DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to Applicant's Amendment filed on 7/2/25. By virtue of this amendment, claim 1 is cancelled and claims 2-35 are newly added, thus, claims 2-35 are currently presented in the instant application.
Double Patenting
Instant Application No: 19/243,064.
2.A method of using a mobile device to commission a lighting control system, the method comprising: capturing an image on a camera of a mobile device, wherein the image comprises a plurality of lighting fixtures; displaying the image comprising the plurality of lighting fixtures on the mobile device; receiving a selection of a lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures displayed in the image; storing an association of a unique identifier of a lighting control device with a floor plan identifier in memory; receiving, via the mobile device, the unique identifier of the lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture; receiving an indication to control the lighting load of the lighting fixture identified by the floor plan identifier; determining, from the association stored in memory, the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier; and transmitting a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load.
3.(New) The method of claim 2, wherein the indication to control the lighting load is
received by the mobile device, and wherein the message is transmitted from the mobile device
for enabling control of the lighting load in response to the indication.
4. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein the message is configured to be transmitted to a
system controller configured to transmit messages to control the lighting load via the lighting control device.
5. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein the message is configured to be transmitted
directly to the lighting control device.
6. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein the indication is received via a user input at the
mobile device.
7. (New) The method of claim 6, wherein the user input comprises a selection of the lighting fixture in an image on a display of the mobile device, and wherein the control instructions are generated in response to the user input at the mobile device.
8.(New) The method of claim 2, further comprising transmitting, by the mobile device, the association of the unique identifier of the lighting control device with the floor plan identifier to a system controller, wherein the system controller stores the association in memory, receives the indication to control the lighting load, determines the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floorplan identifier, and transmits the message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and the control instructions.
9.(New) The method of claim 2, further comprising: displaying a prompt or a list configured to receive the floor plan identifier via the mobile device, wherein the floor plan identifier is received in response to information entered into the prompt or a selection in the list.
10.(New) The method of claim 2, wherein the unique identifier of the lighting control device
is received by visible light communication (VLC) or other visible signal from the lighting load at
the mobile device.
11. (New) The method of claim 10, further comprising: receiving, via the mobile device, a trigger for sending a message configured to cause the lighting control device to blink or modulate the lighting load to signal the unique identifier.
12.(New) The method of claim 2, wherein the unique identifier of the lighting control device
is received via RF signals at the mobile device.
13.(New) The method of claim 12, further comprising: receiving a plurality of unique identifiers at the mobile device; and
determining the unique identifier of the plurality of unique identifiers for being associated
with the floor plan identifier based on a signal strength at which the unique identifier is received
at the mobile device.
14.(New) The method of claim 2, further comprising: automatically identifying each lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures in the image; and automatically highlighting each lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures in the image during the display of the image on the mobile device.
15.(New) The method of claim 2, wherein the floor plan identifier is associated with a
location of a building.
16.(New) The method of claim 2, further comprising sending a digital message that
comprises control instructions configured to control the lighting control device, and wherein the digital message comprises at least one of the unique identifier or the floor plan identifier.
17. (New) An apparatus comprising: a memory;
a camera configured to capture an image, wherein the image comprises a plurality of
lighting fixtures: a display configured to display the image comprising the plurality of lighting fixtures; and a control circuit configured to:
receive a selection of a lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures displayed in the image; store an association of a unique identifier of a lighting control device with a floor
plan identifier in the memory; receive the unique identifier of the lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture; receive an indication to control the lighting load of the lighting fixture identified
by the floor plan identifier; determine, from the association stored in the memory, the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier; and transmit a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load.
18.(New) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the message is transmitted for enabling control
of the lighting load in response to the indication.
19.(New) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the message is configured to be transmitted to
the lighting control device via a system controller.
20.(New) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the message is configured to be transmitted
directly to the lighting control device.
21.(New) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the indication is received via a user input,
wherein the user input comprises a selection of the lighting fixture in the image on the display,
and wherein the control instructions are generated in response to the user input.
22.(New) The apparatus of claim 17, further comprising transmitting the association of the
unique identifier of the lighting control device with the floor plan identifier to a system
controller.
23.(New) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the control circuit is further configured to:
display, via the display, a prompt or a list configured to receive the floor plan identifier,
wherein the floor plan identifier is received in response to information entered into the prompt or a selection in the list.
24. (New) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the unique identifier of the lighting control
device is received by visible light communication (VLC) or other visible signal from the lighting
load.
25.(New) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the unique identifier of the lighting control
device is received via RF signals.
26.(New) The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: receive a plurality of unique identifiers; and determine the unique identifier of the plurality of unique identifiers for being associated with the floor plan identifier based on a signal strength at which the unique identifier is received.
27. (New) The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the control circuit is further configured to send
a digital message that comprises control instructions configured to control the lighting control device, and wherein the digital message comprises at least one of the unique identifier or the floor plan identifier.
28.(New) A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions
that, when executed by a control circuit, cause the control circuit to: capture, via a camera, an image, wherein the image comprises a plurality of lighting fixtures; display, via a display, the image comprising the plurality of lighting fixtures;
receive a selection of a lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures displayed in the
image; store an association of a unique identifier of a lighting control device with a floor plan
identifier in memory; receive the unique identifier of the lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture; receive an indication to control the lighting load of the lighting fixture identified by the floor plan identifier; determine, from the association stored in memory, the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier; and transmit a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load.
29.(New) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 28, wherein the message
is transmitted for enabling control of the lighting load in response to the indication.
30.(New) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 28, wherein the message
is configured to be transmitted to the lighting control device via a system controller, or directly
to the lighting control device.
31.(New) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 28, wherein the indication
is received via a user input, wherein the user input comprises a selection of the lighting fixture in the image, and wherein the control instructions are generated in response to the user input.
32.(New) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 28, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the control circuit to: display, via the display, a prompt or a list configured to receive the floor plan identifier,
wherein the floor plan identifier is received in response to information entered into the prompt or a selection in the list.
33.(New) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 28, wherein the unique
identifier of the lighting control device is received by visible light communication (VLC) or
other visible signal from the lighting load or via RF signals.
34. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 33, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the control circuit to: receive a plurality of unique identifiers; and
determine the unique identifier of the plurality of unique identifiers for being associated
with the floor plan identifier based on a signal strength at which the unique identifier is received.
35. (New) The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 28, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the control circuit to send a digital message that comprises control instructions configured to control the lighting control device, and wherein the digital message comprises at least one of the unique identifier or the floor plan identifier.
Patent No: 12/362,957.
1. A method of using a mobile device to commission a lighting control system, the method comprising: capturing an image on a camera of a mobile device, wherein the image comprises a plurality of lighting fixtures; displaying the image comprising the plurality of lighting fixtures on the mobile device; receiving a selection of a lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures displayed in the image; receiving, via the mobile device, a unique identifier of a lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture; receiving a floor plan identifier via the mobile device; and associating the unique identifier of the lighting control device with the floor plan identifier.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: displaying a prompt or a list configured to receive the floor plan identifier via the mobile device, wherein the floor plan identifier is received in response to information entered into the prompt or a selection in the list.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the unique identifier of the lighting control device is received by visible light communication (VLC) or other visible signal from the lighting load at the mobile device.
4. The method of claim 3, further comprising: receiving, via the mobile device, a trigger for sending a message configured to cause the lighting control device to blink or modulate the lighting load to signal the unique identifier.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the unique identifier of the lighting control device is received via RF signals at the mobile device.
6. The method of claim 5, further comprising: receiving a plurality of unique identifiers at the mobile device; and determining the unique identifier of the plurality of unique identifiers for being associated with the floor plan identifier based on a signal strength at which the unique identifier is received at the mobile device.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: automatically identifying each lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures in the image; and automatically highlighting each lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures in the image during the display of the image on the mobile device.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the floor plan identifier is associated with a location of a building.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising sending a digital message that comprises control instructions configured to control the lighting control device, and wherein the digital message comprises at least one of the unique identifier or the floor plan identifier.
10. At least one computer-readable medium having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that are configured to, when executed by at least one control circuit, cause the at least one control circuit to: cause a camera to capture an image that comprises a plurality of lighting fixtures; display, via a display, the image that comprises the plurality of lighting fixtures; receive a selection of a lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures displayed in the image; receive a unique identifier of a lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture; receive a floor plan identifier; and associate the unique identifier of the lighting control device with the floor plan identifier.
11. The at least one computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one control circuit to: display, via the display, a prompt or a list configured to receive the floor plan identifier via the mobile device, wherein the floor plan identifier is received in response to information entered into the prompt or a selection in the list.
12. The at least one computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one control circuit to receive the unique identifier of the lighting control device by visible light communication (VLC) or other visible signal from the lighting load via a visible light sensing circuit.
13. The at least one computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one control circuit to: receive a trigger for sending a message configured to cause the lighting control device to blink or modulate the lighting load to signal the unique identifier; and send the message configured to cause the lighting control device to blink or modulate the lighting load to signal the unique identifier.
14. The at least one computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one control circuit to receive the unique identifier of the lighting control device via RF signals at a communication circuit.
15. The at least one computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one control circuit to: receive a plurality of unique identifiers; and determine the unique identifier of the plurality of unique identifiers for being associated with the floor plan identifier based on a signal strength at which the unique identifier is received.
16. The at least one computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one control circuit to: automatically identify each lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures in the image; and automatically highlight each lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures in the image during the display of the image.
17. The at least one computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the floor plan identifier is associated with a location of a building.
18. The at least one computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the at least one control circuit to send a digital message that comprises control instructions configured to control the lighting control device, and wherein the digital message comprises at least one of the unique identifier or the floor plan identifier.
19. The device of claim 18, further comprising a communication circuit, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: send, via the communication circuit, a digital message that comprises control instructions configured to control the lighting control device, and wherein the digital message comprises at least one of the unique identifier or the floor plan identifier.
20. A device comprising: a camera; and a control circuit configured to: cause the camera to capture an image that comprises a plurality of lighting fixtures; display, via a display, the image that comprises the plurality of lighting fixtures; receive a selection of a lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures displayed in the image; receive a unique identifier of a lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture; receive a floor plan identifier; and associate the unique identifier of the lighting control device with the floor plan identifier.
21. The device of claim 20, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: display, via the display, a prompt or a list configured to receive the floor plan identifier via the mobile device, wherein the floor plan identifier is received in response to information entered into the prompt or a selection in the list.
22. The device of claim 20, further comprising a visible light sensing circuit, wherein the control circuit is further configured to receive the unique identifier of the lighting control device by visible light communication (VLC) or other visible signal from the lighting load via the visible light sensing circuit.
23. The device of claim 22, further comprising a communication circuit, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: receive a trigger for sending a message configured to cause the lighting control device to blink or modulate the lighting load to signal the unique identifier; and send, via the communication circuit, the message configured to cause the lighting control device to blink or modulate the lighting load to signal the unique identifier.
24. The device of claim 20, further comprising a communication circuit, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: receive, via the communication circuit, the unique identifier of the lighting control device via RF signals.
25. The device of claim 24, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: receive a plurality of unique identifiers via the communication circuit; and determine the unique identifier of the plurality of unique identifiers for being associated with the floor plan identifier based on a signal strength at which the unique identifier is received.
26. The device of claim 20, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: automatically identify each lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures in the image; and automatically highlight each lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures in the image during the display of the image.
27. The device of claim 20, wherein the floor plan identifier is associated with a location of a building.
Claims 2-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 12,362,957 in view of Shepherd (US Pub. No: 2017/0156195).
With respect to claim 2, claim 1 of Patent above, disclose all limitations except for determining, from the association stored in memory, the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier; and transmitting a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load.
However, Patent above discloses “receiving a floor plan identifier via the mobile device; and associating the unique identifier of the lighting control device with the floor plan identifier”.
This different is not patentable merit, since the floor plan identifier of the mobile device requires or has a memory for storing the floor plan identifier and then the mobile device can instruct /command to control the lighting load.
Furthermore, Shepherd, in the same field of endeavor, disclose determining, from the association stored in memory (figure 1, 118), the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier(see figures 13-14); and transmitting a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load. Paragraphs [23-33 and 64-79].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Shepherd into the mobile device of Patent above to provide or use the memory for storing the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier and instruct/command or control the lighting load by user.
With respect to claim 3, Patent above as modified claim 1 above similar disclose wherein the indication to control the lighting load is received by the mobile device, and wherein the message is transmitted from the mobile device for enabling control of the lighting load in response to the indication.
With respect to claim 4, Patent above as modified claim 1 above, similar disclose wherein the message is configured to be transmitted to a system controller configured to transmit messages to control the lighting load via the lighting control device.
With respect to claim 5, Patent above as modified claim 1 above, similar disclose wherein the message is configured to be transmitted directly to the lighting control device.
With respect to claim 6, Patent above as modified claim 1 above, similar disclose, wherein the indication is received via a user input at the mobile device.
With respect to claim 7, Patent above as modified claim 1 and claim 2 above, similar disclose wherein the user input comprises a selection of the lighting fixture in an image on a display of the mobile device, and wherein the control instructions are generated in response to the user input at the mobile device.
With respect to claim 8, Patent above as modified claim 1 and claim 2 above, similar disclose
further comprising transmitting, by the mobile device, the association of the unique identifier of the lighting control device with the floor plan identifier to a system controller, wherein the system controller stores the association in memory, receives the indication to control the lighting load, determines the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floorplan identifier, and transmits the message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and the control instructions.
With respect to claim 9, Patent above as modified claim 1 and claim 2 above, similar disclose
further comprising: displaying a prompt or a list configured to receive the floor plan identifier via the mobile device, wherein the floor plan identifier is received in response to information entered into the prompt or a selection in the list.
With respect to claim 10, Patent above as modified claim 1 and claim 3 above, similar disclose
wherein the unique identifier of the lighting control device is received by visible light communication (VLC) or other visible signal from the lighting load at the mobile device.
With respect to claim 11, Patent above as modified claim 1 and claim 4 above, similar disclose
further comprising: receiving, via the mobile device, a trigger for sending a message configured to cause the lighting control device to blink or modulate the lighting load to signal the unique identifier.
With respect to claim 12, Patent above as modified claim 1 and claim 5 above, similar disclose
wherein the unique identifier of the lighting control device is received via RF signals at the mobile device.
With respect to claim 13, Patent above as modified claim 1 and claim 6 above, similar disclose
further comprising: receiving a plurality of unique identifiers at the mobile device; and determining the unique identifier of the plurality of unique identifiers for being associated with the floor plan identifier based on a signal strength at which the unique identifier is received at the mobile device.
With respect to claim 14, Patent above as modified claims 1 and claim 7 above, similar disclose
comprising: automatically identifying each lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures in the image; and automatically highlighting each lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures in the image during the display of the image on the mobile device.
With respect to claim 15, Patent above as modified claims 1 and claim 8 above, similar disclose wherein the floor plan identifier is associated with a location of a building.
With respect to claim 16, Patent above as modified claim 1 and claim 9 above, similar disclose
further comprising sending a digital message that comprises control instructions configured to control the lighting control device, and wherein the digital message comprises at least one of the unique identifier or the floor plan identifier.
With respect to claim 17, claims 20-21 of Patent above disclose all limitations except for a memory; store an association of a unique identifier of a lighting control device with a floor plan identifier in the memory; receive the unique identifier of the lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture; receive an indication to control the lighting load of the lighting fixture identified by the floor plan identifier; determine, from the association stored in the memory, the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier; and transmit a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load.
However, claims 20-21, Patent above discloses “the image that comprises the plurality of lighting fixtures; receive a selection of a lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures displayed in the image; receive a unique identifier of a lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture; receive a floor plan identifier; and associate the unique identifier of the lighting control device with the floor plan identifier and wherein the control circuit is further configured to: display, via the display, a prompt or a list configured to receive the floor plan identifier via the mobile device, wherein the floor plan identifier is received in response to information entered into the prompt or a selection in the list”.
This different is not patentable merit, since the floor plan identifier of the mobile device requires or has a memory for storing the floor plan identifier and then the mobile device can instruct /command to control the lighting load.
Furthermore, Shepherd, in the same field of endeavor, disclose determining, from the association stored in memory (figure 1, 118), the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier(see figures 13-14); and transmitting a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load. Paragraphs [23-33 and 64-79].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Shepherd into the mobile device of Patent above to provide or use the memory for storing the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier and instruct/command or control the lighting load by user.
With respect to claim 18, Patent modified as claims 20-21 above, similar disclose, wherein the message is transmitted for enabling control of the lighting load in response to the indication.
With respect to claim 19, Patent modified as claims 20-21 above, similar disclose wherein the message is configured to be transmitted to the lighting control device via a system controller.
With respect to claim 20, Patent modified as claims 20-21 above, similar disclose wherein the message is configured to be transmitted directly to the lighting control device.
With respect to claim 21, Patent modified as claims 20-21 above, similar disclose wherein the indication is received via a user input, wherein the user input comprises a selection of the lighting fixture in the image on the display, and wherein the control instructions are generated in response to the user input.
With respect to claim 22, Patent modified as claims 20-21 above, similar disclose further comprising transmitting the association of the unique identifier of the lighting control device with the floor plan identifier to a system controller.
With respect to claim 23, Patent modified as claims 20-21 above, similar disclose
wherein the control circuit is further configured to: display, via the display, a prompt or a list configured to receive the floor plan identifier, wherein the floor plan identifier is received in response to information entered into the prompt or a selection in the list.
With respect to claim 24, Patent modified as claims 20-21 and claim 22, similar disclose, wherein the unique identifier of the lighting control device is received by visible light communication (VLC) or other visible signal from the lighting load.
With respect to claim 25, Patent modified as claims 20-21 and claim 24, similar disclose
wherein the unique identifier of the lighting control device is received via RF signals.
With respect to claim 26, Patent modified as claims 20-21 and claim 25, similar disclose
wherein the control circuit is further configured to: receive a plurality of unique identifiers; and determine the unique identifier of the plurality of unique identifiers for being associated with the floor plan identifier based on a signal strength at which the unique identifier is received.
With respect to claim 27, Patent modified as claims 20-21 and claim 25, similar disclose
wherein the control circuit is further configured to send a digital message that comprises control instructions configured to control the lighting control device, and wherein the digital message comprises at least one of the unique identifier or the floor plan identifier.
With respect to claim 28, claim 10 of Patent above disclose non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a control circuit, cause the control circuit to: capture, via a camera, an image, wherein the image comprises a plurality of lighting fixtures; display, via a display, the image comprising the plurality of lighting fixtures; receive a selection of a lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures displayed in the image except for store an association of a unique identifier of a lighting control device with a floor plan identifier in memory; receive the unique identifier of the lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture; receive an indication to control the lighting load of the lighting fixture identified by the floor plan identifier; determine, from the association stored in memory, the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier; and transmit a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load.
This different is not patentable merit, since the floor plan identifier of the mobile device requires or has a memory for storing the floor plan identifier and then the mobile device can instruct /command to control the lighting load.
Furthermore, Shepherd, in the same field of endeavor, disclose in figures 1, 13-14, a memory (118) store an association of a unique identifier of a lighting control device with a floor plan identifier in memory(118); receive the unique identifier of the lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture; receive an indication to control the lighting load of the lighting fixture identified by the floor plan identifier; determine, from the association stored in memory, the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier; and transmit a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load. Paragraphs [23-33, 64-79].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Shepherd into the mobile device of Patent above to provide or use the memory for storing the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier and instruct/command or control the lighting load by user.
With respect to claim 29, Patent modified as claim 10 above, similar disclose
wherein the message is transmitted for enabling control of the lighting load in response to the indication.
With respect to claim 30, Patent modified as claim 10 above, similar disclose wherein the message is configured to be transmitted to the lighting control device via a system controller, or directly
to the lighting control device.
With respect to claim 31, Patent modified as claim 10 and claim 11 similar disclose
the indication is received via a user input, wherein the user input comprises a selection of the lighting fixture in the image, and wherein the control instructions are generated in response to the user input.
With respect to claim 32, Patent modified as claim 10 and claim 11, similar disclose, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the control circuit to: display, via the display, a prompt or a list configured to receive the floor plan identifier, wherein the floor plan identifier is received in response to information entered into the prompt or a selection in the list.
With respect to claim 33, Patent modified as claim 10 above, and claim 12 or claim 14, similar disclose, wherein the unique identifier of the lighting control device is received by visible light communication (VLC) or other visible signal from the lighting load or via RF signals.
With respect to claim 34, Patent modified as claim 10 above and claim 15, similar disclose
the instructions, when executed, further cause the control circuit to: receive a plurality of unique identifiers; and determine the unique identifier of the plurality of unique identifiers for being associated
with the floor plan identifier based on a signal strength at which the unique identifier is received.
With respect to claim 35, Patent modified as claim 10 above and claim 18, similar disclose
wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the control circuit to send a digital message that comprises control instructions configured to control the lighting control device, and wherein the digital message comprises at least one of the unique identifier or the floor plan identifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 17 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Gajurel et al (USPub.No:2014/0265863) in view of Shephered (US Pub. No: 2017/0156195).
With respect to claim 2, Gajurel et al disclose a method of using a mobile device (figure 7, 702) commission a lighting control system, the method comprising: capturing an image on a camera of a mobile device(702), wherein the image comprises a plurality of lighting fixtures(paragraphs[42-43]); displaying the image comprising the plurality of lighting fixtures on the mobile device (702), receiving a selection of a lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures displayed in the image and receiving, via the mobile device(324 or 702), the unique identifier of the lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture; receiving an indication to control the lighting load of the lighting fixture identified by the floor plan identifier(paragraphs 38-39, 42-45).
Gajurel et al do not explicitly disclose a memory (1304) for storing an association of a unique identifier of a lighting control device with a floor plan identifier in memory; determining, from the association stored in memory, the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier; and transmitting a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load.
Shepherd, in the same field of endeavor, disclose in figures 1, 13-14, a memory (118) store an association of a unique identifier of a lighting control device with a floor plan identifier in memory(118); receive the unique identifier of the lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture; receive an indication to control the lighting load of the lighting fixture identified by the floor plan identifier; determine, from the association stored in memory, the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier; and transmit a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load. Paragraphs [23-33, 64-79].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Shepherd into the mobile device of Gajurel et al with includes the memory and floor plan identifier into the mobile device for storing the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier and instruct/command or control the lighting load by user.
With respect to claim 17, Gajurel et al disclose an apparatus comprising: a memory (figure 13, 1304)); a camera configured to capture an image( a camera or other imaging module for capturing a video or images to identify a ballast(figure 7-8, paragraph [42]), wherein the image comprises a plurality of lighting fixtures(704); a display(1308) configured to display the image comprising the plurality of lighting fixtures(704); and a control circuit (1302) configured to: receive a selection of a lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures displayed in the image(1306).Figures 9,13-14, paragraphs[43-46,55-71].
Gajurel et al do not explicitly disclose a memory (1304) for store an association of a unique identifier of a lighting control device with a floor plan identifier in the memory(1304); receive the unique identifier of the lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture; receive an indication to control the lighting load of the lighting fixture identified by the floor plan identifier; determine, from the association stored in the memory, the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier; and transmit a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load.
Shepherd, in the same field of endeavor, disclose in figures 1, 5, 13-14, a memory (118) store an association of a unique identifier of a lighting control device(102, 116) with a floor plan identifier in the memory(118); receive the unique identifier of the lighting control device(102,116) for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture(120,122,12); receive an indication to control the lighting load of the lighting fixture(120,122,124)(paragraphs [23-33]) identified by the floor plan identifier; determine, from the association stored in the memory(118), the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier; and transmit a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load. Paragraphs [64-80].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Shepherd into the mobile device of Gajurel et al with includes the memory and floor plan identifier into the mobile device for storing the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier and instruct/command or control the lighting load by user.
With respect to claim 28, Gajurel et al disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a control circuit(figures 7 and 13, 1302), cause the control circuit to: capture, via a camera, an image, wherein the image comprises a plurality of lighting fixtures(704); display(1308), via a display, the image(1306) comprising the plurality of lighting fixtures(704); receive a selection of a lighting fixture of the plurality of lighting fixtures displayed in the
Image. Figures 9,13-14, paragraphs [43-46,55-71].
Gajurel et al do not explicitly disclose a memory (1304) for storing an association of a unique identifier of a lighting control device with a floor plan identifier in memory; receive the unique identifier of the lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture; receive an indication to control the lighting load of the lighting fixture identified by the floor plan identifier; determine, from the association stored in memory, the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier; and transmit a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load.
Shepherd, in the same field of endeavor, disclose in figures 1, 5, 13-14, a memory (118) for storing an association of a unique identifier of a lighting control device with a floor plan identifier in memory(118); receive the unique identifier of the lighting control device for controlling a lighting load in the selected lighting fixture(120,122,124)(paragraphs [23-33]); receive an indication to control the lighting load of the lighting fixture identified by the floor plan identifier(figures 13-14); determine, from the association stored in memory(118), the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier; and transmit a message comprising the unique identifier of the lighting control device and control instructions configured to control the lighting load. Paragraphs [64-80].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Shepherd into the mobile device of Gajurel et al with includes the memory and floor plan identifier into the mobile device for storing the unique identifier of the lighting control device associated with the floor plan identifier and instruct/command or control the lighting load by user.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants' disclosure. See prior arts/references listed on the PTO-892 form attached.
Inquiry
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taningco Alexander H can be reached on 571-272-8048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Minh Tran/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845