Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: “any one of claim 1” should read --claim 1--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “compensation element” in claims 1-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and/or 102a2 as being anticipated by Liu (US 2024/0060523), which discloses:
1. A fastening assembly for fastening a first component to a second component, the fastening assembly having an axis, and the fastening assembly comprising:
a compensation element (620), the compensation element having a receiving channel running through the compensation element in an axial direction (the open space therethrough, e.g. see FIG 6), and the compensation element being capable of rotating about the axis so as to be connected to the first component (it is so capable, such as with first component 130);
a bolt (120), the bolt having a shank (125) and a limiting portion (122), the limiting portion protruding outwardly from an outer peripheral surface of the shank (see FIG 8), the limiting portion of the bolt being received by the receiving channel of the compensation element (as similarly shown in FIGS 1A and 8), and the shank of the bolt extending out of the compensation element from the receiving channel and being configured to be securely connected to the second component (as similarly shown in FIG 1A and 8); and
a washer (150; alternatively 220 of FIG 4B), the washer being received by the receiving channel (FIG 8), and the washer abutting against the limiting portion of the bolt to prevent the bolt from moving in the axial direction (FIG 8; alternatively FIG 6 taken with FIG 8),
wherein the washer is connected to the compensation element in such a way that the washer is capable of rotating together with the compensation element (they are capable of rotating together, such as by virtue of frictional engagement therebetween).
2. The fastening assembly according to claim 1, wherein the bolt and the washer are made of metal materials (see the hatching pattern of FIG 8, and para. 0013), and the compensation element is made of a plastic material (para. 0032).
3. The fastening assembly according to claim 2, wherein the compensation element is provided with a limiting flange (622) arranged at one end, the limiting flange protrudes inwardly in a radial direction (see FIG 6), and the washer is clamped between the limiting flange and the limiting portion of the bolt (when the bolt is inserted in to the arrangement of FIG 6).
4. The fastening assembly according to claim 3, wherein the washer and the compensation element are connected to each other in a form-fit manner (they are shaped to fit together, the washer fits inside of and works with the compensation element).
6. The fastening assembly according to claim 4, wherein the compensation element comprises a first stop structure (352) and a second stop structure (355, 356) respectively arranged at first end (361) and second end (362), the first stop structure and the second stop structure being configured such that the compensation element is capable of being inserted into a mounting hole of the first component and preventing the compensation element from escaping from the mounting hole of the first component so as to pre-assemble the fastening assembly on the first component (para. 0009, claim 6).
7. The fastening assembly according to claim 6, wherein the compensation element is provided with a spiral groove (350) on outer surface, one of the first stop structure and the second stop structure (first stop structure 352) comprises a stop block (352) arranged at end of the spiral groove (FIG 3A), and the other of the first stop structure and the second stop structure comprises a deflectable stop arm (355), the deflectable stop arm protruding from the outer surface of the compensation element in a non-deflected state (e.g., FIG 3A).
11. A part in preassembly, comprising: a first component (130); and a fastening assembly according to any one of claim 1 (see the analysis of claim 1), wherein the compensation element of the fastening assembly is capable of rotating about an axis so as to be connected to the first component (para. 0031).
12. The part in preassembly according to claim 11, wherein the first component is provided with a mounting hole, the first component comprises a protrusion (720) arranged in the mounting hole (FIG 8, para. 0034), and an outer surface of the compensation element is provided with a spiral groove (350), and wherein the protrusion of the first component is engaged within the spiral groove of the compensation element and can be slid therein to connect the fastening assembly to the first component in a spiral manner (para. 0034-0035).
13. A fastening system, comprising: a first component; a second component (140); and a fastening assembly according to any one of claim 1 (see the analysis of claim 1 above), wherein the compensation element of the fastening assembly is capable of rotating about an axis so as to be connected to the first component (para. 0034-0035), and wherein the shank of the bolt of the fastening assembly is capable of passing through the second component so as to be securely connected to the second component (via threaded section 145, see FIG 8).
14. The fastening system according to claim 13, wherein the first component is provided with a mounting hole, the first component comprises a protrusion arranged in the mounting hole, and an the compensation element is provided with a spiral groove on outer surface, and wherein the protrusion of the first component is engaged within the spiral groove of the compensation element and can be slid therein to connect the fastening assembly to the first component in a spiral manner (see the analysis of claim 12 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu.
Liu discloses the invention as claimed with exception to the notch on the washer which receives a tab on the compensation element as claimed. However such notch and tab elements as claimed were well-known in the art before the effective filing date (official notice), and it would have been obvious to use the same in Liu’s device in order to prevent any rotation between the washer and compensation element.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yu (US 2024/0344551).
Regarding claim 8, Liu does not disclose the retaining element as claimed. However Yu teaches that it was known in the art before the effective filing date to use a fastening assembly that comprises a comprises a retaining element (150), the retaining element being located in a similar receiving channel and (functionally) connected to an inner wall of the compensation element, and the retaining element being configured to elastically abut against a similar bolt so as to limit a position of the bolt in the axial direction and allow displacement of the bolt in a radial direction (e.g., see para. 0062 describing the elasticity and operation of 150). To elastically retain Liu’s bolt, it would have been obvious to use a retaining element therein as claimed by Applicant and taught by Yu.
Regarding claim 9, Liu does not disclose wherein the compensation element comprises a first compensation section and a second compensation section as claimed. However Yu teaches that it was known in the art before the effective filing date to form a compensation element to have a first compensation section (147) and a second compensation section (148), the first compensation section and the second compensation section being arranged in the axial direction and removably connected together (para. 0046, 0047), and a similar limiting flange (1414) being arranged on the first compensation section, and wherein the retaining element is (functionally) connected to an inner wall (160) of the second compensation section. To assembly the bolt and retaining element into Liu’s compensation element, it would have been obvious to form Liu’s compensation element of first and second compensation sections, as claimed by Applicant and taught by Yu.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2024/0175458 discloses a similar fastening assembly where the bolt directly engages the compensation element.
/WILLIAM M MCCALISTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
9/16/26