DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 8, 12, and 14-15 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the actuation mechanism” should read “an actuation mechanism” or “the actuator”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “The integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 1 wherein” should read “The integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 1, wherein”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the actuation mechanism” should read “an actuation mechanism” or “the actuator”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “movementfreedom” should read “movement freedom”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the actuation mechanism” should read “an actuation mechanism” or “the actuator”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bielewicz et al. (US 2009/029199).
Regarding claim 1, Bielewicz teaches an integrated imaging and device deployment platform comprising (fig. 9, para. 0194; catheter 1 having an ultrasound transducer array 7 near the distal end thereof and an interventional device can be advanced at least partially out of distal exit port 13):
a catheter having an outer surface (fig. 9, para. 0194; catheter 1 having an ultrasound transducer array 7 near the distal end thereof);
an imaging unit coupled to the catheter, the imaging unit comprising a distal end portion configured to selectively move between a retracted position proximate to the catheter and an extended position facing distally outward from the catheter (figs. 9-9B, para. 0194; The ultrasound transducer array 7 is attached to catheter 1 by hinge 9. Electrically conductive wires 4 are connected to ultrasound transducer array 7 and extend proximally to the proximal end of the catheter 1. The catheter 1 includes distal exit port 13. The hinge 9 can be located at the distal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9A, or at the proximal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9B. In any event, the ultrasound transducer array 7 can be either passively or actively deflectable, as discussed above. Ultrasound transducer array 7 can be deflected up to the forward-looking configuration (as shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B). The examiner notes that the imaging unit comprises an ultrasound transducer and conductive wires coupled to the catheter by a hinge. When the distal end of the imaging catheter (the transducer) is in retracted position it is received within a recess of the outer surface of the catheter (proximate to the catheter) and when it extends from the catheter the transducer is extending outwardly from the recess of the catheter and facing forward (distally).);
a delivery unit coupled to the catheter, the delivery unit being configured to deploy a device (para. 0194; an interventional device can be advanced at least partially out of distal exit port 13. The examiner notes that the delivery unit is a lumen extending inside the catheter configured to deploy an interventional device); and
an actuator configured to move the imaging unit between the retracted position and the extended position (paras. 0124 and 0194; Deflectable can include 1) "actively deflectable" meaning that the array or catheter portion containing the array can be moved by remote application of force (e.g., electrical (e.g., wired or wireless), mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, magnetic, etc.), transmission of that force by various means including pull wires, hydraulic lines, air lines, magnetic coupling, or electrical conductors; and 2) "passively deflectable" meaning that the array or catheter portion containing the array when in the resting, unstrained condition, tends to be in alignment with the catheter longitudinal axis and may be moved by local forces imparted by the introduction of interventional device 11. The hinge 9 can be located at the distal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9A, or at the proximal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9B. In any event, the ultrasound transducer array 7 can be either passively or actively deflectable, as discussed above.).
Regarding claim 2, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 1, wherein the imaging unit further comprises a sensor, wherein in the retracted position the sensor faces inwardly and in the extended position the sensor faces distally outward from the catheter (figs. 9-9B, paras. catheter 1 having an ultrasound transducer array 7 near the distal end thereof. The ultrasound transducer array 7 is attached to catheter 1 by hinge 9. Electrically conductive wires 4 are connected to ultrasound transducer array 7 and extend proximally to the proximal end of the catheter 1. The catheter 1 includes distal exit port 13. The hinge 9 can be located at the distal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9A, or at the proximal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9B. In any event, the ultrasound transducer array 7 can be either passively or actively deflectable, as discussed above. Ultrasound transducer array 7 can be deflected up to the forward-looking configuration (as shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B). The examiner notes that when the hinge is connected to the proximal end of the transducer, when the transducer is retracted and housed within the recess, the ultrasound transducer is facing inwardly toward the surface of the catheter, and when deflected the transducer is deflected outwardly from the catheter and facing forward in a distal direction of the catheter as shown in figure 9B).
Regarding claim 3, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 1, wherein the imaging unit is configured to move relative to the delivery unit (paras. 0124 and 0194; Deflectable can include 1) "actively deflectable" meaning that the array or catheter portion containing the array can be moved by remote application of force (e.g., electrical (e.g., wired or wireless), mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, magnetic, etc.), transmission of that force by various means including pull wires, hydraulic lines, air lines, magnetic coupling, or electrical conductors; and 2) "passively deflectable" meaning that the array or catheter portion containing the array when in the resting, unstrained condition, tends to be in alignment with the catheter longitudinal axis and may be moved by local forces imparted by the introduction of interventional device 11. In any event, the ultrasound transducer array 7 can be either passively or actively deflectable, as discussed above. Ultrasound transducer array 7 can be deflected up to the forward-looking configuration (as shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B) and an interventional device can be advanced at least partially out of distal exit port 13, such that at least a portion of the interventional device will be in the field of view of the ultrasound transducer array 7.).
Regarding claim 4, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 1, wherein the catheter has a recess formed in the outer surface thereof, the recess being configured to receive at least a portion of the imaging unit when the imaging unit is in the retracted position (figs. 9-9B, para. 0194; the examiner notes that the catheter outer surface comprises a recessed portion that receives and houses the transducer when in retracted position).
Regarding claim 5, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 1, wherein the actuation mechanism is configured to navigate and position the imaging unit and the delivery unit (paras. 0124 and 0194; Deflectable can include 1) "actively deflectable" meaning that the array or catheter portion containing the array can be moved by remote application of force (e.g., electrical (e.g., wired or wireless), mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, magnetic, etc.), transmission of that force by various means including pull wires, hydraulic lines, air lines, magnetic coupling, or electrical conductors; and 2) "passively deflectable" meaning that the array or catheter portion containing the array when in the resting, unstrained condition, tends to be in alignment with the catheter longitudinal axis and may be moved by local forces imparted by the introduction of interventional device 11. In any event, the ultrasound transducer array 7 can be either passively or actively deflectable, as discussed above. Ultrasound transducer array 7 can be deflected up to the forward-looking configuration (as shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B) and an interventional device can be advanced at least partially out of distal exit port 13, such that at least a portion of the interventional device will be in the field of view of the ultrasound transducer array 7.). The examiner notes that a passive deflection mechanism is configured to move both of the interventional device and the transducer).
Regarding claim 6, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 1, wherein the imaging unit coupled to the catheter is configured to be actuated with at least two degrees of movement about the catheter (paras. 0124 and 0194; "Deflectable" is defined as the ability to move the ultrasound transducer array, or a portion of the catheter body containing the ultrasound transducer array, away from the longitudinal axis of the catheter body, such that 1) the transducer face is fully or partially forward facing or rearward facing. "actively deflectable" meaning that the array or catheter portion containing the array can be moved by remote application of force (e.g., electrical (e.g., wired or wireless), mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, magnetic, etc.), transmission of that force by various means including pull wires, hydraulic lines, air lines, magnetic coupling, or electrical conductors. The hinge 9 can be located at the distal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9A, or at the proximal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9B. In any event, the ultrasound transducer array 7 can be either passively or actively deflectable, as discussed above. Ultrasound transducer array 7 can be deflected up to the forward-looking configuration (as shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B). The examiner notes that the proximal end of the imaging unit (pull wire) axially translate when actuated and the distal end of the imaging portion (transducer) rotationally deflect).
Regarding claim 7, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 1, wherein the imaging unit is connected to the catheter by a hinged connection and is configured to move between the retracted position and the extended position (figs. 9-9B, para. 0194; The hinge 9 can be located at the distal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9A, or at the proximal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9B. In any event, the ultrasound transducer array 7 can be either passively or actively deflectable, as discussed above.).
Regarding claim 8, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 1, wherein the actuator comprises a pull wire connected to the imaging unit and is configured to selectively move the imaging unit between the retracted position and the extended position (paras. 0124, 0186, and 0194; The ultrasound transducer array 7 is attached to catheter 1 by hinge 9. Electrically conductive wires 4 are connected to ultrasound transducer array 7 and extend proximally to the proximal end of the catheter 1. "actively deflectable" meaning that the array or catheter portion containing the array can be moved by remote application of force (e.g., electrical (e.g., wired or wireless), mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, magnetic, etc.), transmission of that force by various means including pull wires, hydraulic lines, air lines, magnetic coupling, or electrical conductors).
Regarding claim 9, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 1, wherein the imaging unit is radially movable relative to the delivery unit (figs. 9-9B, para. 0194; Ultrasound transducer array 7 can be deflected up to the forward-looking configuration (as shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B) and an interventional device can be advanced at least partially out of distal exit port 13, such that at least a portion of the interventional device will be in the field of view of the ultrasound transducer array 7.).
Regarding claim 10, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 1, wherein the actuator is configured such that movement of the delivery unit causes automatic movement of the imaging unit from the retracted position to the extended position (para. 0124; "passively deflectable" meaning that the array or catheter portion containing the array when in the resting, unstrained condition, tends to be in alignment with the catheter longitudinal axis and may be moved by local forces imparted by the introduction of interventional device 11.).
Regarding claim 11, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 1, wherein the actuator is configured to selectively lock the imaging unit at a selected position during use of the platform (para. 202; he deflectable imaging device may be supportably interconnected by a hinge to one of the outer tubular body and the actuation device, and the deflecting step may further comprise applying a deflection force to the hinge in response to the translating step. Furthermore, the deflecting step may further include initiating the application of the deflection force to the hinge in response to the translating step. The deflection force may be applied and then maintained by manipulating a handle interconnected to the proximal end of the catheter. Moreover, the applying step may comprise communicating the deflection force by the actuation device from the proximal end to the distal end of the catheter in a balanced and distributed manner about a center axis of the outer tubular body.).
Regarding claim 12, Bielewicz teaches an integrated imaging and device deployment platform comprising (fig. 9, para. 0194; catheter 1 having an ultrasound transducer array 7 near the distal end thereof and an interventional device can be advanced at least partially out of distal exit port 13):
a catheter having an outer surface with a recess formed therein (figs. 9-9B, para. 0194; catheter 1 having an ultrasound transducer array 7 near the distal end thereof. The examiner notes that the catheter outer surface comprise a recess.);
an imaging unit connected to the catheter, the imaging unit comprising a steerable distal end portion configured to selectively move between a retracted position in which the imaging unit is disposed facing inward in the recess in the outer surface of the catheter and an extended position in which the imaging unit extends radially outward from the catheter (figs. 9-9B, para. 0194; The ultrasound transducer array 7 is attached to catheter 1 by hinge 9. Electrically conductive wires 4 are connected to ultrasound transducer array 7 and extend proximally to the proximal end of the catheter 1. The catheter 1 includes distal exit port 13. The hinge 9 can be located at the distal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9A, or at the proximal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9B. In any event, the ultrasound transducer array 7 can be either passively or actively deflectable, as discussed above. Ultrasound transducer array 7 can be deflected up to the forward-looking configuration (as shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B). The examiner notes that the imaging unit comprises an ultrasound transducer and conductive wires coupled to the catheter by a hinge. When the distal end of the imaging catheter (the transducer) is in retracted position it is received within a recess of the outer surface of the catheter (facing inward to the recess) and when it extends from the catheter the transducer is extending radially outward from the recess of the catheter and facing forward (distally).);
a delivery unit connected to the catheter, the delivery unit being configured to deploy a device (para. 0194; an interventional device can be advanced at least partially out of distal exit port 13. The examiner notes that the delivery unit is a delivery lumen extending inside the catheter configured to deploy an interventional device); and
an actuator configured to selectively move the imaging unit between the retracted position and the extended position, the actuation mechanism further being configured to move the delivery unit (paras. 0124 and 0194; Deflectable can include 1) "actively deflectable" meaning that the array or catheter portion containing the array can be moved by remote application of force (e.g., electrical (e.g., wired or wireless), mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, magnetic, etc.), transmission of that force by various means including pull wires, hydraulic lines, air lines, magnetic coupling, or electrical conductors; and 2) "passively deflectable" meaning that the array or catheter portion containing the array when in the resting, unstrained condition, tends to be in alignment with the catheter longitudinal axis and may be moved by local forces imparted by the introduction of interventional device 11. The hinge 9 can be located at the distal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9A, or at the proximal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9B. In any event, the ultrasound transducer array 7 can be either passively or actively deflectable, as discussed above.).
Regarding claim 13, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 12, wherein the imaging unit further comprises a sensor, wherein in the retracted position the sensor faces inwardly toward the catheter and in the extended position the sensor faces radially outward in a distal direction from the catheter (figs. 9-9B, paras. catheter 1 having an ultrasound transducer array 7 near the distal end thereof. The ultrasound transducer array 7 is attached to catheter 1 by hinge 9. Electrically conductive wires 4 are connected to ultrasound transducer array 7 and extend proximally to the proximal end of the catheter 1. The catheter 1 includes distal exit port 13. The hinge 9 can be located at the distal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9A, or at the proximal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9B. In any event, the ultrasound transducer array 7 can be either passively or actively deflectable, as discussed above. Ultrasound transducer array 7 can be deflected up to the forward-looking configuration (as shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B). The examiner notes that when the hinge is connected to the proximal end of the transducer, when the transducer is retracted and housed within the recess, the ultrasound transducer is facing inwardly toward the surface of the catheter, and when deflected the transducer is deflected outwardly from the catheter and facing forward in a distal direction of the catheter as shown in figure 9B).
Regarding claim 14, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 12, wherein the imaging unit coupled to the catheter is configured to be actuated with at least two degrees of movement freedom about the catheter (paras. 0124 and 0194; "Deflectable" is defined as the ability to move the ultrasound transducer array, or a portion of the catheter body containing the ultrasound transducer array, away from the longitudinal axis of the catheter body, such that 1) the transducer face is fully or partially forward facing or rearward facing. "actively deflectable" meaning that the array or catheter portion containing the array can be moved by remote application of force (e.g., electrical (e.g., wired or wireless), mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, magnetic, etc.), transmission of that force by various means including pull wires, hydraulic lines, air lines, magnetic coupling, or electrical conductors. The hinge 9 can be located at the distal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9A, or at the proximal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9B. In any event, the ultrasound transducer array 7 can be either passively or actively deflectable, as discussed above. Ultrasound transducer array 7 can be deflected up to the forward-looking configuration (as shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B). The examiner notes that the proximal end of the imaging unit (pull wire) axially translate when actuated and the distal end of the imaging portion (transducer) rotationally deflect).
Regarding claim 15, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 12, wherein the actuation mechanism comprises a pull wire connected to the imaging unit and configured to move the imaging unit between the retracted position and the extended position (paras. 0124, 0186, and 0194; The ultrasound transducer array 7 is attached to catheter 1 by hinge 9. Electrically conductive wires 4 are connected to ultrasound transducer array 7 and extend proximally to the proximal end of the catheter 1. "actively deflectable" meaning that the array or catheter portion containing the array can be moved by remote application of force (e.g., electrical (e.g., wired or wireless), mechanical, hydraulic, pneumatic, magnetic, etc.), transmission of that force by various means including pull wires, hydraulic lines, air lines, magnetic coupling, or electrical conductors.).
Regarding claim 16, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 15, wherein the pull wire is further configured to transmit one or more signals from the imaging unit to a user interface (para. 0121; The at least one electrically conductive wire 4 exits the catheter proximal end 3 through a port or other opening in the catheter wall and is electrically connected to transducer driver; image processor 5 which provides a visual image via device 6. ).
Regarding claim 17, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of The integrated imaging and device deployment platform of wherein movement of the delivery unit is configured to cause automatic movement of the imaging unit from the retracted position to the extended position (para. 0124; "passively deflectable" meaning that the array or catheter portion containing the array when in the resting, unstrained condition, tends to be in alignment with the catheter longitudinal axis and may be moved by local forces imparted by the introduction of interventional device 11.).
Regarding claim 19, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 11, wherein the imaging unit is radially movable relative to the delivery unit (figs. 9-9B, para. 0194; Ultrasound transducer array 7 can be deflected up to the forward-looking configuration (as shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B) and an interventional device can be advanced at least partially out of distal exit port 13, such that at least a portion of the interventional device will be in the field of view of the ultrasound transducer array 7.).
Regarding claim 20, Bielewicz teaches a of deploying a device using an integrated imaging and device deployment platform, comprising:
providing an integrated imaging and device deployment platform, the platform comprising a catheter, a delivery unit, an imaging unit comprising a sensor, a device, and an actuation mechanism (para. 0194; catheter 1 having an ultrasound transducer array 7 near the distal end thereof. The ultrasound transducer array 7 is attached to catheter 1 by hinge 9. Electrically conductive wires 4 are connected to ultrasound transducer array 7 and extend proximally to the proximal end of the catheter 1. The catheter 1 includes distal exit port 13. The hinge 9 can be located at the distal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9A, or at the proximal end of ultrasound transducer array 7, as shown in FIG. 9B. In any event, the ultrasound transducer array 7 can be either passively or actively deflectable, as discussed above. Ultrasound transducer array 7 can be deflected up to the forward-looking configuration (as shown in FIGS. 9A and 9B) and an interventional device can be advanced at least partially out of distal exit port 13, such that at least a portion of the interventional device will be in the field of view of the ultrasound transducer array 7.);
navigating the device of the integrated imaging and device deployment platform to a target location within a patient with the imaging unit in the retracted position facing inwardly (fig. 9, paras. 0194 and 0198; The first step 150 in the method may be to move the distal end of the catheter from an initial position to a desired position, wherein the deflectable imaging device is located in a first position during the moving step.);
activating the actuation mechanism to move the delivery unit toward the target location to deploy the device (para. 0199-200; The next step 152 may be to obtain image data from the deflectable imaging device during at least a portion of the moving step. The obtaining step may be performed with the deflectable imaging device located in the first position. During the moving and obtaining steps, a position of the deflectable imaging device relative to the distal end of the catheter may be maintained. Thus the deflectable imaging device may be moved and images may be obtained without moving the deflectable imaging device relative to the distal end of the catheter.);
moving the imaging unit from the retracted position to the extended position facing distally toward the target site to acquire real-time imaging information regarding a patient's anatomy via the imaging unit (para. 0201; The next step 156 may be to deflect the deflectable imaging device from the first position to a second position. The deflecting step may follow the moving step. The deflectable imaging device may be forward-looking in the second position. The deflectable imaging device may be angled at least 45 degrees relative to a center axis of the catheter when in the second position.); and
using the information from the imaging unit to position the delivery unit at the target location for the device (para. 0203; The next step 158 may be to advance an interventional device through an exit port at the distal end of the catheter and into an imaging field of view of the deflectable imaging device in the second position. The imaging field of view may be maintained in substantially fixed registration to the distal end of the catheter during the advancing step.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bielewicz et al. (US 2009/029199) in the view of Johnson et al. (US 2018/0153530).
Regarding claim 18, Bielewicz teaches the integrated imaging and device deployment platform of claim 12, however fails to explicitly teach wherein the imaging unit is axially movable relative to the delivery unit.
Johnson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches imaging unit is axially movable relative to the delivery unit (para. 0030; The ultrasound transducer 136 may be positioned distally beyond the tip of the tissue sampling element 118 by advancing the MDU, as discussed above. With the location and orientation of the pulmonary nodule 8 determined, the ultrasound probe 138 may be proximally retracted through the fixed sheath 140 via the MDU to position the ultrasound transducer 136 slightly behind (e.g., proximal to) the tip of the tissue sampling element 118 (FIG. 7D), thereby allowing the tissue sampling element 118 (and pulmonary nodule 8) to be visualized on the radial ultrasound image.).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the movement of the imaging unit of Bielewicz to add the axial movement of the imaging unit relative to the delivery unit of Johnson to provide an imaging unit is axially movable relative to the delivery unit because it advancing the imaging unit distally beyond the tip of the device allows the visualization of the target and retracting the imaging unit proximally relative to the tip of the device allows visualization of the tip of the device in a radial ultrasound image as disclosed within Johnson in para. 0030.
Conclusion
/ZAINAB MOHAMMED ALDARRAJI/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797