Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 16 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4, the phrase “one of or both” is not consistent with the rest of the claim that goes on to list three alternatives or options. The claim should be amended to state - -at least one of the following applies:- - and then the use of “and/or” in line 7 is not necessary and “and/or” in line 10 can be changed to - -and- -.
Claims 2 and 19 include the same “one of or both” recitation as claim 1 with the rest of the claim(s) reciting three options, these claims should be amended in a similar manner.
Claims 1, 2 and 19, last line also states “a base” however the base is previously set forth and should read - -the base- -.
Claim 16, “and or” in line 2 should be - -and/or- -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). In this case the claims only differ based on an intended use recitation which does not appear to structurally limit the claim, see rejection of claim 19 under 35 USC 112(b) below, as the claims both positively recite the same structure they are duplicate of one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 7, 8, 11 and 16-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrases "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the polyhedron" in line 1 and “the triangular prism”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 7 depends from claim 1 which does not require a polyhedron shape for the arms or a triangular prism. Also, the phrase “e.g” (for example) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 8, it is unclear if the claim is restating the last recitation of claim 1 or if the claim is meant limit the combination only to requiring the bearing feet seal elements. The independent claim covers multiple combinations that would be inclusive of just the bearing feet seal or any combination with the bearing feet seal, claim 8 does not appear to offer any additional structure nor does the claim make it clear if it is intended to exclude the other options of the independent claim. It is unclear what the intent by Applicant is in this instance, is this further limiting claim 1 or restating the third option and is that third option now meant to be the only feature the device has or could all three alternatives still be present.
Regarding claim 11, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. The claim states that the housing "is a hygienic bearing housing" however what this requires is not understood or defined. What is required to make a housing a "hygienic bearing housing"? What structural features must be included? What, if any, are optional features? And what types of features are excluded by this recitation? The specification does not define the term in any manner that would make it clear what this is structurally limited to. In addition, it appears that Applicant may have been attempting to define the housing based on industrial standards, however this does not provide a clear definition for the term nor can standards be claimed as an inventive concept as Applicant has not invented the standards.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is defining the device based on what it is not or does not have rather than what it is or includes. It is unclear what would actually be excluded and thus inversely included by the claim. If there are only seals are there no “covers” or do seals count as cover members since they tend to cover an end of a bearing or housing assembly? The negative limitation does not define or limit the claim to anything not previously required by claim 1 and therefore it is suggested that the claim be deleted.
Claims 17 and 18 recite “the seals” in line 1, however there is a lack of antecedent basis for the plurality recited by the claim since claim 1 provides the features in the alternative. By the use of “seals” is the claim requiring claim 1 to be interpreted using the “and” recitations and thus excluding the other possibilities/combinations of claim 1 or does Applicant mean to reference “the seal”?
Regarding claim 19, the claim includes a recitation of intended use that Applicant appears to have added to provide a distinction with claim 1, however it is unclear how this recitation is structurally limiting the claim. What structure is required for a bearing to be used in the environment? Is it anything different or additional that is not already recited by the claim? There does not appear to be any additional structure required to meet the intended use recitation necessitating the duplicate claim issue above. However, this same recitation is further unclear as it defines the environment as being one with “low (or no)” accumulations allowed, however it is unclear if by placing “or no” in parenthesis if this is meant to be a positive requirement of the claim, the term “low” is also a relative term. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What level of accumulation would be allowed and the amount be considered “low”? As the claim appears to not define any structural difference with claim 1 the two claims will be addressed simultaneously in the rejection below.
Claim 8, assuming the claim is only restating the last option of claim 1, see rejection under 35 USC 112(b) above, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 8 does not appear to structurally limit the parent claim and is only restating one of the options already covered by claim 1 without clearly excluding the other options and combinations covered by claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 11, 16, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feerick, USP 5,927,864.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Feerick discloses a bearing house (12) [for use in environments with high hygienic requirements, high cleaning requirements and/or environments where low (or no) deposit or accumulation of dirt, grime, microbial material and/or allergens is accepted](intended use of clm 19) comprising a bearing house body (portion labeled 12 is the main body) for receiving a rotating shaft (11), and two or more bearing house feet (13) for attaching the bearing house (12) to a base (frame or other machine member), wherein each of the two or more bearing house feet (13) extends from the bearing house body (12) by the means of an arm (the material between 12 and the bolt hole in 12 forms an arm), and wherein, one or both of the following applies: (i) a seal (35/40) is provided between a first side (right side) of the bearing house body (12) and a bearing (runs between the housing and inner ring 37 of the bearing), when the bearing is installed into the bearing house body, and/or (ii) a seal is provided between a second side of the bearing house body and the bearing when the bearing is installed into the bearing house body (alternatively the seal 35/40 can be considered as being on the second side of the assembly since regardless of which side is the first or the second the seal structure remains the same); and/or (iii) a seal is provided at the base end of each of the bearing housing feet facing a base.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Feerick discloses a bearing house (12) comprising a bearing house body (portion labeled 12 is the main body) having a bearing (10) installed, for receiving a rotating shaft (11), and the bearing housing (12) comprises two or more bearing house feet (13) for attaching the bearing house (12) to a base (frame or other machine member), wherein each of the two or more bearing house feet (13) extends from the bearing house body (12) by the means of an arm (the material between 12 and the bolt hole in 12 forms an arm), and wherein, one or both of the following applies: (i) a seal (35/40) is provided between a first side (right side) of the bearing house body (12) and a bearing (runs between the housing and the inner ring 37 of the bearing), and/or (ii) a seal is provided between a second side of the bearing house body and the bearing (alternatively the seal 35/40 can be considered as being on the second side of the assembly since regardless of which side is the first or the second the seal structure remains the same); and/or (iii) a seal is provided at the base end of each of the bearing housing feet facing a base.
NOTE: claim 3 differs from claim 2 as the third alternative has been removed from the claim, however since the applied reference addresses options 1 or 2 of claim 2, which are the only remaining options in claim 3, claim 3 also rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 4, Feerick discloses that the arm is formed as a polyhedron, such as a triangular prism; a square prism; a pentagonal prism; or a hexagonal prism (the material between the housing 12 and the bolt hole is a polyhedron, alternative viewing all of the material as the foot/arm unit the shape is a triangular prism).
Regarding claim 11, Feerick, as best understood, discloses that the bearing house is a hygienic bearing house (as best understood the housing is sealed making it hygienic).
Regarding claim 16, Feerick, as best understood, discloses that the bearing house is not provided with a flat cover, hence the flat cover may be omitted, and/or wherein the bearing house is not provided with a removable bearing housing cover (no additional covers are provided on the housing member).
Regarding claim 17, Feerick discloses that the seal(s) are configured with contours adapted to the structure of adjacent surfaces thereby ensuring a continuous or substantially continuous surface in the joints between the adjacent surfaces (the lip of seal element at 38 is a continuous surface that is adapted to the inner ring of the bearing to ensure proper sealing).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 10, 11, 16, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horling, EP 1503096.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 19, Horling discloses a bearing house (1) [for use in environments with high hygienic requirements, high cleaning requirements and/or environments where low (or no) deposit or accumulation of dirt, grime, microbial material and/or allergens is accepted](intended use of clm 19) comprising a bearing house body (portion with hole 3) for receiving a rotating shaft, and two or more bearing house feet (at 4) for attaching the bearing house (1) to a base (15), wherein each of the two or more bearing house feet (at 4) extends from the bearing house body by the means of an arm (the triangular shape that the hole 4 is placed through forms an arm, the axial extension from this triangular flange portion forming the feet as shown in figure 3), and wherein, one or both of the following applies: (i) a seal is provided between a first side of the bearing house body and a bearing, when the bearing is installed into the bearing house body, and/or (ii) a seal is provided between a second side of the bearing house body and the bearing when the bearing is installed into the bearing house body; and/or (iii) a seal (6) is provided at the base end of each of the bearing housing feet facing a base (requirement of both claims 1 and 8).
Regarding claim 2, Horling discloses a bearing house (1) comprising a bearing house body (portion with 3) having a bearing (2) installed, for receiving a rotating shaft, and the bearing housing (1) comprises two or more bearing house feet (at 4) for attaching the bearing house (1) to a base (15), wherein each of the two or more bearing house feet extends from the bearing house body by the means of an arm (the triangular shape that the hole 4 is placed through forms an arm, the axial extension from this triangular flange portion forming the feet as shown in figure 3), and wherein, one or both of the following applies: (i) a seal is provided between a first side of the bearing house body and a bearing, and/or (ii) a seal is provided between a second side of the bearing house body and the bearing; and/or (iii) a seal (6) is provided at the base end of each of the bearing housing feet facing a base.
Regarding claim 4, Horling discloses that the arm is formed as a polyhedron, such as a triangular prism; a square prism; a pentagonal prism; or a hexagonal prism (the material forming the triangular flange element is a polyhedron, more specifically a triangular prism, from which the feet extend axially from).
Regarding claim 5, Horling discloses that the two or more bearing house feet (at 4) are the only part of the bearing house which is in contact with the base (the feet and seal combination that ultimately forms the feet, like the foot and seal 3a of the instant application, can be the only part that contacts the base 15 as shown in figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, Horling discloses that the length of the two or more bearing house feet is in the direction substantially longitudinal to the opening for receiving the rotating shaft and/or substantially perpendicular to the direction of the base where the bearing house is mounted (the foot projects from the flange element along the axial direction, this is substantially longitudinal as described in the disclosure, this extension direction of the foot is also perpendicular to how the base extends at the location where the parts are mounted together, see figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, Horling discloses that the bearing housing (1) is made of metal material (see page 3, last paragraph of the attached translation).
Regarding claim 11, Horling, as best understood, discloses that the bearing house is a hygienic bearing house (as best understood the housing is sealed making it hygienic).
Regarding claim 16, Horling, as best understood, discloses that the bearing house is not provided with a flat cover, hence the flat cover may be omitted, and/or wherein the bearing house is not provided with a removable bearing housing cover (no additional covers are provided on the housing member).
Regarding claim 17, Feerick discloses that the seal(s) are configured with contours adapted to the structure of adjacent surfaces thereby ensuring a continuous or substantially continuous surface in the joints between the adjacent surfaces (the lips on seal 6 form a contour that provides a continuous sealing with the recess in the base).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feerick, USP 5,927,864, in view of Stenner, USP 5,129,737.
Regarding claim 7, Feerick does not disclose that the arm, including the polyhedron, further has a tap, e.g. triangular prism, pointing towards the base.
Stenner teaches a similar mounting configuration where the arm (16), in the form of a polyhedron, can be provided with a rib (14) which defines a tip or top surface that points towards the base (the downward direction if figure 4 is toward the base 30) for the purpose of providing a reinforcing feature to strengthen the assembly (see column 2, line 50-column 3, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Feerick and add a rib, which includes a tip pointing toward the base, to the arm, as taught by Stenner, for the purpose of providing a reinforcing feature to strengthen the assembly.
Claim(s) 9, 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feerick, USP 5,927,864.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Feerick does not disclose any particular material for the housing and thus does not disclose that the housing is made of a plastic material [clm 9] or a metal material [clm 10].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to make the housing out of any material, including plastic or metal, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 18, Feerick does not disclose any particular material for the seal(s), specifically the seal at 38, and thus does not disclose that the seals are prepared from a non-conductive silicone material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to make the seal(s) out of any material, including non-conductive silicone material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horling, EP 1503096, in view of Stenner, USP 5,129,737.
Regarding claim 7, Horling does not disclose that the arm, including the polyhedron, further has a tap, e.g. triangular prism, pointing towards the base.
Stenner teaches a similar mounting configuration where the arm (16), in the form of a polyhedron, can be provided with a rib (14) which defines a tip or top surface that points towards the base (the downward direction if figure 4 is toward the base 30) for the purpose of providing a reinforcing feature to strengthen the assembly (see column 2, line 50-column 3, line 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify Horling and add a rib, which includes a tip pointing toward the base, to the arm, as taught by Stenner, for the purpose of providing a reinforcing feature to strengthen the assembly.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horling, EP 1503096.
Regarding claim 9, Horling does not disclose that the housing is made of a plastic material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to make the housing out of any material, including plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 18, Horling does not disclose any particular material for the seal(s) (6) and thus does not disclose that the seals are prepared from a non-conductive silicone material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to make the seal(s) out of any material, including non-conductive silicone material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horling, EP 1503096, in view of Linteau, USP 5,328,276.
Regarding claim 12, while disclosing seals at the feet of the mounting bracket, Horling does not disclose that the bearing housing portion of the assembly includes a fixed bearing housing body, a bearing housing cover and a flat cover.
Linteau teaches that a bearing housing can include a fixed bearing housing body (main portion of 3 with the bore for receiving the bearing) and that body is closed by a bearing housing cover (103) and a flat cover (54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to provide the bracket assembly of Horling with a fixed bearing housing body that seats the bearing and also includes a bearing housing cover and a flat cover, as taught by Linteau, for the purpose and predictable result of providing a larger seat for the bearing which provides for greater securement of the bearing and to close the bearing off from the outside environment by having additional covers (purpose of 103 and 54).
Regarding claim 13, Horling in view of Linteau discloses that the flat cover (54 of Linteau) comprises an opening for inserting the shaft (11, see figure 3), which opening is closed by the shaft (11) when the bearing housing is in an operational state (when assembled 54 and 11 cooperate to close the bearing housing).
Regarding claim 14, Horling in view of Linteau discloses that the at least one of the bearing housing cover (103) or the flat cover (54) is removable (both closure elements can be removed, being “removable” does not limit the claim to any particular structure).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15, Horling in view of Linteau does not disclose the presence of seals between the housing body parts and there would be no reason to modify Horling in view of Linteau to include additional seals as 54 in Linteau for example is already a sealing body. Adding another seal between the parts would be redundant and there is no teaching, suggestion or motivation to make such a change absent hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USP 9,157,475 discloses a housing that seats a spherical rolling element bearing that includes two seals (120) between the housing and the spherical surface of the bearing, these are the same seals illustrated by Applicant. While the claims are not currently limited to these seals under the broadest reasonable interpretation any amendment to do so would result in this reference being applicable.
/JAMES PILKINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617