Double Patenting
Claims 1,3-6, 8-11, 13-14, 18-20, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-6, 8, 11-12, 16, 18-19, 21, 26-27 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 11, 930,215 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims are not identical in terms of wording and terminology, the scope of the claims are the same, they are not patentable distinct from each other and they are obvious variants of each other as shown in the table below, for example for at least claims 1, 3-6, 8-9..
Instant Applicant No. 19/243,453
U.S. Patent No. 11,930,215 B2
1. A method of filtering video data, the method comprising: determining to apply one or more neural network model for filtering a portion of a decoded picture of video data; in response to determining to apply the one or more neural network models; determining the one or more neural network models to be used to filter the portion of the decoded picture of video data; and filtering the partition of the decoded picture using the one or more neural network models.
1. A method of filtering decoded video data, the method comprising: decoding a picture of video data; coding a value for a syntax element representing a plurality of neural network models to be used to filter a portion of the decoded picture, the plurality of neural network models being pre-defined neural network models; and filtering the portion of the decoded picture using the plurality of neural network models corresponding to the value, including: separately applying each of the plurality of neural network models represented by the value to the portion to form distinct results; and combining each of the results to form a final filtered portion; and claim 8, further comprising determining to apply the neural network model prior to determining the neural network model.
Claim 3 of the instant application corresponds to claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,930,215 B2.
Claim 4 of the instant application corresponds to claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,930,215 B2.
Claim 5 of the instant application corresponds to claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,930,215 B2.
Claim 6 of the instant application corresponds to claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,930,215 B2.
Claim 8 of the instant application corresponds to claim 11 of U.S. Patent No., 11,930,215 B2.
Claim 9 of the instant application corresponds to claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,930,215 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 7-8, 10- is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Yin et al., (U.S. Pub. No.2019/0273948 A1).
As per claim 1, Yin teaches a method of filtering decoded video data, the method comprising: determining to apply one or more neural network models for filtering a portion of a decoded picture of video data ([0106], [0107], table 1, table 2 and fig. 6A-B; “sps_acnnlf_enable_flag indicates whether or not the adaptable neural network is enabled for the entire RAS or group of pictures.”); in response to determining to apply the one or more neural network models (fig. 6A-B, table 1, table 2); determining the one or more neural network models to be used to filter the portion of the decoded picture of video data (fig. 3, 6A-B, [0039-0040], [0063], [0100-0102], [0105]); and filtering the portion of the decoded picture using the one or more neural network models (fig, 6A-B; [0106]; “process 600 may include “apply neural network(s) for NN filtering at current reconstructed frame at decoder” 660, and this may be performed differently depending on which alternative neural networks have been received by the decoder and whether the identity of the selected neural network was received as well.”).
As per claim 2, Yin teaches wherein determining to apply the one or more neural network models comprise decoding a syntax element having a value indicating that the one or more neural network model are to be applied ([0106], [0107], and fig. 6A-B; “In the slice header, one syntax element (acnnlf_luma_slice_enable_flag and acnnl_chroma_slice_enable_flag) may be used to indicate ACNNLF enable/disable”).
As per claim 3, Yin teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 2. In addition, Yin teaches wherein the syntax elements is of at least one of a video parameter set (VPS), a sequence parameter set (SPS), a picture parameter set (PPS), a picture header, a slice header, an adaptation parameter set (APS), an intra period level, a group of pictures (GOP) level, a temporal layer level in the GOP, a picture level, a slice level, a coding tree unit (CTU) level, or a grid level size ([0106-0107]; “In the slice header, one syntax element (acnnlf_luma_slice_enable_flag and acnnl_chroma_slice_enable_flag) may be used to indicate ACNNLF enable/disable”).
As per claim 4, Yin teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition Yin teaches partitioning the decoding picture according to a grid, wherein the partition comprises an element of the grid of the decoded picture ([0039], [0046], [0069] and fig. 2A).
As per claim 7, Yin teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 4. In addition, Yin teaches determining to apply the one or more neural network models for filtering the partition of the decoded picture comprises determining whether to apply the one or more neural network models for each element of the grid ([0060]
As per claim 8, Yin teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Yin teaches wherein the portion comprises a portion of a color component of the decoded picture, the color component comprising one a luminance component, a blue hue chrominance component, or a red hue chrominance component (fig. 1, [0030], [0058]).
As per claim 10, Yin teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 8. In addition, Yin teaches decoding separate syntax elements that individually indicate whether corresponding color components are to be filtered using the one or more neural network models (table 1, table 2 and [0107]).
As per claim 11, which is the corresponding device for decoding video data with the limitations of the method for filtering decoded video data, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here. In addition, Yin teaches a memory configured to store video data (fig. 10-12), and a processing system implemented in circuitry (fig. 10-12).
As per claim 12, which is the corresponding device with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 2, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 2 also applies here.
As per claim 13, which is the corresponding device with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 3, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 3 also applies here.
As per claim 14, which is the corresponding device with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 4, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 4 also applies here.
As per claim 17, which is the corresponding device with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 7, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 7 also applies here.
As per claim 18, which is the corresponding device with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 8, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 8 also applies here.
As per claim 19, Yin teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 11. In addition, Yin teaches a display configured to display the decoded picture of video data ([0053], [0099], [0106], [0119] and fig.10).
As per claim 20, Yin teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 11. In addition, Yin teaches wherein the device comprises one or more of a camera, a computer, a mobile device, a broadcast receiver device, or a set-top box ([0024], [0126], [0139]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0273948 A1) in view of Chen et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0044838 A1).
As per claim 5, Yin teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. Yin does not explicitly disclose determining a number of elements of the grid.
However, Chen teaches determining a number of elements of the grid ([0006], [0057-0059], [0125] table 1, and fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to incorporate the teachings of Chen with Yin for the benefit of providing improved signaling of partitioning structure as well as providing the predictable results of signaling partitioning structure for video data.
As per claim 6, Yin (modified by Chen) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 5. Yin does not explicitly disclose determining the number of elements of the grid comprises decoding a syntax element of at least one of video parameter set (VPS), a sequence parameter set (SPS), a picture parameter set (PPS), a picture header, a slice header, an adaption parameter set (APS), an intra period level, a group of picture (GOP) level, a temporal layer level in the GOP, a picture level, a slice, a coding tree unit (CTU) level, or a grid size level.
However, Chen determining the number of elements of the grid comprises decoding a syntax element of at least one of video parameter set (VPS), a sequence parameter set (SPS), a picture parameter set (PPS), a picture header, a slice header, an adaption parameter set (APS), an intra period level, a group of picture (GOP) level, a temporal layer level in the GOP, a picture level, a slice, a coding tree unit (CTU) level, or a grid size level ([0006], [0057-0059], [0125] table 1, and fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to incorporate the teachings of Chen with Yin for the benefit of providing improved signaling of partitioning structure as well as providing the predictable results of signaling partitioning structure for video data.
As per claim 15, which is the corresponding device with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 5, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 5 also applies here.
As per claim 16, which is the corresponding device with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 6, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 6 also applies here.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JESSICA PRINCE
Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/JESSICA M PRINCE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486