DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 105, 106, 108, 126, 128, 170, 172. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6626466, Dole.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses a pipe coupling comprising: a coupling body comprising a first coupling segment (50B) and a second coupling segment (50B), the first coupling segment having a first lug (58B) on a first end and the second coupling segment having a second lug (58B) opposite the first lug; a first fastener (54) mounted to the coupling body via the first and second lugs and configured to tighten the pipe coupling; and a first installation indicator (60) on the first lug and arranged to overlap a first indicator face (62) of the second lug as the pipe coupling is tightened, wherein the first installation indicator is in a predetermined alignment (bottom of 60 and 62 abutting) with a first counter indicator on the second lug when the pipe coupling is correctly-tightened and is not in the predetermined alignment with the first counter indicator when the pipe coupling is under tightened.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the first installation indicator of the first lug comprises a cast protrusion and the first counter indicator of the second lug comprises a cast indicator.
Note, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, the cast limitation is given little patentable weight.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the first installation indicator is on an outer face of the first lug and the first indicator face is on an outer face of the second lug.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the first installation indicator comprises at least one of a point or a first line perpendicular to a direction of tightening of the pipe coupling.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the first counter indicator comprises a (truncated) point.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the first counter indicator comprises a range in the direction of tightening of the pipe coupling, wherein the first installation indicator has the predetermined alignment with the first counter indicator when the first installation indicator is within the range.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the first coupling segment has a third lug (58B) on a second end and the second coupling segment has a fourth lug (58B) opposite the third lug, the pipe coupling further comprising: a second fastener mounted to the coupling body via the third and fourth lugs and configured to tighten the pipe coupling; and a second installation indicator (60) on the fourth lug and arranged to overlap a second indicator face (62) of the third lug as the pipe coupling is tightened, wherein the second installation indicator is in a predetermined alignment with a second counter indicator on the third lug when the pipe coupling is correctly tightened and is not in the predetermined alignment with the second counter indicator when the pipe coupling is under tightened.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the first coupling segment and the second coupling segment are identical.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the first coupling segment and the second coupling segment each comprise a gasket groove, wherein the pipe coupling further comprises a gasket (not shown but implied) disposed within the gasket groove.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses pipe coupling, comprising: a coupling body comprising a first coupling segment and a second coupling segment, the first coupling segment having a first lug and a second lug, and the second coupling segment having a third lug opposite the first lug and a fourth lug opposite the second lug; a first fastener mounted to the coupling body via the first and third lugs, and a second fastener mounted to the coupling body via the second and fourth lugs, the first and second fasteners configured to tighten the pipe coupling; and installation indicators on the first coupling segment and the second coupling segment, the installation indicators configured to completely visually indicate when the pipe coupling is in a tightened configuration at two locations on the pipe coupling.
In regards to claim 12, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the installation indicators are cast into the first and second coupling segments.
Note, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, the cast limitation is given little patentable weight.
In regards to claim 13, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the installation indicators are on respective outer faces of the first lug and the second lug.
In regards to claim 14, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the installation indicators completely visually indicate when the pipe coupling is in a tightened configuration by a predetermined alignment of the installation indicators.
In regards to claim 15, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the installation indicators are configured to visually indicate that the pipe coupling is in the tightened configuration by a lack of a gap between the installation indicators.
In regards to claim 16, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the installation indicators are configured to be in an overlapping arrangement in the tightened configuration.
In regards to claim 17, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the installation indicators are configured to visually indicate that the pipe coupling is in the tightened configuration by a lack of visibility of a predetermined visual indicator.
In regards to claim 19, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the first coupling segment and the second coupling segment are identical.
In regards to claim 20, in Figures 16-21 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dole discloses the installation indicators further visually indicate when the pipe coupling is not in the tightened configuration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21-40 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose A pipe coupling comprising: a coupling body comprising a first coupling segment and a second coupling segment, the first coupling segment having a first lug on a first end and the second coupling segment having a second lug opposite the first lug; a first fastener mounted to the coupling body via the first and second lugs and configured to tighten the pipe coupling; and a first installation indicator on the first lug and arranged to overlap a first indicator face of the second lug as the pipe coupling is tightened, wherein the first installation indicator and a first counter indicator on the second lug provide a first tactile indication when the pipe coupling is correctly-tightened and a second tactile indication when the pipe coupling is under tightened.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it illustrates the state of the art.
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679