DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification states on page 6 “the first limiting assembly 4 is provided with the first avoidance hole 7, and the second limiting assembly 5 is provided with the second avoidance hole 8.”. However, the figures, see Figures 1 and 4, depict the first limiting assembly 4 is provided with the second avoidance hole 8, and the second limiting assembly 5 is provided with the first avoidance hole 7. The specification and figures should be reviewed in complete and the specification amended throughout to fully correspond with that depicted in the figures.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the positioning column… …is located on the second side of the limiting member” in line 15. The limitation is unclear and confusing in view of the instant specification and figures. The second side of the limiting member is provided with the second avoidance hole (8 of Figure 4) for allowing the positioning lug to pass wherein the positioning column (3) is located adjacent/near and between limiting members (4 and 10) but not on the second side of the limiting member, i.e. not within the second avoidance hole.
Claim 6 recites the limitations “the first limiting assembly and the third limiting assembly being disposed on a first side of the bottom plate, the second limiting assembly being disposed on a second side of the bottom plate, and the first limiting assembly being located between the second limiting assembly and the third limiting assembly; and the third limiting assembly and the second limiting assembly being used for cooperation with the plurality of first protruded members to limit the transverse and/or longitudinal movement of the pressing plate” in line 6. The limitations are unclear and confusing in view of the instant specification and figures. As claimed the first limiting assembly is provided with the first avoidance hole (7 of Figure 4) for allowing the release paper to pass (see claims 1 and 2). As claimed the second limiting assembly is provided with the second avoidance hole (8 of Figure 4) for allowing the positioning lug to pass (see claims 1 and 2). However, the first limiting assembly provided with the first avoidance hole (7 of Figure 4) for allowing the release paper to pass is not disposed on a same side of the bottom plate as the third limiting assembly (10 of Figure 4) (see Figures 3 and 4), and the first limiting assembly provided with the first avoidance hole (7 of Figure 4) for allowing the release paper to pass is not located between the second limiting assembly provided with the second avoidance hole (8 of Figure 4) for allowing the positioning lug to pass and the third limiting assembly (see Figures 3 and 4 of instant application). Further, the second limiting assembly provided with the second avoidance hole (8 of Figure 4) for allowing the positioning lug to pass is not in cooperation with the plurality of first protruded members (92) (see Figure 4).
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the fixed position” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears claim 10 is intended to depend from claim 2. It is suggested to delete “The film application apparatus of claim 1” and insert therein “The film application apparatus of claim 2” to overcome this rejection.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the pressing plate” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears claim 11 is intended to depend from claim 6. It is suggested to delete “The film application apparatus of claim 1” and insert therein “The film application apparatus of claim 6” to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MacDonald et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0388233).
Regarding claim 1, MacDonald discloses a film application apparatus applicable to a first material or article worked upon, wherein the film application apparatus comprises a bottom plate (bottom frame 3110 or bottom frame 6954), a positioning column (alignment base 3112 or alignment base 6953) and a limiting member (comprising corner frames 3130 and end frame attachments 3143 or corner frames 6951); the limiting member is disposed on an upper end surface of the bottom plate and is used for limiting a transverse and longitudinal movement of a second material or article worked upon along the bottom plate, a first side of the limiting member is provided with a first avoidance hole (end slot 3141 or end slot 7225) for allowing the first material or article worked upon or a part thereof to pass, and a second side of the limiting member is provided with a second avoidance hole (slot between corner frames 3130 or slot between corner frames 6951) for allowing the first material or article worked upon or a part thereof to pass; and the positioning column is disposed on the upper end surface of the bottom plate and is located on the second side of the limiting member (the limitation rejected in as much as it is currently understood see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above), and the positioning column is used for cooperation with the first material or article worked upon or a part thereof (Figures 31-34 and 69-74 and Paragraphs 0245-0251 and 0342-0356).
As to the limitations in claim 1 of “a film assembly composed of a drawing strip, a protective film, a first release paper and a second release paper, wherein the first release paper is pasted on an upper end surface of the protective film, the second release paper is pasted on a lower end surface of the protective film, a first side of the second release paper is provided with a positioning lug protruding out of a first side of the protective film, the positioning lug is provided with a positioning hole, the drawing strip is disposed on an upper end surface of the first release paper, one side of the drawing strip is connected with one side of the first release paper, and a drawing end of the drawing strip protrudes out of a second side of the protective film”, “a mobile phone”, “for allowing the first release paper to pass”, “for allowing the positioning lug to pass”, and “for cooperation with the positioning hole of the second release paper”, the claims are directed to an apparatus wherein these limitations are directed to the materials or articles worked upon by the apparatus and/or functional limitations. Inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115). A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus. The burden then shifts to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on (see MPEP 2114). MacDonald teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim as set forth above and is configured for “a film assembly composed of a drawing strip, a protective film, a first release paper and a second release paper, wherein the first release paper is pasted on an upper end surface of the protective film, the second release paper is pasted on a lower end surface of the protective film, a first side of the second release paper is provided with a positioning lug protruding out of a first side of the protective film, the positioning lug is provided with a positioning hole, the drawing strip is disposed on an upper end surface of the first release paper, one side of the drawing strip is connected with one side of the first release paper, and a drawing end of the drawing strip protrudes out of a second side of the protective film”, “a mobile phone”, “for allowing the first release paper to pass”, “for allowing the positioning lug to pass”, and “for cooperation with the positioning hole of the second release paper” wherein as the first material or article worked upon is a film assembly composed of a drawing strip, a protective film, a first release paper and a second release paper, wherein the first release paper is pasted on an upper end surface of the protective film, the second release paper is pasted on a lower end surface of the protective film, a first side of the second release paper is provided with a positioning lug protruding out of a first side of the protective film and within the second avoidance hole, the positioning lug is provided with a positioning hole cooperating with the positioning column, the drawing strip is disposed on an upper end surface of the first release paper, one side of the drawing strip is connected with one side of the first release paper, and a drawing end of the drawing strip protrudes out of a second side of the protective film passing through the first avoidance hole and the second material or article worked upon is a mobile phone. It is further noted for clarity of the record MacDonald expressly teaches the first material or article worked upon is a film assembly composed of a drawing strip (pull tab 150/2750), a protective film (overlay 130), a first release paper (adhesive release liner 140) and a second release paper (protective film 120), wherein the first release paper is pasted on an upper end surface of the protective film, the second release paper is pasted on a lower end surface of the protective film, a first side of the second release paper is provided with a positioning lug (alignment tab 110/2910) protruding out of a first side of the protective film and within the second avoidance hole, the positioning lug is provided with a positioning hole (alignment mechanism 115/2915) cooperating with the positioning column, the drawing strip is disposed on an upper end surface of the first release paper, one side of the drawing strip is connected with one side of the first release paper, and a drawing end of the drawing strip protrudes out of a second side of the protective film passing through the first avoidance hole and the second material or article worked upon is a mobile phone (Figures 1, 2, 32, and 33 and Paragraphs 0154-0163).
Regarding claim 2, the limiting member taught by MacDonald comprises a first limiting assembly and a second limiting assembly; a fixed position for limiting the transverse and longitudinal movement of the second material or article worked upon (e.g. a mobile phone wherein the second material or article worked upon is a mobile phone) along the bottom plate is enclosed by the first limiting assembly and the second limiting assembly; and the first limiting assembly (end frame attachments 3143 or corner frames 6951) is provided with the first avoidance hole, and the second limiting assembly (corner frames 3130 or corner frames 6951) is provided with the second avoidance hole.
Regarding claim 10, the positioning column and the first avoidance hole taught by MacDonald are oppositely disposed on two sides of a/the fixed position.
Regarding claim 11, MacDonald teaches a/the pressing plate of a lid (6930) is provided with a through hole (as shown in Figures 69-75), and the through hole is adapted “to a camera component disposed on the back of the mobile phone so that the camera component is exposed via the through hole when the pressing plate covers the back of the mobile phone” wherein as the second material or article worked upon is a mobile phone including a camera component (corresponding with the through hole) disposed on the back of the mobile phone so that the camera component is exposed via the through hole when the pressing plate covers the back of the mobile phone (claim 11 rejected in as much as the limitations are currently understood see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above).
Claims 1, 2, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0066856).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a film application apparatus applicable to a first material or article worked upon, wherein the film application apparatus comprises a bottom plate (base 100), a positioning column (positioning posts 141) and a limiting member (enclosing structure including fixed and positionable positioning members 2); the limiting member is disposed on an upper end surface of the bottom plate and is used for limiting a transverse and longitudinal movement of a second material or article worked upon along the bottom plate, a first side of the limiting member is provided with a first avoidance hole (pull-out opening 15) for allowing the first material or article worked upon or a part thereof to pass, and a second side of the limiting member is provided with a second avoidance hole (front opening 14) for allowing the first material or article worked upon or a part thereof to pass; and the positioning column is disposed on the upper end surface of the bottom plate and is located on the second side of the limiting member (see Figure 1 and including the limitation rejected in as much as it is currently understood see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above), and the positioning column is used for cooperation with the first material or article worked upon or a part thereof (Figures 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7 and Paragraphs 0046, 0050-0054, 0056, 0058-0060).
As to the limitations in claim 1 of “a film assembly composed of a drawing strip, a protective film, a first release paper and a second release paper, wherein the first release paper is pasted on an upper end surface of the protective film, the second release paper is pasted on a lower end surface of the protective film, a first side of the second release paper is provided with a positioning lug protruding out of a first side of the protective film, the positioning lug is provided with a positioning hole, the drawing strip is disposed on an upper end surface of the first release paper, one side of the drawing strip is connected with one side of the first release paper, and a drawing end of the drawing strip protrudes out of a second side of the protective film”, “a mobile phone”, “for allowing the first release paper to pass”, “for allowing the positioning lug to pass”, and “for cooperation with the positioning hole of the second release paper”, as noted above the claims are directed to an apparatus wherein these limitations are directed to the materials or articles worked upon by the apparatus and/or functional limitations. Liu teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim as set forth above and is configured for “a film assembly composed of a drawing strip, a protective film, a first release paper and a second release paper, wherein the first release paper is pasted on an upper end surface of the protective film, the second release paper is pasted on a lower end surface of the protective film, a first side of the second release paper is provided with a positioning lug protruding out of a first side of the protective film, the positioning lug is provided with a positioning hole, the drawing strip is disposed on an upper end surface of the first release paper, one side of the drawing strip is connected with one side of the first release paper, and a drawing end of the drawing strip protrudes out of a second side of the protective film”, “a mobile phone”, “for allowing the first release paper to pass”, “for allowing the positioning lug to pass”, and “for cooperation with the positioning hole of the second release paper” wherein as the first material or article worked upon is a film assembly composed of a drawing strip, a protective film, a first release paper and a second release paper, wherein the first release paper is pasted on an upper end surface of the protective film, the second release paper is pasted on a lower end surface of the protective film, a first side of the second release paper is provided with a positioning lug protruding out of a first side of the protective film and within the second avoidance hole, the positioning lug is provided with a positioning hole cooperating with the positioning column, the drawing strip is disposed on an upper end surface of the first release paper, one side of the drawing strip is connected with one side of the first release paper, and a drawing end of the drawing strip protrudes out of a second side of the protective film passing through the first avoidance hole and the second material or article worked upon is a mobile phone.
Regarding claim 2, the limiting member taught by Liu comprises a first limiting assembly and a second limiting assembly; a fixed position for limiting the transverse and longitudinal movement of the second material or article worked upon (e.g. a mobile phone wherein the second material or article worked upon is a mobile phone) along the bottom plate is enclosed by the first limiting assembly and the second limiting assembly; and the first limiting assembly (comprising enclosing structure including fixed and positionable positioning members 2) is provided with the first avoidance hole, and the second limiting assembly (comprising enclosing structure including fixed and positionable positioning members 2) is provided with the second avoidance hole (Figures 1, 3, and 4).
Regarding claim 10, the positioning column and the first avoidance hole taught by Liu are oppositely disposed on two sides of a/the fixed position (Figures 1, 3, and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over MacDonald.
MacDonald is described above in full detail.
Regarding claim 3, the first limiting assembly (end frame attachments 3143 or corner frames 6951) taught by MacDonald is the same as the second limiting assembly (corner frames 3130 or corner frames 6951) and comprises a first limiting member and a second limiting member; and each of the first limiting member and the second limiting member is an L-shaped structural member (including as shown in Figures 31 and 69 and consistent with L-shaped as depicted in the instant invention). In the event it is somehow considered MacDonald does not necessarily teach L-shaped the following alternative rejection is made. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention each of the first limiting member and the second limiting member taught by MacDonald is a same L-shaped structural member (including as corresponds with that depicted by MacDonald) wherein the shape was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed structural member was significant (see MPEP 2144.04 and “B. Changes in Shape”).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Liu.
Liu is described above in full detail.
Regarding claim 3, the positioning member(s) (2) of the first limiting assembly taught by Liu is the same as the positioning member(s) (2) of the second limiting assembly and comprises a first limiting member and a second limiting member; and each of the first limiting member and the second limiting member is an L-shaped structural member (Figures 1, 3, and 4 and consistent with L-shaped as depicted in the instant invention). In the event it is somehow considered Liu does not necessarily teach L-shaped the following alternative rejection is made. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention each of the positioning member(s) of the first limiting member and the second limiting member taught by Liu is a same L-shaped structural member (as corresponds with that depicted by Liu) wherein the shape was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed structural member was significant (see MPEP 2144.04 and “B. Changes in Shape”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacDonald.
MacDonald is described above in full detail.
Regarding claim 4, MacDonald discloses a plurality of bosses (side frames 3120 or side frames 6952) and an elastic supporting member (central support 3150 or central support 6955); the plurality of bosses being disposed on the upper end surface of the bottom plate and being disposed along an edge of the fixed position, and the plurality of bosses being used for supporting the second material or article worked upon (e.g. a terminal device wherein the second material or article worked upon is a terminal device); and the elastic supporting member being disposed on the upper end surface of the bottom plate and being located in the fixed position, and the elastic supporting member being used for supporting the first material or article worked upon (e.g. the film assembly wherein the first material or article worked upon is the film assembly) (Figures 31-34 and 69-74 and Paragraphs 0245 and 0251).
As to the limitation in claim 4 of “an upper end surface of the elastic supporting member being higher than upper end surfaces of the bosses”, while an upper end surface of the elastic supporting member taught by MacDonald is necessarily higher than, lower than, or equal to the upper end surfaces of the bosses MacDonald does not expressly teach a preference. MacDonald teaches an upper end surface of the plurality of bosses provide for support along the sides of the second material or article worked upon to provide a snug fit to prevent movement (Paragraph 0245). MacDonald teaches the upper end surface of the elastic supporting member provides for support of the first material or article worked upon including to depress and rebound slightly to press the first and second materials or articles worked upon together and facilitate removing any air bubbles and/or wrinkles (Paragraph 0251). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a height of each of the upper end surface of the plurality of bosses and the upper end surface of the elastic supporting member taught by MacDonald is determined sufficient for supporting along the sides of the second material or article worked upon to provide a snug fit to prevent movement and for supporting of the first material or article worked upon including to depress and rebound slightly to press the first and second materials or articles worked upon together and facilitate removing any air bubbles and/or wrinkles, respectively, as directed to by MacDonald to include an upper end surface of the elastic supporting member being higher than upper end surfaces of the bosses as is nothing more than choosing from the finite number of prima facie predictable solutions (higher than, lower than, or equal to) with a reasonable expectation of success there being no showing of record that “higher than” is critical and MacDonald does not teach away from “higher than” (see MPEP 2144.05) it being additionally noted where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04 and “A. Changes in Size/Proportion”).
Regarding claim 5, the elastic supporting member taught by MacDonald is of an elongated structure; and the elastic supporting member is disposed on the bottom plate along a drawing direction of the first material or article worked upon (e.g. the drawing strip wherein the first material or article worked upon includes a drawing strip).
Claims 1-5, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacDonald in view of Liu or Chen (CN 219989612 with U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0416636 from the same patent family used as a translation).
Regarding claims 1-5, 10, and 11, MacDonald is described above in full detail.
As to the limitation in claim 1 of “the positioning column… …is located on the second side of the limiting member” MacDonald teaches the positioning column is disposed on the upper end surface of the bottom plate and is located on the second side of the limiting member as set forth above wherein the limitation is rejected in as much as it is currently understood see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above. In the event it is somehow considered MacDonald does not necessarily teach the limitation the following rejection is made. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the positioning column taught by MacDonald is located on the second side of the limiting member in the second avoidance hole (as a function of the length of the hole) as a simple substitution of one location of the column (adjacent the hole) for another (in the hole) to yield predictable results as evidenced by Liu (Figure 1) or Chen (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, MacDonald is described above in full detail. In the event it is somehow considered MacDonald does not necessarily teach L-shaped the following alternative rejection is made. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention each of the first limiting member and the second limiting member taught by MacDonald as modified by Liu or Chen is a same L-shaped structural member (including as corresponds with that depicted by MacDonald) wherein the shape was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed structural member was significant (see MPEP 2144.04 and “B. Changes in Shape”).
Regarding claim 4, MacDonald is described above in full detail.
As to the limitation in claim 4 of “an upper end surface of the elastic supporting member being higher than upper end surfaces of the bosses”, while an upper end surface of the elastic supporting member taught by MacDonald is necessarily higher than, lower than, or equal to the upper end surfaces of the bosses MacDonald does not expressly teach a preference. MacDonald teaches an upper end surface of the plurality of bosses provide for support along the sides of the second material or article worked upon to provide a snug fit to prevent movement (Paragraph 0245). MacDonald teaches the upper end surface of the elastic supporting member provides for support of the first material or article worked upon including to depress and rebound slightly to press the first and second materials or articles worked upon together and facilitate removing any air bubbles and/or wrinkles (Paragraph 0251). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a height of each of the upper end surface of the plurality of bosses and the upper end surface of the elastic supporting member taught by MacDonald as modified by Liu or Chen is determined sufficient for supporting along the sides of the second material or article worked upon to provide a snug fit to prevent movement and for supporting of the first material or article worked upon including to depress and rebound slightly to press the first and second materials or articles worked upon together and facilitate removing any air bubbles and/or wrinkles, respectively, as directed to by MacDonald to include an upper end surface of the elastic supporting member being higher than upper end surfaces of the bosses as is nothing more than choosing from the finite number of prima facie predictable solutions (higher than, lower than, or equal to) with a reasonable expectation of success there being no showing of record that “higher than” is critical and MacDonald does not teach away from “higher than” (see MPEP 2144.05) it being additionally noted where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04 and “A. Changes in Size/Proportion”).
Conclusion
/JOHN L GOFF II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746