DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on July 31st, 2025 and February 6th, 2026, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 9, 13-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Fraysse et al. (US 202004119741 A1), herein referred to as Fraysse.
Regarding claim 1, Fraysse discloses a feeding apparatus (102), comprising: a plurality of functional modules (106, 112), wherein the functional modules of the plurality of functional modules are configured to process a radio frequency signal (para. 0103, analogue beamformers), and the functional modules of the plurality of functional modules are stacked (See fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Fraysse anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Fraysse also discloses wherein the functional modules of the plurality of functional modules comprise: N phase shift modules (5 beamformers), wherein each phase shift module is configured to perform phase shift processing on an input radio frequency signal, and N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2; M power division modules (5 dividers 116), wherein each power division module is configured to perform power allocation processing on the input radio frequency signal, and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1; and a transfer module (access column), configured to electrically connect the phase shift module (112) and the power division module (116)(para. 0045), to form a feeding circuit, wherein the N phase shift modules and the M power division modules are stacked (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Fraysse anticipates all limitations of base claim 2.
Fraysse also discloses wherein the N phase shift modules (112) are stacked to form a second stacked structure (See fig. 3), and outer wall surfaces of the M power division modules (116) in an extension direction are in contact with end parts of the second stacked structure (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Fraysse anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Fraysse also discloses further comprising: a plurality of output interfaces (outputs of 112), wherein the output interfaces of the plurality of output interfaces are configured to output a radio frequency signal processed by the feeding apparatus (inherent to being the output of a portion of the apparatus).
Regarding claim 13, Fraysse anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Fraysse also discloses wherein the feeding apparatus is integrally formed (para. 0038, integrated circuits).
Regarding claim 14, Fraysse discloses an antenna, comprising: a feeding apparatus (102), comprising a plurality of functional modules (106 112), the functional modules of the plurality of functional modules beings stacked (see fig. 3) and configured to process a radio frequency signal (analogue beamformer); and a plurality of radiating elements (104), wherein the feeding apparatus feeds a processed radio frequency signal into the plurality of radiating elements to cause the radiating elements of the plurality of radiating elements to radiate electromagnetic beams outward (functional language describing the operation of an antenna).
Regarding claim 15, Fraysse anticipates all limitations of base claim 14.
Fraysse also discloses wherein the functional modules of the plurality of functional modules comprise: N phase shift modules (5 beamformers), wherein each phase shift module is configured to perform phase shift processing on an input radio frequency signal, and N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2; M power division modules (5 dividers 116), wherein each power division module is configured to perform power allocation processing on the input radio frequency signal, and M is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1; and a transfer module (access column), configured to electrically connect the phase shift module (112) and the power division module (116)(para. 0045), to form a feeding circuit, wherein the N phase shift modules and the M power division modules are stacked (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Fraysse anticipates all limitations of base claim 15.
Fraysse also discloses wherein the N phase shift modules (112) are stacked to form a second stacked structure (See fig. 3), and outer wall surfaces of the M power division modules (116) in an extension direction are in contact with end parts of the second stacked structure (see fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 6-7, 10-11, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraysse and further in view of Gao et al. (CN 108879035 A), herein referred to as Gao.
Regarding claim 3, Fraysse anticipates all limitations of base claim 2.
Fraysse does not disclose wherein the N phase shift modules and the M power division modules are alternatively stacked in a same direction.
However, Gao discloses a similar device wherein the N phase shift modules (123) and the M power division modules (121b) are alternatively stacked in a same direction (see fig. 1, fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the device of Fraysse wherein the N phase shift modules and the M power division modules are alternatively stacked in a same direction, as taught by Gao to simplify manufacturing by connecting circuits to two modules (page 3 of applicant provided translation, lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 4, Fraysse and Gao render obvious all limitations of base claim 3.
Fraysse does not disclose wherein the transfer module comprises a first transfer submodule and a second transfer submodule, and the first transfer submodule and the second transfer submodule are respectively disposed at two opposite ends of a first stacked structure comprising the N phase shift modules and the M power division modules.
However, Gao does disclose wherein the transfer module comprises a first transfer submodule (left ports of 121b) and a second transfer submodule (right ports of 121b), and the first transfer submodule and the second transfer submodule are respectively disposed at two opposite ends of a first stacked structure comprising the N phase shift modules and the M power division modules see fig. 1, 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified device of Fraysse wherein the transfer module comprises a first transfer submodule and a second transfer submodule, and the first transfer submodule and the second transfer submodule are respectively disposed at two opposite ends of a first stacked structure comprising the N phase shift modules and the M power division modules, as taught by Gao, to simplify manufacturing by connecting circuits to two modules (page 3 of applicant provided translation, lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 6, Fraysse anticipates all limitations of base claim 2.
Fraysse does not disclose wherein the N phase shift modules and M power division modules are stacked in a same direction to form a third stacked structure and the M power division modules are stacked adjacently.
However, Gao discloses wherein the N phase shift modules (123) and M power division modules (121b) are stacked in a same direction to form a third stacked structure and the M power division modules are stacked adjacently (see fig. 1, 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the device of Fraysse wherein the N phase shift modules and M power division modules are stacked in a same direction to form a third stacked structure and the M power division modules are stacked adjacently, as taught by Gao, to simplify manufacturing by connecting circuits to two modules (page 3 of applicant provided translation, lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 7, Fraysse and Gao render obvious all limitations of base claim 6.
Fraysse does not disclose wherein the M power division modules are at an inner layer of the third stacked structure, and the N phase shift modules are at an outer layer of the third stacked structure.
However, Gao discloses wherein the M power division modules (123) are at an inner layer of the third stacked structure, and the N phase shift modules (121b) are at an outer layer of the third stacked structure (See fig. 1 and 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified device of Fraysse wherein the M power division modules are at an inner layer of the third stacked structure, and the N phase shift modules are at an outer layer of the third stacked structure, as taught by Gao, to simplify manufacturing by connecting circuits to two modules (page 3 of applicant provided translation, lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 10, Fraysse anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Fraysse does not disclose wherein the functional modules of the plurality of functional modules comprise a circuit structure and a cavity, and the circuit structure is accommodated in the cavity.
However, Gao discloses wherein the functional modules (123) of the plurality of functional modules comprise a circuit structure and a cavity (111), and the circuit structure is accommodated in the cavity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the device of Fraysse wherein the functional modules of the plurality of functional modules comprise a circuit structure and a cavity, and the circuit structure is accommodated in the cavity, as taught by Gao, to hold the feed network (page 5, line 22-25).
Regarding claim 11, Fraysse anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Fraysse does not disclose further comprising: a frame structure, wherein the frame structure is configured to support and position the functional modules of the plurality of functional modules, so that the plurality of functional modules form a stacked structure.
However, Gao discloses a similar device further comprising: a frame structure(110), wherein the frame structure is configured to support and position the functional modules (123) of the plurality of functional modules, so that the plurality of functional modules form a stacked structure (see fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the device of Fraysse further comprising: a frame structure, wherein the frame structure is configured to support and position the functional modules of the plurality of functional modules, so that the plurality of functional modules form a stacked structure, as taught by Gao, to give the stacked structure physical support.
Regarding claim 16, Fraysse anticipates all limitations of base claim 15.
Fraysse does not disclose wherein the N phase shift modules and the M power division modules are alternatively stacked in a same direction.
However, Gao discloses a similar device wherein the N phase shift modules (123) and the M power division modules (121b) are alternatively stacked in a same direction (see fig. 1, fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the device of Fraysse wherein the N phase shift modules and the M power division modules are alternatively stacked in a same direction, as taught by Gao to simplify manufacturing by connecting circuits to two modules (page 3 of applicant provided translation, lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 17, Fraysse and Gao render obvious all limitations of base claim 16.
Fraysse does not disclose wherein the transfer module comprises a first transfer submodule and a second transfer submodule, and the first transfer submodule and the second transfer submodule are respectively disposed at two opposite ends of a first stacked structure comprising the N phase shift modules and the M power division modules.
However, Gao does disclose wherein the transfer module comprises a first transfer submodule (left ports of 121b) and a second transfer submodule (right ports of 121b), and the first transfer submodule and the second transfer submodule are respectively disposed at two opposite ends of a first stacked structure comprising the N phase shift modules and the M power division modules see fig. 1, 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified device of Fraysse wherein the transfer module comprises a first transfer submodule and a second transfer submodule, and the first transfer submodule and the second transfer submodule are respectively disposed at two opposite ends of a first stacked structure comprising the N phase shift modules and the M power division modules, as taught by Gao, to simplify manufacturing by connecting circuits to two modules (page 3 of applicant provided translation, lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 19, Fraysse anticipates all limitations of base claim 15.
Fraysse does not disclose wherein the N phase shift modules and M power division modules are stacked in a same direction to form a third stacked structure and the M power division modules are stacked adjacently.
However, Gao discloses wherein the N phase shift modules (123) and M power division modules (121b) are stacked in a same direction to form a third stacked structure and the M power division modules are stacked adjacently (see fig. 1, 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the device of Fraysse wherein the N phase shift modules and M power division modules are stacked in a same direction to form a third stacked structure and the M power division modules are stacked adjacently, as taught by Gao, to simplify manufacturing by connecting circuits to two modules (page 3 of applicant provided translation, lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 20, Fraysse and Gao render obvious all limitations of base claim 19.
Fraysse does not disclose wherein the M power division modules are at an inner layer of the third stacked structure, and the N phase shift modules are at an outer layer of the third stacked structure.
However, Gao discloses wherein the M power division modules (123) are at an inner layer of the third stacked structure, and the N phase shift modules (121b) are at an outer layer of the third stacked structure (See fig. 1 and 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified device of Fraysse wherein the M power division modules are at an inner layer of the third stacked structure, and the N phase shift modules are at an outer layer of the third stacked structure, as taught by Gao, to simplify manufacturing by connecting circuits to two modules (page 3 of applicant provided translation, lines 33-35).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraysse and Gao and further in view of Pu et al. (US 20130229308 A1), herein referred to as Pu).
Regarding claim 8, Fraysse and Gao render obvious all limitations of base claim 6.
Fraysse does not disclose further comprising: a phase compensation module, wherein the phase compensation module and the transfer module are at two opposite ends of the third stacked structure.
However, Pu discloses a similar device further comprising: a phase compensation module (15), wherein the phase compensation module (15) and the transfer module (13) are at two opposite ends of the third stacked structure (14) (see fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the modified device of Fraysse further comprising: a phase compensation module, wherein the phase compensation module and the transfer module are at two opposite ends of the third stacked structure, as taught by Pu, to eliminate channel difference (para. 0048).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraysse and further in view of Crson (US 20050168301 A1), herein referred to as Carson.
Regarding claim 12, Fraysse anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Fraysse does not disclose wherein the functional modules of the plurality of functional modules are detachably connected.
However, Carson discloses a similar device wherein the functional modules (1302, 1304, 1306) of the plurality of functional modules are detachably connected (separable connectors 1310, 1312).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the device of Fraysse wherein the functional modules of the plurality of functional modules are detachably connected, as taught by Carson, to facilitate modular construction and maintenance (para. 0087).
Conclusion
/BRANDON SEAN WOODS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845