DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, 16,17 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolton et al (US 2014/0354838)., and further in view of Zhu (US 2021/0344843).
For claim 1, Bolton et al an accessory information generation method in the accessory information generation method comprising:
first generating accessory information including at least whether or not imaging is performed via the optical device in image data captured by the imaging apparatus (e.g. figure 2, paragraph 52: if accessory 220 receives notification that camera 207 has begun to capture a video, e.g., video recording notification).
Bolton et al do not further disclose an imaging apparatus that is attachable to an optical device. Zhu teaches an imaging apparatus that is attachable to an optical device (e.g. figure 1, telescope 108 attached to camera device 102). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zhu into the teaching of Bolton et al to utilize a telephoto camera to capture digital content of the camera scene as viewable with the telephoto camera in a zoom view (e.g. abstract, Zhu) to improve convenience for user.
For claim 17, Bolton et al teach an imaging system comprising: an optical device (e.g. figure 2, camera 207); and an imaging apparatus that includes a processor (e.g. figure 2, processor 204) and is attachable to the optical device (e.g. figure 2, camera 7 and processor are connected), wherein the processor is configured to generate accessory information including at least whether or not imaging is performed via the optical device in image data captured by the imaging apparatus (e.g. figure 2, paragraph 52: if accessory 220 receives notification that camera 207 has begun to capture a video, e.g., video recording notification).
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 17 above, wherein paragraph 75 also discloses software program executed by programable processor.
For claim 2, Bolton et al teach the imaging apparatus is attachable to the optical device via an adapter (e.g. figure 2, paragraph 33: e.g. Accessory I/O 214 can be 30-pin connector or dock).
For claim 3, Bolton et al teach the adapter has a mechanism capable of switching the imaging apparatus attached to the optical device between a first state in which imaging via the optical device is possible and a second state different from the first state (e.g. figure 2, abstract: The accessory can remotely activate the camera, change camera mode, and send instructions to operate the camera. The accessory and the PMD can concurrently control the camera. The PMD can send the captured still images and recorded video to the accessory for preview and receive instructions from the accessory on disposition of the still images and the video.).
For claim 16, Bolton et al do not further disclose the optical device is a binocle or a telescope. Zhu teaches the optical device is binocle or a telescope (e.g. figure 1, telescope 108 attached to camera device 102). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zhu into the teaching of Bolton et al to utilize a telephoto camera to capture digital content of the camera scene as viewable with the telephoto camera in a zoom view (e.g. abstract, Zhu) to improve convenience for user.
For claim 9, Bolton et al do not further disclose assigning the accessory information to the image data. Zhu teaches assigning the accessory information to the image data (e.g. figure 1, paragraph 25: zoom image capture icon 124). (e.g. figure 1, telescope 108 attached to camera device 102). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Zhu into the teaching of Bolton et al to utilize a telephoto camera to capture digital content of the camera scene as viewable with the telephoto camera in a zoom view (e.g. abstract, Zhu) to improve convenience for user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 10-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Inoue et al (e.g. figures 1-2, abstract: An imaging apparatus can be connected to a 3D adapter having an optical system capable of condensing light for forming an image for a left-eye and light for forming an image for a right-eye and can be set into an adjusting mode for adjusting the optical system).
Email: daquan.zhao1@uspto.gov.
Phone: (571)270-1119
/DAQUAN ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484