DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1—20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 06/18/2025 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1—3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIPO document 2021/016192 A2 to Nelson (Nelson).
As per claim 1, Nelson teaches:
A method for stabilizing a patient litter basket (10—Fig.1; para [0033]), the method comprising: detecting an angular acceleration of the patient litter basket (50—Fig.6A; para [0033]); determining that the angular acceleration of the patient litter basket is greater than a predetermined threshold angular acceleration (para [0033]); and activating a first gyroscope (examiner note; para [0030]; claim 2: sensor comprises at least one gyroscope) to counter act a torque of the patient litter basket by generating a gyroscopic counter torque (para [0033]).
As per claim 2, Nelson teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising simultaneously activating the first gyroscope and a second gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket (para [0033]; claim 9: sensors comprises a plurality of gyroscopes), wherein the gyroscopic counter torque comprises a sum of a first torque generated by the first gyroscope and a second torque generated by the second gyroscope (para [0034]).
Note: The examiner notes that claim 17 of Nelson (as modified) teaches wherein the sensors are one or more gyroscopes. It may be appreciated that claim 2 teaches wherein sensor element 50 comprises at least one gyroscope element. The examiner interprets the first gyroscope as the gyroscope element comprised within sensor element of claim 2.
As per claim 3, Nelson teaches:
The method of claim 2, further comprising a plurality of sidewalls extending perpendicular from a base of the patient litter basket to form a patient space for containing a patient (16—Fig.1; para [0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 15—18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO document 2021/016192 A2 to Nelson in view of U.S Patent Application 2010/0242169 A1 to McNulty (McNulty hereafter).
As per claim 4, Nelson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 3.
Nelson does not teach: , wherein the first gyroscope is disposed at least partially within a first sidewall of the patient litter basket.
McNulty teaches: wherein the first gyroscope is disposed at least partially within a first sidewall of the patient litter basket (810-Fig.8; para [0104]: gyroscope disposed in side of support).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and McNulty (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes positioned in a sidewall of the support) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes positioned in a sidewall of the support. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provided gyroscopes integral with the patient support housing as taught in McNulty (para [0105]).
As per claim 5, Nelson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 4.
Nelson does not teach: wherein the second gyroscope is disposed at least partially within a second sidewall of the patient litter basket.
McNulty teaches: wherein the second gyroscope is disposed at least partially within a second sidewall of the patient litter basket (812-Fig.8; para [0104]: gyroscope disposed in side of support).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and McNulty (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes positioned in a sidewall of the support) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes positioned in a sidewall of the support. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provided gyroscopes integral with the patient support housing as taught in McNulty (para [0105]).
As per claim 15, Nelson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 14.
Nelson does not teach, wherein each first gyroscope of the pair of first gyroscopes is disposed at least partially within at least one of a first sidewall or a second sidewall of the patient litter basket, the first sidewall and the second sidewall defining opposing sides of the patient litter basket.
McNulty teaches, wherein each first gyroscope of the pair of first gyroscopes is disposed at least partially within at least one of a first sidewall or a second sidewall of the patient litter basket, the first sidewall and the second sidewall defining opposing sides of the patient litter basket (810-Fig.8; para [0104]: gyroscope disposed in side of support).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and McNulty (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes positioned in a sidewall of the support) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes positioned in a sidewall of the support. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provided gyroscopes integral with the patient support housing as taught in McNulty (para [0105]).
As per claim 16, Nelson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 15.
Nelson does not teach, wherein each second gyroscope of the pair of second gyroscopes is disposed at least partially within at least one of a third sidewall or a fourth sidewall of the patient litter basket, the third sidewall and the fourth sidewall defining opposing end of the patient litter basket.
McNulty teaches, wherein each second gyroscope of the pair of second gyroscopes is disposed at least partially within at least one of a third sidewall or a fourth sidewall of the patient litter basket, the third sidewall and the fourth sidewall defining opposing end of the patient litter basket (812-Fig.8; para [0104]: gyroscope disposed in side of support).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and McNulty (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes positioned in a sidewall of the support) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes positioned in a sidewall of the support. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provided gyroscopes integral with the patient support housing as taught in McNulty (para [0105]).
As per claim 17, Nelson (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 16, wherein the first sidewall, the second sidewall, the third sidewall, and the fourth sidewall each extend perpendicular from a base of the patient litter basket to form a patient space (16—Fig.1; para [0027]).
As per claim 18, Nelson teaches:
A method of manufacturing a patient litter basket (10—Fig.1; para [0033]), the method comprising: disposing a plurality of sidewalls perpendicular to a base of the patient litter basket to form a patient space (16—Fig.1; para [0027]).
Nelson does not teach; disposing a first gyroscope at least partially within a first sidewall of the patient litter basket; and disposing a second gyroscope at least partially within a second sidewall of the patient litter basket.
McNulty teaches, disposing a first gyroscope at least partially within a first sidewall of the patient litter basket(810-Fig.8; para [0104]: gyroscope disposed in side of support); and disposing a second gyroscope at least partially within a second sidewall of the patient litter basket (812-Fig.8; para [0104]: gyroscope disposed in side of support).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and McNulty (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes positioned in a sidewall of the support) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes positioned in a sidewall of the support. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provided gyroscopes integral with the patient support housing as taught in McNulty (para [0105]).
Claim(s) 6—14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO document 2021/016192 A2 to Nelson in view of U.S Patent Application 2017/0336807 A1 to Ala et al. (Ala hereafter).
As per claim 6, Nelson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 2.
Nelson does not teach: wherein the first gyroscope is activated by a controller associated with an onboard computer of an aircraft.
Ala teaches: wherein the first gyroscope is activated by a controller associated with an onboard computer of an aircraft (120-Fig.9; para [0054-55]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and Ala (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform activated by the controller associated with the onboard computer of the aircraft) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform including a controller associated with an onboard computer of an aircraft . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to produce signals to be sent to the gyro pairs to produce changes to the operating state of one or more of the gyros of one or more of the gyro pair as taught in Ala (para [0054]).
As per claim 7, Nelson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 6.
Nelson does not teach, wherein the second gyroscope is activated by the controller associated with the onboard computer of the aircraft.
Ala teaches, wherein the second gyroscope is activated by the controller associated with the onboard computer of the aircraft (120-Fig.9; para [0054-55]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and Ala (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform activated by the controller associated with the onboard computer of the aircraft) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform including a controller associated with an onboard computer of an aircraft . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to produce signals to be sent to the gyro pairs to produce changes to the operating state of one or more of the gyros of one or more of the gyro pair as taught in Ala (para [0054]).
As per claim 8, Nelson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 2.
Nelson does not teach, further comprising activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket, wherein the third gyroscope is disposed perpendicular to the first gyroscope.
Ala teaches, further comprising activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket (34-Fig.2; para [0042]), wherein the third gyroscope is disposed perpendicular to the first gyroscope (34 & 38-Fig.2; para [0042] third gyroscope perpendicular to first gyroscope 38).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and Ala (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to produce counter-rotation by rotating the gyroscopes of an individual gyro pair about the same axis, using the motor or other mechanism as taught in Ala (para [0042]).
As per claim 9, Nelson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 8.
Nelson does not teach, further comprising simultaneously activating the third gyroscope and a fourth gyroscope disposed parallel to the third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket, wherein the gyroscopic counter torque comprises a sum of a third torque generated by the third gyroscope and a fourth torque generated by the fourth gyroscope.
Ala teaches, further comprising simultaneously activating the third gyroscope and a fourth gyroscope (36-Fig.2; para [0042]) disposed parallel to the third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket (36 & 38-Fig.2; para [0042]), wherein the gyroscopic counter torque comprises a sum of a third torque generated by the third gyroscope and a fourth torque generated by the fourth gyroscope (para [0040]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and Ala (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to produce counter-rotation by rotating the gyroscopes of an individual gyro pair about the same axis, using the motor or other mechanism as taught in Ala (para [0042]).
As per claim 10, Nelson teaches:
A method for orienting a patient litter basket(10—Fig.1; para [0033]), the method comprising: receiving, data from a motion sensor embedded within the patient litter basket corresponding to an orientation of the patient litter basket (50—Fig.6A; para [0033]); determining, a first torque required to maintain an orientation of the patient litter basket with respect to an aircraft (para [0033]); and commanding, a pair of first gyroscopes to rotate at a first speed, the first speed corresponding to the first torque (examiner note; para [0030]; claim 2: sensor comprises at least one gyroscope).
Nelson does not teach, the method comprising: receiving, by a controller determining, by the controller, a first torque required to maintain an orientation and commanding, by the controller, a pair of first gyroscopes to rotate at a first speed.
Ala teaches, the method comprising: receiving, by a controller determining, by the controller, a first torque required to maintain an orientation and commanding, by the controller (para [0054]), a pair of first gyroscopes to rotate at a first speed (para [0055]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and Ala (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to produce counter-rotation by rotating the gyroscopes of an individual gyro pair about the same axis, using the motor or other mechanism as taught in Ala (para [0042]).
As per claim 11, Nelson (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 10, further comprising: receiving, updated data from the motion sensor(para [0033]); and determining, a second torque required to maintain the orientation of the patient litter basket with respect to the aircraft (para [0034] thrust continuously modulated according to external forces and extent of spin the patient litter basket).
Nelson does not teach: receiving, by the controller, updated data from the motion sensor; and determining, by the controller, a second torque.
Ala teaches receiving, by the controller, updated data from the motion sensor (para [0056]); and determining, by the controller, a second torque (para [0054]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and Ala (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to produce counter-rotation by rotating the gyroscopes of an individual gyro pair about the same axis, using the motor or other mechanism as taught in Ala (para [0042]).
As per claim 12, Nelson (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 11, further comprising increasing, by the controller, the rotation of the pair of first gyroscopes from the first speed to a second speed corresponding to the second torque (para [0034] greater thrust can be modulated according to external forces and extent of spin the patient litter basket).
Nelson does not teach further comprising increasing, by the controller, the rotation of the pair of first gyroscopes.
Ala teaches further comprising increasing, by the controller, the rotation of the pair of first gyroscopes (120-Fig.8; para [0054]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and Ala (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to produce counter-rotation by rotating the gyroscopes of an individual gyro pair about the same axis, using the motor or other mechanism as taught in Ala (para [0042]).
As per claim 13, Nelson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 11.
Nelson does not teach, further comprising decreasing, by the controller, the rotation of the pair of first gyroscopes from the first speed to a third speed corresponding to the second torque.
Ala teaches, further comprising decreasing, by the controller, the rotation of the pair of first gyroscopes from the first speed to a third speed (para [0053]: varying spin rates) corresponding to the second torque (Fig.7; para [0053]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and Ala (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to produce counter-rotation by rotating the gyroscopes of an individual gyro pair about the same axis, using the motor or other mechanism as taught in Ala (para [0042]).
As per claim 14, Nelson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 11.
Nelson does not teach, further comprising commanding, by the controller, a pair of second gyroscopes to rotate at a third speed, the third speed corresponding to the second torque.
Ala teaches, further comprising commanding, by the controller, a pair of second gyroscopes to rotate at a third speed (Fig.7; para [0053]: varying spin rates including a third speed), the third speed corresponding to the second torque (para [0053]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and Ala (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to produce counter-rotation by rotating the gyroscopes of an individual gyro pair about the same axis, using the motor or other mechanism as taught in Ala (para [0042]).
Claim(s) 19 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO document 2021/016192 A2 to Nelson in view of U.S Patent Application 2010/0242169 A1 to McNulty in further view of U.S Patent Application 2017/0336807 A1 to Ala.
As per claim 19, Nelson (as modified) teaches: The method of claim 18.
Nelson does not teach, wherein the first gyroscope and the second gyroscope each comprise a frame and at least one flywheel rotatable in three directions with respect to the frame.
Ala teaches, wherein the first gyroscope and the second gyroscope each comprise a frame and at least one flywheel rotatable in three directions with respect to the frame (230 & 230-Fig.11; para [0062]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and Ala (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to ensure out-of-plane moments cancel out as taught in Ala (para [0042]).
As per claim 20, Nelson (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 19, further including: coupling a motion sensor configured to sense an angular acceleration of the patient litter basket to the patient litter basket (50—Fig.6A; para [0033]).
Nelson does not teach; and operable coupling a controller to the patient litter basket, the controller configured to operate the first gyroscope and the second gyroscope based on data received from the motion sensor.
Ala teaches; and operable coupling a controller to the patient litter basket, the controller configured to operate the first gyroscope and the second gyroscope based on data received from the motion sensor (para [0055]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nelson (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform) and Ala (directed to a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket) and arrived at a patient litter provided with gyroscopes to provide a counter torque to a litter platform and activating a third gyroscope to counter act the torque of the patient litter basket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to ensure out-of-plane moments cancel out as taught in Ala (para [0042]).
Conclusion
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 04/22/2026
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673