Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: steps in claim 20.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, 11, 14-15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Galdy et al. US 2016/0034306
Galdy discloses:
1. and under similar rationales 11 and 20. A method, implemented in a computing device comprising at least one hardware processor and at least one memory coupled to the at least one hardware processor (Fig. 16: processor 1601, memory 1603), the method comprising video processing operations that provide improved computing flexibility and fault tolerance (0119), the method comprising: receiving a subtask of a video processing task from a coordinator computing system, the subtask comprising one or more operations of the video processing task, or instructions derived at least in part therefrom, and an identifier of a video fragment to be processed for the subtask (Figs. 1, 11, 12; 0040; 0081); requesting at least the video fragment (Fig. 6: 602; Fig. 7); receiving the at least the video fragment (Fig. 6: 606; Fig. 7); executing the operations or instructions on the at least the video fragment (Fig. 6: 608; Fig. 7); and encoding the at least the video fragment after, or in conjunction with, the executing the operations or instructions to provide a processed video fragment, thereby providing improved fault tolerance as compared with executing the video processing task as a single task (Figs. 1, 11; 0065-8; 0119).
20. additionally has a step for requesting at least the video fragment based on the identifier (Figs. 1, 7, 11, 12; 0040; 0081); a step for receiving the at least the video fragment in response to the request (Figs. 1, 7, 11, 12; 0040; 0081)
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the encoded video fragment comprises a streamable fragment having a duration corresponding to a unit of video streaming (0065-9).
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the encoded video fragment is streamable without further encoding or reformatting and is formatted according to MPEG-DASH or HLS (0039).
7. The method of claim 1, wherein encoding the portion of the video file comprises using a target bitrate that corresponds to a predefined quality level for adaptive streaming (0058).
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the encoded video fragment is stored at a location selected from the group consisting of the coordinator computing system, the worker, a client device, and an external streaming repository (0003; 0039-43; 0049; Fig 1 and 11: video source 110, stream coordinator 170, worker cluster 150).
14. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 11, wherein the instructions to encode the video fragment comprise instructions to encode the video fragment into a plurality of bitrates suitable for adaptive streaming (0039-43).
15. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 11, wherein the instructions to encode the video fragment comprise inserting segment headers conforming to the ISO Base Media File Format or MPEG-TS format (0039; 0042).
19. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 11, wherein the instructions to encode the video fragment are configured to maintain streamability by encoding the video fragment with a predetermined duration and at a fixed bitrate (0039-43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galdy in view of Kurtzer et al. US 10970113
4. The method of claim 1,
Galdy does not explicitly disclose the following, however Kurtzer teaches further comprising receiving, at the worker, a container header associated with the video file, the container header enabling the worker to formulate a byte-range request for the portion of the video file (10:33-63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order for the policies may be generally defined to maximize performance, minimize cost, minimize data transfer, and/or other parameters (Kutzer 10:33-63)
Claim(s) 5, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galdy in view of Melenboim et al. WO 2017/130035
5. The method of claim 1,
Galdy does not explicitly disclose the following, however Melenboim teaches further comprising determining, at the worker, that additional frames are required to encode the fragment, and requesting one or more additional byte ranges of the video file in response to the determination (pg. 10: 10-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to reduce the use of postMessage, each web worker thread executes its associated set of frames as received from the server (Melenboim pg. 10:10-25)
13. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 11,
Galdy does not explicitly disclose the following, however Melenboim teaches wherein the instructions to receive the video fragment comprise instructions to request the video fragment using a byte-range request based on information provided in the subtask (pg. 10: 10-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to reduce the use of postMessage, each web worker thread executes its associated set of frames as received from the server (Melenboim pg. 10:10-25)
Claim(s) 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galdy in view of Sasikumar et al. US 8407322
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the worker requests metadata from a location separate from the coordinator computing system (Figs 7-10),
Galdy does not explicitly disclose the following, however Sasikumar teaches the metadata comprising frame timing information or encoding constraints (10:4-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to have Metadata, for example, can define one or more execution constraints for a particular block of code, e.g., where and when the code block is to be executed, the type of runtime which is to be used, and the preferred memory, storage, and security characteristics of an executing computer (Sasikumar 10:4-32)
18. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 11,
Galdy does not explicitly disclose the following, however Sasikumar teaches wherein the instructions further comprise requesting operational instructions for the subtask separately from the video fragment. (10:4-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to have Metadata, for example, can define one or more execution constraints for a particular block of code, e.g., where and when the code block is to be executed, the type of runtime which is to be used, and the preferred memory, storage, and security characteristics of an executing computer (Sasikumar 10:4-32)
Claim(s) 6, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galdy in view of Suchland US 10534525
6. The method of claim 1,
Galdy does not explicitly disclose the following, however Suchland teaches wherein the instructions received at the worker include one or more operations to apply a video effect to the portion of the video file, the effect selected from the group consisting of a transition, a visual filter, and text overlay (1:58-2:11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order for the user may perform edit actions (e.g., crop, filters, text overlays, video transitions, voiceovers, etc.) to a low-resolution copy of the original captured media, and can immediately see how the edit actions affect the low-resolution copy (Suchland 1:58-2:11).
17. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 11,
Galdy does not explicitly disclose the following, however Suchland teaches wherein the instructions to execute the operations on the video fragment comprise applying one or more video effects selected from a group consisting of filters, transitions, and text overlays (1:58-2:11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order for the user may perform edit actions (e.g., crop, filters, text overlays, video transitions, voiceovers, etc.) to a low-resolution copy of the original captured media, and can immediately see how the edit actions affect the low-resolution copy (Suchland 1:58-2:11).
Claim(s) 8, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galdy in view of Nandakumar et al. US 10997426
8. The method of claim 1,
Galdy does not explicitly disclose the following, however Nandakumar teaches wherein the portion of the video file assigned to the worker comprises a sequence of video frames that begins with a reference frame (8:58-9:19; 12:66-13:32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order for a key frame may be encoded such that additional data and/or information is not needed to decode the key frame (Nandakumar 8:58-9:19; 12:66-13:32).
16. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 11, , and if not, requesting additional video data from the coordinator computing system (Figs. 7: 2, 11: 150, 130; 0040; 0081).
Galdy does not explicitly disclose the following, however Nandakumar teaches wherein the instructions further comprise determining whether the video fragment is decodable based on reference frame dependencies (8:58-9:19; 12:66-13:32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order for a key frame may be encoded such that additional data and/or information is not needed to decode the key frame (Nandakumar 8:58-9:19; 12:66-13:32).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galdy in view of WO 2019/227736 Hereinafter WO ‘736
12. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 11,
Galdy does not explicitly disclose the following, however WO ‘736 teaches wherein the instructions to receive the subtask further comprise instructions to retrieve, from the coordinator computing system, metadata associated with the video fragment, including container-level header information (pg. 13 second to last par.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to summarize the capacity and offset to try and include the complete binary data from the server request (WO ‘736 pg. 13 2nd and 3rd to last par.)
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W BECKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2483