DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Atkinson et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 20190190139), hereinafter known as Atkinson.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Atkinson discloses (Figs. 1-12) an inflatable radio-frequency antenna structure comprising: a flexible, electrically conductive material ([0034]), a pressure-retaining enclosure (138) formed from said material, at least one inflation-deflation port (152) in said pressure-retaining enclosure, and at least one electrical-connectivity port (150) in said pressure-retaining enclosure.
Regarding claim 2, Atkinson discloses (Figs. 1-12) wherein said flexible, electrically conductive material comprises a metalized plastic film ([0025], [0034]).
Regarding claim 3, Atkinson discloses (Figs. 1-12) wherein said metalized plastic film is selected from a group comprising: chrome-metallized plastic film, aluminum metalized plastic film, gold-metallized polyester plastic film, brushed stainless steel plastic film, metal pewter plastic film, matte-aluminum plastic film, and metalized biaxially oriented polyethylene terephthalate plastic film ([0025], [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Atkinson discloses (Figs. 1-12) wherein said pressure-retaining enclosure is configured to form a radio-frequency reception and radiating structure ([0027]).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Atkinson discloses (Figs. 1-12) wherein said inflatable radio- frequency antenna structure is configured as a monopole antenna ([0033]).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 14, Atkinson discloses (Figs. 1-12) wherein a plurality of instances of said radio-frequency inflatable antenna structure are interconnected to implement one or more compound antenna geometries comprising at least one of: a dipole configuration, a loop configuration, a delta-loop configuration, a cloverleaf configuration, a helical configuration, a parabolic configuration, a driven array configuration, a phased array configuration, and a parasitic array configuration ([0033]).
Regarding claim 7, Atkinson discloses (Figs. 1-12) wherein said at least one inflation-deflation port comprises a resealable component selected from a group comprising: a plug, a cap, a plastic valve, a metal valve, and a metal-plastic hybrid valve ([0023]).
Regarding claim 8, Atkinson discloses (Figs. 1-12) wherein said at least one electrical-connectivity port comprises a radio-frequency-capable connector configured to accommodate a feedline selected from a group comprising: a coaxial cable, a parallel-conductor line, and a single-wire conductor ([0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Atkinson discloses (Figs. 1-12) wherein said structure is filled with at least one lighter-than-air gas ([0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atkinson in view of Pfister et al. (DE 4137125 A1), hereinafter known as Pfister.
Regarding claim 9, Atkinson teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not teach an overpressure valve.
Pfister teaches (Figs. 1-9) at least one overpressure valve (51,52) positioned as part of said pressure-retaining enclosure (1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the overpressure valve of Pfister in the antenna apparatus of Atkinson since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) An overpressure valve provides protection against enclosures bursting.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kozakoff (U.S. Patent No. 6115003) teaches an inflatable antenna structure.
/DANIEL MUNOZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845