Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chuang et al. (US 10,261,324 B2, hereinafter “Chuang”).
As to claim 15, Chuang (Fig. 2) discloses a head-mounted device (100), comprising:
a head-mounted housing (120);
a left lens barrel (210A) surrounding a first optical axis (213A, axis of lens 213A) and having a first opening (Fig. 3B element 343) that is perpendicular to the first optical axis (343 appears perpendicular to lens axis of eye cone; Col. 4 lines 17-23);
a right lens barrel (210A, right eye) surrounding a second optical axis and having a second opening (343) that is perpendicular to the second optical axis (343 appears perpendicular to lens axis of eye cone; Col. 4 lines 17-23);
a left removable vision correction lens (Fig. 5B) having a first tab (510) that protrudes into the first opening (Fig. 3B element 343); and
a right removable vision correction lens having a second tab that protrudes into the second opening (Fig. 2; Col. 4 lines 17-26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang in view of Saccarelli (US 2021/0173231 A1, hereinafter “Saccarelli”).
As to claim 1, Chuang (Fig. 1) discloses a head-mounted device (100), comprising:
a head-mounted housing (120); and
optical modules (110A, 110B) coupled to the head-mounted housing, wherein the optical modules each comprise:
an optical module support structure (“the structure around 110A and 110B) comprising a ring-shaped member (Fig. 2 element 210A) that surrounds a first opening (opening of eye cone), wherein the ring-shaped member has a second opening (210A, second opening) that faces the first opening;
a display coupled to the optical module support structure (Col. 2 lines 36-38);
a lens (213) in the first opening that is configured to provide an image from the display to an eye box (Col. 3 lines 24-28, Col. 4 lines 53-60); and
wherein the removable vision correction lens (110A) has a surface that transmits the image from the display and has a tab (Fig. 4 element 420) that extends parallel to the surface and into the second opening (Col. 4 lines 61-67).
Chung does not disclose a magnet configured to attract a corresponding magnet in a removable vision correction lens.
However, Saccarelli (Fig. 1) teaches a magnet (104) configured to attract a corresponding magnet (102) in a removable vision correction lens (101; Para. 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Saccarelli to include magnets to attach lens in the device disclosed by Chung. The motivation would have been to ensure the correct lens attachments (Saccarelli; Para. 0039).
As to claim 2, Chung (Fig. 3A) discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 1 further comprising a ring- shaped sealing structure (215) that surrounds a peripheral edge of the lens (213) and that presses against a surface of the optical module support structure (part of the frame that presses against the wall of the eye cone) to prevent environmental contaminant ingress into an interior optical module region between the display and the lens (Col. 3 lines 40-42), wherein each optical module support structure has a portion configured to receive a cover layer mounting ring (the ring with 217).
As to claim 3, Chuang (Fig. 3B) discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 2 wherein each optical module support structure (210A) has an additional ring-shaped member (left ring), and wherein the lens in each optical module comprises protrusions that are received between the ring-shaped member (right ring of cone 210A) and the additional ring-shaped member of that optical module (Col. 3 lines 24-28; furthermore, it is merely a design choice to have protrusion for the lens as shown in fig. 5).
As to claim 4, Chuang (Fig. 5B) discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 3 wherein each optical module comprises a protrusion (510) in the ring-shaped member that protrudes into a recess in the tab (Fig. 3B element 343; it is merely a design choice to have protrusion on the eye cone and recess on the lens assembly).
As to claim 5, Chuang in view of Saccarelli disclose the head-mounted device defined in claim 1. Saccarelli further teaches wherein the magnet is one of multiple magnets (Fig. 1 element 104, 105) configured to mate with corresponding magnets (102, 103) in the removable vision correction lens.
As to claim 6, Chung in view of Saccarelli disclose the head-mounted device defined in claim 1. Saccarelli further teaches wherein the removable vision correction lens is one of right and left removable vision correction lenses (Fig. 10), wherein the optical modules comprise:
a right optical module with a first set of magnets configured to attract the right removable vision correction lens and to not attract the left removable vision correction lens (S, S; Para. 0047); and
a left optical module with a second set of magnets that is different than the first set of magnets and that is configured to attract the left removable vision correction lens and not the right removable vision correction lens (N, N; Para. 0047).
As to claim 7, Chuang (Fig. 3B) discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 1 wherein each optical module support structure has a portion surrounded by a respective cover layer mounting ring (215).
As to claim 9, Chuang (Fig. 2) discloses a head-mounted device (100), comprising:
a head-mounted support structure (120); and
left and right optical modules (213A) coupled to the head-mounted support structure and having respective left and right lens barrels (210A), and wherein the left and right vision correction lenses (110A) have tabs (Fig. 5 B element 510) that extend radially outward into openings (Fig. 3B element 343) that pass through the respective left and right lens barrels (210A; Col. 4 lines 17-26).
Chuang does not disclose wherein the left optical module has a first set of magnets configured to attract a left vision correction lens and to not attract a right vision correction lens, wherein the right optical module has a second set of magnets configured to attract the right vision correction lens and to not attract the left vision correction lens.
However, Saccarelli (Fig. 2) teaches wherein the left optical module has a first set of magnets (104, 105) configured to attract a left vision correction lens (101) and to not attract a right vision correction lens (Fig. 10; Para. 0047), wherein the right optical module has a second set of magnets configured to attract the right vision correction lens and to not attract the left vision correction lens (Para. 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Saccarelli to include magnets to attach lens in the device disclosed by Chung. The motivation would have been to ensure the correct lens attachments (Saccarelli; Para. 0039).
Claim(s) 8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang and Saccarelli as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Raffle et al. (US 2018/0095498 A1, hereinafter “Raffle”).
As to claim 8, Chuang discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 1 wherein the optical modules include left and right optical modules (Fig. 2).
Chuang does not disclose the head-mounted device further comprising:
a cover comprising:
a fabric cover layer that extends between the left and right optical modules;
a left cover layer mounting ring coupled to the fabric cover layer and surrounding the left optical module; and
a right cover layer mounting ring coupled to the fabric cover layer and surrounding the right optical module,
wherein the optical module support structure in the left optical module has first engagement structures configured to couple to the left cover layer mounting ring and the optical module support structure in the right optical module has second engagement structures configured to couple to the right cover layer mounting ring.
However, Raffle (Fig. 3A) teaches the head-mounted device further comprising:
a cover (140) comprising:
a fabric cover layer (Para. 0020, a fabric cover) that extends between the left and right optical modules (110; Para. 0019);
a left cover layer mounting ring (Fig. 3B element 145A) coupled to the fabric cover layer (140) and surrounding the left optical module (110; Para. 0019); and
a right cover layer mounting ring (145A) coupled to the fabric cover layer and surrounding the right optical module (110; Para. 0019),
wherein the optical module support structure (150) in the left optical module has first engagement structures configured to couple to the left cover layer mounting ring (Para. 0019, portion of left lens 150 that couples on recess 145A) and the optical module support structure in the right optical module has second engagement structures configured to couple to the right cover layer mounting ring (Para. 0019, for right lens).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Saccarelli to include magnets to attach lens in the device disclosed by Chung. The motivation would have been to ensure the correct lens attachments (Saccarelli; Para. 0039).
As to claim 10, Chuang in view of Saccarelli does not disclose the head-mounted device defined in claim 9 further comprising:
a cover configured to cover a rear face of the head-mounted support structure, wherein the cover has a fabric cover layer that extends between the left and right optical modules.
However, Raffle (Fig. 3A) teaches a cover (140) configured to cover a rear face of the head-mounted support structure (Para. 0018), wherein the cover has a fabric cover layer that extends between the left and right optical modules (110; Para. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Raffle to include a face pad in the device disclosed by Chuang/Saccarelli. The motivation would have been to render the use of the headset more hygienic (Raffle; Para. 0018).
As to claim 11, Chuang in view of Saccarelli and Raffle disclose the head-mounted device defined in claim 10. Raffle (Fig. 3D) further teaches wherein the fabric cover layer has a left cover layer mounting ring (145A, left) and a right cover layer mounting ring (145A, right).
As to claim 12, Chuang in view of Saccarelli and Raffle disclose the head-mounted device defined in claim 11. Raffle (Fig. 3D) wherein the left cover layer mounting ring (145A) surrounds the left optical module (110, left) and the right cover layer mounting ring (145A) surrounds the right optical module (110, right).
As to claim 13, Chuang (Fig. 2) discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 12 wherein the left optical module has a left display (Col. 2 lines 30-38) and a left lens (213A) coupled to the left lens barrel (210A, left), wherein the right optical module has a right display (Col. 2 lines 30-38) and a right lens (213A) coupled to the right lens barrel (210A, right).
Chuang does not disclose wherein the left lens barrel and the left cover layer mounting ring have mating engagement structures,
Wherein the right lens barrel and the right cover layer mounting ring have mating engagement structures.
However, Raffle (Fig. 3D) teaches wherein the left lens barrel (110) and the left cover layer mounting ring (145A) have mating engagement structures (Para. 0019, recessed portion),
Wherein the right lens barrel (110) and the right cover layer mounting ring (145A) have mating engagement structures (Para. 0019, recessed portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Saccarelli to include magnets to attach lens in the device disclosed by Chung. The motivation would have been to ensure the correct lens attachments (Saccarelli; Para. 0039).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang and Saccarelli as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2022/0035171 A1, hereinafter “Yamamoto”).
As to claim 14, Chuang does not disclose the head-mounted device defined in claim 9 wherein the left optical module has a left display bezel configured to receive a left display, wherein the left display has a left display cover layer coupled to the left display bezel and has a first array of pixels configured to emit light through the left display cover layer, wherein the right optical module has a right display bezel configured to receive a right display, and wherein the right display has a right display cover layer coupled to the right display bezel and has a second array of pixels configured to emit light through the right display cover layer.
However, Yamamoto (Fig. 1A) teaches wherein the left optical module has a left display bezel (20) configured to receive a left display (Para. 0085), wherein the left display has a left display cover layer (24) coupled to the left display bezel (20) and has a first array of pixels configured to emit light through the left display cover layer (Para. 0161), wherein the right optical module has a right display bezel configured to receive a right display, and wherein the right display has a right display cover layer coupled to the right display bezel and has a second array of pixels configured to emit light through the right display cover layer (for right eye).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simple substitute the display system of Yamamoto for the display system of Chuang/Saccarelli. The result of such a substitution would have yielded predictable results of displaying images.
Claim(s) 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Raffle.
As to claim 16, Chuang does not disclose the head-mounted device defined in claim 15 further comprising:
a fabric cover layer with a left opening for the left lens barrel and a right opening for the right lens barrel;
a left cover layer mounting ring that is coupled to the fabric cover layer and that surrounds the left opening; and
a right cover layer mounting ring that is coupled to the fabric cover layer and that surrounds the right opening.
However, Raffle (Fig. 3B) teaches a fabric cover layer (140) with a left opening (145) for the left lens barrel (110) and a right opening for the right lens barrel (110, right lens);
a left cover layer mounting ring (145A) that is coupled to the fabric cover layer (140) and that surrounds the left opening (145); and
a right cover layer mounting ring that is coupled to the fabric cover layer and that surrounds the right opening (right side).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Raffle to include a face pad in the device disclosed by Chuang. The motivation would have been to render the use of the headset more hygienic (Raffle; Para. 0018).
As to claim 18, Chuang in view of Raffle disclose the head-mounted device defined in claim 16. Raffle (Fig. 3B) further teaches wherein the left cover layer mounting ring (145A) and the left lens barrel (150) have first mating engagement structures (Para. 0019, recessed portion) and the right cover layer mounting ring (145a) and the right lens barrel (150) have second mating engagement structures (Para. 0019).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang and Raffle as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Saccarelli.
As to claim 17, Chuang does not disclose the head-mounted device defined in claim 16 further comprising a first set of magnets coupled to the left lens barrel and a second set of magnets coupled to the right lens barrel, wherein the first and second sets of magnets have respective first and second magnet poles with different patterns.
However, Saccarelli (Fig. 2) teaches a first set of magnets (104, 105) coupled to the left lens barrel (106) and a second set of magnets coupled to the right lens barrel (Fig. 10), wherein the first and second sets of magnets have respective first and second magnet poles with different patterns (Para. 0046-0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Saccarelli to include magnets to attach lens in the device disclosed by Chuang/Raffle. The motivation would have been to ensure the correct lens attachments (Saccarelli; Para. 0039).
Claim(s) 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Yamamoto.
As to claim 19, Chuang does not disclose the head-mounted device defined in claim 15 further comprising: a left display and a left lens in the left lens barrel; and a right display and a right lens in the right lens barrel.
However, Yamamoto (Fig. 1A) teaches a left display and a left lens in the left lens barrel (20; Para. 0082); and
a right display and a right lens in the right lens barrel (para. 0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to simple substitute the display system of Yamamoto for the display system of Chuang/Saccarelli. The result of such a substitution would have yielded predictable results of displaying images.
As to claim 20, Chaung (Fig. 3B) discloses the head-mounted device defined in claim 19 further comprising: a first ring-shaped sealing structure (215) surrounding the left lens and a second ring-shaped sealing structure surrounding the right lens (Fig. 3A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant‘s disclosure.
Sullivan (US 10,133,305 B1) discloses a magnetic coupling elements (Fig. 2).
BIPIN GYAWALI
Examiner
Art Unit 2625
/BIPIN GYAWALI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2625