The following final office action is in response to the reply filed August 18, 2026.
Drawings
The drawing correction of August 18, 2026 has not been considered because the applicant has failed to comply with 37 CFR 1.121(d). Note that the applicant has failed to explain, in detail, all changes to the drawings in either the drawing amendment or remarks section of the amendment paper. Accordingly, the previous drawing objections have been repeated below.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “M” on line 4 of paragraph 58. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because figures 2, 3B, 3C, 4, 4A-4C, 5, 5A-5D, 15B-15C all require the proper cross sectional shading as set forth in MPEP 608.02 IX.
The drawings are objected to because they contain two figures 15B. See sheet 17 of the drawings.
The drawings are newly objected to because of the following.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a flange portion extending vertically into vertical alignment with a rear surface of the door” as set forth on lines 2-3 of claim 15 and “a flange portion extending vertically into vertical alignment with a rear surface of the door” on lines 2-3 of claim 28 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “326d” on line 2 of paragraph 69. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “381d” and “391d” as shown in figure 5D. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “a flange portion extending vertically into vertical alignment with a rear surface of the door” as set forth on lines 2-3 of claim 15 and “a flange portion extending vertically into vertical alignment with a rear surface of the door” on lines 2-3 of claim 28.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because “a the” on line 1 is grammatically incorrect and confusing.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The original disclosure fails to provide support for “a flange portion extending vertically into vertical alignment with a rear surface of the door” as set forth on lines 2-3 of claim 15 and “a flange portion extending vertically into vertical alignment with a rear surface of the door” on lines 2-3 of claim 28. See figure 5D which shows the flange portion 337d being horizontally spaced from the rear surface 327d of the door 320d and not in vertical alignment with the rear surface of the door. Also, the specification is silent concerning the flange portion being in vertical alignment with the rear surface of the door.
Claims 7, 8, 15 and 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Recitations such as “spaced apart from the hinge side at a first lateral distance” on line 3 of claim 7 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear how the first frame magnetic element can be spaced apart from the hinge side at a first lateral distance. Note that the hinge side is part of the door and the first lateral distance between the hinge side and the first frame magnetic element will change depending on the position of the door, i.e., open or closed positions of the door.
Recitations such as “spaced apart from the hinge side at a second lateral distance” on lines 4-5 of claim 7 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear how the second frame magnetic element can be spaced apart from the hinge side at a second lateral distance. Note that the hinge side is part of the door and the second lateral distance between the hinge side and the second frame magnetic element will change depending on the position of the door, i.e., open or closed positions of the door.
Recitations such as “the vertically extending attracting surface” on line 3 of claim 15 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear to which one of the plurality of vertically extending attracting surfaces the applicant is referring.
Recitations such as “the at least first and second door magnetic elements” on lines 26-27 of claim 22 render the claims indefinite because they lack antecedent basis.
Recitations such as “the at least first and second frame magnetic elements” on line 27 of claim 22 render the claims indefinite because they lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napier et al. (US 2024/0068283) in view of Wermers et al. (US 11035169). Napier et al. discloses a door system comprising:
a door frame 12 (fig. 1A) including a vertically extending hinge-side jamb (labeled below), a vertically extending latch-side jamb (labeled below), a horizontally extending upper head (labeled below);
a door 14 (fig. 1A) having a vertically extending hinge side (labeled below) hingedly attached to the hinge-side jamb, a vertically extending latch side (labeled below) abutting the latch-side jamb when the door 14 is in a closed position, a horizontally extending top end (labeled below) abutting the upper head when the door 14 is in the closed position, and a horizontally extending bottom end (labeled below); and
wherein when the door 14 is in an unlatched position, the door 14 is subjected to a closure resisting force (at least created by the opposing magnet 20, see lines 1-4 of paragraph 21) to resist movement of the door 14 to the closed position;
wherein the door 14 includes at least one door magnetic element 18 (fig. 1C) and the door frame 12 includes at least one frame magnetic element 16 (fig. 1E) for alignment of a vertically extending attracting surface (labeled below) of the at least one frame magnetic element 16 in facing abutment with a vertically extending attracting surface (labeled below) of the at least one door magnetic element 18 when the door 14 is in the unlatched position, such that the at least one door magnetic element 18 and the at least one frame magnetic element 16 provide an attractive force sufficient to overcome the closure resisting force to move the door 14 from the unlatched position to the closed position.
Although Napier et al. discloses what appears to be a latch element, Napier et al. is silent concerning the type of latch element. Additionally, Napier et al. is silent concerning a lower sill.
However, Wermers et al. discloses a door frame 28 (fig. 3) comprising a horizontally extending lower sill 122 (fig. 3) and a door 24 (fig. 3) having a horizontally extending bottom end (labeled below) abutting the lower sill 122 when the door 24 is in the closed position.
Wermers et al. further discloses a latch element 91 (fig. 9) assembled with the door 24 and extendable from the latch side (labeled below) of the door 24 for latching engagement with a latch recess 93 in the latch-side jamb 32 (fig. 3) when the door 14 is in the closed position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Napier et al. with a lower sill, a latch element and a latch recess, all taught by Wermers et al., with a reasonable expectation of success to aid in preventing the intrusion of water at the bottom of the door and to enable the door to be latched in a closed position so that the door can only be opened through the manipulation of the door handles. It should be noted that the door magnetic element 18 of Napier et al., as modified above, would have sufficient strength to move the door 14 from an unlatched nearly closed position to the closed position for latching engagement of the latch element with the latch recess provided by Wermers et al.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napier et al. in view of Wermers et al. as applied to claim 1 above.
Napier et al. discloses that the frame magnetic element 16 and the door magnetic element 18 can be disposed at the top of the door and door frame as shown in figures 1B and 1C, in the middle of the door and door frame, or at the bottom of the door and door frame on lines 6-9 of paragraphs 17 and 19. Napier et al., however, is silent concerning more than one pair of frame magnetic elements 16 and door magnetic elements 18.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Napier et al., as modified above, with additional pairs of frame magnetic elements 16 and door magnetic elements 18 since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 196 USPQ 8, and because the additional pairs of frame magnetic elements 16 and door magnetic elements 18 would increase the amount of force available to close the door.
With respect to claim 2, Napier et al., as modified above, would include an additional pair of frame magnetic elements 16 and door magnetic elements 18 at the middle of the door and door frame (labeled below) and at least one door magnetic element 18 secured to an edge portion of the door at the top end of the door 14 as shown in figure 1C, and at least one frame magnetic element 16 is secured to the upper head of the door frame as shown in figure 1B.
With respect to claim 3, Napier et al., as modified above, discloses the use of additional pairs of frame magnetic elements 16 and door magnetic elements 18 spaced along the top end of the door and upper end of the door frame (labeled below). Thus, the at least one door magnetic element comprises a first door magnetic element 18 spaced apart from the hinge side at a first lateral distance (labeled below) and a second door magnetic element 20 secured to the edge portion of the door 14 at the top end of the door and spaced apart from the hinge side at a second lateral distance (labeled below) greater than the first lateral distance.
With respect to claim 4, Napier et al., as modified above, discloses that the first 18 and second 18 door magnetic elements are spaced apart by a lateral distance that is at least 50% of a lateral distance between the hinge side of the door and the latch side of the door as shown in annotated figure 1A below.
With respect to claim 5, Napier et al., as modified above, discloses that at least one frame magnetic element 16 comprises a first frame magnetic element 16 laterally aligned with the first door magnetic element 18 when the door 14 is in the closed position, and a second frame magnetic element 16 laterally aligned with the second door magnetic element 18 when the door 14 is in the closed position.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napier et al. in view of Wermers et al. as applied to claim 1 above.
Napier et al. discloses that the frame magnetic element 16 and the door magnetic element 18 can be disposed at the top of the door and door frame as shown in figures 1B and 1C, in the middle of the door and door frame, or at the bottom of the door and door frame on lines 6-9 of paragraphs 17 and 19. Napier et al., however, is silent concerning more than one pair of frame magnetic elements 16 and door magnetic elements 18.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Napier et al., as modified above, with additional pairs of frame magnetic elements 16 and door magnetic elements 18 since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 196 USPQ 8, and because the additional pairs of frame magnetic elements 16 and door magnetic elements 18 would increase the amount of force available to close the door.
With respect to claim 7, the at least one frame magnetic element comprises a first frame magnetic element (labeled below) disposed on one of the upper head (see the upper head in figure 1A) and the lower sill and spaced apart from the hinge side at a first lateral distance (labeled below) and a second frame magnetic element (labeled below) disposed on one of the upper head (see the upper head in figure 1A), the lower sill, and the latch-side jamb and spaced apart from the hinge side at a second lateral distance (labeled below) greater than the first lateral distance.
With respect to claim 8, a the [sic] first and second frame magnetic elements are spaced apart by a lateral distance that is at least 50% of a lateral distance between the hinge side of the door and the latch side of the door as shown in annotated figure 1A below.
Claims 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napier et al. in view of Wermers et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO 2019/159152.
WO 2019/159152 discloses, in figures 5 and 6, at least one door magnetic element 3a is secured to a rear surface 1d of a door 1 (claim 12).
WO 2019/159152 also discloses, in figures 5 and 6, at least one frame magnetic element 3c is secured to an exterior surface of a door frame 2 (claim 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to secure at least one of the door magnetic elements 18 to a rear surface of the door and secure at least one of the frame magnetic elements 16 to an exterior surface of the door frame, as taught by WO 2019/159152, with a reasonable expectation of success to urge the door into the closed position with greater force than the pair of door magnetic elements and frame magnetic elements mounted on surfaces which are separated by a gap between the door and the door frame.
With respect to claim 15, Napier et al., as modified above, discloses that the at least one frame magnetic element 3c, as shown in figure 6 of WO 2019/159152, includes a flange portion (labeled below) extending vertically into vertical alignment with a rear surface (labeled below) of the door 1 with the vertically extending attracting surface (labeled below) being disposed on the flange portion.
With respect to claim 16, Napier et al., as modified above, discloses that at least one of the at least one door magnetic element 3a, as shown in figure 6 of WO 2019/159152, and the at least one frame magnetic element comprises a housing 3h secured to a mounting surface and enclosing an interior magnet 3a.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napier et al. in view of Wermers et al. as applied to claim 1 above. Napier et al., as modified above, discloses that the at least one door magnetic element 18 and the at least one frame magnetic element 16 provide an attractive force when the at least one door magnetic element 18 and the at least one frame magnetic element 16 are spaced apart by a distance as shown in figure 2D, but is silent concerning the specific distance the at least one door magnetic element 18 and the at least one frame magnetic element 16 are spaced apart.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art is expected to routinely experiment with parameters so as to ascertain the optimum or workable ranges for a particular use. Accordingly, it would have been no more than an obvious matter of engineering design choice, as determined through routine experimentation and optimization, for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to space the at least one door magnetic element 18 and the at least one frame magnetic element 16 apart by a distance of between about 1 inch and about 2 inches with a reasonable expectation of success to accommodate the use of weatherstripping between the door and the door frame and to allow for manufacturing tolerances.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napier et al. (US 2024/0068283) in view of Hemping (US 7293807) and Wermers et al. (US 11035169). Napier et al. discloses a door system comprising:
a door frame 12 (fig. 1A) including a vertically extending hinge-side jamb (labeled below), a vertically extending latch-side jamb (labeled below), a horizontally extending upper head (labeled below);
a door 14 (fig. 1A) having a vertically extending hinge side (labeled below) hingedly attached to the hinge-side jamb, a vertically extending latch side (labeled below) abutting the latch-side jamb when the door 14 is in a closed position, a horizontally extending top end (labeled below) abutting the upper head when the door 14 is in the closed position, and a horizontally extending bottom end (labeled below); and
wherein when the door 14 is in an unlatched position, the door 14 is subjected to a closure resisting force (at least created by the opposing magnet 20, see lines 1-4 of paragraph 21) to resist movement of the door 14 to the closed position;
wherein the door 14 includes at least one door magnetic element 18 (fig. 1C) and the door frame 12 includes at least one frame magnetic element 16 (fig. 1E) for alignment of a vertically extending attracting surface (labeled below) of the at least one frame magnetic element 16 in facing abutment with a vertically extending attracting surface (labeled below) of the at least one door magnetic element 18 when the door 14 is in the unlatched position, such that the at least one door magnetic element 18 and the at least one frame magnetic element 16 provide an attractive force sufficient to overcome the closure resisting force to move the door 14 from the unlatched position to the closed position.
Although Napier et al. discloses what appears to be a latch element, Napier et al. is silent concerning the type of latch element. Additionally, Napier et al. is silent concerning a lower sill.
Hemping discloses a latch element 60 (fig. 6) assembled with a door 90 (fig. 2) and extendable from the latch side of the door 90 (labeled below) for latching engagement with a latch recess (labeled below) in the latch-side jamb (labeled below) when the door 90 is in the closed position as shown in figure 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Napier et al. with a latch element, as taught by Hemping, with a reasonable expectation of success to enable the door to be latched in a closed position so that the door can only be opened through the manipulation of the door handles.
Additionally, Wermers et al. discloses a door frame 28 (fig. 3) comprising a horizontally extending lower sill 122 (fig. 3) and a door 24 (fig. 3) having a horizontally extending bottom end (labeled below) abutting the lower sill 122 when the door 24 is in the closed position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Napier et al. with a lower sill, as taught by Wermers et al., with a reasonable expectation of success to aid in preventing the intrusion of water at the bottom of the door. It should be noted that the door magnetic element 18 of Napier et al., as modified above, would have sufficient strength to move the door 14 from an unlatched nearly closed position to the closed position for latching engagement of the latch element with the latch recess provided by Wermers et al.
With respect to claim 21 when the door 14 is in the unlatched position, the latch element 60 (provided by Hemping) contacts a strike surface (labeled below) of the latch-side jamb, such that an outward biasing spring force provided by the spring 28 of Hemping (fig. 6) of the latch element 60 applies the closure resisting force to resist movement of the door to the closed position.
Claims 22, 23 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napier et al. (US 2024/0068283) in view of Wermers et al. (US 11035169).
Napier et al. discloses a door system comprising:
a door frame 12 (fig. 1A) including a vertically extending hinge-side jamb (labeled below), a vertically extending latch-side jamb (labeled below), a horizontally extending upper head (labeled below);
a door 14 (fig. 1A) having a vertically extending hinge side (labeled below) hingedly attached to the hinge-side jamb, a vertically extending latch side (labeled below) abutting the latch-side jamb when the door 14 is in a closed position, a horizontally extending top end (labeled below) abutting the upper head when the door is in the closed position, and a horizontally extending bottom end (labeled below);
a second door magnetic element 18 (fig. 1C) disposed on the door 14 at a second lateral distance from the hinge side (labeled below);
a second frame magnetic element 16 (fig. 1B) disposed on the door frame 12 and in alignment with the second door magnetic element 18 when the door 14 is in the closed position.
Napier et al. is silent concerning a horizontally extending lower sill; a horizontally extending bottom end abutting the lower sill when the door is in the closed position; a latch element assembled with the door and extendable from the latch side of the door for latching engagement with a latch recess in the latch-side jamb when the door is in the closed position;
a first door magnetic element disposed on the door at a first lateral distance from the hinge side; the second lateral distance being greater than the first lateral distance, wherein the first and second door magnetic elements are spaced apart by a lateral distance that is at least 50% of a lateral distance between the hinge side of the door and the latch side of the door; a first frame magnetic element disposed on the door frame and in alignment with the first door magnetic element when the door is in the closed position; wherein when the door is in a first, partially open position, the first door magnetic element and the first frame magnetic element apply a first magnetic attractive force to assist rotation of the door towards a second, unlatched position; and wherein when the door is in the second, unlatched position, each of the at least first and second door magnetic elements and each of the at least first and second frame magnetic elements apply a combined magnetic attractive force to cause the door to move from the second, unlatched position to the closed position.
However, Wermers et al. discloses a door frame 28 (fig. 3) comprising a horizontally extending lower sill 122 (fig. 3) and a door 24 (fig. 3) having a horizontally extending bottom end (labeled below) abutting the lower sill 122 when the door 24 is in the closed position.
Wermers et al. further discloses a latch element 91 (fig. 9) assembled with the door 24 and extendable from the latch side (labeled below) of the door 24 for latching engagement with a latch recess 93 in the latch-side jamb 32 (fig. 3) when the door 14 is in the closed position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Napier et al. with a lower sill, a latch element and a latch recess, all taught by Wermers et al., with a reasonable expectation of success to aid in preventing the intrusion of water at the bottom of the door and to enable the door to be latched in a closed position so that the door can only be opened through the manipulation of the door handles. It should be noted that the door magnetic element 18 of Napier et al., as modified above, would have sufficient strength to move the door 14 from an unlatched nearly closed position to the closed position for latching engagement of the latch element with the latch recess provided by Wermers et al.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Napier et al., as modified above, with additional pairs of frame magnetic elements 16 and door magnetic elements 18 since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 196 USPQ 8, and because the additional pairs of frame magnetic elements 16 and door magnetic elements 18 would increase the amount of force available to close the door. Note that the first door magnetic element 18 would be disposed on the door 14 at a first lateral distance (labeled below) from the hinge side; wherein the second lateral distance is greater than the first lateral distance as illustrated below, wherein the first and second door magnetic elements 18 are spaced apart by a lateral distance that is at least 50% of a lateral distance between the hinge side of the door and the latch side of the door since the first door magnetic element would be positioned adjacent the hinge side of the door and the second door magnetic element would be positioned adjacent the latch side of the door. The duplication of parts would further include a first frame magnetic element 16 disposed on the door frame 12 adjacent the hinge side of the door so as to be in alignment with the first door magnetic element 18 when the door is in the closed position. With the first and second pairs of door and frame magnetic elements, when the door is in a first, partially open position, the first door magnetic element 18 and the first frame magnetic element 16 apply a first magnetic attractive force to assist rotation of the door 14 towards a second, unlatched position, and when the door 14 is in the second, unlatched position, each of the at least first and second door magnetic elements 18 and each of the at least first and second frame magnetic elements 16 apply a combined magnetic attractive force to cause the door to move from the second, unlatched position to the closed position.
With respect to claim 23, the first and second door magnetic elements 18 are secured an edge portion of the door 14 at the top end of the door 14 as illustrated below, and the first and second frame magnetic elements 16 are secured to the upper head of the door frame.
With respect to claim 25, the first and second frame magnetic elements 16 are spaced apart by a lateral distance that is at least 50% of a lateral distance between the hinge side of the door and the latch side of the door. Note that the first and second frame magnetic elements 16 would need to align with the first and second door magnetic elements which are spaced apart by a lateral distance that is at least 50% of a lateral distance between the hinge side of the door and the latch side of the door.
With respect to claim 26, the first and second door magnetic elements 18 are secured to a rear surface of the door 14 since the top surface of the door 14 is secured to the rear surface of the door 14 and the first and second door magnetic elements 18 are secured to the top surface of the door 14.
With respect to claim 27, the first and second frame magnetic elements 16 are secured to an exterior surface of the door frame (labeled below).
Claims 24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Napier et al. (US 2024/0068283) in view of Wermers et al. as applied to claims 22, 23 and 25-27 above, and further in view of WO 2019/159152.
With respect to claim 24, WO 2019/159152 discloses, in figures 5 and 6, a door 1, wherein when the door 1 is in the closed position, a vertically extending attracting surface (labeled below) of a first frame magnetic element 3c is in facing abutment with a vertically extending attracting surface (labeled below) of a first door magnetic element 3a.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to mount the door 18 and frame 16 magnetic elements of Napier et al., as modified above, on vertical surfaces, as taught by WO 2019/159152, with a reasonable expectation of success to urge the door into the closed position with greater force than the pair of door magnetic elements and frame magnetic elements mounted on surfaces which are separated by a gap between the door and the door frame.
It should be noted that positioning the door and frame magnetic elements as taught by WO 2019/159152 would also include mounting the second door and frame magnetic elements vertically, as taught by WO 2019/159152.
With respect to claim 28, each of the first and second frame magnetic elements includes a flange portion (labeled below) extending vertically into vertical alignment with a rear surface (labeled below) of the door 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Napier et al. fails to disclose frame and door magnetic elements including vertically extending attracting surfaces in facing abutment with one another when the door is in the unlatched position.
This is not found to be persuasive because Napier et al. discloses that the door 18 and frame 16 magnetic elements can be disposed on the door latch side of the door 14 and the latch side jamb of the door frame 12. See lines 6-9 of paragraphs 17 and 19. Accordingly, the door 18 and the frame 16 magnetic elements would include vertically extending attracting surfaces in facing abutment with one another when the door is in the unlatched position since they would be mounted on vertical elements of the door and the door frame.
The applicants additional comments are considered to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY J STRIMBU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634