DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10, 14, and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/22/25.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 10/22/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a drive mechanism in claim 1 and a drive assembly; a first transmission assembly; a second transmission assembly in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, line 3 “a face of the mounting portion” is unclear if the limitation is referring to the face as claimed in claim 1 or a new face.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peng (12,127,993).
Annotated fig 3 of Peng.
With respect to claim 1, Peng discloses a massager (fig 3), comprising a main body (100, fig 2), defining an accommodation cavity (assembling space; 223, fig 3); a mounting portion (see annotated fig 3 of Peng), extending outward from a side of the main body (see annotated fig 3 of Peng); a first massage assembly (see annotated fig 3 of Peng), comprising a first massage member (700, fig 3) and a second massage member (300, fig 3) spaced apart from the first massage member, wherein the first massage member is mounted on the mounting portion (see annotated fig 3 of Peng) and protrudes outward from the mounting portion (see annotated fig 3 of Peng), and the second massage member is mounted on the mounting portion and protrudes outward from the mounting portion (see annotated fig 3 of Peng); and a drive mechanism (210,224; fig 3), at least partially mounted in the accommodation cavity of the main body (see annotated fig 3 of Peng), wherein the drive mechanism is drivingly connected to the second massage member (see connection of 210 to 300 via 222 in fig 3) and is configured to drive the second massage member to swing toward or away from the other of the first massage member and the second massage member (see col. 8, lines 1-9).
Annotated fig 1 of Peng.
With respect to claim 2, Peng discloses a maximum distance between the first massage member and a face of the mounting portion (see annotated fig 1 of Peng) is greater than a maximum distance between the second massage member and the face of the mounting portion (see annotated fig 1 of Peng).
With respect to claim 3, Peng discloses a mounting cavity (see cavity which rod 224 and 222 are inserted and “The second assembling portion 222 defines an assembling space 223.” Col. 7, lines 59-60) is formed in the mounting portion, and the mounting cavity is communicated to the accommodation cavity (see communication between 223 and 222 in fig 3); the first massage assembly comprises a massage connecting rod (222/224, fig 3), the massage connecting rod is fixedly connected to the second massage member (see fig 3 and col. 8, lines 32-58), and the massage connecting rod is arranged in the mounting cavity and is drivingly connected to the drive mechanism (see connection of 222 to motor 210, fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng in view of Zhou (2024/0252384).
With respect to claim 4, Peng discloses the drive mechanism comprises a drive assembly (210, fig 3 of Peng) and a second transmission assembly (222, 224,225, fig 3 of Peng); the second transmission assembly is movably mounted in the mounting cavity (see fig 3 and col. 8, lines 29-47 of Peng) and is configured to drive the massage connecting rod and the second massage member (see col. 7, lines 54-67 and col. 8, lines 1-9 of Peng) and at least a portion of the drive assembly is fixed in the accommodation cavity and is configured to drive the transmission assembly to rotate (motor 210, fig 3 and col. 8, lines 1-9 of Peng); but lacks a first transmission assembly; wherein the first transmission assembly is at least partially mounted in the accommodation cavity, and the first transmission assembly is slidable or rotatable relative to the main body, and is drivingly connectable to the second transmission assembly; at least a portion of the drive assembly is fixed in the accommodation cavity and is configured to drive the first transmission assembly to slide or rotate, and the drive assembly is configured to separately drive the first transmission assembly to move and to drive the second transmission assembly to move.
However, Zhou teaches a massage device (fig 2) with a transmission assembly (4,5,41,61; fig 5) wherein the first transmission assembly is at least partially mounted in an accommodation cavity (space withing 14 in fig 5), and the first transmission assembly is slidable or rotatable relative to a main body (14, fig 5 and see [0036-37]), and is drivingly connectable to a second transmission assembly (6, fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first massage member of the modified Peng to include a first transmission assembly as taught by Zhou so as to provide an additional clamping massage effect for the user.
Claim(s) 7 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng and Zhou as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Wang (2025/0248888).
With respect to claim 7, the modified Peng shows a second massage assembly (see annotated fig 3 of Peng) but lacks the second massage assembly drivingly connected to the first transmission assembly and is arranged on a side of the main body, and the first transmission assembly is configured to drive the second massage assembly to swing relative to the main body.
However, Wang teaches a massager (1, fig 1) comprising a second massage assembly (see left sided portion of element 1 in fig 2) drivingly connected to a first transmission assembly (A, in fig 2) and is arranged on a side of the main body (arranged on an upper side of the body as seen in fig 2), and the first transmission assembly is configured to drive the second massage assembly to swing relative to the main body (see [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second transmission assembly of the modified Peng to drive in a swing massage as taught by Wang so as to provide an additional massaging effect for the user.
With respect to claim 15, the modified Peng shows a soft rubber shell (silicone cover; 600, fig 3 of Peng), wherein the soft rubber shell at least covers the second massage member (see col. 10, lines 18-31 of Peng).
With respect to claim 16, the modified Peng shows a vibration member (410, fig 3 of Peng), wherein the vibration member is arranged in the second massage assembly (see 400 in second massage assembly in annotated fig 3 of Peng).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 8-9, and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KELSEY E BALLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TU A VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785