DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4505499, Uglow.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Uglow discloses a seal assembly, comprising: a first conduit member (42) having a first seat (perpendicular to 44); a second conduit member (46) having a second seat (perpendicular to 48), the second conduit member coupled to the first conduit member such that a passage extends through the first and second conduit members along a longitudinal axis of the seal assembly and the first and second conduit members are moveable between at least two configurations, the at least two configurations including: a rest configuration in which the first and second seats are a rest distance a part, and a compressed configuration in which the first and second seats are held at a compressed distance apart, the compressed distance being less than the rest distance; a flexible seal (40) received between the first and second seats, the flexible seal extending between a first terminal end and a second terminal end with the first terminal end of the flexible seal seated against the first seat in both the rest configuration and the compressed configuration and the second terminal end of the flexible seal seated against the second seat in both the rest configuration and the compressed configuration whereby the flexible seal is compressed when the first and second conduit members are in the compressed configuration, the flexible seal expanding radially outwards when compressed to engage with an inner surface of a body in which the seal assembly is received, the second end of the flexible seal being opposite the first end of the flexible seal, and at least one fastener (50) operable to move the first and second conduit members between the rest configuration and the compressed configuration and coupling the first and second conduit members together and holding the first and second conduit members in a rigid relationship in the compressed configuration while the passage is open.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Uglow discloses each of the at least one fastener is a threaded fastener, and the at least one fastener is operable to move the first and second conduit members between the rest configuration and the compressed configuration via rotation of each of the at least one fastener.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Uglow discloses the at least one fastener is a plurality of threaded members.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Uglow discloses the first and second conduit members are shaped to prevent the first and second seats being drawn together closer than the compressed distance when the first and second conduit members are moved from the rest configuration to the compressed configuration.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Uglow discloses the seal assembly includes a hard stop (the ends of 44 and 48 facing each other) built into the first and second conduit members to prevent the first and second seats being drawn together closer than the compressed distance when the first and second conduit members are moved from the rest configuration to the compressed configuration.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Uglow discloses the seal assembly includes an assembly axis, and the first and second conduit members are shaped to prevent the first and second conduit members from rotating relative to one another about the assembly axis when moving between the rest configuration and the compressed configuration (due to friction between members).
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Uglow discloses the flexible seal is sleeved over the first and second conduit members.
In regards to claim 12, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Uglow discloses the first terminal end of the flexible seal terminates at a first end surface and the second terminal end of the flexible seal terminates at a second end surface, the first and second end surface each generally axially facing, and the first end surface is seated against the first seat in both the rest configuration and the compressed configuration and the second end surface is seated against the second seat in both the rest configuration and the compressed configuration.
In regards to claim 13, in Figures 2-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Uglow discloses the first end surface extends in a plane extending transverse to the longitudinal axis, and the second end surface extends in a second plane extending transverse to the longitudinal axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uglow.
In regards to claim 4, Uglow discloses the claimed invention except for each of the plurality of threaded members having a hexagonal head. Applicant has failed to provide criticality for a hexagonal head, and the Uglow invention is fully capable of being modified for a hexagon head. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to fabricate the plurality of threaded members with a hexagonal head, since a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of skill of one skilled in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679