior Art Rejections
Continuation Application
3. This application is a Continuation of 18/595,574, filed 03/05/2024, now U.S. Patent # 12,339,134. See MPEP §201.07. In accordance with MPEP §609.02 A. 2 and MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), the Examiner has reviewed and considered the prior art cited in the Parent Application. Also in accordance with MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), all documents cited or considered ‘of record’ in the Parent Application are now considered cited or ‘of record’ in this application. Additionally, Applicant(s) are reminded that a listing of the information cited or ‘of record’ in the Parent Application need not be resubmitted in this application unless Applicant(s) desire the information to be printed on a patent issuing from this application. See MPEP §609.02 A. 2. Finally, Applicant(s) are reminded that the prosecution history of the Parent Application is relevant in this application. See e.g., Microsoft Corp. v. Multi-Tech Sys., Inc., 357 F.3d 1340, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1815, 1823 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (holding that statements made in prosecution of one patent are relevant to the scope of all sibling patents).
Status of Claims
4. This Office Action is in response to the applicant's application filed June 18, 2025. Claims 21-40 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Objections
5. Claims 21-40 recite “GPS”. Acronyms must be defined when used in limitations for a clear interpretation of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 21-40 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent # 12,339,134. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the invention is the same.
App# 19/242,510
U.S. Patent # 12,339,134
Claim 1: A computer-implemented method comprising: generating a transportation match comprising a location, a requester device, and a provider device corresponding to a provider vehicle;
Claim 1: A computer-implemented method comprising: generating a transportation match between a requester device corresponding to a requester and a provider device corresponding to a provider;
determining, based on GPS information of the provider device, a provider location of the provider vehicle;
determining, based on GPS information of the requester device, a location of the requester device corresponding to the requester;
generating an augmented reality route element comprising a maneuver for the provider vehicle to execute between the provider location and the location corresponding to the transportation match;
generating an augmented reality passenger location element for display at the location of the requester device;
and providing the augmented reality route element for display via the provider device at a location corresponding to the maneuver within a real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device.
and providing the augmented reality passenger location element for display via a client device of the provider at the location of the requester device within a real-world environmental depiction visible via the client device.
7. Claims 22-27 depend from claim 21 and therefore include the same limitation as claim 21 so they are rejected for the same reason.
8. Independent claims 28 and 35 are similar to claim 21 so they are rejected for the same reasons as claim 21.
9. Claims 29-34 and 36-40 depend from independent claims 28 and 35 respectively and therefore include the same limitation as claims 28 and 35 so they are rejected for the same reason.
Judicial Exception Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
11. Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 21 recites “generating a transportation match comprising a location, a requester device, and a provider device corresponding to a provider vehicle; determining, based on GPS information of the provider device, a provider location of the provider vehicle; generating an augmented reality route element comprising a maneuver for the provider vehicle to execute between the provider location and the location corresponding to the transportation match; and providing the augmented reality route element for display via the provider device at a location corresponding to the maneuver within a real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device.”.
The limitations of claim 21 above, as drafted, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a requester device” nothing in the claims elements precludes the steps from practically being performed as part of human activities. For example, “providing the augmented reality route element for display via the provider device at a location corresponding to the maneuver within a real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device” in the context of this claim encompasses the user the user manually or mentally thinking about an element associated with the transportation vehicle. Similarly, the limitation of “generating an augmented reality route element comprising a maneuver”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind where a person is mentally able to generate a travel route. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The displaying step is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of displaying), and amounts to mere post solution displaying, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, the claim lack of additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, there are no additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. The dependent claims 22-27 are also rejected for their dependency upon claim 21. Claims 28-40 recite similar limitations and they are rejected for similar reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
13. Claims 21, 28, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
14. Claims 21, 28, and 35 recite “an augmented reality route element comprising a maneuver for the provider vehicle”. It is unclear what the reality route element is. Neither the claims nor the specification provide sufficient detail such that a person of ordinary skill would understand precisely how an augmented reality route element is generated and the meaning of it. As a result of this ambiguity, the precise boundary of the claim cannot be determined. Therefore, the claim is rejected as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Sarawgi et al, US 2016/0034828, in view of Beaurepaire et al. US 2017/0103571, hereinafter referred to as Sarawgi and Beaurepaire, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Sarawgi discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
generating a transportation match comprising a location, a requester device, and a provider device corresponding to a provider vehicle (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 14, “The request for transport service can include a requested pickup location data point. The system can identify a predetermined location data point associated with the requested pickup location data point”), (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 18, “the application can display a map user interface in which the current location of the user's device is shown. A graphic indicator (referred to herein as a "pin") can also be shown on the map user interface representing the location that the user wishes to be picked up at.”);
determining, based on GPS information of the provider device, a provider location of the provider vehicle (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 123, “automatically retrieve or receive a location data point 795 (such as a location data point corresponding to the current location of the computing device 700 that is determined from the GPS component 770), and (ii) provide the location data point 795 to the transport arrangement system”);
generating an augmented reality route element comprising a maneuver for the provider vehicle to execute between the provider location and the location corresponding to the transportation match (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 64, “the driver service application 191 can transmit an acceptance 195 and can display (through interaction with or use of other applications and/or services) a route and/or directions to the predetermined location data point 194 as opposed to the pickup location data point 184”); and
providing the augmented reality route element for display via the provider device at a location corresponding to the maneuver within a real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 109, “user interface showing the driver's current location, and in some examples, through interaction with another application (e.g., a map application or routing application), display a route and/or tum-by-turn directions from the driver's current location to the predetermined location data point.”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly disclose providing the augmented reality route element for display.
However, Beaurepaire teaches providing the augmented reality route element for display (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include providing the augmented reality route element for display as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 22, Sarawgi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 21, further comprising: determine, based on GPS information of the requester device, a requester location of the requester device; and determining the maneuver for the augmented reality route element based on the requester location of the requester device and the provider location of the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 20, “When the user is in the process of selecting the pickup location, e.g., is moving the pin in the area on the map user interface, the system can provide the one or more proposed location data points to be displayed on the map user interface, which each indicates a suitable location for initiating the transport service”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly disclose determining the maneuver for the augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches determining the maneuver for the augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include determining the maneuver for the augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 23, Sarawgi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 21, further comprising: providing, for display via the provider device, the augmented reality route element together with an augmented reality requester location element at the location of the requester device within the real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 20, “When the user is in the process of selecting the pickup location, e.g., is moving the pin in the area on the map user interface, the system can provide the one or more proposed location data points to be displayed on the map user interface, which each indicates a suitable location for initiating the transport service”), (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 19, “the system can cause the service application to automatically position the pin on the map user interface to a position corresponding to the clustered location data point associated with that particular region”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly disclose augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 24, Sarawgi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 21, further comprising: determining the maneuver for the augmented reality route element based on a dropoff location and the provider location of the provider device; and determining the maneuver for the augmented reality route element based on the dropoff location of the requester device and the provider location of the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 36, “The trip monitor can continue to monitor the progress of the transport service by receiving time and/or location information from the driver device 190 via the driver service application 191, including when the transport service has been completed at the destination (where the user is dropped off).”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly disclose the maneuver for the augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches the maneuver for the augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include the maneuver for the augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 25, Sarawgi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 24, further comprising: providing, for display via the provider device, the augmented reality route element together with an augmented reality dropoff location element at the dropoff location within the real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 36, “The trip monitor can continue to monitor the progress of the transport service by receiving time and/or location information from the driver device 190 via the driver service application 191, including when the transport service has been completed at the destination (where the user is dropped off).”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly the augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches the augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include the augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 26, Sarawgi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 21, further comprising generating the augmented reality route element by generating a visible three-dimensional shape for display at the location corresponding to the maneuver within the real-world environmental depiction (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 14, “The request for transport service can include a requested pickup location data point. The system can identify a predetermined location data point associated with the requested pickup location data point”), (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 18, “the application can display a map user interface in which the current location of the user's device is shown. A graphic indicator (referred to herein as a "pin") can also be shown on the map user interface representing the location that the user wishes to be picked up at.”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly the augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches the augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include the augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 27, Sarawgi discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 21, further comprising providing, for display via the provider device, the augmented reality route element together with an augmented reality pickup location element within the real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 20, “When the user is in the process of selecting the pickup location, e.g., is moving the pin in the area on the map user interface, the system can provide the one or more proposed location data points to be displayed on the map user interface, which each indicates a suitable location for initiating the transport service”), (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 19, “the system can cause the service application to automatically position the pin on the map user interface to a position corresponding to the clustered location data point associated with that particular region”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly the augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches the augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include the augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 28, Sarawgi discloses a system comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to:
generate a transportation match comprising a location, a requester device, and a provider device corresponding to a provider vehicle (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 14, “The request for transport service can include a requested pickup location data point. The system can identify a predetermined location data point associated with the requested pickup location data point”), (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 18, “the application can display a map user interface in which the current location of the user's device is shown. A graphic indicator (referred to herein as a "pin") can also be shown on the map user interface representing the location that the user wishes to be picked up at.”);
determine, based on GPS information of the provider device, a provider location of the provider vehicle (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 123, “automatically retrieve or receive a location data point 795 (such as a location data point corresponding to the current location of the computing device 700 that is determined from the GPS component 770), and (ii) provide the location data point 795 to the transport arrangement system”);
generate an augmented reality route element comprising a maneuver for the provider vehicle to execute between the provider location and the location corresponding to the transportation match (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 64, “the driver service application 191 can transmit an acceptance 195 and can display (through interaction with or use of other applications and/or services) a route and/or directions to the predetermined location data point 194 as opposed to the pickup location data point 184”); and
provide the augmented reality route element for display via the provider device at a location corresponding to the maneuver within a real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 109, “user interface showing the driver's current location, and in some examples, through interaction with another application (e.g., a map application or routing application), display a route and/or tum-by-turn directions from the driver's current location to the predetermined location data point.”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly disclose provide the augmented reality route element for display.
However, Beaurepaire teaches providing the augmented reality route element for display (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include providing the augmented reality route element for display as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 29, Sarawgi discloses the system of claim 28, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: determine, based on GPS information of the requester device, a requester location of the requester device; and determine the maneuver for the augmented reality route element based on the requester location of the requester device and the provider location of the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 20, “When the user is in the process of selecting the pickup location, e.g., is moving the pin in the area on the map user interface, the system can provide the one or more proposed location data points to be displayed on the map user interface, which each indicates a suitable location for initiating the transport service”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly disclose determining the maneuver for the augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches determining the maneuver for the augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include determining the maneuver for the augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 30, Sarawgi discloses the system of claim 28, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to provide, for display via the provider device, the augmented reality route element together with an augmented reality requester location element at the location of the requester device within the real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 20, “When the user is in the process of selecting the pickup location, e.g., is moving the pin in the area on the map user interface, the system can provide the one or more proposed location data points to be displayed on the map user interface, which each indicates a suitable location for initiating the transport service”), (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 19, “the system can cause the service application to automatically position the pin on the map user interface to a position corresponding to the clustered location data point associated with that particular region”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly disclose augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 31, Sarawgi discloses the system of claim 28, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: determine the maneuver for the augmented reality route element based on a dropoff location and the provider location of the provider device; and determine the maneuver for the augmented reality route element based on the dropoff location of the requester device and the provider location of the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 36, “The trip monitor can continue to monitor the progress of the transport service by receiving time and/or location information from the driver device 190 via the driver service application 191, including when the transport service has been completed at the destination (where the user is dropped off).”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly disclose the maneuver for the augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches the maneuver for the augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include the maneuver for the augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 32, Sarawgi discloses the system of claim 31, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to provide, for display via the provider device, the augmented reality route element together with an augmented reality dropoff location element at the dropoff location within the real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 36, “The trip monitor can continue to monitor the progress of the transport service by receiving time and/or location information from the driver device 190 via the driver service application 191, including when the transport service has been completed at the destination (where the user is dropped off).”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly the augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches the augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include the augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 33, Sarawgi discloses the system of claim 28, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to generate the augmented reality route element by generating a visible three-dimensional shape for display at the location corresponding to the maneuver within the real-world environmental depiction (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 14, “The request for transport service can include a requested pickup location data point. The system can identify a predetermined location data point associated with the requested pickup location data point”), (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 18, “the application can display a map user interface in which the current location of the user's device is shown. A graphic indicator (referred to herein as a "pin") can also be shown on the map user interface representing the location that the user wishes to be picked up at.”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly the augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches the augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include the augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 34, Sarawgi discloses the system of claim 28, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to provide, for display via the provider device, the augmented reality route element together with an augmented reality pickup location element within the real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 20, “When the user is in the process of selecting the pickup location, e.g., is moving the pin in the area on the map user interface, the system can provide the one or more proposed location data points to be displayed on the map user interface, which each indicates a suitable location for initiating the transport service”), (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 19, “the system can cause the service application to automatically position the pin on the map user interface to a position corresponding to the clustered location data point associated with that particular region”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly the augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches the augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include the augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 35, Sarawgi discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing device to:
generate a transportation match comprising a location, a requester device, and a provider device corresponding to a provider vehicle (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 14, “The request for transport service can include a requested pickup location data point. The system can identify a predetermined location data point associated with the requested pickup location data point”), (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 18, “the application can display a map user interface in which the current location of the user's device is shown. A graphic indicator (referred to herein as a "pin") can also be shown on the map user interface representing the location that the user wishes to be picked up at.”);
determine, based on GPS information of the provider device, a provider location of the provider vehicle (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 123, “automatically retrieve or receive a location data point 795 (such as a location data point corresponding to the current location of the computing device 700 that is determined from the GPS component 770), and (ii) provide the location data point 795 to the transport arrangement system”);
generate an augmented reality route element comprising a maneuver for the provider vehicle to execute between the provider location and the location corresponding to the transportation match (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 64, “the driver service application 191 can transmit an acceptance 195 and can display (through interaction with or use of other applications and/or services) a route and/or directions to the predetermined location data point 194 as opposed to the pickup location data point 184”); and
provide the augmented reality route element for display via the provider device at a location corresponding to the maneuver within a real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 109, “user interface showing the driver's current location, and in some examples, through interaction with another application (e.g., a map application or routing application), display a route and/or tum-by-turn directions from the driver's current location to the predetermined location data point.”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly disclose provide the augmented reality route element for display.
However, Beaurepaire teaches providing the augmented reality route element for display (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include providing the augmented reality route element for display as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 36, Sarawgi discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 35, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to: determine, based on GPS information of the requester device, a requester location of the requester device; and determine the maneuver for the augmented reality route element based on the requester location of the requester device and the provider location of the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 20, “When the user is in the process of selecting the pickup location, e.g., is moving the pin in the area on the map user interface, the system can provide the one or more proposed location data points to be displayed on the map user interface, which each indicates a suitable location for initiating the transport service”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly disclose determining the maneuver for the augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches determining the maneuver for the augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include determining the maneuver for the augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 37, Sarawgi discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 35, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to provide, for display via the provider device, the augmented reality route element together with an augmented reality requester location element at the location of the requester device within the real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 20, “When the user is in the process of selecting the pickup location, e.g., is moving the pin in the area on the map user interface, the system can provide the one or more proposed location data points to be displayed on the map user interface, which each indicates a suitable location for initiating the transport service”), (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 19, “the system can cause the service application to automatically position the pin on the map user interface to a position corresponding to the clustered location data point associated with that particular region”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly disclose augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 38, Sarawgi discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 35, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to: determine the maneuver for the augmented reality route element based on a dropoff location and the provider location of the provider device; determine the maneuver for the augmented reality route element based on the dropoff location of the requester device and the provider location of the provider device; and provide, for display via the provider device, the augmented reality route element together with an augmented reality dropoff location element at the dropoff location within the real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 36, “The trip monitor can continue to monitor the progress of the transport service by receiving time and/or location information from the driver device 190 via the driver service application 191, including when the transport service has been completed at the destination (where the user is dropped off).”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly disclose the maneuver for the augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches the maneuver for the augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include the maneuver for the augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 39, Sarawgi discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 35, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to generate the augmented reality route element by generating a visible three-dimensional shape for display at the location corresponding to the maneuver within the real-world environmental depiction (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 14, “The request for transport service can include a requested pickup location data point. The system can identify a predetermined location data point associated with the requested pickup location data point”), (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 18, “the application can display a map user interface in which the current location of the user's device is shown. A graphic indicator (referred to herein as a "pin") can also be shown on the map user interface representing the location that the user wishes to be picked up at.”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly the augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches the augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include the augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 40, Sarawgi discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 35, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to provide, for display via the provider device, the augmented reality route element together with an augmented reality pickup location element within the real-world environmental depiction visible via the provider device (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 20, “When the user is in the process of selecting the pickup location, e.g., is moving the pin in the area on the map user interface, the system can provide the one or more proposed location data points to be displayed on the map user interface, which each indicates a suitable location for initiating the transport service”), (See at least fig 1-6, ¶ 19, “the system can cause the service application to automatically position the pin on the map user interface to a position corresponding to the clustered location data point associated with that particular region”).
Sarawgi fails to explicitly the augmented reality route element.
However, Beaurepaire teaches the augmented reality route element (See at least fig 1-9, ¶ 40, “server 125 generates a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record. A predicted route associated with the predictive vehicle navigation data records may correspond to a path in the virtual reality environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sarawgi and include the augmented reality route element as taught by Beaurepaire because it would provide adapting a first element of a virtual reality environment based on the received vehicle state sensor data record, and generating a second element of the virtual reality environment based on the received predictive vehicle navigation data record (Beaurepaire, ¶ 4).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUIS A MARTINEZ BORRERO whose email is luis.martinezborrero@uspto.gov and telephone number is (571)272-4577. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:00-5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, HUNTER LONSBERRY can be reached on (571)272-7298. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LUIS A MARTINEZ BORRERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665