DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,313,141. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims cover the same scope but the instant application removes the language pertaining to the applied force.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,828,080. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims cover the same scope but the instant application removes the language pertaining to the applied force.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,359,455. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims cover the same scope but the instant application removes the language pertaining to the applied force.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA 2,509,313 (hereinafter Bertoni) in view of US Patent 3,167,209 (hereinafter Jones).
Regarding claim 1, Bertoni discloses an apparatus for preventing a fluid from entering a basin (fig. 8, 9), the apparatus comprising: a containment tube (130) configured to fit within the basin (20) and receive a filling fluid (air), further comprising: a top portion (132) that spans substantially all of a cross-section of an opening of the basin; a base portion (134) ; a side portion (136) that connects the top portion and the base portion; and a protective sleeve (puncture resistant outermost layer such as Kevlar) that encompasses at least a portion of the containment tube, wherein the protective sleeve is comprised of a water-tight material (air impermeable inner layer of vinyl). Bertoni teaches waterproof seams between the top, side, and bottom portions (“The fluid impermeable layers of each wall panel may be sealingly joined along their peripheral portions so as to define a single or alternately multiple independent inflatable chambers”) but fails to show the base portion is assembled piecewise from a plurality of pieces of material and having waterproof seams that connect the plurality of pieces of material. Attention is turned to Jones which shows assembling a tank liner using a plurality of pieces of material (fig. 13). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the base portion of Bertoni to utilize a plurality of pieces of material rather than a single sheet depending on size and manufacturing considerations as is known in the art and evidenced by the teachings of Jones mentioned above. Whether a plurality of smaller pieces are welded together or a single larger piece is utilized to make the containment tube wall portions fails to patentably distinguish as the end result of an air-tight chamber is created.
Regarding claim 2, Bertoni discloses wherein the protective sleeve encompasses the side portion of the containment tube (“In an alternate possible construction, however, the wall panels 132, 134 may each be formed as a multiple-ply layer construct and include a puncture resistant outermost layer such as Kevlar TM or the like, and an air impermeable inner layer of vinyl or the like.”).
Regarding claim 3, Bertoni discloses wherein the protective sleeve provides a protective barrier between one or more walls of the basin and the containment tube (“as the swimming pool cover 130 inflates, the bottom wall panel 134 and peripheral edge 136 are pushed radially outwardly, pressing against the vertical sides of the pool 20” – the Kevlar outermost layer is the protective barrier).
Regarding claim 4, Bertoni discloses wherein the protective sleeve encompasses the base portion of the containment tube (“In an alternate possible construction, however, the wall panels 132, 134 may each be formed as a multiple-ply layer construct and include a puncture resistant outermost layer such as Kevlar TM or the like, and an air impermeable inner layer of vinyl or the like.”).
Regarding claim 5, Bertoni discloses wherein the protective sleeve provides a protective barrier between one or more walls of the basin and the containment tube (“as the swimming pool cover 130 inflates, the bottom wall panel 134 and peripheral edge 136 are pushed radially outwardly, pressing against the vertical sides of the pool 20” – the Kevlar outermost layer is the protective barrier).
Regarding claim 6, Bertoni discloses wherein the top portion (132) comprises a first valve (142) configured to receive the filling fluid.
Regarding claim 7, Bertoni fails to show wherein the top portion comprises a second valve configured for draining the filling fluid. Attention is turned again to Jones which shows including a second valve (84) fir draining filling fluid as well as a first valve (74) for filling fluid (col. 5, ln. 45-54). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the top portion of Bertoni to include a second valve for draining filling fluid to allow for more flexibility in controlling the volume of the fluid in the containment tube as evidenced by the teachings of Jones mentioned above.
Regarding claim 8, Bertoni discloses wherein a part of the side portion (136) is in contact with part of one or more walls of the basin (fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the basin is an empty fracking pool if a user so desires as this is merely intended use for the basin, and Bertoni meets all the structural limitations presented in the claims.
Regarding claim 11, Bertoni discloses wherein the basin is an empty swimming pool (the swimming pool is capable of being empty if a user so desires).
Regarding claim 12, Bertoni discloses a method for creating a water-tight containment tube, the method comprising: creating a top portion (32) that spans substantially all of a cross-section of an opening of a basin (fig. 5); creating a bottom portion (34) impermeable layers of each wall panel may be sealingly joined along their peripheral portions “); and encompassing at least a portion of the containment tube with a protective sleeve, wherein the protective sleeve is comprised of a water-tight material (“In an alternate possible construction, however, the wall panels 132, 134 may each be formed as a multiple-ply layer construct and include a puncture resistant outermost layer such as Kevlar TM or the like, and an air impermeable inner layer of vinyl or the like.”). Bertoni teaches waterproof seams between the top, side, and bottom portions (“The fluid impermeable layers of each wall panel may be sealingly joined along their peripheral portions so as to define a single or alternately multiple independent inflatable chambers”) but fails to show the base portion is assembled piecewise from a plurality of pieces of material and having waterproof seams that connect the plurality of pieces of material. Attention is turned to Jones which shows assembling a tank liner using a plurality of pieces of material (fig. 13). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the base portion of Bertoni to utilize a plurality of pieces of material rather than a single sheet depending on size and manufacturing considerations as is known in the art and evidenced by the teachings of Jones mentioned above. Whether a plurality of smaller pieces are welded together or a single larger piece is utilized to make the containment tube wall portions fails to patentably distinguish as the end result of an air-tight chamber is created.
Regarding claim 13, Bertoni discloses further comprising: placing the water-tight containment tube within the basin (“In use, the cover 30 is initially unrolled from an inflated state and positioned so that the bottom wall 34 is stretched over the water surface 16 of the swimming pool 20” par. 20); filling the water-tight containment tube with a filling fluid (“The AC air pump 50 is then connected to the hose coupling 49 and the pump 50 is activated to inflate the bladder 48 to the desired positive pressure“ par. 20), such that some of the side portion is in contact with part (46) of one or more walls of the basin (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Bertoni fails to show a step of filling the water-tight containment tube with a filling fluid prior to placing the water-tight containment tube within the basin; testing the seals for leaks; and draining the water-tight containment tube, wholly or partially. Attention is turned again to Jones which teaches checking a liner for leaks and then being placed in use (col. 6, ln. 19-20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include a step of filling the water-tight containment tube with a filling fluid prior to placing the water-tight containment tube within the basin; testing the seals for leaks; and draining the water-tight containment tube, wholly or partially to test the device and ensure it works properly as is known in the art and evidenced by the teachings of Jones mentioned above.
Regarding claim 15, Bertoni discloses wherein the protective sleeve encompasses the side portion of the containment tube and provides a protective barrier between the one or more walls of the basin and the water-tight containment tube (“In an alternate possible construction, however, the wall panels 132, 134 may each be formed as a multiple-ply layer construct and include a puncture resistant outermost layer such as Kevlar TM or the like, and an air impermeable inner layer of vinyl or the like”).
Regarding claim 16, Bertoni discloses wherein the protective sleeve encompasses the bottom portion of the water-tight containment tube and provides a protective barrier between the one or more walls of the basin and the water-tight containment tube (“In an alternate possible construction, however, the wall panels 132, 134 may each be formed as a multiple-ply layer construct and include a puncture resistant outermost layer such as Kevlar TM or the like, and an air impermeable inner layer of vinyl or the like).
Regarding claim 18, Bertoni discloses wherein the top portion further comprises: a first valve (142), the first valve configured for receiving the filling fluid; but fails to show a second valve, the second valve configured for draining the filling fluid. Attention is turned again to Jones which shows including a second valve (84) fir draining filling fluid as well as a first valve (74) for filling fluid (col. 5, ln. 45-54). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the top portion of Bertoni to include a second valve for draining filling fluid to allow for more flexibility in controlling the volume of the fluid in the containment tube as evidenced by the teachings of Jones mentioned above.
Regarding claim 19, Bertoni discloses the plurality of pieces of flexible and waterproof material and the third flexible and waterproof material are of a same flexible and waterproof material (“The top and bottom wall 32 and 34 and the sidewall 36 are each formed from a substantially impermeable material, such as vinyl, natural or synthetic rubber polyurethane, or the like. Other mufti-layer constructs are, however, possible,“ par. 15).
Regarding claim 20, Bertoni discloses wherein a part of the side portion (36) is in contact with part (46) of one or more walls of the basin (fig. 5).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertoni and Jones as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent 4,606,083 (hereinafter Kingston).
Regarding claim 9, Bertoni teaches “The top and bottom sidewalk 32, 34 are provided with identical shape and which, as shown best in Figure 3, is selected to directly follow the peripheral edge of swimming pool coping 46” but fails to show the pool shape is circular. Attention is turned to Kingston which shows it is common to design a pool as a circle and match the cover to the shape of the pool (fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to shape the containment tube as circular when being installed in a circular pool to operate as intended.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertoni and Jones as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent 8,562,212 (hereinafter Strickland).
Regarding claim 17, Bertoni fails to show creating the top portion, creating the bottom portion, or creating the side portion further comprises: cutting the portion out of a sheet of flexible and waterproof material. Attention is turned to Strickland which teaches cutting as a suitable method for forming containment tube panels (col. 4, ln. 14-33). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to cut the shape of the containment tube portions as a matter of obvious, known forming steps as evidenced by the teachings of Strickland mentioned above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent 6,539,559 is directed to the state of the art of inflated pool covers.
/JANIE M LOEPPKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754