DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-7, 13-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al. (US 2025/072261 A1, hereinafter referred as “Xia”) in view of Shin et al. (US 2025/0185469 A1, hereinafter referred as “Shin”).
Regarding claim 1, Xia discloses a display panel, comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0042 discloses light-emitting elements formed from layers 13-15) and a driving circuit electrically connected to a pixel anode (13) of each of the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figs. 1-7, ¶0042 and ¶0104 discloses pixel circuits of driving layer 12 connected to pixel anode 13 through the source/drain electrode layer 124);
wherein the each of the plurality of light-emitting elements comprises:
the pixel anode (13);
a pixel defining layer (14), configured to cover a surface of a part of the pixel anode (13) (Fig. 4 illustrates pixel defining portion 141 covers a surface of the pixel anode extension units 21 and 22) and expose a surface of another part of the pixel anode (13) to define a pixel opening (1410) (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0040 discloses the pixel defining layer 14 includes one or more pixel defining portions 141 and one or more openings 1410 defined by the one or more pixel defining portions 141);
an …light-emitting layer (15), disposed on a surface of the pixel anode (13) in the pixel opening (1410) (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0040 discloses a light-emitting layer 15 located on the anode layer 13);
a pixel cathode (16), disposed on a surface of the …light-emitting layer (15) in the pixel opening (1410) (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0040 discloses a cathode layer 16 located on the light-emitting layer 15); and
an overhang structure (17, 1411, 18), disposed on a surface of the pixel defining layer (14) away from the pixel anode (13) (Figs. 3-4 and ¶0052 discloses the portion of the isolation portion 17 corresponding to the pixel defining portion 141 is provided with a protrusion portion 1411);
wherein the overhang structure (17, 1411, 18) comprises an auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) and an …structure (18), the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) is disposed at a surface of the pixel defining layer (14) away from the pixel anode (13) (Figs. 3-4 and ¶0052 discloses the portion of the isolation portion 17 corresponding to the pixel defining portion 141 is provided with a protrusion portion 1411), and the …structure (18) is disposed at a side surface of the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) away from the pixel defining layer (14) (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0050 discloses one or more eave structures 18 disposed on the one or more isolation portions 17);
the driving circuit comprises a voltage stabilizing capacitor configured to stabilize a voltage input to the pixel anode (13) (¶0045 discloses the first capacitance adjustment unit 21 can overlap the respective corresponding first cathode unit 161 to form a respective corresponding capacitor structure. This is equivalent to that an additional capacitor is connected to the cathode of the first-color light-emitting structure 151), and the voltage stabilizing capacitor comprises a first capacitor (Fig. 4 and ¶0105 discloses a first capacitance adjustment unit 21 is electrically connected to a respective corresponding anode unit 131; and ¶0051 discloses first capacitance adjustment unit 21 and the corresponding first cathode unit 161 can form a capacitor) and a second capacitor (¶0051 discloses the first capacitance adjustment unit 21 and the corresponding isolation portion 17 can also form a capacitor);
a first part of the pixel anode (13) and the pixel cathode (16) are oppositely disposed to form two electrode plates of the first capacitor (Fig. 4 and ¶0105 discloses a first capacitance adjustment unit 21 is electrically connected to a respective corresponding anode unit 131; and ¶0051 discloses first capacitance adjustment unit 21 and the corresponding first cathode unit 161 can form a capacitor);
a second part of the pixel anode (13) extends into the pixel defining layer (14) (Fig. 4 and ¶0071 discloses the first capacitance adjustment unit 21 or the second capacitance adjustment unit 22 may be understood as an anode extension unit formed by extension of the corresponding anode unit 131), and the second part of the pixel anode (13) and the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) are oppositely disposed to form two electrode plates of the second capacitor (¶0051 discloses the first capacitance adjustment unit 21 and the corresponding isolation portion 17 can also form a capacitor); and
the pixel cathode (16) extends to the surface of the pixel defining layer (14) (Figs. 1-7 illustrate the cathode 16 extends to the surface of the pixel defining layer 14) and is connected to the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0047 discloses the first cathode unit 161 is electrically connected to other parts of the cathode layer by the isolation portion 17), and the first capacitor is electrically connected to the second capacitor (Fig. 4 and ¶0071 discloses the first capacitance adjustment unit 21 or the second capacitance adjustment unit 22 may be understood as an anode extension unit formed by extension of the corresponding anode unit 131; and Figs. 1-7 and ¶0047 discloses the first cathode unit 161 is electrically connected to other parts of the cathode layer by the isolation portion 17).
Xia doesn’t disclose an organic light-emitting layer and an insulating structure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shin discloses an organic light-emitting layer (EP) (Fig. 5A, 6 and ¶0112 discloses the light-emitting pattern EP may be referred to as an ‘organic layer’) and an insulating structure (IL) (Fig. 5A, 6 and ¶0122 discloses partition wall insulation layer IL and the second partition wall layer L2 may protrude from the first partition wall layer L1 toward the light-emitting opening OP-E to provide the tip part).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xia for the purpose of having a very thin, lightweight and flexible material as the emissive layer.
Regarding claim 2, one embodiment of Xia doesn’t disclose the display panel according to claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the pixel anode disposed opposite to the auxiliary cathode is higher than an upper surface of the pixel anode disposed opposite to the pixel cathode.
However, a combination of embodiments of Xia discloses wherein an upper surface of the pixel anode (13) disposed opposite to the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) is higher than an upper surface of the pixel anode (13) disposed opposite to the pixel cathode (16) (embodiment of Fig. 5 and ¶0073 discloses the capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 is higher than the upper surface of the pixel anode 13; embodiment of Fig. 4 and ¶0071 discloses the capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 is connected to the pixel anode 13 as an extension unit; the combination of embodiments of Figs. 4-5 yield an upper surface of the pixel anode 13 opposite the isolation portion 17 higher than the upper surface of the pixel anode 13 disposed opposite the pixel cathode 16 where two capacitance adjustment layers 21 are stacked on top of one another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine different embodiments of Xia for the purpose of achieving capacitance adjustment and refinement for subpixel turn-on and color shift control (¶0054).
Regarding claim 3, one embodiment of Xia doesn’t disclose the display panel according to claim 2, wherein a thickness of the pixel anode disposed opposite to the auxiliary cathode is greater than a thickness of the pixel anode disposed opposite to the pixel cathode, and the capacitance of the second capacitor is increased.
However, a combination of embodiments of Xia discloses wherein a thickness of the pixel anode (13) disposed opposite to the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) is greater than a thickness of the pixel anode (13) disposed opposite to the pixel cathode (16), and the capacitance of the second capacitor is increased (Fig. 5 and ¶0073 embodiment discloses the capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 is higher than the upper surface of the pixel anode 13; and Fig. 4 and ¶0071 embodiment discloses the capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 is connected to the pixel anode 13 as an extension unit; the combination of Figs. 4-5 embodiments would yield an upper surface of the pixel anode 13 opposite the isolation portion 17 higher than the upper surface of the pixel anode 13 disposed opposite the pixel cathode 16 where two capacitance adjustment layers 21 are stacked on top of one another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine different embodiments of Xia for the purpose of achieving capacitance adjustment and refinement for subpixel turn-on and color shift control (¶0054).
Regarding claim 4, one embodiment of Xia doesn’t disclose the display panel according to claim 2, wherein the pixel anode disposed opposite to the auxiliary cathode comprises a first anode and a second anode, and the first anode is overlapped with the second anode in a laminating direction; and wherein the pixel anode disposed opposite to the pixel cathode comprises the first anode or the second anode.
However, a combination of embodiments of Xia discloses wherein the pixel anode (13) disposed opposite to the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) comprises a first anode and a second anode, and the first anode is overlapped with the second anode in a laminating direction (embodiment of Fig. 5 and ¶0073 discloses the capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 is higher than the upper surface of the pixel anode 13; and embodiment of Fig. 4 and ¶0071 discloses the capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 is connected to the pixel anode 13 as an extension unit; the combination of Figs. 4-5 embodiments would yield an upper surface of the pixel anode 13 opposite the isolation portion 17 higher than the upper surface of the pixel anode 13 disposed opposite the pixel cathode 16 where two capacitance adjustment layers 21/22 are stacked on top of one another); and wherein the pixel anode (13) disposed opposite to the pixel cathode (16) comprises the first anode or the second anode (Fig. 4 illustrates the anode 131 disposed opposite pixel cathode 161).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine different embodiments of Xia for the purpose of achieving capacitance adjustment and refinement for subpixel turn-on and color shift control (¶0054).
Regarding claim 5, one embodiment of Xia doesn’t disclose the display panel according to claim 4, wherein the second anode is disposed at a side of the first anode away from the auxiliary cathode, and a distance between the first anode and the auxiliary cathode is reduced; or wherein the second anode is disposed at a side of the first anode close to the auxiliary cathode, a distance between the second anode and the auxiliary cathode is reduced, and the second anode comprises a conductive material.
However, a combination of embodiments of Xia discloses wherein the second anode is disposed at a side of the first anode away from the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) (the combination of Figs. 4-5 embodiments yields two capacitance adjustment layers 21/22 are stacked on top of one another where the second capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 serves as the extension to anode 13), and a distance between the first anode and the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) is reduced (Fig. 5 and ¶0073 discloses the distance between the top anode 21 and the isolation portion 17 is reduced); or wherein the second anode is disposed at a side of the first anode close to the auxiliary cathode, a distance between the second anode and the auxiliary cathode is reduced, and the second anode comprises a conductive material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine different embodiments of Xia for the purpose of achieving capacitance adjustment and refinement for subpixel turn-on and color shift control (¶0054).
Regarding claim 6, Xia discloses the display panel according to claim 4, wherein the first anode (13, 21/22) is overlapped with each of the pixel cathode (16) and the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) in the laminating direction (Fig. 4 illustrates the anode 13 is overlapped with each of the pixel cathode 16 and isolation portion 17), and the laminating direction is perpendicular to the perpendicular projection plane (Fig. 4 illustrates the laminating direction is perpendicular to the perpendicular projection plane).
Regarding claim 7, Xia discloses the display panel according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements are arranged in an array on a planarization layer (125) of a driving substrate (12) (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0042 discloses light-emitting elements disposed on a planarization layer 125), and a groove is defined at a position of the planarization layer (125) corresponding to the pixel opening (1410) (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0043 discloses the pixel defining layer has multiple openings 1410. The openings 1410 expose the anode units 131); and the first part of the pixel anode (13) is disposed in the groove (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0043 discloses the openings 1410 expose the anode units 13) and is disposed opposite to the pixel cathode (16) (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0043 discloses each subpixel may be structured as an anode unit 131, a light-emitting structure, and a cathode unit that are stacked in sequence).
One embodiment of Xia doesn’t disclose the second part of the pixel anode protrudes above a surface of the groove and is disposed opposite to the auxiliary cathode.
However, a combination of embodiments of Xia discloses the second part of the pixel anode (13) protrudes above a surface of the groove and is disposed opposite to the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) (embodiment of Fig. 5 and ¶0073 discloses the capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 is higher than the upper surface of the pixel anode 13; and embodiment of Fig. 4 and ¶0071 discloses the capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 is connected to the pixel anode 13 as an extension unit; the combination of embodiments of Figs. 4-5 yield an upper surface of the pixel anode 13 opposite the isolation portion 17 higher than the upper surface of the pixel anode 13 disposed opposite the pixel cathode 16 where two capacitance adjustment layers 21/22 are stacked on top of one another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine different embodiments of Xia for the purpose of achieving capacitance adjustment and refinement for subpixel turn-on and color shift control (¶0054).
Regarding claim 13, Xia discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) is overlapped with the pixel anode (13) in a laminating direction, a part of the second capacitor of the voltage stabilizing capacitor is formed (Fig. 4 and ¶0051 discloses the first capacitance adjustment unit 21 and the corresponding isolation portion 17 can also form a capacitor), and another part of the first capacitor of the voltage stabilizing capacitor is formed by the pixel cathode (16) and the pixel anode (13) (Fig. 4 and ¶0105 discloses a first capacitance adjustment unit 21 is electrically connected to a respective corresponding anode unit 131; and ¶0051 discloses first capacitance adjustment unit 21 and the corresponding first cathode unit 161 can form a capacitor).
Regarding claim 14, Xia discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein a capacitance of the voltage stabilizing capacitor is positively correlated with at least one of a first overlapping area and a second overlapping area (Fig. 5 and ¶0073 discloses the capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 is positively correlated by having a shorter distance between the isolating portion 17 and the adjustment layer 21/22 thus forming a greater capacitance), the first overlapping area is an overlapping area between the pixel anode (13) and the pixel cathode (16) on a perpendicular projection plane, and the second overlapping area is an overlapping area between the pixel anode (13) and the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) on the perpendicular projection plane (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, Xia discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein at least one side of the pixel anode (13) extends toward the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) (Fig. 4 and ¶0071 embodiment discloses the capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 is connected to the pixel anode 13 as an extension unit), the pixel anode (13) is at least partially overlapped with the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) on a perpendicular projection plane (¶0051 discloses the first capacitance adjustment unit 21 and the corresponding isolation portion 17 can also form a capacitor), and the second capacitor is formed by the pixel anode (13) and the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) (¶0051 discloses the first capacitance adjustment unit 21 and the corresponding isolation portion 17 can also form a capacitor).
Regarding claim 16, Xia doesn’t disclose the display panel according to claim 1, wherein both sides of the pixel anode extend toward pixel defining layers disposed on the both sides of the pixel anode, one second capacitor is formed by the pixel anode and the auxiliary cathode disposed on the pixel defining layer disposed on one of the both sides of the pixel anode, and another second capacitor is formed by the pixel anode and the auxiliary cathode disposed on the pixel defining layer disposed on the other one of the both sides of the pixel anode; or a side of the pixel anode extends toward the auxiliary cathode, and an extension length of the pixel anode is greater than half of a length of the pixel defining layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicated the extension from one side of the anode 13 (Fig. 4) to both sides of the anode 13 and forming equivalent second capacitors on both sides of the anode, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Please note that in the instant application, ¶0029, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 17, one embodiment of Xia doesn’t disclose the display panel according to claim 1, wherein a height of the pixel anode at a position where the pixel anode is overlapped with the auxiliary cathode on the perpendicular projection plane is greater than a height of the pixel anode at a position where the pixel anode is overlapped with the pixel cathode on the perpendicular projection plane.
However, a combination of embodiments of Xia discloses wherein a height of the pixel anode (13) at a position where the pixel anode (13) is overlapped with the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) on the perpendicular projection plane is greater than a height of the pixel anode (13) at a position where the pixel anode (13) is overlapped with the pixel cathode (16) on the perpendicular projection plane (Fig. 5 and ¶0073 embodiment discloses the capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 is higher than the upper surface of the pixel anode 13; and Fig. 4 and ¶0071 embodiment discloses the capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 is connected to the pixel anode 13 as an extension unit; the combination of Figs. 4-5 embodiments would yield an upper surface of the pixel anode 13 opposite the isolation portion 17 higher than the upper surface of the pixel anode 13 disposed opposite the pixel cathode 16 where two capacitance adjustment layers 21 are stacked on top of one another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine different embodiments of Xia for the purpose of achieving capacitance adjustment and refinement for subpixel turn-on and color shift control (¶0054).
Regarding claim 18, one embodiment of Xia doesn’t disclose the display panel according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the pixel anode at a position where the pixel anode is overlapped with the auxiliary cathode on the perpendicular projection plane is greater than a thickness of the pixel anode at a position where the pixel anode is overlapped with the pixel cathode on the perpendicular projection plane.
However, a combination of embodiments of Xia discloses wherein a thickness of the pixel anode (13) at a position where the pixel anode (13) is overlapped with the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) on the perpendicular projection plane is greater than a thickness of the pixel anode (13) at a position where the pixel anode (13) is overlapped with the pixel cathode (16) on the perpendicular projection plane (Fig. 5 and ¶0073 embodiment discloses the capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 is higher than the upper surface of the pixel anode 13; and Fig. 4 and ¶0071 embodiment discloses the capacitance adjustment layer 21/22 is connected to the pixel anode 13 as an extension unit; the combination of Figs. 4-5 embodiments would yield an upper surface of the pixel anode 13 opposite the isolation portion 17 higher than the upper surface of the pixel anode 13 disposed opposite the pixel cathode 16 where two capacitance adjustment layers 21 are stacked on top of one another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine different embodiments of Xia for the purpose of achieving capacitance adjustment and refinement for subpixel turn-on and color shift control (¶0054).
Regarding claim 20, Xia discloses the display apparatus, comprising a display panel (¶0040 discloses display panel) and a control circuit (¶0045 and ¶0054 discloses driver chip);
wherein the display panel comprises a plurality of light-emitting elements (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0042 discloses light-emitting elements formed from layers 13-15) and a driving circuit electrically connected to a pixel anode (13) of each of the plurality of light-emitting elements (Figs. 1-7, ¶0042 and ¶0104 discloses pixel circuits of driving layer 12 connected to pixel anode 13 through the source/drain electrode layer 124);
wherein the each of the plurality of light-emitting elements comprises:
the pixel anode (13);
a pixel defining layer (14), configured to cover a surface of a part of the pixel anode (13) (Fig. 4 illustrates pixel defining portion 141 covers a surface of the pixel anode extension units 21 and 22) and expose a surface of another part of the pixel anode (13) to define a pixel opening (1410) (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0040 discloses the pixel defining layer 14 includes one or more pixel defining portions 141 and one or more openings 1410 defined by the one or more pixel defining portions 141);
an …light-emitting layer (15), disposed on a surface of the pixel anode (13) in the pixel opening (1410) (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0040 discloses a light-emitting layer 15 located on the anode layer 13);
a pixel cathode (16), disposed on a surface of the …light-emitting layer (15) in the pixel opening (1410) (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0040 discloses a cathode layer 16 located on the light-emitting layer 15); and
an overhang structure (17, 1411, 18), disposed on a surface of the pixel defining layer (14) away from the pixel anode (13) (Figs. 3-4 and ¶0052 discloses the portion of the isolation portion 17 corresponding to the pixel defining portion 141 is provided with a protrusion portion 1411);
wherein the overhang structure (17, 1411, 18) comprises an auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) and an …structure (18), the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) is disposed at a surface of the pixel defining layer (14) away from the pixel anode (13) (Figs. 3-4 and ¶0052 discloses the portion of the isolation portion 17 corresponding to the pixel defining portion 141 is provided with a protrusion portion 1411), and the …structure (18) is disposed at a side surface of the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) away from the pixel defining layer (14) (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0050 discloses one or more eave structures 18 disposed on the one or more isolation portions 17);
the driving circuit comprises a voltage stabilizing capacitor configured to stabilize a voltage input to the pixel anode (13) (¶0045 discloses the first capacitance adjustment unit 21 can overlap the respective corresponding first cathode unit 161 to form a respective corresponding capacitor structure. This is equivalent to that an additional capacitor is connected to the cathode of the first-color light-emitting structure 151), and the voltage stabilizing capacitor comprises a first capacitor (Fig. 4 and ¶0105 discloses a first capacitance adjustment unit 21 is electrically connected to a respective corresponding anode unit 131; and ¶0051 discloses first capacitance adjustment unit 21 and the corresponding first cathode unit 161 can form a capacitor) and a second capacitor (¶0051 discloses the first capacitance adjustment unit 21 and the corresponding isolation portion 17 can also form a capacitor);
a first part of the pixel anode (13) and the pixel cathode (16) are oppositely disposed to form two electrode plates of the first capacitor (Fig. 4 and ¶0105 discloses a first capacitance adjustment unit 21 is electrically connected to a respective corresponding anode unit 131; and ¶0051 discloses first capacitance adjustment unit 21 and the corresponding first cathode unit 161 can form a capacitor);
a second part of the pixel anode (13) extends into the pixel defining layer (14) (Fig. 4 and ¶0071 discloses the first capacitance adjustment unit 21 or the second capacitance adjustment unit 22 may be understood as an anode extension unit formed by extension of the corresponding anode unit 131), and the second part of the pixel anode (13) and the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) are oppositely disposed to form two electrode plates of the second capacitor (¶0051 discloses the first capacitance adjustment unit 21 and the corresponding isolation portion 17 can also form a capacitor); and
the pixel cathode (16) extends to the surface of the pixel defining layer (14) (Figs. 1-7 illustrate the cathode 16 extends to the surface of the pixel defining layer 14) and is connected to the auxiliary cathode (17, 1411) (Figs. 1-7 and ¶0047 discloses the first cathode unit 161 is electrically connected to other parts of the cathode layer by the isolation portion 17), and the first capacitor is electrically connected to the second capacitor (Fig. 4 and ¶0071 discloses the first capacitance adjustment unit 21 or the second capacitance adjustment unit 22 may be understood as an anode extension unit formed by extension of the corresponding anode unit 131; and Figs. 1-7 and ¶0047 discloses the first cathode unit 161 is electrically connected to other parts of the cathode layer by the isolation portion 17);
wherein the display panel is connected to a control circuit (Fig. 1 and ¶0040 discloses voltage provided by the driver chip to the drive transistor of the pixel driving circuit which is located on the driving layer 12 of the display panel).
Xia doesn’t disclose an organic light-emitting layer and an insulating structure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shin discloses an organic light-emitting layer (EP) (Fig. 5A, 6 and ¶0112 discloses the light-emitting pattern EP may be referred to as an ‘organic layer’) and an insulating structure (IL) (Fig. 5A, 6 and ¶0122 discloses partition wall insulation layer IL and the second partition wall layer L2 may protrude from the first partition wall layer L1 toward the light-emitting opening OP-E to provide the tip part).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xia for the purpose of having a very thin, lightweight and flexible material as the emissive layer.
4. Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia in view of Shin and in further view of Yuan et al. (US 2025/0061851 A1, hereinafter referred as “Yuan”).
Regarding claim 8, Xia doesn’t disclose the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the driving circuit further comprises: a driving transistor, connected to the pixel anode of each of the plurality of light-emitting elements; a first driving circuit, connected to an end of each of driving transistors, wherein an input terminal of the first driving circuit is connected to a data line, and the first driving circuit is configured to receive a data voltage and transmit the data voltage to the each of driving transistors; a second driving circuit, connected to input terminals of a plurality of driving transistors, wherein an input terminal of the second driving circuit is connected to a power supply line, and the second driving circuit is configured to receive a power supply voltage and transmit the power supply to the plurality of driving transistors; and a storage capacitor, a first electrode plate of the storage capacitor being connected to a control terminal of a driving transistor, and a second electrode plate of the storage capacitor being connected to a pixel anode of a corresponding one of light-emitting elements.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yuan discloses wherein the driving circuit further comprises: a driving transistor (T4), connected to the pixel anode of each of the plurality of light-emitting elements (EL) (Fig. 3); a first driving circuit (T2), connected to an end of each of driving transistors (T4), wherein an input terminal of the first driving circuit (T2) is connected to a data line (Vdata), and the first driving circuit (T2) is configured to receive a data voltage and transmit the data voltage to the each of driving transistors (T4) (Fig. 10 and ¶0109 discloses the data writing transistor T2 and the partition control transistor T1 are turned on, the voltage of the second node N2 jumps from Vref to Vdata); a second driving circuit (T5), connected to input terminals of a plurality of driving transistors (T4) (Fig. 3), wherein an input terminal of the second driving circuit (T5) is connected to a power supply line (VDD) (Fig. 3), and the second driving circuit (T5) is configured to receive a power supply voltage and transmit the power supply to the plurality of driving transistors (T4) (Figs. 3, 11 and ¶0086 discloses a first electrode of the light-emitting control transistor T5 is connected to the first voltage terminal VDD, a second electrode of the light-emitting control transistor T5 is connected to a first electrode of the driving transistor T4); and a storage capacitor (C1), a first electrode plate of the storage capacitor (C1) being connected to a control terminal of a driving transistor (T4) (Fig. 3), and a second electrode plate of the storage capacitor (C1) being connected to a pixel anode of a corresponding one of light-emitting elements (EL) (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Xia so that the data signal is stored in a storage circuit 700, so that, for example, in the light-emitting phase, the driving current for driving the light-emitting element 500 to emit light can be generated according to the data signal (¶0062).
Regarding claim 9, Xia discloses the display panel according to claim 8, a second electrode plate of the voltage stabilizing capacitor being connected to the pixel cathode of the corresponding one of light-emitting elements (Fig. 4 and ¶0105 discloses a first capacitance adjustment unit 21 is electrically connected to a respective corresponding anode unit 131; and ¶0051 discloses first capacitance adjustment unit 21 and the corresponding first cathode unit 161 can form a capacitor) and the auxiliary cathode (¶0051 discloses the first capacitance adjustment unit 21 and the corresponding isolation portion 17 can also form a capacitor).
Xia as modified doesn’t disclose wherein a first electrode plate of the voltage stabilizing capacitor being connected to the second electrode plate of the storage capacitor and the pixel anode of the corresponding one of light-emitting elements.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yuan discloses wherein a first electrode plate of the voltage stabilizing capacitor (C2) being connected to the second electrode plate of the storage capacitor (C1) (Fig. 3) and the pixel anode of the corresponding one of light-emitting elements (EL) (Fig. 3 and ¶0090 discloses a first electrode plate of the second capacitor C2 is connected to the first terminal of the light-emitting element EL).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Xia so that reduced impact of parasitic capacitance by sharing a node by two capacitors.
Regarding claim 10, Xia doesn’t disclose the display panel according to claim 8, wherein the first driving circuit comprises a data writing transistor and a compensation transistor, which are connected to the control terminal of the driving transistor; a control terminal of the data writing transistor is connected to a scanning line, an input terminal of the data writing transistor is connected to a data line, and an output terminal of the data writing transistor is connected to the control terminal of the driving transistor and is configured to write a data voltage into the driving transistor; and a control terminal of the compensation transistor is connected to a compensation control line, an input terminal of the compensation transistor is connected to a compensation signal line, and an output terminal of the compensation transistor is connected to the control terminal of the driving transistor and is configured to write a compensation voltage comprising a threshold voltage into the driving transistor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yuan discloses the wherein the first driving circuit (T2, T3) comprises a data writing transistor (T2) and a compensation transistor (T3), which are connected to the control terminal of the driving transistor (T4) (Fig. 3); a control terminal of the data writing transistor (T2) is connected to a scanning line, an input terminal of the data writing transistor (T2) is connected to a data line (Vdata) (Fig. 3), and an output terminal of the data writing transistor (T2) is connected to the control terminal of the driving transistor (T4) and is configured to write a data voltage into the driving transistor (T4) (Fig. 10 and ¶0109 discloses the data writing transistor T2 and the partition control transistor T1 are turned on, the voltage of the second node N2 jumps from Vref to Vdata); and a control terminal of the compensation transistor (T3) is connected to a compensation control line (G2), an input terminal of the compensation transistor (T3) is connected to a compensation signal line (Vref) (Fig. 3), and an output terminal of the compensation transistor (T3) is connected to the control terminal of the driving transistor (T4) and is configured to write a compensation voltage comprising a threshold voltage into the driving transistor (T4) (Fig. 9 and ¶0103 discloses a compensation path is formed during the compensation phase… the gate-source voltage difference Vgs of the driving transistor T4 is equal to the threshold voltage Vth of the driving transistor T4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Xia for the purpose of compensating for the threshold-voltage variation of the driving transistor, so that the pixel drives more accurately.
Regarding claim 11, Xia doesn’t disclose the display panel according to claim 8, wherein the second driving circuit comprises a switching transistor and a reset transistor, the switching transistor is configured to control the corresponding one of light-emitting elements to emit light, and the reset transistor is configured to reset the pixel anode of the corresponding one of light-emitting elements; a control terminal of the switching transistor is connected to a switch control line, an input terminal of the switching transistor is connected to a power supply line, and an output terminal of the switching transistor is connected to the input terminals of the plurality of driving transistors and is configured to control the driving transistor to drive the corresponding one of light-emitting elements to emit light; and a control terminal of the reset transistor is connected to a reset control line, an input terminal of the reset transistor is connected to a reset signal line, an output terminal of the reset transistor is connected to the input terminals of the plurality of driving transistors, and a reset signal is charged into the pixel anode of the corresponding one of light-emitting elements through the driving transistor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yuan discloses the wherein the second driving circuit (T5, T7) comprises a switching transistor (T5) and a reset transistor (T7), the switching transistor (T5) is configured to control the corresponding one of light-emitting elements (EL) to emit light (Fig. 11, ¶0093 and ¶0111 discloses the light-emitting control transistor T5 is turned on by the high level of the light-emitting control signal and the transistor switch states in a light-emitting phase of a pixel circuit), and the reset transistor (T7) is configured to reset the pixel anode of the corresponding one of light-emitting elements (EL) (Fig. 8 and ¶0099 discloses during the reset phase S1, the first reset transistor T7, the second reset transistor T6 and the driving transistor T4 are all turned on, and the first electrode of the light-emitting element EL is reset); a control terminal of the switching transistor (T5) is connected to a switch control line (EM) (Fig. 3), an input terminal of the switching transistor (T5) is connected to a power supply line (VDD) (Fig. 5), and an output terminal of the switching transistor (T5) is connected to the input terminals of the plurality of driving transistors (T4) and is configured to control the driving transistor (T4) to drive the corresponding one of light-emitting elements (EL) to emit light (Fig. 11 and ¶0110-¶0111 discloses the light-emitting control signal and the partition control signal are input to keep the partition control circuit 600 turned on, and the light-emitting control circuit 400 and the driving circuit 100 are turned on to generate a driving current, which in turn drives the light-emitting element 500 to emit light); and a control terminal of the reset transistor (T7) is connected to a reset control line (G4) (Fig. 3), an input terminal of the reset transistor (T7) is connected to a reset signal line (Vinit) (Fig. 11), an output terminal of the reset transistor (T7) is connected to the input terminals of the plurality of driving transistors (T4) (Fig. 3), and a reset signal is charged into the pixel anode of the corresponding one of light-emitting elements (EL) through the driving transistor (T4) (Fig. 8 and ¶0099 discloses during the reset phase S1, the first reset transistor T7, the second reset transistor T6 and the driving transistor T4 are all turned on, and the first electrode of the light-emitting element EL is reset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Xia for the purpose of putting the anode to known starting voltage before rest of the driving sequence begins.
Regarding claim 12, Xia doesn’t disclose the display panel according to claim 8, wherein the driving transistor is an N-type transistor, a control terminal of the driving transistor is a gate, an output terminal of the driving transistor is a source, and an input terminal of the driving transistor is a drain; and the gate of the driving transistor is connected to the source of the driving transistor through the storage capacitor, and a voltage comprising a threshold voltage of the driving transistor is charged into the gate of the driving transistor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yuan discloses wherein the driving transistor (T4) is an N-type transistor (¶0094 discloses transistors illustrated in FIG. 4 to FIG. 11 are all N-type transistors), a control terminal of the driving transistor (T4) is a gate (G), an output terminal of the driving transistor (T4) is a source (S), and an input terminal of the driving transistor (T4) is a drain (D) (Fig. 3); and the gate of the driving transistor (T4) is connected to the source of the driving transistor (T4) through the storage capacitor (C1) (Fig. 3), and a voltage comprising a threshold voltage of the driving transistor (T4) is charged into the gate of the driving transistor (T4) (Fig. 9 and ¶0103 discloses a compensation path is formed during the compensation phase… the gate-source voltage difference Vgs of the driving transistor T4 is equal to the threshold voltage Vth of the driving transistor T4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Xia for the purpose of compensating for the threshold-voltage variation of the driving transistor, so that the pixel drives more accurately.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PRIYANK J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626