DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1-3 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Malladi (EP 4009524A1).
Regarding claim 1, Malladi’s figures 5 and 6 shows a fast-switching radio frequency switch circuit, comprising a series switch branch (521) and a parallel switch branch (525) of at least one transmission path (528-548), and a series switch branch (531) and a parallel switch branch (535) of at least one reception path (548, 538), wherein in the transmission path, two ends of the series switch branch (521) are respectively connected to a transmission end (528) and an antenna end (548) , and two ends of the parallel switch branch (525) are respectively connected to the transmission end (528) and a grounding potential end (552); in the reception path, two ends of the series switch branch (530) are respectively connected to a reception end (538) and the antenna end (548), and two ends of the parallel switch branch (535) are respectively connected to the reception end (538) and the grounding potential end (553); and when the transmission path or the reception path is in an operating state (528-548) , the series switch branch (521) in the path is closed and the parallel switch branch (535) is opened; and when the transmission path or the reception path is in a non-operating state, the series switch branch (521) in the path is opened and the parallel switch branch is closed (525) as called for in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, The fast-switching radio frequency switch circuit according to claim 1,wherein when a radio frequency switch is in a transmission operating mode (528-548), in the series switch branch of the transmission path (521) and the parallel switch branch of the reception path in the operating state (535), and the parallel switch branch of the transmission path in the non-operating state (525), a gate bias voltage of each switching transistor is a positive voltage; and in the parallel switch branch of the transmission path and the series switch branch of the reception path in the operating state (548-538), and the series switch branch of the transmission path in the non-operating state (521), the gate bias voltage of each switching transistor is a grounding potential.
Regarding claim 4, The fast-switching radio frequency switch circuit according to claim 1, wherein when a radio frequency switch is in a reception operating mode (548-538), in the series switch branch of the reception path (531) and the parallel switch branch of the transmission path in the operating state (525), and the parallel switch branch of the reception path in the non-operating state (535), a gate bias voltage of each switching transistor is a positive voltage; and in the parallel switch branch of the reception path (535) and the series switch branch of the transmission path in the operating state (521), and the series switch branch of the reception path in the non-operating state (531), the gate bias voltage of each switching transistor is a grounding potential.
Regarding claim 9, an integrated circuit chip, comprising the fast-switching radio frequency switch circuit according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, an electronic device, comprising the fast-switching radio frequency switch circuit according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 113765507).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al.’s figure 1 shows a fast-switching radio frequency switch circuit, comprising a series switch branch (104) and a parallel switch branch (106) of at least one transmission path (102-101), and a series switch branch (105) and a parallel switch branch (107) of at least one reception path (101-103), wherein in the transmission path, two ends of the series switch branch (104) are respectively connected to a transmission end (102) and an antenna end (101) , and two ends of the parallel switch branch (106) are respectively connected to the transmission end (102) and a grounding potential end (ground); in the reception path, two ends of the series switch branch (105) are respectively connected to a reception end (103) and the antenna end (101), and two ends of the parallel switch branch (107) are respectively connected to the reception end (103) and the grounding potential end (ground); and when the transmission path or the reception path is in an operating state (102-101) , the series switch branch (104) in the path is closed and the parallel switch branch (106) is opened; and when the transmission path or the reception path is in a non-operating state, the series switch branch (104) in the path is opened and the parallel switch branch is closed (106) as called for in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, The fast-switching radio frequency switch circuit according to claim 1,wherein when a radio frequency switch is in a transmission operating mode (102-101), in the series switch branch of the transmission path (104) and the parallel switch branch of the reception path in the operating state (107), and the parallel switch branch of the transmission path in the non-operating state (106), a gate bias voltage of each switching transistor is a positive voltage (VTR); and in the parallel switch branch of the transmission path (106) and the series switch branch of the reception path (105) in the operating state, and the series switch branch of the transmission path in the non-operating state (104), the gate bias voltage of each switching transistor is a grounding potential (VTR is low level).
Regarding claim 4, The fast-switching radio frequency switch circuit according to claim 1, wherein when a radio frequency switch is in a reception operating mode (101-103), in the series switch branch of the reception path (105) and the parallel switch branch of the transmission path in the operating state (106), and the parallel switch branch of the reception path in the non-operating state (107), a gate bias voltage of each switching transistor is a positive voltage; and in the parallel switch branch of the reception path (107) and the series switch branch of the transmission path in the operating state (104), and the series switch branch of the reception path in the non-operating state (105), the gate bias voltage of each switching transistor is a grounding potential.
Regarding claim 9, an integrated circuit chip, comprising the fast-switching radio frequency switch circuit according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, an electronic device, comprising the fast-switching radio frequency switch circuit according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 113765507).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang et al.’s figures 3-5 shows wherein the series switch branch and the parallel switch branch adopt a switching transistor stack structure composed of a plurality of switching transistors with sources and drains sequentially connected in series (figure 5); and a body of each switching transistor is connected to the grounding potential end through a body bias resistor (413-415), the drain and the source are respectively connected to the (VTR-) through a drain bias resistor and a source bias resistor (303, 305), and a gate is connected to a bias voltage (VTR)through a gate bias resistor (304).
The difference seen between Zhang et al. reference and the limitations recited in claim 2 is that Zhang et al.’s shows the drain bias resistors the source bias resistors (303 and 305) are connected to (VTR-) instead of ground potential end as called for in claim 2. However, one skilled in the art would have recognized that when VTR is at logic high, (VTR-) is at logic low (ground level), thus by coupling the drain bias resistors the source bias resistors (303 and 305) to ground potential end or to (VTR-) would not change the circuit’s operation. Therefore, outside of any non-obvious results, the obviousness of having the drain bias resistors the source bias resistors (303 and 305) are connected to a ground potential end will not be patentable under 35USC 103.
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 113765507) in view of Suwa et al. (USP 7,138,846).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang et al. reference teach a RF switching circuit comprising all the aspects of the present invention as noted above except a first parallel capacitor is additionally arranged at an end of the series switch branch of the reception path connected to the reception end, and two ends of the parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the source of each switching transistor to improve a linearity of a radio frequency switch as called for in claim 5.
Zuwa et al.’s figure 18 discloses a stacked transistor RF switching transistor having a parallel capacitor (21a) is additionally arranged at an end of a series switching transistor, and two ends of the parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the source of each switching transistor to modify capacitance and allow to process a large amplitude signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include Zuwa’s capacitors in Zhang et al.’s circuit arrangement for the purpose of operating with a large amplitude signal as taught by Zuwa et al. reference.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang et al. reference teach a RF switching circuit comprising all the aspects of the present invention as noted above except a third parallel capacitor is additionally arranged at an end of the parallel switch branch of the transmission path connected to the grounding potential end, and two ends of the parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the source of each switching transistor to improve a linearity of a radio frequency switch as called for in claim 7.
Zuwa et al.’s figure 18 discloses a stacked transistor RF switching transistor having a parallel capacitor (21a) is additionally arranged at an end of a series switching transistor, and two ends of the parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the source of each switching transistor to modify capacitance and allow to process a large amplitude signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include Zuwa’s capacitors in Zhang et al.’s circuit arrangement for the purpose of operating with a large amplitude signal as taught by Zuwa et al. reference.
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 113765507) in view of Scheinberg (USP 5,563,545).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al. reference teach a RF switching circuit comprising all the aspects of the present invention as noted above except a first parallel capacitor and a second parallel capacitor are respectively additionally arranged at two ends of the series switch branch of the reception path, two ends of the first parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the source of each switching transistor on a reception end, and two ends of the second parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the drain of each switching transistor on an antenna end to improve a linearity of a radio frequency switch as called for in claim 6.
Scheinberg’s figure 13 discloses a stacked transistor RF switching transistor having a first parallel capacitor (921) and a second parallel capacitor (922), two ends of the first parallel capacitor (921) are respectively connected to the gate and the source of each switching transistor (900), and two ends of the second parallel capacitor (922) are respectively connected to the gate and the drain of each switching transistor to improve a linearity of a radio frequency switch. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include Scheinberg’s capacitors in Zhang et al.’s circuit arrangement for the purpose of improving linearity as taught by Scheinberg reference.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang et al. reference teach a RF switching circuit comprising all the aspects of the present invention as noted above except a third parallel capacitor and a fourth parallel capacitor are respectively additionally arranged at two ends of the parallel switch branch of the transmission path, two ends of the third parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the source of each switching transistor on a grounding potential end, and two ends of the fourth parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the drain of each switching transistor on a transmission end to improve a linearity of a radio frequency switch as called for in claim 8.
Scheinberg’s figure 13 discloses a stacked transistor RF switching transistor having a first parallel capacitor (921) and a second parallel capacitor (922), two ends of the first parallel capacitor (921) are respectively connected to the gate and the source of each switching transistor (900), and two ends of the second parallel capacitor (922) are respectively connected to the gate and the drain of each switching transistor to improve a linearity of a radio frequency switch. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include Scheinberg’s capacitors in Zhang et al.’s circuit arrangement for the purpose of improving linearity as taught by Scheinberg reference.
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 113765507) in view of Suwa et al. (USP 7,138,846) and Takahashi (US 2010/0060377).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al. reference teach a RF switching circuit comprising all the aspects of the present invention as noted above except a first parallel capacitor and a second parallel capacitor are respectively additionally arranged at two ends of the series switch branch of the reception path, two ends of the first parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the source of each switching transistor on a reception end, and two ends of the second parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the drain of each switching transistor on an antenna end to improve a linearity of a radio frequency switch as called for in claim 6.
Zuwa et al.’s figure 18 discloses a stacked transistor RF switching transistor having a first parallel capacitor (21a) is additionally arranged at an end of a series switching transistor, and two ends of the parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the source of each switching transistor to modify capacitance and allow to process a large amplitude signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include Zuwa’s capacitors in Zhang et al.’s circuit arrangement for the purpose of operating with a large amplitude signal as taught by Zuwa et al. reference.
Regarding a second parallel capacitor having two ends of the second parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the drain of each switching transistor, Takahashi’s figure 8 shows a second parallel capacitor (51-53) having two ends of the second parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the drain of each switching transistor of a stacked switching transistors to correct capacitance and to improve linearity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include Takahashi’s capacitors in Zhang et al.’s circuit arrangement for the purpose of improving linearity as taught by Takahashi reference.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang et al. reference teach a RF switching circuit comprising all the aspects of the present invention as noted above except a third parallel capacitor and a fourth parallel capacitor are respectively additionally arranged at two ends of the parallel switch branch of the transmission path, two ends of the third parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the source of each switching transistor on a grounding potential end, and two ends of the fourth parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the drain of each switching transistor on a transmission end to improve a linearity of a radio frequency switch as called for in claim 8.
Zuwa et al.’s figure 18 discloses a stacked transistor RF switching transistor having a third parallel capacitor (21a) is additionally arranged at an end of a series switching transistor, and two ends of the parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the source of each switching transistor to modify capacitance and allow to process a large amplitude signal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include Zuwa’s capacitors in Zhang et al.’s circuit arrangement for the purpose of operating with a large amplitude signal as taught by Zuwa et al. reference.
Regarding a fourth parallel capacitor having two ends of the fourth parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the drain of each switching transistor, Takahashi’s figure 8 shows a fourth parallel capacitor (51-53) having two ends of the second parallel capacitor are respectively connected to the gate and the drain of each switching transistor of a stacked switching transistors to correct capacitance and to improve linearity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include Takahashi’s capacitors in Zhang et al.’s circuit arrangement for the purpose of improving linearity as taught by Takahashi reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tonami et al. (USP 5,818,283) discloses an FET switch for controllably allowing and inhibiting passage of an input signal in ON state and OFF state, respectively, FETs are connected in a multi-stage configuration. A control voltage adjusting circuit is connected between a gate and one of a drain and a source of each FET. The control voltage adjusting circuit adjusts a gate-source voltage so as to follow the variation of a drain-source voltage. The input voltage applied to the FET switch in OFF state is divided by the plurality of FETs. Since the variation of the gate-source voltage follows the variation of the drain-source voltage, the FET switch is hardly influenced by an amplitude of the input signal.
/TUAN T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 8/12/2026