DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 19 June 2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the shoulder thickness comparison relating thicknesses of the shoulder to the clearance band thickness and interference band thickness must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by U.S. Patent 8,875,633 issued to Padgett (Padgett).
Regarding claim 1, Padgett discloses a cartridge for a firearm (See at least Figures 14 and 15A, clearly illustrated), comprising: a projectile (Inserts into element 208, understood); and a case (100), comprising: a base configured to hold a primer (400), a body extending from a first end adjacent the base to a second end (See at least Figure 14, clearly illustrated), and a two-stage neck extending from the second end of the body to a mouth and configured to retain the projectile, the two-stage neck comprising a neck length, an interior surface, and an exterior surface, the interior surface of the two-stage neck comprising: an interference band comprising an interference diameter and extending an interference length along the two-stage neck, the interference band configured to provide an interference fit with the projectile resulting in an interference retention force, a clearance band comprising a clearance diameter and extending a clearance length along the two-stage neck, and a transition portion located between and adjoining the interference band and the clearance band, the transition portion comprising a continuous interior surface extending axially between the interference band and the clearance band, wherein both the interference band and the clearance band are at least partially coextensive with the projectile when the projectile is seated in the case (206, 250, 255, 208, See at least Figures 14 and 15A, all aspects clearly illustrated, and Col. 13 Lines 43-63).
Regarding claim 3, Padgett further discloses wherein the continuous interior surface defines a change in inner diameter that is not mirrored by a corresponding change in outer diameter of the two-stage neck (See at least Figures 14 and 15A, all aspects clearly illustrated, and Col. 13 Lines 43-63).
Regarding claim 4, Padgett further discloses wherein the clearance diameter is consistent along the clearance band to the mouth of the two-stage neck, and the mouth has an inner diameter that is substantially equal to or greater than the clearance diameter (See at least Col. 13 Lines 43-63, “stair stepped”).
Regarding claim 5, Padgett further discloses wherein the projectile comprises an exterior surface that does not conform to the clearance band (See at least Col. 13 Lines 43-63).
Regarding claim 6, Padgett further discloses wherein at least a portion of the projectile is both coextensive with the clearance band and not in contact with the clearance band (See at least Col. 13 Lines 43-63).
Regarding claim 7, Padgett further discloses the clearance band comprising a cylindrical inner surface of substantially consistent diameter, the interference band comprising a cylindrical inner surface of substantially consistent diameter, and the exterior surface of the two-stage neck comprises a substantially cylindrical shape with a substantially consistent outer diameter along the neck length (See at least Figures 14 and 15A, clearly illustrated, and Col. 13 Lines 43-63).
Regarding claim 8, Padgett further discloses wherein the continuous interior surface of the transition portion is angled relative to a central axis of the case or curved between the interference band and the clearance band (See at least Col. 13 Lines 43-63).
Regarding claim 9, Padgett further discloses wherein the clearance diameter is greater than the interference diameter, and the transition portion comprises a gradual decrease in internal diameter from the clearance diameter to the interference diameter (See at least Figures 14 and 15A, clearly illustrated, and Col. 13 Lines 43-63).
Regarding claim 10, Padgett further discloses wherein the case further comprises a shoulder extending from the second end of the body to the two-stage neck, wherein the clearance band is configured to provide a clearance fit with the projectile, resulting in a radial gap between the clearance band and the projectile, and a majority of a length of the shoulder is not configured for contact with the projectile (See at least Figures 14 and 15A, clearly illustrated, and Col. 13 Lines 43-63).
Regarding claim 12, Padgett further discloses a sealant between at least a portion of the clearance band and at least a portion of the projectile (See at least Col. 13 Lines 43-63).
Regarding claim 13, Padgett further discloses wherein the interference band provides substantially an entire interference retention force of the projectile in the case (See at least Col. 13 Lines 43-63).
Regarding claim 14, Padgett further discloses wherein the case is configured for a cartridge of standardized cartridge dimensions comprising a predetermined projectile diameter, and wherein the neck length conforms to the standardized cartridge dimensions (See at least Col. 7 Lines 52-62 and Col. 16 Lines 53-59).
Regarding claim 15, Padgett further discloses wherein the case is configured for a cartridge of standardized cartridge dimensions comprising a predetermined projectile diameter, and wherein the interference diameter is less than the predetermined projectile diameter and the clearance diameter is equal to or greater than the predetermined projectile diameter (See at least Col. 7 Lines 52-62, Col. 16 Lines 53-59, and Col. 13 Lines 43-63).
Regarding claim 16, Padgett further discloses wherein the case comprises a material selected from steel and a steel alloy (See Col. 7 Line 63-Col. 8 Line 11).
Regarding claim 17, Padgett discloses a cartridge for a firearm, comprising: a projectile; and a case, comprising: a base configured to hold a primer, a body extending from a first end adjacent the base to a second end, and a two-stage neck extending from the second end of the body to a forward mouth and configured to retain the projectile, the two-stage neck comprising: an interference band adjacent the second end of the body, the interference band having an interference diameter and configured to provide an interference fit with the projectile, a clearance band forward of the interference band and having a clearance diameter greater than the interference diameter, the clearance band configured to provide one of a reduced interference fit with the projectile compared to the interference band, a line-to-line fit, or a clearance fit, and a transition portion between the interference band and the clearance band, the transition portion comprising a continuous interior surface having a gradual decrease in inner diameter from the clearance diameter to the interference diameter, wherein the interference band and the clearance band are at least partially coextensive with the projectile (Limitations previously addressed, see rejections above).
Regarding claim 18, Padgett further discloses wherein the reduced interference fit is defined by the clearance diameter being less than a diameter of the projectile, wherein the line-to-line fit is defined by the clearance diameter being substantially equal to a projectile diameter, and wherein the clearance fit is defined by an interior surface at the clearance band being radially spaced from the projectile (Limitations previously addressed, see rejections above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padgett.
Regarding claim 2, Padgett further discloses wherein an exterior of the two-stage neck comprises a reduced diameter relative to the body, the case further comprising a shoulder extending from the second end of the body to the two-stage neck, wherein the interference band extends from the shoulder to the clearance band (See at least Figures 14 and 15A, all aspects clearly illustrated).
Padgett discloses the claimed invention except for where the shoulder thickness does not exceed the thickness of the interference band or the clearance band. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the shoulder thickness not exceed the thickness of the interference band or the clearance band, since applicant has not disclosed that such details regarding the comparative thicknesses of the identified components solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a shoulder that is thicker than the interference band or the clearance band thickness.
Regarding claim 11, Padgett further discloses wherein an exterior of the two-stage neck comprises a reduced diameter relative to the body, the case further comprising a shoulder extending from the second end of the body to the two-stage neck, wherein the interference band extends from the shoulder to the clearance band (See at least Figures 14 and 15A, clearly illustrated, and Col. 13 Lines 43-63).
Padgett discloses the claimed invention except for where the shoulder thickness does not exceed the thickness of the interference band and the clearance band. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the shoulder thickness not exceed the thickness of the interference band and the clearance band, since applicant has not disclosed that such details regarding the comparative thicknesses of the identified components solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a shoulder that is thicker than the interference band or the clearance band thickness.
Regarding claim 19, Padgett obviously discloses a cartridge for a firearm, comprising: a projectile; and a case, comprising: a base configured to hold a primer; a body extending from a first end adjacent the base to a second end; and a two-stage neck comprising an interior surface and an exterior surface, the two- stage neck extending from the second end of the body to a mouth, the mouth configured to receive therethrough the projectile, wherein the two-stage neck defines: an interference band adjacent the second end of the body, the interference band having an interference diameter and extending an interference length along the two-stage neck, the interference diameter configured to provide an interference fit with the projectile resulting in an interference retention force, a clearance band adjacent the mouth, the clearance band having a clearance diameter and extending a clearance length along the two-stage neck, the clearance diameter being greater than the interference diameter, a transition portion located between and adjoining the interference band and the clearance band, and a shoulder located between the body and the two-stage neck, wherein the shoulder has a radial wall thickness that is less than or equal to a radial wall thickness of either the interference band or the clearance band (Limitations previously addressed, see rejections above).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,359,899 in view of obvious design choice. The claims in the current application are broader in scope and fully encompassed by the issued claims with the exception of the details relating to the relative thicknesses of the shoulder, clearance band, and interference band.
The issued patent discloses the claimed invention except for where the shoulder thickness does not exceed the thickness of the interference band and/or the clearance band. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the shoulder thickness not exceed the thickness of the interference band and/or the clearance band, since applicant has not disclosed that such details regarding the comparative thicknesses of the identified components solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a shoulder that is thicker than the interference band and/or the clearance band thickness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 Form for a listing of applicable prior art references.
/Jonathan C Weber/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3641
JONATHAN C. WEBER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3641