DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed June 18, 2025, claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Claim 1 is an independent claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), and based on application # 202210093757.4 filed in China on January 26, 2022 which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted June 18, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings filed June 18, 2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed June 18, 2025 is accepted by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428,46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046,29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Omum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a nonstatutory double patenting ground provided the conflicting application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with this application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CPR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of application No. 18274813 Patent 12366766. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recites a grating regulating device, wherein the grating regulating device comprises: a first substrate, a conductive layer, a dielectric layer and a second substrate that are arranged in stack, wherein the conductive layer comprises a wiring layer, a first insulating layer and a first electrode layer that are arranged in stack, the wiring layer comprises a plurality of driving lines, and the first electrode layer comprises a plurality of sub-electrodes that are arranged in a first direction; wherein each of the plurality of driving lines is connected to a signal inputting terminal and one of the plurality of sub-electrodes, to transmit a driving signal inputted by the signal inputting terminal to the sub-electrodes, and the sub-electrodes are for, by effect of the driving signal, driving corresponding positions of the dielectric layer to be light-transmitting or opaque; the grating regulating device comprises a grating region, the grating region comprises a plurality of common-signal units, each of the plurality of common-signal units comprises a plurality of grating units, each of the plurality of grating units comprises the plurality of sub-electrodes, and the plurality of sub-electrodes located in a same grating unit are connected to different driving lines; the plurality of sub-electrodes located in the same grating unit are ordered in the first direction, and the sub-electrodes that are located in different grating units of a same common-signal unit and have a same serial number are connected to a same driving line, and each of the plurality of common-signal units adjust the plurality of grating units, respectively; and the sub-electrodes are for, by the effect of the driving signal, driving corresponding positions of the dielectric layer to be light-transmitting or opaque, to cause each of the plurality of grating units to form a light transmitting unit and a light shielding unit, therefore the same limitations as claimed in application No. 18274813 Patent 12366766.
This is an obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
US Application No. 19242728
No. 18274813 (Patent 12366766 B2)
1. A grating regulating device, wherein the grating regulating device comprises: a first substrate, a conductive layer, a dielectric layer and a second substrate that are arranged in stack, wherein the conductive layer comprises a wiring layer, a first insulating layer and a first electrode layer that are arranged in stack, the wiring layer comprises a plurality of driving lines, and the first electrode layer comprises a plurality of sub-electrodes that are arranged in a first direction; wherein each of the plurality of driving lines is connected to a signal inputting terminal and one of the plurality of sub-electrodes, to transmit a driving signal inputted by the signal inputting terminal to the sub-electrodes, and the sub-electrodes are for, by effect of the driving signal, driving corresponding positions of the dielectric layer to be light-transmitting or opaque; the grating regulating device comprises a grating region, the grating region comprises a plurality of common-signal units, each of the plurality of common-signal units comprises a plurality of grating units, each of the plurality of grating units comprises the plurality of sub-electrodes, and the plurality of sub-electrodes located in a same grating unit are connected to different driving lines; the plurality of sub-electrodes located in the same grating unit are ordered in the first direction, and the sub-electrodes that are located in different grating units of a same common-signal unit and have a same serial number are connected to a same driving line, and each of the plurality of common-signal units adjust the plurality of grating units, respectively; and the sub-electrodes are for, by the effect of the driving signal, driving corresponding positions of the dielectric layer to be light-transmitting or opaque, to cause each of the plurality of grating units to form a light transmitting unit and a light shielding unit.
1. A grating regulating device comprising a first substrate, a conductive layer, a dielectric layer and a second substrate that are arranged in stack, wherein the conductive layer comprises a wiring layer, a first insulating layer and a first electrode layer that are arranged in stack, the wiring layer comprises a plurality of driving lines, and the first electrode layer comprises a plurality of sub-electrodes that are arranged in a first direction; each of the plurality of driving lines is connected to a signal inputting terminal and one of the plurality of sub-electrodes, to transmit a driving signal inputted by the signal inputting terminal to the sub-electrodes, and the sub-electrodes are for, by the effect of the driving signal, driving corresponding positions of the dielectric layer to be light-transmitting or opaque; the grating regulating device comprises a grating region, the grating region comprises a plurality of common-signal units, each of the plurality of common-signal units comprises at least one grating unit, the grating unit comprises the plurality of sub-electrodes, and the plurality of sub-electrodes located in the same grating unit are connected to different driving lines; the plurality of sub-electrodes located in the same grating unit are ordered in the first direction, and the sub-electrodes that are located in a same common-signal unit and have a same serial number are connected to a same driving line; in the grating region, the plurality of driving lines are arranged in a second direction, and orthographic projections of the plurality of driving lines on the first substrate and orthographic projections of the plurality of sub-electrodes on the first substrate intersect with each other; and the wiring layer further comprises at least one auxiliary line, the auxiliary line is insulated from the sub-electrodes, and in the grating region, the at least one auxiliary line is arranged in the second direction.
Claim Interpretation
7. Claim 20 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Use of the words “eyeball tracking module configured to” in claim 20, with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 10, 14, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (English translation of CN107577092A) in view of Suzuki (US 20240322429 A1).
As to Claim 1:
Xiao et al. discloses a grating regulating device (Xiao, see highlighted portion on page 7, where Xiao discloses a liquid crystal slit grating stereoscopic display device and correction), wherein the grating regulating device comprises: a first substrate (Xiao, see highlighted portion on page 11, where Xiao discloses a first substrate 11), a conductive layer (Xiao, see highlighted portion on page 11, where Xiao discloses a first electrode structure 14), a dielectric layer (Xiao, see highlighted portion on page 11, where Xiao discloses an insulating layer 143 is disposed between the adjacent two driving electrode layers 141 and 142) and a second substrate that are arranged in layered form (Xiao, see highlighted portion on page 11, where Xiao discloses a second substrate 12), wherein the conductive layer (Xiao, see highlighted portion on page 11, where Xiao discloses a first electrode structure 14) comprises a wiring layer (Xiao, see 17 in figure 3(a) and highlighted portion on page 13, where Xiao discloses that for example, referring to FIG. 3, the driving electrode 140 is connected to the voltage driving circuit 16, that is, the voltage driving circuit 16 outputs a driving voltage signal, and applies a driving voltage to the driving electrode 140. Each driving electrode 140 is respectively connected to the voltage driving circuit through the electrode lead 17. 16. The driving electrodes 140 having the same reference numerals in the driving electrode groups 1420 are connected to the same voltage output port of the voltage driving circuit 16 through the same electrode lead 17, that is, the driving electrodes 140 at the same position in the respective driving electrode groups are connected to the same driving voltage), a first insulating layer and a first electrode layer that are arranged in layered form (Xiao, see highlighted portion on page 15, where Xiao discloses that invention, an insulating layer 143 is disposed between adjacent electrode layers 141 and 142), the wiring layer comprises a plurality of driving lines (Xiao, see 17 in figure 3(a) and highlighted portion on page 13, where Xiao discloses that for example, referring to FIG. 3, the driving electrode 140 is connected to the voltage driving circuit 16, that is, the voltage driving circuit 16 outputs a driving voltage signal, and applies a driving voltage to the driving electrode 140. Each driving electrode 140 is respectively connected to the voltage driving circuit through the electrode lead 17. 16. The driving electrodes 140 having the same reference numerals in the driving electrode groups 1420 are connected to the same voltage output port of the voltage driving circuit 16 through the same electrode lead 17, that is, the driving electrodes 140 at the same position in the respective driving electrode groups are connected to the same driving voltage), and the first electrode layer comprises a plurality of sub-electrodes that are arranged in a first direction (Xiao, see figure 2 first sub-electrode layer 141 comprises a plurality of first sub-electrodes 140 arranged in a horizontal first direction); wherein each of the plurality of driving lines (Xiao, see 16 and 17 in figure 3(a)) is connected to a signal inputting terminal and one of the plurality of sub-electrodes (Xiao, see 140 in figure 3(a)), to transmit a driving signal inputted by the signal inputting terminal to the sub-electrodes (Xiao, see figure 2 and figure 3(a)), and the sub-electrodes (Xiao, see figure 2 first sub-electrode layer 141 comprises a plurality of first sub-electrodes 140) are for, by effect of the driving signal, driving corresponding positions of the dielectric layer to be light-transmitting or opaque (Xiao, see highlighted portion on pages 9-11, where Xiao discloses that the stereoscopic display device provided by the embodiment, on the one hand, the processor changes the driving voltage applied to the driving electrode and the driving electrode applying the second predetermined driving voltage by adjusting the driving voltage applied to the driving electrode, thereby Adjusting the position of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion, since the positions of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion can be adjusted, the stereoscopic display of the stereoscopic display device can be made to conform to the liquid crystal slit grating and the display panel by adjusting the positions of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion. The display effect at the time of precise bonding makes the liquid crystal slit grating not excessively dependent on the precision of the bonding, and even if the bonding precision of the liquid crystal slit grating is less than the expected precision of 10 micrometers, the shading portion and the transparent portion can be adjusted. The position of the light portion corrects the fitting deviation to ensure a good stereoscopic display effect, so that the influence of the deviation of the liquid crystal slit grating and the liquid crystal display panel on the light splitting effect of the liquid crystal slit grating can be reduced, and the fitting precision can be effectively avoided. Over-reliance and demanding, enhance the display effect of the stereoscopic display device; on the other hand, in the stereoscopic display device In the crystal slit grating, each driving electrode group includes at least two driving electrode layers, and the driving electrodes of the adjacent two driving electrode layers are disposed opposite to the gap portion, so that the projection of each driving electrode on the first substrate covers the first substrate The surface of the driving electrode can make the projection of the driving electrodes on the first substrate without any gap, so that the liquid crystal layer corresponding to the position of the electrode can be completely driven, and no light leakage is formed, thereby effectively ensuring a good stereoscopic display effect); the grating regulating device comprises a grating region, the grating region (Xiao, see highlighted portion on page 12, where Xiao discloses that in order to open the liquid crystal slit grating 10 (also referred to as activation), a driving voltage is applied to the first electrode structure 14 and the second electrode structure 15, specifically, in each of the driving electrode groups 1420 of the first electrode structure 14, The partial drive electrode 140 will apply a first predetermined drive voltage, the other portion of the drive electrode 140 will apply a second predetermined drive voltage, and the second electrode structure 15 will apply a third predetermined drive voltage. Under the action of the voltage difference between the first predetermined driving voltage and the third predetermined driving voltage, the liquid crystal layer between the driving electrode 140 and the second electrode structure 15 to which the first predetermined voltage is applied is opaque, forming a liquid crystal narrow a light shielding portion of the slit grating, under a voltage difference between the second predetermined driving voltage and the third predetermined driving voltage, the liquid crystal layer between the driving electrode 140 and the second electrode structure 15 to which the first predetermined voltage is applied is) comprises a plurality of common-signal units (Xiao, see highlighted portion on page 12, where Xiao discloses that the second electrode structure 15 serves as a common electrode, and has a structure not limited, and may be a surface electrode, or may include a plurality of strip electrodes arranged at closely spaced intervals), each of the plurality of common-signal units comprises a plurality of grating units, each of the plurality of grating units Xiao, see highlighted portion on page 12, where Xiao discloses that in order to open the liquid crystal slit grating 10 (also referred to as activation), a driving voltage is applied to the first electrode structure 14 and the second electrode structure 15, the second electrode structure 15 serves as a common electrode, and has a structure not limited, and may be a surface electrode, or may include a plurality of strip electrodes arranged at closely spaced intervals) comprises the plurality of sub-electrodes (Xiao, see figures 2 and 3), and the plurality of sub-electrodes located in a same grating unit are connected to different driving lines (Xiao, see figure 3A, where Xiao discloses that all sub-electrodes are connected to different driving lines 17); the plurality of sub-electrodes located in the same grating unit are ordered in the first direction (Xiao, see figure 2 first sub-electrode layer 141 comprises a plurality of first sub-electrodes 140 arranged in a horizontal first direction), and the sub-electrodes that are located in different grating units of a same common-signal unit and have a same serial number are connected to a same driving line (Xiao, see figure 2 and figure 3a, where Xiao discloses that figure 2 discloses an arrangement in a first horizontal direction, where there is only one group 1420 in one grating unit, so each sub-electrode has its own ordinal unit and is connected to its own driving line 17, as showing in Figure 3A), and each of the plurality of common-signal units adjust the plurality of grating units, respectively (Xiao, see figure 2 and figure 3a, where Xiao discloses that figure 2 discloses an arrangement in a first horizontal direction, where there is only one group 1420 in one grating unit, so each sub-electrode has its own ordinal unit and is connected to its own driving line 17, as showing in Figure 3A); and the sub-electrodes are for, by the effect of the driving signal (Xiao, see page 8, Figure 2, grating unit 1420; Figure 3(a) discloses driving lines 17, where Xiao discloses that all driving lines connected to first sub-electrodes are first driving lines and all driving liens connected to second sub-electrodes are second driving lines), driving corresponding positions of the dielectric layer to be light-transmitting or opaque (Xiao, see highlighted portion on pages 9-11, where Xiao discloses that the stereoscopic display device provided by the embodiment, on the one hand, the processor changes the driving voltage applied to the driving electrode and the driving electrode applying the second predetermined driving voltage by adjusting the driving voltage applied to the driving electrode, thereby Adjusting the position of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion, since the positions of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion can be adjusted, the stereoscopic display of the stereoscopic display device can be made to conform to the liquid crystal slit grating and the display panel by adjusting the positions of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion. The display effect at the time of precise bonding makes the liquid crystal slit grating not excessively dependent on the precision of the bonding, and even if the bonding precision of the liquid crystal slit grating is less than the expected precision of 10 micrometers, the shading portion and the transparent portion can be adjusted. The position of the light portion corrects the fitting deviation to ensure a good stereoscopic display effect, so that the influence of the deviation of the liquid crystal slit grating and the liquid crystal display panel on the light splitting effect of the liquid crystal slit grating can be reduced, and the fitting precision can be effectively avoided. Over-reliance and demanding, enhance the display effect of the stereoscopic display device; on the other hand, in the stereoscopic display device In the crystal slit grating, each driving electrode group includes at least two driving electrode layers, and the driving electrodes of the adjacent two driving electrode layers are disposed opposite to the gap portion, so that the projection of each driving electrode on the first substrate covers the first substrate The surface of the driving electrode can make the projection of the driving electrodes on the first substrate without any gap, so that the liquid crystal layer corresponding to the position of the electrode can be completely driven, and no light leakage is formed, thereby effectively ensuring a good stereoscopic display effect), to cause each of the plurality of grating units to form a light transmitting unit and a light shielding unit (Xiao, see highlighted portion on pages 9-11, where Xiao discloses that the stereoscopic display device provided by the embodiment, on the one hand, the processor changes the driving voltage applied to the driving electrode and the driving electrode applying the second predetermined driving voltage by adjusting the driving voltage applied to the driving electrode, thereby Adjusting the position of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion, since the positions of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion can be adjusted, the stereoscopic display of the stereoscopic display device can be made to conform to the liquid crystal slit grating and the display panel by adjusting the positions of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion. The display effect at the time of precise bonding makes the liquid crystal slit grating not excessively dependent on the precision of the bonding, and even if the bonding precision of the liquid crystal slit grating is less than the expected precision of 10 micrometers, the shading portion and the transparent portion can be adjusted. The position of the light portion corrects the fitting deviation to ensure a good stereoscopic display effect, so that the influence of the deviation of the liquid crystal slit grating and the liquid crystal display panel on the light splitting effect of the liquid crystal slit grating can be reduced, and the fitting precision can be effectively avoided. Over-reliance and demanding, enhance the display effect of the stereoscopic display device; on the other hand, in the stereoscopic display device In the crystal slit grating, each driving electrode group includes at least two driving electrode layers, and the driving electrodes of the adjacent two driving electrode layers are disposed opposite to the gap portion, so that the projection of each driving electrode on the first substrate covers the first substrate The surface of the driving electrode can make the projection of the driving electrodes on the first substrate without any gap, so that the liquid crystal layer corresponding to the position of the electrode can be completely driven, and no light leakage is formed, thereby effectively ensuring a good stereoscopic display effect).
Xiao differs from the claimed subject matter in that Xiao does not explicitly disclose stack. However in an analogous art, Suzuki discloses a layered form is a stack (Suzuki, see paragraph [0062], where Suzuki discloses each of the patch electrode PE, the connection line L, and the common electrode CE is formed as metals, for example, by TAT and has a light shielding property. The TAT has a three-layer stacked structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Xiao with Suzuki. One would be motivated to modify Xiao by disclosing stack as taught by Suzuki and thereby providing an intelligent reflecting surface controlling a reflection direction of a wave using liquid crystal improvements (Suzuki, paragraph [0003]).
As to Claim 2:
Xiao in view of Suzuki discloses that the grating regulating device according to claim 1, wherein in the grating region, the plurality of driving lines are arranged in a second direction (Xiao, see figure 2, where Xiao discloses alternative arrangements in multiple directions), and orthographic projections of the plurality of driving lines on the first substrate and orthographic projections of the plurality of sub-electrodes on the first substrate intersect with each other (Xiao, see figure 2, figure 3(a) and figure 3(b)).
As to Claim 3:
Xiao in view of Suzuki discloses that the grating regulating device according to claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of driving lines comprises a plurality of first switching patterns; and the plurality of sub-electrodes that are located in a same common-signal unit and have a same serial number (Xiao, see figure 2 and figure 3a, where Xiao discloses that figure 2 discloses an arrangement in a first horizontal direction, where there is only one group 1420 in one grating unit, so each sub-electrode has its own ordinal unit and is connected to its own driving line 17, as showing in Figure 3A) are connected to different first switching patterns in a same driving line by via holes (Xiao, see page 8, Figure 2, grating unit 1420; Figure 3(a) discloses driving lines 17, where Xiao discloses that all driving lines connected to first sub-electrodes are first driving lines and all driving liens connected to second sub-electrodes are second driving lines).
As to Claim 10:
Xiao in view of Suzuki discloses that the grating regulating device according to claim 1, wherein the grating regulating device further comprises a non-grating region located on at least one side of the grating region; and the plurality of driving lines are located in the non-grating region, and the sub-electrodes extend to the non-grating region, and are connected to the corresponding driving lines by via holes in the non-grating region (Xiao, see highlighted portion on pages 9-11, where Xiao discloses that the stereoscopic display device provided by the embodiment, on the one hand, the processor changes the driving voltage applied to the driving electrode and the driving electrode applying the second predetermined driving voltage by adjusting the driving voltage applied to the driving electrode, thereby Adjusting the position of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion, since the positions of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion can be adjusted, the stereoscopic display of the stereoscopic display device can be made to conform to the liquid crystal slit grating and the display panel by adjusting the positions of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion. The display effect at the time of precise bonding makes the liquid crystal slit grating not excessively dependent on the precision of the bonding, and even if the bonding precision of the liquid crystal slit grating is less than the expected precision of 10 micrometers, the shading portion and the transparent portion can be adjusted. The position of the light portion corrects the fitting deviation to ensure a good stereoscopic display effect, so that the influence of the deviation of the liquid crystal slit grating and the liquid crystal display panel on the light splitting effect of the liquid crystal slit grating can be reduced, and the fitting precision can be effectively avoided. Over-reliance and demanding, enhance the display effect of the stereoscopic display device; on the other hand, in the stereoscopic display device In the crystal slit grating, each driving electrode group includes at least two driving electrode layers, and the driving electrodes of the adjacent two driving electrode layers are disposed opposite to the gap portion, so that the projection of each driving electrode on the first substrate covers the first substrate. The surface of the driving electrode can make the projection of the driving electrodes on the first substrate without any gap, so that the liquid crystal layer corresponding to the position of the electrode can be completely driven, and no light leakage is formed, thereby effectively ensuring a good stereoscopic display effect).
As to Claim 14:
Xiao in view of Suzuki discloses that the grating regulating device according to claim 10, wherein a plurality of driving lines that are connected to a same common-signal unit are divided into a first wiring group and a second wiring group, and the first wiring group and the second wiring group are located on two opposite sides of the grating region (Xiao, see figures 2-3A, where Xiao disclose a first horizontal sorting of the first and second sub-electrodes 140, where each electrode has a first top end and a second bottom end).
As to Claim 16:
Xiao in view of Suzuki discloses that the grating regulating device according to claim 14, wherein each of the sub-electrodes is connected to two driving lines, and the two driving lines are individually located in the first wiring group and the second wiring group (Xiao, see figures 2-3A, where Xiao disclose a first horizontal sorting of the first and second sub-electrodes 140, where each electrode has a first top end and a second bottom end).
As to Claim 17:
Xiao in view of Suzuki discloses a displaying device, wherein the displaying device comprises a display panel and the grating regulating device according to claim 1, and the grating regulating device is located on a light exiting side or shadow side of the display panel; the display panel comprises a displaying region and a non-displaying region located on at least one side of the displaying region; and an orthographic projection of the grating region on a plane where the display panel is located covers the displaying region (Xiao, see figures 2 and 3a, highlighted portion on pages 9-11, where Xiao discloses that the stereoscopic display device provided by the embodiment, on the one hand, the processor changes the driving voltage applied to the driving electrode and the driving electrode applying the second predetermined driving voltage by adjusting the driving voltage applied to the driving electrode, thereby Adjusting the position of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion, since the positions of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion can be adjusted, the stereoscopic display of the stereoscopic display device can be made to conform to the liquid crystal slit grating and the display panel by adjusting the positions of the light shielding portion and the light transmission portion. The display effect at the time of precise bonding makes the liquid crystal slit grating not excessively dependent on the precision of the bonding, and even if the bonding precision of the liquid crystal slit grating is less than the expected precision of 10 micrometers, the shading portion and the transparent portion can be adjusted. The position of the light portion corrects the fitting deviation to ensure a good stereoscopic display effect, so that the influence of the deviation of the liquid crystal slit grating and the liquid crystal display panel on the light splitting effect of the liquid crystal slit grating can be reduced, and the fitting precision can be effectively avoided. Over-reliance and demanding, enhance the display effect of the stereoscopic display device; on the other hand, in the stereoscopic display device In the crystal slit grating, each driving electrode group includes at least two driving electrode layers, and the driving electrodes of the adjacent two driving electrode layers are disposed opposite to the gap portion, so that the projection of each driving electrode on the first substrate covers the first substrate The surface of the driving electrode can make the projection of the driving electrodes on the first substrate without any gap, so that the liquid crystal layer corresponding to the position of the electrode can be completely driven, and no light leakage is formed, thereby effectively ensuring a good stereoscopic display effect).
As to Claim 19:
Xiao in view of Suzuki discloses a 3D displaying device, wherein the 3D displaying device comprises a display panel and the grating regulating device according to claim 1, and the grating regulating device and the display panel face each other (Xiao, see highlighted portion on page 7, where Xiao discloses a liquid crystal slit grating stereoscopic display device and correction).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 15, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 4, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the wiring layer further comprises at least one auxiliary line, the auxiliary line is insulated from the sub-electrodes, and in the grating region, the at least one auxiliary line is arranged in the second direction”.
Referring to claim 5, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the auxiliary line is parallel to the driving lines in the grating region; and the auxiliary line is located between at least two neighboring driving lines; and/or a plurality of auxiliary lines are located on two opposite sides of the plurality of driving lines; and/or the plurality of common-signal units comprise neighboring first common-signal unit and second common-signal unit, a plurality of driving lines that are connected to the first common-signal unit are a first wiring unit, a plurality of driving lines that are connected to the second common-signal unit are a second wiring unit, and the auxiliary line is located between the first wiring unit and the second wiring unit”.
Referring to claim 6, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the auxiliary line and the driving lines located on one side of the auxiliary line have same patterns in the grating region”.
Referring to claim 7, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the auxiliary line is connected to a constant-voltage inputting terminal, and the constant-voltage inputting terminal is for transmitting a constant-voltage signal to the auxiliary line”.
Referring to claim 8, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the plurality of common-signal units comprise a third common-signal unit and a fourth common-signal unit, a plurality of driving lines that are connected to the third common-signal unit are a third wiring unit, and a plurality of driving lines that are connected to the fourth common-signal unit are a fourth wiring unit; the driving lines of the third wiring unit comprise a plurality of second switching patterns, the plurality of second switching patterns located on the third wiring unit and the plurality of first switching patterns located on the fourth wiring unit are of a translation relation in the second direction, and the second switching patterns are insulated from the sub-electrodes; and the driving lines of the fourth wiring unit comprise a plurality of third switching patterns, the plurality of third switching patterns located on the fourth wiring unit and the plurality of first switching patterns located on the third wiring unit are of a translation relation in the second direction, and the third switching patterns are insulated from the sub-electrodes”.
Referring to claim 9, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the first electrode layer comprises a first sub-electrode layer, a second insulating layer and a second sub-electrode layer that are arranged in stack, and the first sub-electrode layer is located between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer; the plurality of sub-electrodes include a plurality of first sub-electrodes that are arranged in the first direction, and a plurality of second sub-electrodes that are arranged in the first direction, and orthographic projections of the first sub-electrodes on the first substrate and orthographic projections of the second sub-electrodes on the first substrate are alternately arranged; the plurality of first sub-electrodes are located at the first sub-electrode layer, the first sub-electrodes and the driving lines are connected by first via holes provided in the first insulating layer, the plurality of second sub-electrodes are located at the second sub-electrode layer, and the second sub-electrodes and the driving lines are connected by second via holes provided in the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer; and each of the first sub-electrodes comprises a bent part, and the bent part is bent toward one side away from the second via hole, to form an avoiding region for avoiding the second via hole”.
Referring to claim 11, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the plurality of common-signal units comprise a fifth common-signal unit and a sixth common-signal unit, wherein the sixth common-signal unit is any one of the common-signal units that is located on one side of the fifth common-signal unit that is close to the signal inputting terminal; and an orthographic projection of the driving line connected to the fifth common-signal unit on the first substrate and an orthographic projection of at least one of the sub-electrodes in the sixth common-signal unit on the first substrate intersect with each other”.
Referring to claim 12, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the plurality of common-signal units comprise a seventh common-signal unit and an eighth common-signal unit, wherein the eighth common-signal unit is any one of the plurality of common-signal units other than the seventh common-signal unit; and an orthographic projection of the driving line connected to the seventh common-signal unit on the first substrate and orthographic projections of the sub-electrodes in the eighth common-signal unit on the first substrate do not overlap”.
Referring to claim 13, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein each of the driving lines comprises an extending line and a bending line, an extension direction of the extending line is the first direction, the extending line is connected to the sub-electrodes that are located in a same common-signal unit and have a same serial number by via holes, one end of the bending line is connected to the extending line, the other end of the bending line is connected to the signal inputting terminal, and orthographic projections of the bending lines on the first substrate and orthographic projections of the plurality of sub-electrodes on the first substrate do not overlap”.
Referring to claim 15, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the plurality of sub-electrodes comprise first sub-electrodes and second sub-electrodes that are alternately arranged in the first direction, the plurality of first sub-electrodes located in the same grating unit are ordered in the first direction, and the plurality of second sub-electrodes located in the same grating unit are ordered in the first direction; the first sub-electrodes and the second sub-electrodes whose serial number is an odd number are correspondingly connected to the driving lines in the first wiring group; and the first sub-electrodes and the second sub-electrodes whose serial number is an even number are correspondingly connected to the driving lines in the second wiring group”.
Referring to claim 18, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein in the grating region, a plurality of driving lines are arranged in a second direction, and orthographic projections of the driving lines on the first substrate and orthographic projections of the plurality of sub-electrodes on the first substrate intersect with each other; the displaying region comprises a plurality of pixel opening regions that are arranged in an array in a row direction and a column direction, and non-opening regions surrounding the pixel opening regions; and in the row direction, the orthographic projections of the driving lines on the plane where the display panel is located are located in areas of the pixel opening regions, or the orthographic projections of the driving lines on the plane where the display panel is located are located in areas of the non-opening regions”.
Referring to claim 20, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the 3D displaying device further comprises: an eyeball tracking module configured to acquire a watching distance; and the grating regulating device is connected to the eyeball tracking module, and is further configured to, according to the watching distance, adjust an opening position and/or an aperture ratio of the grating unit”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Yang (US 20190335163 A1) discloses a liquid crystal grating and at least one second primary driving circuitry configured to drive the plurality of strip like electrodes, to form the light-shielding section and the light-transmitting section in each of the periodical grating units; and a control circuitry configured to select the first primary driving circuitry or the second primary driving circuitry to drive the strip-like electrodes in accordance with a distance between a user and the liquid crystal grating.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624