Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-7, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,363,517, hereafter “‘517 patent”, in view of Thomas, US 2018/0295400 A1.
Claims 10-14, 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 3-7, respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,363,517, hereafter “‘517 patent”, in view of Thomas, US 2018/0295400 A1.
19/242,655, Instant Claim 1
US 12,363,317 Claim 1
A method of video media bitstream generation, the method comprising:
generating a video bitstream, including:
receiving video information corresponding to a plurality of subpictures within a picture, the video information including at least one output layer set corresponding to one or more output layers and a plurality of flags, wherein the output layer set includes one or more subpictures from a base layer and one or more subpictures from an enhancement layer;
identifying a first subpicture from among the plurality of subpictures as a region of interest according to the output layer set;
encoding the first subpicture corresponding to the region of interest in a high
quality mode for the enhancement layer of the one or more output layers;
encoding remaining subpictures in a low quality mode for the base layer of the one or more output layers; and
A method of decoding a video sequence comprising:
receiving video information corresponding to a plurality of subpictures within a picture, the video information including at least one output layer set corresponding to one or more output layers and a plurality of flags, wherein the output layer set includes one or more encoded subpictures from a base layer and one or more encoded subpictures from an enhancement layer;
identifying a first subpicture from among the plurality of subpictures as a region of interest according to the output layer set;
decoding the first subpicture corresponding to the region of interest in a high quality mode from the enhancement layer of the one or more output layers; and
decoding remaining subpictures in a low quality mode from the base layer of the one or more output layers.
transmitting the video bitstream including the encoded first subpicture and the encoded remaining subpictures.
The instant independent claims recite the further limitation of “transmitting the video bitstream including the encoded first subpicture and the encoded remaining subpictures.”, not found in the ‘517 patent claims. However, this feature is disclosed in Thomas. See, for instance, [0096], “A network node receiving a request for transmission of an enhancement tile stream from the client device may transmit the media data as a tile stream, preferably an HEVC-based tile stream, to the client device.” It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of applicant’s effective filing date to incorporate a transmission step into the invention claimed in the ‘517 patent claims. Video transmission is an explicit purpose for video compression, and for forming scalable video coding bitstreams of the type claimed in claim 1 of the ‘517 patent. Incorporating a transmission step such as disclosed in the Thomas reference would have merely entailed combining known prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143.01.A.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, the combination of the ‘517 claims in view of Thomas does not disclose: “The method of claim 5, wherein the second flag is a video parameter set subpictures present flag.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8, in further view of Hannuksela, US 2022/0239949 A1.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, while the ‘517 claims do not recite, “the method of claim 1, wherein the video bitstream further includes a video parameter set that includes the at least one output layer set.”, Hannuksela discloses in an in analogous art that an output layer set may specified in a VPS.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of applicant’s effective filing date to incorporate output layer sets, specified in a video parameter set, in the subpicture decoding of the ‘517 claims, in order to organize multilayer coding with subpictures. As was understood in the art, a video parameter set (VPS) is a high-level syntax specifying parameters for an entire video bitstream; placing output layer information here would merely involved combining the prior art elements respectively disclosed in the ‘517 claims and in Hannuksela, without changing their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results for one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc. See 2143.1.A. 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Thomas discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein encoding the first subpicture comprises enlarging the first subpicture in the high-quality mode (See [0122].).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomas, US 2018/0295400 A1.
Computer-readable recording medium claim *** is directed to non-functional descriptive matter. A computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream does not perform any functions, and any prior art disclosing a computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream reads on such a claim
Non-transitory computer-readable medium claims 10-18 are directed to a product (“. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a video bitstream”) that is generated by a process “a video encoding method”. This product-by-process claims cover any digital video bitstream “reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than the product claimed”, and as such is anticipated by the video bitstream disclosed in Thomas, which discloses a video bitstream. See MPEP 2113.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowable over the prior art.
Regarding claims 1, the prior art does not disclose, “wherein the output layer set includes one or more encoded subpictures from the base layer and one or more encoded subpictures from the enhancement layer.”
At best, the closest prior art, Thomas, US 2018/0295400 A1, discloses encoding multiple subpictures in a single layer, and encoding certain of said subpictures as one or more regions of interest at an enhanced resolution, as disclosed in [0096]-[0097]. However, Thomas nowhere discloses or makes obvious that an output layer set includes one or more encoded subpictures from a base layer as well as one or more enhancement layer subpictures.
‘
Conclusion
/KYLE M LOTFI/Examiner, Art Unit 2425