DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 are pending in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 4, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS section needs updated to reflect applications that have matured into patents. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,841,947. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application and patent claim receiving a target file; byte values within the target file; a set of informational entropy values obtained from the target file; identifying a set of Portable Executable (PE) header values associated with the target file; calculating a probability that the target file is malicious. The patent further claims communicating a threat score based on the probability, the threat score associated with a potential threat to a user, device, or network, whereas the application claims quarantining the target file based on the probability indicating that the target file is likely malicious. It would have ben obvious to either communicate a threat score or quarantine the target since both options allow for protecting malicious content from being sent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Avasarala et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0090061).
Regarding claim 21, Avasarala et al. teaches a non-transitory processor-readable medium storing code representing instructions to be executed by one or more processors, the instructions comprising code to cause the one or more processors to: receive a target file via a network (paragraph 0052); extract a set of byte values from the target file (paragraph 0054); identify a frequency of each byte value from the set of byte values from the target file to calculate a set of informational entropy values associated with the target file (paragraph 0098); extract a set of Portable Executable (PE) values from the target file (paragraph 0078); calculate a probability that the target file is malicious based on the set of informational entropy values, the set of PE values and at least one characteristic of the network (paragraph 0044); and quarantine the target file based on the probability indicating that the target file is likely malicious (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claims 22, Avasarala et al. teaches wherein the at least one characteristic of the network includes at least one of a type of the network, a general security of the network, or a type of business hosting the network (paragraph 0109).
Regarding claim 23, Avasarala et al. teaches wherein the set of PE values includes a PE import vector, the instructions further comprising code to cause the one or more processors to: extract an import address table from a binary representation of the target file; and calculate the PE import vector based on hashing values from the import address table (paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 24, Avasarala et al. teaches wherein the set of PE values includes a PE metadata vector, the instructions further comprising code to cause the one or more processors to: extract a set of numerical PE fields from a representation of the target file; and calculate the PE metadata vector based on the set of numerical PE fields (paragraph 0071).
Regarding claim 25, Avasarala et al. teaches wherein the set of PE values includes at least one of a name, an age, an author, a source, a file type, or a size (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 26, Avasarala et al. teaches wherein the code to cause the one or more processors to calculate the probability includes code to cause the one or more processors to calculate the probability using a trained threat model including at least one of a random forest classifier or a deep neural network (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 27, Avasarala et al. teaches further comprising code to cause the one or more processors to: select a trained threat model based on a type of the target file, the code to cause the one or more processors to calculate the probability includes code to cause the one or more processors to calculate the probability based on the trained threat model (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 28, Avasarala et al. teaches wherein the code to cause the one or more processors to identify the frequency of each byte value includes code to cause the one or more processors to identify the frequency of each byte value from the set of byte values by identifying a frequency of a range of byte values to calculate the set of informational entropy values associated with the target file (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 29, Avasarala et al. teaches a method, comprising: receiving a target file via a network (paragraph 0052); partitioning the target file into a plurality of byte windows (paragraph 0049); extracting a set of byte values for each byte window from the plurality of byte windows of the target file (paragraph 0054); identifying a frequency of each byte value from the set of byte values for each byte window from the plurality of byte windows to calculate a set of informational entropy values associated with the target file (paragraph 0098); calculating a probability that the target file is malicious based on the set of informational entropy values and at least one characteristic of the network (paragraph 0044); and quarantining the target file based on the probability indicating that the target file is likely malicious (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 30, Avasarala et al. teaches wherein the at least one characteristic of the network includes at least one of a type of the network, a general security of the network, or a type of business hosting the network (paragraph 0109).
Regarding claim 31, Avasarala et al. teaches further comprising: extracting a set of Portable Executable (PE) values from the target file, the calculating the probability that the target file is malicious being based on the set of PE values (paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 32, Avasarala et al. teaches wherein the calculating the probability includes calculating the probability using a trained threat model including at least one of a random forest classifier or a deep neural network (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 33, Avasarala et al. teaches wherein the identifying includes identifying the frequency of each byte value from the set of byte values for each window from the plurality of byte windows by identifying a frequency of a range of byte values for that window (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 34, Avasarala et al. teaches wherein the calculating the probability includes calculating the probability based on whether a byte standard deviation value for each byte window from the plurality of byte windows is within a byte standard deviation range (paragraph 0097).
Regarding claim 35, Avasarala et al. teaches a non-transitory processor-readable medium storing code representing instructions to be executed by one or more processors, the instructions comprising code to cause the one or more processors to: receive a target file (paragraph 0052); partition the target file into a plurality of byte windows (paragraph 0049); extract a set of byte values for each byte window from the plurality of byte windows of the target file (paragraph 0054); identify a frequency of each byte value from the set of byte values for each byte window from the plurality of byte windows to calculate a set of informational entropy values associated with the target file (paragraph 0098); extract a set of Portable Executable (PE) values from the target file (paragraph 0054); calculate a probability that the target file is malicious based on the set of informational entropy values and the set of PE values (paragraph 0044); and delete the target file based on the probability indicating that the target file is likely malicious (paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 36, Avasarala et al. teaches wherein: the code to cause the one or more processors to receive includes code to cause the one or more processors to receive the target file via a network, and the code to cause the one or more processors to calculate includes code to cause the one or more processors to calculate the probability that the target file is malicious based on at least one characteristic of the network (paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 37, Avasarala et al. teaches wherein the set of PE values includes at least one of a name, an age, an author, a source, a file type, or a size (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 38, Avasarala et al. teaches wherein the set of PE values includes a PE import vector, the instructions further comprising code to cause the one or more processors to: extract an import address table from a binary representation of the target file; and calculate the PE import vector based on hashing values from the import address table (paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 39, Avasarala et al. teaches wherein the set of PE values includes a PE metadata vector, the instructions further comprising code to cause the one or more processors to: extract a set of numerical PE fields from a representation of the target file; and calculate the PE metadata vector based on the set of numerical PE fields (paragraph 0071).
Regarding claim 40, Avasarala et al. teaches further comprising code to cause the one or more processors to: select a trained threat model based on a type of the target file, the code to cause the one or more processors to calculate the probability includes code to cause the one or more processors to calculate the probability based on the trained threat model (paragraph 0040).
/BRANDON HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433