DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 12/22/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 06/20/2025 has been considered by the examiner based on the requirements of 37 CFR 1.98(d)(1)(2) being met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 2018/0040187) (hereinafter “Jeong”) in view of Kovacs et al. (US 8,857,707) (hereinafter “Kovacs”).
Re claims 1 and 3, Jeong discloses a sheet processing apparatus (1), comprising:
a processing unit (100) unit having a front side and a back side opposite to the front side (fig. 1), the processing unit including:
an opening (bill receiving unit 110, bill dispensing units 140 and 141) through which at least one of feeding a sheet in the sheet processing apparatus or feeding the sheet out from the sheet processing apparatus is performed and which is provided at the front side of the processing unit (fig. 1; paras. [0015]-[0016]); and
a transport path (122) (fig. 1);
a storage arranged (210a-c, 220a-c) in a storage chamber (200) to store the sheet, the storage chamber having a front side and a back side opposite to the front side (see fig. 1);
a detachable container (300) detachably mounted to an outer surface at the front side of the processing unit or outer surface at the front side of the storage chamber to store the sheet (fig. 1; para. 0015);
a transport mechanism (120) to transport the sheet among the processing unit (100), the storage chamber (200), and the detachable container (300), the transport mechanism including at least one of a belt and roller (fig. 1; para. 0017);
control circuitry to control the processing unit (100), the storage (210a-c, 220a-c), the detachable container (300), and the transport mechanism (120) (paras. 0005, 0040).
Jeong fails to teach wherein the detachable container (300) detachably mounted to an outer surface at the back side of the processing unit or outer surface at the back side of the storage chamber.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to mount the detachable container to an outer surface at the back side of the processing unit or outer surface at the back side of the storage chamber, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Jeong further fails to teach wherein at least one of the processing unit and the storage chamber is structured to be pulled outside the sheet processing apparatus, and the detachable container is mounted to the outer surface at a side opposite to a direction of pulling out the at least one of the processing unit and the storage chamber.
Kovacs discloses a sheet processing apparatus (10) comprising a processing unit structured to be pulled outside the sheet processing apparatus (fig. 2 shows upper fascia 86 in supporting connection with a rollout tray 80 that moves outside the apparatus 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong and Kovacs in order to allow the machine’s internal components to be accessible for servicing.
Re claim 2, Jeong as modified by Kovacs further discloses wherein the processing unit is to be pulled out from a front side the sheet processing apparatus (Kovacs, fig. 2 shows upper fascia 86 in supporting connection with a rollout tray 80 that moves outside the apparatus 10).
Jeong as modified by Kovacs fails to teach wherein the detachable container is mounted to a back side of the sheet processing apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to mount the detachable container to a back side of the sheet processing apparatus, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Re claim 4 Jeong as modified by Kovacs further discloses wherein
the opening includes an inlet (110) where the sheet is fed in (fig. 1), and
the processing unit (100) comprising a feeding mechanism (122) to feed out the sheet fed in the inlet one by one; and a recognition sensor (130) to recognize the sheet fed out by the feeding mechanism (122) and transported by the transport mechanism (120) (see Jeong, fig. 1).
Re claim 6, Jeong as modified by Kovacs further discloses wherein the control circuitry performs a replenishing process of controlling the transport mechanism (120) such that the sheet stored in the detachable container (300) is transported to the storage (210a-c, 220a-c) (fig. 4, para. 0046).
Re claim 7, Jeong as modified by Kovacs further discloses wherein the control circuitry performs a collection process of controlling the transport mechanism (120) such that the sheet stored in the storage (210a-c, 220a-c) is transported to the detachable container (300) (fig. 4, para. 0049).
Re claim 8, Jeong as modified by Kovacs teaches a lock mechanism to prevent the processing unit from being pulled out (Kovacs, col. 3, lines 8-10).
Re claims 9 and 11, Jeong discloses a sheet processing apparatus (1), comprising:
a processing unit (100) having a front side and a back side opposite to the front side (fig. 1), the processing unit including:
an opening (bill receiving unit 110, bill dispensing units 140 and 141) through which at least one of feeding a sheet in the sheet processing apparatus or feeding the sheet out from the sheet processing apparatus is performed and which is provided at the front side of the processing unit (fig. 1; paras. [0015]-[0016]); and a transport path (122) (fig. 1);
a storage (210a-c, 220a-c) arranged in a storage chamber (200) to store the sheet, the storage chamber having a front side and a back side opposite to the front side (see fig. 1);
a detachable container (300) detachably mounted to an outer surface of the processing unit or the storage chamber to store the sheet (fig. 1; para. 0015);
a transport mechanism (120) to transport the sheet among the processing unit (100), the storage chamber (200), and the detachable container (300), the transport mechanism including at least one of a belt and roller (fig. 1; para. 0017);
control circuitry to control the processing unit (100), the storage chamber (200), the detachable container (300), and the transport mechanism (120) (paras. 0005, 0040);
a housing inside which the processing unit (100), the storage chamber (200), the transport mechanism (120), and the control circuitry are disposed, the housing having a first side surface and a second side surface opposite to the first side surface, wherein the detachable container (300) is mounted to the second side surface;
wherein the opening is disposed in an opening area formed on the first side surface of the housing (fig. 1).
Jeong fails to teach wherein the detachable container (300) detachably mounted to an outer surface at the back side of the processing unit or outer surface at the back side of the storage chamber.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to mount the detachable container to an outer surface at the back side of the processing unit or outer surface at the back side of the storage chamber, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Jeong further fails to teach wherein at least one of the processing unit and the storage chamber is structured to be pulled outside the sheet processing apparatus from an opening area.
Kovacs discloses a sheet processing apparatus (10) comprising a processing unit structured to be pulled outside the sheet processing apparatus (fig. 2 shows upper fascia 86 in supporting connection with a rollout tray 80 that moves outside the apparatus 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong and Kovacs in order to allow the machine’s internal components to be accessible for servicing.
Re claim 10, Jeong as modified by Kovacs further discloses wherein the opening area is provided at a front side (see Kovacs, fig. 2); and wherein the processing unit is configured to be pulled out from a front side the sheet processing apparatus (Kovacs, fig. 2 shows upper fascia 86 in supporting connection with a rollout tray 80 that moves outside the apparatus 10).
Jeong as modified by Kovacs fails to teach wherein the first side surface is formed on a front side of the sheet processing apparatus, the second side surface is formed on a back side of the sheet processing apparatus, the opening area is provided at the front side, and the processing unit is to be pulled out from a forward side of the and the detachable container is mounted to the back side of the sheet processing apparatus wherein the detachable container is mounted to a back side of the sheet processing apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to rearrange the front side to the back side and the back side to the front side, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Re claim 12 Jeong as modified by Kovacs further discloses wherein:
the opening includes an inlet (110) where the sheet is fed in (fig. 1), and
the processing unit (100) comprising a feeding mechanism (122) to feed out the sheet fed in the inlet one by one; and a recognition sensor (130) to recognize the sheet fed out by the feeding mechanism (122) and transported by the transport mechanism (120) (see Jeong, fig. 1).
Re claim 14, Jeong as modified by Kovacs further discloses wherein the control circuitry performs a replenishing process of controlling the transport mechanism (120) such that the sheet stored in the detachable container (300) is transported to the storage (210a-c, 220a-c) (fig. 4, para. 0046).
Re claim 15, Jeong as modified by Kovacs further discloses wherein the control circuitry performs a collection process of controlling the transport mechanism (120) such that the sheet stored in the storage is transported to the detachable container (300) (fig. 4, para. 0049).
Re claim 16, Jeong as modified by Kovacs teaches a lock mechanism to prevent the processing unit from being pulled out (col. 3, lines 8-10).
Re claims 17 and 18, Jeong as modified by Kovacs discloses wherein the at least one of the processing unit and the storage chamber includes a door disposed at the opening area to open and close the opening (Jeong, door 210 shown in fig. 1; Kovacs, figs. 1 and 2); and wherein the door is lockable (Kovacs, col. 3, lines 8-10).
Re claim 19, Jeong discloses a sheet processing apparatus (1), comprising:
a processing unit (100) having a front side and a back side opposite to the front side (fig. 1), the processing unit including an inlet and an outlet (bill receiving unit 110, bill dispensing units 140 and 141) through which at least one of feeding a sheet in the sheet processing apparatus or feeding the sheet out from the sheet processing apparatus is performed and which is provided at the front side of the processing unit (fig. 1; paras. [0015]-[0016]); and a transport path (122) (fig. 1);
a storage (210a-c, 220a-c) arranged in a storage chamber (200) to store the sheet, the storage chamber having a front side and a back side opposite to the front side (see fig. 1);
a detachable container (300) detachably mounted to an outer surface of the processing unit or an outer surface at the front side of the storage chamber to store the sheet (fig. 1; para. 0015);
a transport mechanism (120) to transport the sheet among the processing unit (100), the storage chamber (200), and the detachable container (300), the transport mechanism including at least one of a belt and roller (fig. 1; para. 0017);
control circuitry to control the processing unit (100), the storage chamber (200), the detachable container (300), and the transport mechanism (120) (paras. 0005, 0040);
a housing inside which the processing unit (100), the storage chamber (200), the transport mechanism (120), and the control circuitry are disposed, the housing having a first side surface and a second side surface opposite to the first side surface, wherein the detachable container (300) is mounted to the second side surface.
Jeong fails to teach wherein the detachable container (300) detachably mounted to an outer surface at the back side of the processing unit or outer surface at the back side of the storage chamber.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to mount the detachable container to an outer surface at the back side of the processing unit or outer surface at the back side of the storage chamber, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Jeong further fails to teach wherein the processing unit is structured to be pulled outside the sheet processing apparatus.
Kovacs discloses a sheet processing apparatus (10) comprising a processing unit structured to be pulled outside the sheet processing apparatus (fig. 2 shows upper fascia 86 in supporting connection with a rollout tray 80 that moves outside the apparatus 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong and Kovacs in order to allow the machine’s internal components to be accessible for servicing.
Claim(s) 5, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Kovacs, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2016/0163144) (hereinafter “Lee”). The teachings of Jeong as modified by Kovacs have been discussed above.
Re claims 5 and 13, Jeong as modified by Kovacs fails to teach wherein the processing unit further comprises a temporary storage disposed behind the recognition sensor and connected to the transport mechanism.
Lee discloses a sheet processing apparatus (10) comprising a temporary storage (30) disposed behind a recognition sensor (25) and connected to a transport mechanism (fig. 1; para. 0077).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong/Kovacs and Lee in order to store abnormal bills or bills having a larger denomination.
Re claim 20, Jeong as modified by Kovacs further discloses wherein the processing unit (100) comprising a feeding mechanism (122) to feed out the sheet fed in the inlet one by one; and a recognition sensor (130) to recognize the sheet fed out by the feeding mechanism (122) and transported by the transport mechanism (120) (see Jeong, fig. 1).
Jeong as modified by Kovacs fails to teach wherein the processing unit further comprises a temporary storage disposed behind the recognition sensor and connected to the transport mechanism.
Lee discloses a sheet processing apparatus (10) comprising a temporary storage (30) disposed behind a recognition sensor (25) and connected to a transport mechanism (fig. 1; para. 0077).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to combine the teachings of Jeong/Kovacs and Lee in order to store abnormal bills or bills having a larger denomination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to applicant’s arguments that the prior art of record fails to teach a detachable container is detachably mounted to an outside of a back side of the apparatus, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Although, the Jeong reference teaches a detachable container is detachably mounted to an outside of a front side of the apparatus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to mount the detachable container to an outer surface at the back side of the apparatus, as it would have been a matter of design choice of the manufacturer.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/APRIL A TAYLOR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876