Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 11 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9 line 8, “…all the at least…” should read “…all of the at least…”.
In claim 9 line 15, “…corresponding one of the at least one at least one chute…” should read “…corresponding one of the at least one chute…”.
In claim 9 line 17, “…and one second…” should read “…and the second…”.
In claim 9 line 19, “…sidewall of a corresponding first protrusion…” should read “…sidewall of the first protrusion…”.
In claim 9 line 21, “…with one first chute…” should read “…with the first chute…”.
In claim 9 line 22, “…with a corresponding first chute…” should read “…with the first chute…”.
In claim 9 line 23, “…with one second chute….with a corresponding second chute…” should read “…with the second chute….with the second chute…”
In claim 11 line 11, “…all the at least…” should read “…all of the at least…”.
In claim 11 lines 19-20, “…corresponding one of the at least one at least one chute…” should read “…corresponding one of the at least one chute…”.
In claim 11 lines 22-23, “…and one second…” should read “…and the second…”.
In claim 11 line 24, “…sidewall of a corresponding first protrusion…” should read “…sidewall of the first protrusion…”.
In claim 11 line 27, “…with one first chute…” should read “…with the first chute…”.
In claim 11 lines 27-28, “…with a corresponding first chute…” should read “…with the first chute…”.
In claim 11 line 28, “…with one second…” should read “…with the second…”
In claim 11 line 29, “…with a corresponding second chute…” should read “…with the second chute…”
In claim 15 line 6, “…an aircraft body…” should read “…the aircraft body…” as positively recited in line 2.
In claim 15 line 11, “…all the at least…” should read “…all of the at least…”.
In claim 15 lines 19-20, “…corresponding one of the at least one at least one chute…” should read “…corresponding one of the at least one chute…”.
In claim 15 lines 22-23, “…and one second…” should read “…and the second…”.
In claim 15 line 24, “…sidewall of a corresponding first protrusion…” should read “…sidewall of the first protrusion…”.
In claim 15 line 27, “…with one first chute…” should read “…with the first chute…”.
In claim 15 lines 27-28, “…with a corresponding first chute…” should read “…with the first chute…”.
In claim 15 line 28, “…with one second…” should read “…with the second…”
In claim 15 line 29, “…with a corresponding second chute…” should read “…with the second chute…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muzychka et al. (US 2024/0125286) in view of Amkraut et al. (US 2014/0234081) and Feuillerac et al. (US 2021/0188445).
Regarding claims 9-10, Muzychka et al. ‘286 (figures 1-15) a ducted structure comprising:
a telescopic duct/sleeve (66), a fixed duct/nacelle (64) and at least one duct driving device/actuator (46), wherein the telescopic duct/sleeve (66) is slidably connected with the fixed duct/nacelle (64), the fixed duct/nacelle (64) is configured to be fixedly connected with an aircraft body (fixed duct/nacelle is fixed in position), and the at least one duct driving device/actuator (46) is able to drive the telescopic duct/sleeve (66) to move back and forth along a central axis direction of the telescopic duct/sleeve (66); (Para 0054, 0062);
one end of the fixed duct/nacelle (64) is provided with a mounting groove (telescopic duct/sleeve (66) is mounted on fixed duct/nacelle (64) at a mounting groove), and an outer sidewall of the telescopic duct/sleeve (66) is able to slidably connected with an inner sidewall of the mounting groove (Para 0062; telescopic duct/sleeve (66) slides inside the fixed duct/nacelle (64));
the telescopic duct/sleeve (66) comprises a duct body/sleeve segments (68s) (Para 0062);
wherein each of the at least one duct driving device/actuator (46) is a motor (Para 0054);
but it is silent about the ducted structure wherein each of the at least one duct driving device is fixedly connected with the fixed duct and is connected with the telescopic duct;
all of the at least one duct driving device is arranged in the mounting groove, and
wherein each of the at least one duct driving device is a linear motor.
Amkraut et al. ‘081 (figures 1-5) teaches an engine (10) including a trailing edge fan nozzle assembly having a translating nozzle (50) mounted at the trailing end of cascade-type thrust reverser (80) wherein the translating nozzle (50) is selectively translated fore and aft by a plurality of linear nozzle actuators/duct driving devices (70) (Para 0038; linear nozzle actuators is fixed at mounting groove of the thrust reverser).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Muzychka et al. ‘286 to incorporate the teachings of Amkraut et al. ‘081 to configure the ducted structure wherein each of the at least one duct driving device is fixedly connected with the fixed duct and is connected with the telescopic duct;
all of the at least one duct driving device is arranged in the mounting groove, and
wherein each of the at least one duct driving device is a linear motor.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would directly connect the fixed duct and telescopic duct via actuator and efficiently translate the telescopic duct.
Modified Muzychka et al. ‘286 is silent about the ducted structure wherein
the telescopic duct comprises at least one protrusion, each of the at least one protrusion is fixedly connected with the duct body and protrudes from an outer sidewall of the duct body, the inner sidewall of the mounting groove is provided with at least one chute, each of the at least one protrusion is in fit with one of the at least one chute and is slidably connected with a corresponding one of the at least one chute;
each of the at least one protrusion comprises a first protrusion and a second protrusion, two ends of the first protrusion are fixedly connected with the duct body and the second protrusion, respectively, at least one end of the second protrusion protrudes from an outer side wall of the first protrusion; each of the at least one chute comprises a first chute and a second chute that communicate with each other, and the first chute communicates with the mounting groove; the first protrusion is in fit with the first chute and is slidably connected with the first chute; and the second protrusion is in fit with the second chute and is slidably connected with the second chute.
Feuillerac et al. ‘445 (figures 4-5) teaches an assembly comprising first slideway element/protrusion (19) namely the suspension element of the duct support (15) inserted by longitudinal translation into the second slideway element/mounding groove (26) formed on the floor (4) wherein the inner sidewall of the second slideway element/mounding groove (26) is provided with at least one chute, wherein first slideway element/protrusion (19) is in fit with the at least one chute and is slidably connected with the at least one chute (clearly shown in the figure below);
wherein first slideway element/protrusion (19) comprises a first protrusion and a second protrusion (clearly shown in the figure below), wherein at least one end of the second protrusion protrudes from an outer side wall of the first protrusion, the at least one chute comprises a first chute and a second chute that communicate with each other (clearly shown in the figure below; first chute extends in the horizontal direction and second chute extends in the vertical direction), and the first chute communicates with the mounting groove; the first protrusion is in fit with the first chute and is slidably connected with the first chute; and the second protrusion is in fit with the second chute and is slidably connected with the second chute (clearly seen in the figure below) (Para 0059, 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Muzychka et al. ‘286 to incorporate the teachings of Feuillerac et al. ‘445 to configure the ducted structure wherein
the telescopic duct comprises at least one protrusion, each of the at least one protrusion is fixedly connected with the duct body and protrudes from an outer sidewall of the duct body, the inner sidewall of the mounting groove is provided with at least one chute, each of the at least one protrusion is in fit with one of the at least one chute and is slidably connected with a corresponding one of the at least one chute;
each of the at least one protrusion comprises a first protrusion and a second protrusion, two ends of the first protrusion are fixedly connected with the duct body and the second protrusion, respectively, at least one end of the second protrusion protrudes from an outer side wall of the first protrusion; each of the at least one chute comprises a first chute and a second chute that communicate with each other, and the first chute communicates with the mounting groove; the first protrusion is in fit with the first chute and is slidably connected with the first chute; and the second protrusion is in fit with the second chute and is slidably connected with the second chute.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would establish a rigid connection by constricting protrusion within the mounting groove.
Regarding claims 15-16, Muzychka et al. ‘286 (figures 1-15) an aircraft (30), comprising:
an aircraft body/fuselage; and
a ducted structure comprising:
a telescopic duct/sleeve (66), a fixed duct/nacelle (64) and at least one duct driving device/actuator (46), wherein the telescopic duct/sleeve (66) is slidably connected with the fixed duct/nacelle (64), the fixed duct/nacelle (64) is configured to be fixedly connected with athe aircraft body (fixed duct/nacelle is fixed in position), and the at least one duct/actuator (46) driving device is able to drive the telescopic duct/sleeve (66) to move back and forth along a central axis direction of the telescopic duct/sleeve (66); (Para 0054, 0062);
one end of the fixed duct/nacelle (64) is provided with a mounting groove (telescopic duct/sleeve (66) is mounted on fixed duct/nacelle (64) at a mounting groove), and an outer sidewall of the telescopic duct/sleeve (66) is able to slidably connected with an inner sidewall of the mounting groove (Para 0062; telescopic duct/sleeve (66) slides inside the fixed duct/nacelle (64));
the telescopic duct/sleeve (66) comprises a duct body/sleeve segments (68s) (Para 0062);
wherein the fixed duct/nacelle (64) is fixedly connected with the aircraft body (fixed duct/nacelle doesn’t move and is fixed in position);
wherein each of the at least one duct driving device/actuator (46) is a motor (Para 0054);
but it is silent about the ducted structure wherein each of the at least one duct driving device is fixedly connected with the fixed duct and is connected with the telescopic duct;
all of the at least one duct driving device is arranged in the mounting groove, and
wherein each of the at least one duct driving device is a linear motor.
Amkraut et al. ‘081 (figures 1-5) teaches an engine (10) including a trailing edge fan nozzle assembly having a translating nozzle (50) mounted at the trailing end of cascade-type thrust reverser (80) wherein the translating nozzle (50) is selectively translated fore and aft by a plurality of linear nozzle actuators/duct driving devices (70) (Para 0038; linear nozzle actuators is fixed at mounting groove of the thrust reverser).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Muzychka et al. ‘286 to incorporate the teachings of Amkraut et al. ‘081 to configure the ducted structure wherein each of the at least one duct driving device is fixedly connected with the fixed duct and is connected with the telescopic duct;
all of the at least one duct driving device is arranged in the mounting groove, and
wherein each of the at least one duct driving device is a linear motor.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would directly connect the fixed duct and telescopic duct via actuator and efficiently translate the telescopic duct.
Modified Muzychka et al. ‘286 is silent about the ducted structure wherein
the telescopic duct comprises at least one protrusion, each of the at least one protrusion is fixedly connected with the duct body and protrudes from an outer sidewall of the duct body, the inner sidewall of the mounting groove is provided with at least one chute, each of the at least one protrusion is in fit with one of the at least one chute and is slidably connected with a corresponding one of the at least one chute;
each of the at least one protrusion comprises a first protrusion and a second protrusion, two ends of the first protrusion are fixedly connected with the duct body and the second protrusion, respectively, at least one end of the second protrusion protrudes from an outer side wall of the first protrusion each of the at least one chute comprises a first chute and a second chute that communicate with each other, and the first chute communicates with the mounting groove; the first protrusion is in fit with the first chute and is slidably connected with the first chute; and the second protrusion is in fit with the second chute and is slidably connected with the second chute.
Feuillerac et al. ‘445 (figures 4-5) teaches an assembly comprising first slideway element/protrusion (19) namely the suspension element of the duct support (15) inserted by longitudinal translation into the second slideway element/mounding groove (26) formed on the floor (4) wherein the inner sidewall of the second slideway element/mounding groove (26) is provided with at least one chute, wherein first slideway element/protrusion (19) is in fit with the at least one chute and is slidably connected with the at least one chute (clearly shown in the figure below);
wherein first slideway element/protrusion (19) comprises a first protrusion and a second protrusion (clearly shown in the figure below), wherein at least one end of the second protrusion protrudes from an outer side wall of the first protrusion, the at least one chute comprises a first chute and a second chute that communicate with each other (clearly shown in the figure below; first chute extends in the horizontal direction and second chute extends in the vertical direction), and the first chute communicates with the mounting groove; the first protrusion is in fit with the first chute and is slidably connected with the first chute; and the second protrusion is in fit with the second chute and is slidably connected with the second chute (clearly seen in the figure below) (Para 0059, 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Muzychka et al. ‘286 to incorporate the teachings of Feuillerac et al. ‘445 to configure the ducted structure wherein
the telescopic duct comprises at least one protrusion, each of the at least one protrusion is fixedly connected with the duct body and protrudes from an outer sidewall of the duct body, the inner sidewall of the mounting groove is provided with at least one chute, each of the at least one protrusion is in fit with one of the at least one chute and is slidably connected with a corresponding one of the at least one chute;
each of the at least one protrusion comprises a first protrusion and a second protrusion, two ends of the first protrusion are fixedly connected with the duct body and the second protrusion, respectively, at least one end of the second protrusion protrudes from an outer side wall of the first protrusion each of the at least one chute comprises a first chute and a second chute that communicate with each other, and the first chute communicates with the mounting groove; the first protrusion is in fit with the first chute and is slidably connected with the first chute; and the second protrusion is in fit with the second chute and is slidably connected with the second chute.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would establish a rigid connection by constricting protrusion within the mounting groove.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schubeler (US 2025/0011001) in view of Muzychka et al. (US 2024/0125286), Amkraut et al. (US 2014/0234081) and Feuillerac et al. (US 2021/0188445).
Regarding claims 11-14, Schubeler ‘001 (figures 1-5) teaches a ducted fan, comprising:
a blade device/electric motor (16) and plurality of rotor blades (21s) (Para 0058-0059), and
a ducted structure comprising a duct/impeller housing (15) (Para 0058);
an aircraft body/fuselage (10) (Para 0054);
wherein the blade device/electric motor (16) and plurality of rotor blades (21s) is arranged in a ducted cavity/cavity surrounded by impeller housing (15) of the duct/impeller housing (Para 0058-0059)
a central body, wherein the central body comprises a first central body and a second central body (clearly shown in in the figure below), the blade device comprises a blade driving device/electric motor (16) and a rotor blade assembly/plurality of rotor blades (21s), the central body is at least partially arranged in the ducted cavity (clearly seen in the figure below), the first central body is fixedly connected with the duct/impeller housing (15) (first central body doesn’t move and is fixed in place), the second central body is rotatably connected with the first central body, the rotor blade assembly/ plurality of rotor blades (21s) is fixedly connected with the second central body (clearly seen in the figure below), the blade driving device/motor (16) is fixedly connected with the first central body and is connected with the second central body (clearly seen in the figure below), and the blade driving device/motor (16) is able to drive the second central body to rotate around a central axis (18) of the ducted cavity (Para 0058),
but it is silent about the ducted fan comprising:
a ducted structure comprising
a telescopic duct, a fixed duct and at least one duct driving device, wherein the telescopic duct is slidably connected with the fixed duct, the fixed duct is configured to be fixedly connected with an aircraft body, and the at least one duct driving device is able to drive the telescopic duct to move back and forth along a central axis direction of the telescopic duct;
one end of the fixed duct is provided with a mounting groove, and an outer sidewall of the telescopic duct is able to slidably connected with an inner sidewall of the mounting groove (;
the telescopic duct comprises a duct body,
wherein each of the at least one duct driving device is a motor.
Muzychka et al. ‘286 (figures 1-15) a ducted fan comprising:
a ducted structure comprising
a telescopic duct/sleeve (66), a fixed duct/nacelle (64) and at least one duct driving device/actuator (46), wherein the telescopic duct/sleeve (66) is slidably connected with the fixed duct/nacelle (64), the fixed duct/nacelle (64) is configured to be fixedly connected with an aircraft body (fixed duct/nacelle is fixed in position), and the at least one duct/actuator (46) driving device is able to drive the telescopic duct/sleeve (66) to move back and forth along a central axis direction of the telescopic duct/sleeve (66); (Para 0054, 0062);
one end of the fixed duct/nacelle (64) is provided with a mounting groove/telescopic duct/sleeve (66) is mounted on fixed duct/nacelle (64) at a mounting groove, and an outer sidewall of the telescopic duct/sleeve (66) is able to slidably connected with an inner sidewall of the mounting groove (Para 0062; telescopic duct/sleeve (66) slides inside the fixed duct/nacelle (64));
the telescopic duct/sleeve (66) comprises a duct body/sleeve segments (68s) (Para 0062)
wherein each of the at least one duct driving device/actuator (46) is a motor (Para 0054);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schubeler ‘001 to incorporate the teachings of Muzychka et al. ‘286 to configure the ducted fan comprising:
a ducted structure comprising
a telescopic duct, a fixed duct and at least one duct driving device, wherein the telescopic duct is slidably connected with the fixed duct, the fixed duct is configured to be fixedly connected with an aircraft body, and the at least one duct driving device is able to drive the telescopic duct to move back and forth along a central axis direction of the telescopic duct;
one end of the fixed duct is provided with a mounting groove, and an outer sidewall of the telescopic duct is able to slidably connected with an inner sidewall of the mounting groove (;
the telescopic duct comprises a duct body,
wherein each of the at least one duct driving device is a motor.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance aircraft’s aerodynamic by enabling to change the configuration of nozzle depending on different flight modes.
Modified Schubeler ‘001 is silent about the ducted structure wherein each of the at least one duct driving device is fixedly connected with the fixed duct and is connected with the telescopic duct;
all of the at least one duct driving device is arranged in the mounting groove, and
wherein each of the at least one duct driving device is a linear motor.
Amkraut et al. ‘081 (figures 1-5) teaches an engine (10) including a trailing edge fan nozzle assembly having a translating nozzle (50) mounted at the trailing end of cascade-type thrust reverser (80) wherein the translating nozzle (50) is selectively translated fore and aft by a plurality of linear nozzle actuators/duct driving devices (70) (Para 0038; linear nozzle actuators is fixed at mounting groove of the thrust reverser).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Schubeler ‘001 to incorporate the teachings of Amkraut et al. ‘081 to configure the ducted structure wherein each of the at least one duct driving device is fixedly connected with the fixed duct and is connected with the telescopic duct;
all of the at least one duct driving device is arranged in the mounting groove, and
wherein each of the at least one duct driving device is a linear motor.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would directly connect the fixed duct and telescopic duct via actuator and efficiently translate the telescopic duct.
Modified Schubeler ‘001 is silent about the ducted structure wherein
the telescopic duct comprises at least one protrusion, each of the at least one protrusion is fixedly connected with the duct body and protrudes from an outer sidewall of the duct body, the inner sidewall of the mounting groove is provided with at least one chute, each of the at least one protrusion is in fit with one of the at least one chute and is slidably connected with a corresponding one of the at least one chute;
each of the at least one protrusion comprises a first protrusion and a second protrusion, two ends of the first protrusion are fixedly connected with the duct body and the second protrusion, respectively, at least one end of the second protrusion protrudes from an outer side wall of the first protrusion; each of the at least one chute comprises a first chute and a second chute that communicate with each other, and the first chute communicates with the mounting groove; the first protrusion is in fit with the first chute and is slidably connected with the first chute; and the second protrusion is in fit with the second chute and is slidably connected with the second chute.
Feuillerac et al. ‘445 (figures 4-5) teaches an assembly comprising first slideway element/protrusion (19) namely the suspension element of the duct support (15) inserted by longitudinal translation into the second slideway element/mounding groove (26) formed on the floor (4) wherein the inner sidewall of the second slideway element/mounding groove (26) is provided with at least one chute, wherein first slideway element/protrusion (19) is in fit with the at least one chute and is slidably connected with the at least one chute (clearly shown in the figure below);
wherein first slideway element/protrusion (19) comprises a first protrusion and a second protrusion (clearly shown in the figure below), wherein at least one end of the second protrusion protrudes from an outer side wall of the first protrusion, the at least one chute comprises a first chute and a second chute that communicate with each other (clearly shown in the figure below; first chute extends in the horizontal direction and second chute extends in the vertical direction), and the first chute communicates with the mounting groove; the first protrusion is in fit with the first chute and is slidably connected with the first chute; and the second protrusion is in fit with the second chute and is slidably connected with the second chute (clearly seen in the figure below) (Para 0059, 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Schubeler ‘001 to incorporate the teachings of Feuillerac et al. ‘445 to configure the ducted structure wherein
the telescopic duct comprises at least one protrusion, each of the at least one protrusion is fixedly connected with the duct body and protrudes from an outer sidewall of the duct body, the inner sidewall of the mounting groove is provided with at least one chute, each of the at least one protrusion is in fit with one of the at least one chute and is slidably connected with a corresponding one of the at least one chute;
each of the at least one protrusion comprises a first protrusion and a second protrusion, two ends of the first protrusion are fixedly connected with the duct body and the second protrusion, respectively, at least one end of the second protrusion protrudes from an outer side wall of the first protrusion; each of the at least one chute comprises a first chute and a second chute that communicate with each other, and the first chute communicates with the mounting groove; the first protrusion is in fit with the first chute and is slidably connected with the first chute; and the second protrusion is in fit with the second chute and is slidably connected with the second chute.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would establish a rigid connection by constricting protrusion within the mounting groove.
Conclusion
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642