DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7, 10, and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “the first reference power level mode” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 4 previously recites “the first reference power level” and “at least one power level mode,” but does not previously introduce a “first reference power level mode.” Therefore, it is unclear whether “the first reference power level mode” refers to the first reference power level, a power level mode, or another limitation.
Claim 4 further recites “the at least one of the at least one power level mode.” Claim 4 previously introduces “at least one power level mode,” but does not introduce “the at least one of the at least one power level mode.” Therefore, the scope of this limitation is unclear.
Claim 4 further recites “a parameter value of the power transfer signal properties.” The term “the power transfer signal properties” lacks proper antecedent basis because no “power transfer signal properties” were previously introduced. Therefore, it is unclear what previously recited subject matter is encompassed by “the power transfer signal properties.”
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “the power transmitter coil” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 1 recites “a transmitter coil,” but neither claim 1 nor claim 8 introduces a “power transmitter coil.” Therefore, it is unclear whether “the power transmitter coil” refers to the previously recited “transmitter coil.”
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “the at least one power level mode” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 16 previously recites “storing at least one level mode,” rather than “storing at least one power level mode.” Therefore, it is unclear whether “the at least one power level mode” refers to the previously recited “at least one level mode.”
Regarding claim 20, the limitation “the first reference power level mode” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 20 previously recites “the first reference power level” and “the at least one power level mode,” but does not previously introduce a “first reference power level mode.” Therefore, it is unclear whether “the first reference power level mode” refers to the first reference power level, a power level mode, or another limitation.
Claim 20 further recites “a parameter value of the power transfer signal properties.” The term “the power transfer signal properties” lacks proper antecedent basis because no “power transfer signal properties” were previously introduced. Therefore, it is unclear what previously recited subject matter is encompassed by “the power transfer signal properties.”
Regarding claim 23, the limitation “the initialization phase” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 23 depends from claim 18, which depends from claim 16, and neither claim 18 nor claim 16 introduces an initialization phase. Therefore, the scope of “the initialization phase” is unclear.
Claims 5-7 depend from claim 4 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for depending from a rejected claim and failing to cure the deficiencies thereof. Claims 17-19, 21, and 22 ultimately depend from claim 16 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for depending from a rejected claim and failing to cure the deficiencies thereof.
For purposes of examination, “the first reference power level mode” in claims 4 and 20 is interpreted as “the first reference power level,” and “storing at least one level mode” in claim 16 is interpreted as “storing at least one power level mode.”
For purposes of examination of claim 23, “the initialization phase” is interpreted as “an initialization phase.”
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “wherein the receiver circuit is arranged to receive at least one message from a power receiver” should be followed by a semicolon for consistency with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation “wherein power control loop controls the drive signal” lacks the article “the” before “power control loop.” For grammatical correctness and consistency with the previously recited “a power control loop,” the limitation should be corrected to read “wherein the power control loop controls the drive signal.”
Claim 16 further recites “wherein the at least one power level mode is associated with a reference power level,” followed by “changing the drive signal.” The comma following “reference power level” should be replaced with a semicolon to properly separate the method steps.
Regarding claim 20, the limitation “determining of the first reference power level” is grammatically improper. The limitation should be corrected to read “determining the first reference power level.”
Claim 20 further recites “the at least one power level modes.” For grammatical consistency, the limitation should be corrected to read “the at least one power level mode.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11936201 B2, Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US 11936201 B2, recite all the limitations of instant claims with some additional limitations making instant claim broader and anticipated over by patent.
Claim of Instant application
Claims of US patent US 11936201 B2
1. A power transmitter comprising :a receiver circuit, wherein the receiver circuit is arranged to receive at least one message from a power receiver a transmitter coil, wherein the transmitter coil is arranged to generate a power transfer signal, wherein the power transfer signal is generated in response to a drive signal; a driver circuit, wherein the driver circuit is arranged to generate the drive signal; a power loop controller circuit, wherein the power loop controller circuit is arranged to control the drive signal so as to adjust a power level of the power transfer signal; a mode memory circuit, wherein the mode memory circuit is arranged to store at least one power level mode, wherein the at least one power level mode is associated with a reference power level; a mode circuit, wherein the mode circuit is arranged to change the drive signal so as to set the power level of the power transfer signal to a first reference value in response to receiving a mode request message, 2 wherein the first reference value corresponds to a first reference power level of a first power level mode.
1. A power transmitter comprising: a receiver circuit, wherein the receiver circuit is configured to receive at least one message(s) from; an output circuit, wherein the output circuit comprises a transmitter coil, wherein the transmitter coils is configured to generate a power transfer signal, wherein the power transfer signal is generated in response to a drive signal; a driver circuit, wherein the driver circuit is configured to generate the drive signal; a power loop controller circuit, wherein the power loop controller circuit controls the drive signal so as to adjust a power level of the power transfer signal, wherein the power control loop controller circuit is configured to apply changes to the power level of the power transfer signal in response to the at least one message(s); a mode memory circuit, wherein the mode memory circuit is configured to store a plurality of power level modes, wherein each of the plurality of power level modes is associated with a reference power level; a mode circuit, wherein the mode circuit is configured to adapt the drive signal so as to set the power level of the power transfer signal to a first reference value in response to receiving a mode request message, wherein the first reference value corresponds to a first reference power level of a first power level mode, wherein the first power level mode is indicated in the mode request message, wherein the first power level is one of the plurality of power level modes.
Claims 2-15
Claims 2-14
16. A method of operating a power transmitter comprising: receiving at least one message from a power receiver; generating a drive signal; operating a power control loop, wherein power control loop controls the drive signal so as to adjust a power level of a power transfer signal; storing at least one level mode, wherein the at least one power level mode is associated with a reference power level, 6 changing the drive signal so as to set the power level of the power transfer signal to a first reference value in response to receiving a mode request message, wherein the first reference value corresponds to a first reference power level of a first power level mode.
15. A method of operating a power transmitter comprising: Receiving at least on message(s); generating a drive signal; operating a power control loop, wherein power control loop controls the drive signal so as to adjust a power level of a power transfer signal, wherein the power control loop applies changes to the power level of the power transfer signal in response to the at least one of the message(s); storing a plurality of power level modes, wherein each of the plurality of power level mode is associated with a reference power level, wherein the reference power level of each of plurality of power level modes is for the power transfer signal; adapting the drive signal so as to set the power level of the power transfer signal to a first reference value in response to receiving a mode request message, wherein the first reference value corresponds to a first reference power level of a first power level mode, wherein the first power level is indicated in the mode request message, wherein the first power level is one of the plurality of power level modes.
Claims 17-23
Claims 16-21
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12355263 B2, Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US 12355263 B2, recite all the limitations of instant claims with some additional limitations making instant claim broader and anticipated over by patent.
Claim of Instant application
Claims of US patent 12355263 B2
1. A power transmitter comprising :a receiver circuit, wherein the receiver circuit is arranged to receive at least one message from a power receiver a transmitter coil, wherein the transmitter coil is arranged to generate a power transfer signal, wherein the power transfer signal is generated in response to a drive signal; a driver circuit, wherein the driver circuit is arranged to generate the drive signal; a power loop controller circuit, wherein the power loop controller circuit is arranged to control the drive signal so as to adjust a power level of the power transfer signal; a mode memory circuit, wherein the mode memory circuit is arranged to store at least one power level mode, wherein the at least one power level mode is associated with a reference power level; a mode circuit, wherein the mode circuit is arranged to change the drive signal so as to set the power level of the power transfer signal to a first reference value in response to receiving a mode request message, 2 wherein the first reference value corresponds to a first reference power level of a first power level mode.
1. A power transmitter comprising: a receiver circuit, wherein the receiver circuit is configured to receive at least one message from a power receiver a transmitter coil, wherein the transmitter coils is configured to generate a power transfer signal, wherein the power transfer signal is generated in response to a drive signal; a driver circuit, wherein the driver circuit is configured to generate the drive signal; a power loop controller circuit, wherein the power loop controller circuit is configured to control the drive signal so as to adjust a power level of the power transfer signal, wherein the power control loop controller circuit is configured to apply changes to the power level of the power transfer signal in response to the at least one message; a mode memory circuit, wherein the mode memory circuit is configured to store at least one power level mode, wherein the at least one power level mode is associated with a reference power level; a mode circuit, wherein the mode circuit is configured to adapt the drive signal so as to set the power level of the power transfer signal to a first reference value in response to receiving a mode request message, wherein the first reference value corresponds to a first reference power level of a first power level mode, wherein the first power level mode is indicated in the mode request message, wherein the first power level mode is one of the at least one power level mode.
Claims 2-15
Claims 2-14
16. A method of operating a power transmitter comprising: receiving at least one message from a power receiver; generating a drive signal; operating a power control loop, wherein power control loop controls the drive signal so as to adjust a power level of a power transfer signal; storing at least one level mode, wherein the at least one power level mode is associated with a reference power level, 6 changing the drive signal so as to set the power level of the power transfer signal to a first reference value in response to receiving a mode request message, wherein the first reference value corresponds to a first reference power level of a first power level mode.
15. A method of operating a power transmitter comprising: Receiving at least one message from a power receiver; generating a drive signal; operating a power control loop, wherein power control loop controls the drive signal so as to adjust a power level of a power transfer signal, wherein the power control loop applies changes to the power level of the power transfer signal in response to the at least one of the message; storing at least one level mode, wherein the at least one power level mode is associated with a reference power level, adapting the drive signal so as to set the power level of the power transfer signal to a first reference value in response to receiving a mode request message, wherein the first reference value corresponds to a first reference power level of a first power level mode, wherein the first power level is indicated in the mode request message, wherein the first power level mode is one of the at least one power level mode.
Claims 17-23
Claims 16-21
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 14-17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae Yong (KR 10-2018-0074461 A) in view of Jung (US 2018/0097403 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chae Yong teaches “A power transmitter comprising:” [wireless power transmitter 600 including power conversion unit 610, power transmission unit 620, communication unit 630, control unit 640, and sensing unit 650 (Fig. 6; para. 0089)]; “a receiver circuit, wherein the receiver circuit is arranged to receive at least one message from a power receiver;” [communication unit 630 receives power reception status information and/or a power-control signal from the wireless power receiver, and the wireless power receiver transmits a charging-mode packet to wireless power transmitter 600 requesting a change in charging mode (Fig. 6; paras. 0094, 0115, 0178-0181)];
“a transmitter coil, wherein the transmitter coil is arranged to generate a power transfer signal, wherein the power transfer signal is generated in response to a drive signal;” [power transmission unit 620 includes transmitting coil 622 and may include a carrier generator for generating a specific operating frequency for power transmission, wherein the carrier generator generates an AC signal at the specific operating frequency for wireless power transmission (Fig. 6; paras. 0095-0096)];
“a driver circuit, wherein the driver circuit is arranged to generate the drive signal;” [power conversion unit 610 includes amplifier 612, which adjusts the strength of the converted power according to a control signal from control unit 640, and the carrier generator generates the AC signal at a specific operating frequency for wireless power transmission (Fig. 6; paras. 0091, 0094-0096)];
“a power loop controller circuit, wherein the power loop controller circuit is arranged to control the drive signal so as to adjust a power level of the power transfer signal;” [control unit 640 receives power reception status information and/or power-control signals from the wireless power receiver and dynamically adjusts amplifier 612, wherein the power-control signals include requests to increase or decrease power (Fig. 6; para. 0094); wireless power transmitter 600 further performs power control based on control-error packets received from the wireless power receiver, and the power-control offset may be changed to quickly converge to a desired target power level in the fast-charging mode (paras. 0115-0116)]; “a mode memory circuit, wherein the mode memory circuit is arranged to store at least one power level mode, wherein the at least one power level mode is associated with a reference power level;” [Chae Yong teaches normal low-power and fast-charging modes (paras. 0115, 0181), and a memory (not shown) stores charging-mode-change operating frequency 1632 used by transmitter 600 to generate the AC signal in the fast-charging mode, wherein operating frequency 1632 may be preset, previously stored in memory, and may be an operating frequency previously used to stably generate the AC signal in the fast-charging mode (Fig. 16; para. 0192); the stored operating frequency provides predetermined operating information associated with the fast-charging mode for establishing power transmission in that mode, and thereby represents the reference power level associated with the fast-charging mode]; “a mode circuit, wherein the mode circuit is arranged to change the drive signal so as to set the power level of the power transfer signal to a first reference value in response to receiving a mode request message;” [in response to receiving a charging-mode packet from the wireless power receiver requesting fast charging, control unit 640 changes transmitter operation so that power corresponding to the fast-charging mode is transmitted (paras. 0115, 0178-0181); the charging-mode packet may contain required power 1432 representing the intensity value of the initial power required when changing to the corresponding charging mode (Fig. 14; paras. 0183-0185); transmitter 600 further generates the AC signal at preset operating frequency 1632 when changing to the fast-charging mode and performs power control toward the desired target power level (Fig. 16; paras. 0094, 0115-0116, 0192-0193), wherein required power 1432 constitutes the first reference value for the requested fast-charging mode]; and “wherein the first reference value corresponds to a first reference power level of a first power level mode.” [the fast-charging mode constitutes the first power level mode, and its first reference power level is the power corresponding to the fast-charging mode, represented by stored operating frequency 1632 (Fig. 16; para. 0192); the first reference value, required power 1432 (Fig. 14; paras. 0183-0185), corresponds to that first reference power level because it is the initial power established when transmitter 600 generates the AC signal at operating frequency 1632 upon changing to the fast-charging mode (paras. 0115, 0192-0193)].
Chae Yong discloses required-power field 1432 in the Fig. 14 charging-mode-packet embodiment and preset operating-frequency field 1632 in the Fig. 16 charging-mode-packet embodiment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the wireless power transmission art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the required-power information of Fig. 14 together with the predetermined operating-frequency information of Fig. 16 when implementing the disclosed charging-mode transition because Chae Yong teaches that the configuration and definition of the charging-mode packet fields may vary depending on implementation (paras. 0185, 0193), thereby providing the requested power condition and predetermined operating condition for implementing the requested charging mode.
However, Chae Yong does not expressly teach that the memory storing the predetermined operating information associated with the charging mode is part of the power transmitter, because Chae Yong identifies only a memory “not shown” for storing operating frequency 1632 (para. 0192).
In an analogous art, Jung teaches a wireless power transmitter 1800 including memory 1820 and charge mode control unit 1840, wherein memory 1820 stores a lookup table containing optimized driving conditions [Fig. 18; paras. 0183, 0185-0186], wherein the stored driving conditions include driving frequency, voltage level, and PID control values [paras. 0190-0192], and wherein charge mode control unit 1840 identifies a stored initial driving condition and applies the stored condition as an initial driving frequency and voltage level for wireless charging [para. 0195].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the memory of Chae Yong at the power transmitter, as taught by Jung, in order to store and apply predetermined transmitter operating conditions when establishing wireless power transmission, consistent with Chae Yong's teaching of storing an operating frequency that stably generated the AC signal in the fast-charging mode (Chae Yong, para. 0192) and Jung's teaching of storing and applying optimized transmitter driving conditions (Jung, paras. 0186, 0190-0192, 0195).
Regarding claim 16, Chae Yong teaches “A method of operating a power transmitter comprising:” [a wireless power transmission method in which a wireless power transmitter controls a charging mode and charging amount and changes from a first charging mode to a second charging mode based on a charging-mode packet received from a wireless power receiving device; wireless power transmitter 600 includes power conversion unit 610, power transmission unit 620, communication unit 630, control unit 640, and sensing unit 650 (Fig. 6; paras. 0020, 0089)]; “receiving at least one message from a power receiver;” [communication unit 630 receives power reception status information and/or a power-control signal from the wireless power receiver, and the wireless power receiver transmits a charging-mode packet to wireless power transmitter 600 requesting a change in charging mode (Fig. 6; paras. 0094, 0115, 0178-0181)]; “generating a drive signal;” [power conversion unit 610 includes amplifier 612, which adjusts the strength of the converted power according to a control signal from control unit 640, and the carrier generator generates an AC signal at a specific operating frequency for wireless power transmission (Fig. 6; paras. 0091, 0094-0096)]; “operating a power control loop, wherein power control loop controls the drive signal so as to adjust a power level of a power transfer signal;” [control unit 640 receives power reception status information and/or power-control signals from the wireless power receiver and dynamically adjusts amplifier 612, wherein the power-control signals include requests to increase or decrease power, thereby adjusting the power of the AC power transfer signal transmitted through transmitting coil 622 (Fig. 6; paras. 0094-0096); wireless power transmitter 600 further performs power control based on control-error packets received from the wireless power receiver, and the power-control offset may be changed to quickly converge to a desired target power level in the fast-charging mode (paras. 0115-0116)]; “storing at least one level mode, wherein the at least one power level mode is associated with a reference power level,” [Chae Yong teaches normal low-power and fast-charging modes (paras. 0115, 0181), and a memory (not shown) stores charging-mode-change operating frequency 1632 used by transmitter 600 to generate the AC signal in the fast-charging mode, wherein operating frequency 1632 may be preset, previously stored in memory, and may be an operating frequency previously used to stably generate the AC signal in the fast-charging mode (Fig. 16; para. 0192); the stored operating frequency provides predetermined operating information associated with the fast-charging mode for establishing power transmission in that mode, and thereby represents the reference power level associated with the fast-charging mode];
“changing the drive signal so as to set the power level of the power transfer signal to a first reference value in response to receiving a mode request message,” [in response to receiving a charging-mode packet from the wireless power receiver requesting fast charging, control unit 640 changes transmitter operation so that power corresponding to the fast-charging mode is transmitted (paras. 0115, 0178-0181); the charging-mode packet may contain required power 1432 representing the intensity value of the initial power required when changing to the corresponding charging mode (Fig. 14; paras. 0183-0185); transmitter 600 further generates the AC signal at preset operating frequency 1632 when changing to the fast-charging mode and performs power control toward the desired target power level (Fig. 16; paras. 0094, 0115-0116, 0192-0193), wherein required power 1432 constitutes the first reference value for the requested fast-charging mode]; “wherein the first reference value corresponds to a first reference power level of a first power level mode.” [the fast-charging mode constitutes the first power level mode, and its first reference power level is the power corresponding to the fast-charging mode, represented by stored operating frequency 1632 (Fig. 16; para. 0192); the first reference value, required power 1432 (Fig. 14; paras. 0183-0185), corresponds to that first reference power level because it is the initial power established when transmitter 600 generates the AC signal at operating frequency 1632 upon changing to the fast-charging mode (paras. 0115, 0192-0193)].
Chae Yong discloses required-power field 1432 in the Fig. 14 charging-mode-packet embodiment and preset operating-frequency field 1632 in the Fig. 16 charging-mode-packet embodiment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the wireless power transmission art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the required-power information of Fig. 14 together with the predetermined operating-frequency information of Fig. 16 when implementing the disclosed charging-mode transition because Chae Yong teaches that the configuration and definition of the charging-mode packet fields may vary depending on implementation (paras. 0185, 0193), thereby providing the requested power condition and predetermined operating condition for implementing the requested charging mode.
However, Chae Yong does not expressly teach that the memory storing the predetermined operating information associated with the charging mode is located at the power transmitter, because Chae Yong identifies only a memory “not shown” for storing operating frequency 1632 (para. 0192).
In an analogous art, Jung teaches a wireless power transmitter 1800 including memory 1820 and charge mode control unit 1840, wherein memory 1820 stores a lookup table containing optimized driving conditions [Fig. 18; paras. 0183, 0185-0186], wherein the stored driving conditions include driving frequency, voltage level, and PID control values [paras. 0190-0192], and wherein charge mode control unit 1840 identifies a stored initial driving condition and applies the stored condition as an initial driving frequency and voltage level for wireless charging [para. 0195].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store the predetermined operating information of Chae Yong at the power transmitter, as taught by Jung, in order to store and apply predetermined transmitter operating conditions when establishing wireless power transmission, consistent with Chae Yong's teaching of storing an operating frequency that stably generated the AC signal in the fast-charging mode (Chae Yong, para. 0192) and Jung's teaching of storing and applying optimized transmitter driving conditions (Jung, paras. 0186, 0190-0192, 0195).
Note: For purposes of examination, “storing at least one level mode” is interpreted as “storing at least one power level mode” (see 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung teaches the invention set forth above. Chae Yong further teaches “wherein the receiver circuit is arranged to receive a configuration message,” [communication unit 630 receives a charging-mode packet from the wireless power receiver (Fig. 6; paras. 0094, 0178-0181); see also the configuration packet received during the identification and configuration phase (Fig. 12; paras. 0166-0167)]; “wherein the configuration message comprises a configuration parameter,” [the message field of the charging-mode packet includes charging mode 1631 and charging-mode-change operating frequency 1632 (Fig. 16; paras. 0191-0193)]; “wherein the mode circuit is arranged to determine the first reference power level for at least one of the at least one power level mode in response to the configuration parameter.” [upon receiving the charging-mode packet, transmitter 600 changes to the fast-charging mode and generates the AC signal at operating frequency 1632 specified by the packet (Fig. 16; paras. 0191-0193); operating frequency 1632 provides the operating parameter representing the reference power level associated with the fast-charging mode, as set forth for claim 1].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung teaches the invention set forth above. Chae Yong further teaches “wherein the mode request message comprises a timing indication,” [the message field of the charging-mode packet includes charging mode 1531 and charging-mode change waiting time 1532 (Fig. 15; paras. 0187-0189)]; “wherein the mode circuit is arranged to change a timing of setting the power level of the power transfer signal in response to the timing indication.” [charging-mode change waiting time 1532 specifies the time wireless power transmitter 600 waits after receiving the charging-mode packet before changing the charging mode; a value of 0 causes the mode to be changed immediately, while a longer waiting time increases the time until the mode change (Fig. 15; para. 0188); upon the charging-mode change, transmitter 600 establishes the power corresponding to the requested fast-charging mode, as set forth for claim 1 (paras. 0115, 0192)].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung teaches the invention set forth above. Chae Yong further teaches “wherein the mode request message is received during a power transfer phase.” [if high-speed charging is required at any point during the power transmission phase, the wireless power receiver transmits a charging-mode packet to wireless power transmitter 600 (para. 0115); the charging-mode packet may expressly be received during power transmission step 440/540 (Figs. 4-5, 26; para. 0262)].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung teaches the invention set forth above. Chae Yong further teaches “A computer program stored on a non-transitory medium, wherein the computer program when executed on a processor performs the method as claimed in claim 16.” [the disclosed method may be implemented as a program executed on a computer and stored on a computer-readable recording medium, including ROM, RAM, CD-ROM, magnetic tape, floppy disk, or an optical data-storage device (paras. 0504-0505)].
Claim(s) 2, 9, 13, 18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae Yong (KR 10-2018-0074461 A) in view of Jung (US 2018/0097403 A1), further in view of Baarman et al. (US 2008/0157603 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung teaches invention set forth above. Chae Yong further teaches “a detection circuit, wherein the detection circuit is arranged to detect a power transfer anomaly” [control unit 640 of the wireless power transmitter performs foreign-object detection, wherein power loss is determined based on transmitted power P_PT and received power P_PR reported by the wireless power receiver, and a foreign-object condition is determined when the power loss exceeds a predetermined threshold (Figs. 42-43; paras. 0423-0429); the foreign-object detection operation is further performed at different levels according to the current charging mode (paras. 0449-0450, 0457-0462)].
However, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung does not expressly teach “in response to a comparison of a current power level of the power transfer signal and the reference power level of a current power level mode.”
In an analogous art, Baarman teaches an inductive power supply (AIPS 12) having current sensor 16, microprocessor 40, and lookup table 24 storing operating parameters, including minimum and maximum current usage [Figs. 1, 6; paras. 0014, 0026-0028]. Baarman teaches retrieving the operating parameters from lookup table 24 and, during operation, comparing the actual current draw sensed by current sensor 16 with the retrieved minimum and maximum current values, wherein microprocessor 40 determines that a fault condition exists when the actual current draw exceeds the retrieved maximum or falls below the retrieved minimum [paras. 0007, 0014, 0040]. Baarman's para 0040 expressly describes retrieval of the operating parameters followed by the fault comparison. The lookup table expressly stores maximum/minimum operating frequencies and current usage for fault recognition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Baarman's comparison of an actual operating level with a stored reference operating level to Chae Yong's mode-dependent anomaly detection, thereby comparing the current power level (transmitted power P_PT) with the reference power level of the current power level mode (the power corresponding to the fast-charging mode, as set forth for claim 1), to more readily identify fault conditions.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung teaches the invention set forth above, Chae Yong further teaches “wherein the configuration parameter comprises at least one of a power receiver identity, a power receiver type, a power receiver coil property, a power receiver coil dimension and a power receiver coil inductance.” [the wireless power receiver transmits an identification packet including a manufacturer information field, in which a predetermined identification code identifies the manufacturer of the wireless power receiving device, and a basic device identification information field, and may further transmit extended device identification information (Fig. 11; paras. 0159-0164); teaches a power receiver identity communicated by the power receiver].
However, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung does not expressly teach that the first reference power level is determined in response to the power receiver identity.
In an analogous art, Baarman teaches identifying a remote device and selecting operating parameters corresponding to the identified remote device [the system recognizes a specific remote device and obtains its operating parameters from a lookup table (para. 0007); lookup table 24 stores information relating to operating parameters of a plurality of remote devices, including associated information such as maximum and minimum operating frequencies and current usage (para. 0028); once the remote device is identified, the AIPS provides power to the remote device in accordance with operating parameters retrieved from memory (paras. 0014-0015); upon identifying a particular remote device, microprocessor 40 retrieves the operating parameters from lookup table 24 and operates the remote device using the retrieved operating parameters, including an anticipated operating frequency (Fig. 6; para. 0040)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Chae Yong and Jung to determine the reference power level of the power level mode based on operating parameters selected in response to the power receiver identity, as taught by Baarman, in order to apply operating parameters appropriate for the particular power receiver.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung teaches the invention set forth above, Chae Yong further teaches “an identity indication received from a power receiver” [the wireless power receiver transmits an identification packet including manufacturer information, basic device identification information, and optionally extended device identification information, thereby identifying the wireless power receiver (Fig. 11; paras. 0159-0164)].
However, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung does not expressly teach “wherein the mode memory circuit is arranged to store a plurality of groups of power level modes, wherein the mode circuit is arranged to select a first group from the plurality of groups of power level modes in response to an identity indication received from a power receiver.”
In an analogous art, Baarman teaches storing separate sets of operating information corresponding to different remote devices and selecting the appropriate set after identifying the remote device [the system recognizes a specific remote device and obtains its corresponding operating parameters from a lookup table (para. 0007); lookup table 24 stores information relating to operating parameters of a plurality of remote devices and includes, for each remote device, a unique identification frequency or pattern together with associated operating information such as maximum and minimum operating frequencies and current usage (para. 0028); once a remote device is identified, the AIPS retrieves the corresponding operating parameters from memory and provides power to the remote device in accordance with those parameters (paras. 0014-0015); microprocessor 40 retrieves the operating parameters corresponding to the identified remote device from lookup table 24 and operates the device using the retrieved operating parameters (Fig. 6; para. 0040)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Chae Yong and Jung to store Chae Yong's power level modes and associated operating information in separate groups corresponding to different power receivers and to select the corresponding group in response to the power receiver identity, as taught by Baarman, in order to apply operating parameters appropriate for the particular power receiver.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung teaches the invention set forth above. Chae Yong further teaches “detecting a power transfer anomaly” [the wireless power transmitter performs foreign-object detection, wherein power loss is determined based on transmitted power P_PT and received power P_PR reported by the wireless power receiver, and a foreign-object condition is determined when the power loss exceeds a predetermined threshold (Figs. 42-43; paras. 0423-0429); the foreign-object detection operation is further performed at different levels according to the current charging mode (paras. 0449-0450, 0457-0462)].
However, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung does not expressly teach “in response to a comparison of a current power level of the power transfer signal and the reference power level of a current power level mode.”
In an analogous art, Baarman teaches an inductive power supply (AIPS 12) having current sensor 16, microprocessor 40, and lookup table 24 storing operating parameters, including minimum and maximum current usage [Figs. 1, 6; paras. 0014, 0026-0028]. Baarman teaches retrieving the operating parameters from lookup table 24 and, during operation, comparing the actual current draw sensed by current sensor 16 with the retrieved minimum and maximum current values, wherein microprocessor 40 determines that a fault condition exists when the actual current draw exceeds the retrieved maximum or falls below the retrieved minimum [paras. 0007, 0014, 0040]. Baarman expressly says actual operating conditions outside retrieved operating parameters constitute a fault condition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Baarman's comparison of an actual operating level with a stored reference operating level to Chae Yong's mode-dependent anomaly detection, thereby comparing the current power level (transmitted power P_PT) with the reference power level of the current power level mode (the power corresponding to the fast-charging mode, as set forth for claim 16), to more readily identify fault conditions.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Chae Yong, Jung, and Baarman teaches the invention set forth above, Chae Yong further teaches “wherein the initialization phase is prior to a power transfer phase.” [the wireless power transfer procedure includes identification and configuration phase 430 prior to power transfer phase 440; during identification and configuration phase 430, the transmitter identifies the receiver and collects receiver configuration and status information, and once identification and configuration are complete, the transmitter transitions to power transfer phase 440 (Fig. 4; paras. 0065, 0068, 0070); see also identification phase 530 preceding power transfer phase 540 (Fig. 5; paras. 0076-0081)].
Note: For purposes of examination, “the initialization phase” is interpreted as “an initialization phase” (see the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above).
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae Yong (KR 10-2018-0074461 A) in view of Jung (US 2018/0097403 A1), and further in view of Bae (US 2019/0148967 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung teaches the power transmitter of claim 1, as set forth above, Chae Yong further teaches “wherein the power loop controller circuit utilizes a power control loop” [control unit 640 receives power reception status information and/or power-control signals from the wireless power receiver and dynamically adjusts amplifier 612, including performing power control based on control-error packets received from the wireless power receiver (Fig. 6; paras. 0094-0096, 0115-0116); teaches a power control loop for adjusting transmitted power]; “wherein the changing of the drive signal is arranged to set a power level of the power transfer signal to the first reference value” [upon receiving the charging-mode packet, transmitter 600 changes to the fast-charging mode and generates the AC signal at preset operating frequency 1632 (Fig. 16; paras. 0191-0193), such that power corresponding to the fast-charging mode is transmitted (para. 0115); teaches changing the drive signal to establish the first reference value associated with the requested power level mode ].
However, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung does not expressly teach “wherein a duration for changing the drive signal is less than a time constant of the power control loop.”
In an analogous art, Bae teaches a wireless power transmission device including a power converter and a feedback circuit, wherein the feedback circuit includes current sensor 1040, comparator 1050, RC circuit 1060, and output-voltage control circuit 1070 [Fig. 10; paras. 0029-0034, 0249-0254; DC-DC converter 1020 supplies power transmitter 1030, and RC circuit 1060 controls the rate of change of voltage Vc applied to comparator 1050 and determines a time constant, for example 10 ms, such that Vc cannot instantaneously change in response to the sensed current]; and further teaches applying a new predefined reference corresponding to a changed charging mode directly to comparator 1050 [paras. 0024, 0035, 0263, 0270-0274, 0281; when the charging mode changes, a new reference voltage corresponding to the changed charging mode is applied to the negative terminal of comparator 1050, including doubling the reference voltage when required power changes from 5 W to 10 W (para. 0273); the mode-specific reference is applied directly to the comparator while the sensed-current feedback input is subject to the RC-determined time constant].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power control of Chae Yong to directly apply a new mode-specific reference while the sensed-current feedback is subject to the RC-determined time constant, as taught by Bae, such that the drive signal is changed in a duration less than the time constant of the power control loop, in order to provide the power appropriate to the changed charging mode.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung teaches the invention set forth above, Chae Yong further teaches “wherein the changing of the drive signal is arranged to set a power level of the power transfer signal to the first reference value” [upon receiving the charging-mode packet, transmitter 600 changes to the fast-charging mode and generates the AC signal at preset operating frequency 1632 (Fig. 16; paras. 0191-0193), such that power corresponding to the fast-charging mode is transmitted (para. 0115); teaches changing the drive signal to establish the first reference value associated with the requested power level mode, as set forth for claim 16].
However, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung does not expressly teach “wherein a duration for changing the drive signal is less than a time constant of the power control loop.”
In an analogous art, Bae teaches a wireless power transmission device including a power converter and a feedback circuit, wherein the feedback circuit includes current sensor 1040, comparator 1050, RC circuit 1060, and output-voltage control circuit 1070 [Fig. 10; paras. 0029-0034, 0249-0254; DC-DC converter 1020 supplies power transmitter 1030, and RC circuit 1060 controls the rate of change of voltage Vc applied to comparator 1050 and determines a time constant, for example 10 ms, such that Vc cannot instantaneously change in response to the sensed current]; and further teaches applying a new predefined reference corresponding to a changed charging mode directly to comparator 1050 [paras. 0024, 0035, 0263, 0270-0274, 0281; when the charging mode changes, a new reference voltage corresponding to the changed charging mode is applied to the negative terminal of comparator 1050, including doubling the reference voltage when required power changes from 5 W to 10 W (para. 0273); the mode-specific reference is applied directly to the comparator while the sensed-current feedback input is subject to the RC-determined time constant].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power control of Chae Yong to directly apply a new mode-specific reference while the sensed-current feedback is subject to the RC-determined time constant, as taught by Bae, such that the drive signal is changed in a duration less than the time constant of the power control loop, in order to provide the power appropriate to the changed charging mode.
Claims 4-7, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae Yong (KR 10-2018-0074461 A) in view of Jung (US 2018/0097403 A1), and further in view of f Park (US 2021/0066973 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung teaches the invention set forth above, Chae Yong further teaches “wherein the mode circuit is arranged to determine the first reference power level for at least one power level mode in relation to at least one of a parameter value of the drive signal and a parameter value of the power transfer signal properties,” [the fast-charging mode has a corresponding power level and charging-mode-change operating frequency 1632, wherein operating frequency 1632 may be a frequency determined as a result of testing to stably generate the AC signal in the fast-charging mode or a frequency previously used to stably generate the AC signal in the fast-charging mode (Fig. 16; paras. 0191-0193); teaches determining the reference power level associated with the fast-charging mode in relation to an operating-frequency parameter of the drive signal];
and “wherein the mode memory circuit is arranged to store the first reference power level mode.” [the fast-charging mode is associated with corresponding power and operating information, including required power 1432 and operating frequency 1632 (Figs. 14, 16; paras. 0183-0185, 0191-0193), and operating frequency 1632 may be previously stored in memory (para. 0192); Jung further teaches transmitter 1800 including memory 1820 that stores optimized driving conditions including driving frequency, voltage level, and PID constant values (Fig. 18; paras. 0183, 0186, 0190-0192); teaches storing predetermined transmitter operating information associated with the reference power level].
However, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung does not expressly teach “wherein a power receiver steps through the at least one of the at least one power level mode during an initialization phase.”
In an analogous art, Park teaches operating a wireless power receiver through different power conditions during a calibration phase prior to power transfer [the wireless power transfer procedure includes calibration phase 550 preceding power transfer phase 560 (Fig. 5; paras. 0122, 0133); during calibration, the wireless power receiver operates under a light-load condition in which transmitted and/or received power is close to the minimum expected output power and a connected-load condition in which transmitted and/or received power is close to the maximum expected output power (Fig. 12; paras. 0204-0207); the receiver determines and reports received power under each condition, while the transmitter determines transmitted power under each condition (para. 0207); the received-power packet includes a mode field identifying the light-load or connected-load calibration condition (Fig. 13; Table 3; paras. 0209-0211), and the transmitter determines calibration constants from the transmitted and received power values determined under the two conditions (Figs. 12, 14; paras. 0212-0217); teaches stepping the receiver through different power conditions and determining corresponding transmitter-side power values during initialization/calibration].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Chae Yong and Jung so that, during an initialization phase preceding power transfer, the power receiver steps through its power level modes and the transmitter determines and stores the reference power level for each mode in relation to the transmitter-side parameters determined in that mode, as taught by Park, in order to obtain reference values reflecting the characteristics and use environment of the transmitter-receiver pair (Park, paras. 0202-0203).
Note: For purposes of examination, the limitation “the first reference power level mode” in claims 4is interpreted as “the first reference power level” (see the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chae Yong, Jung, and Park teaches the invention set forth above, Chae Yong and Jung further teach “wherein the mode memory circuit is arranged to store a plurality of parameters for at least one power level mode,” [Chae Yong teaches required power 1432 associated with a requested charging mode and operating frequency 1632 associated with generation of the AC signal in the fast-charging mode (Figs. 14, 16; paras. 0183-0185, 0191-0193), wherein operating frequency 1632 may be stored in memory (para. 0192); Jung teaches transmitter memory 1820 storing a plurality of optimized driving-condition parameters including driving frequency, voltage level, and PID constant values (Fig. 18; paras. 0183, 0186, 0190-0192); teaches storing a plurality of operating parameters associated with a power level mode]; “wherein the plurality of parameters include at least one reference power level and at least one parameter value,” [required power 1432 represents the initial power required when changing to the corresponding charging mode, and operating frequency 1632 represents an operating parameter for generation of the AC signal in the corresponding charging mode (Figs. 14, 16; paras. 0183-0185, 0191-0193); the respective charging-mode packet fields may be configured according to implementation (paras. 0185, 0193)]; “wherein the at least one reference power level represents a power level of the power transfer signal,” [required power 1432 represents an intensity value of the initial power required when changing to the corresponding charging mode (Fig. 14; paras. 0183-0185); see also Park, wherein the transmitter determines transmitted power under the different calibration conditions (Fig. 12; paras. 0205-0207, 0212)]; and “wherein the at least one parameter value is for the drive signal.” [operating frequency 1632 specifies the frequency at which transmitter 600 generates the AC signal in the fast-charging mode (Fig. 16; paras. 0191-0193), and Jung's stored driving conditions include driving frequency and voltage level (Fig. 18; paras. 0190-0192); teaches an operating parameter for generating the drive signal].
However, Chae Yong does not expressly teach storing required power 1432 together with operating frequency 1632 in transmitter memory.
In an analogous art, Jung teaches transmitter memory 1820 storing a plurality of optimized driving-condition parameters for a corresponding operating condition [Fig. 18; paras. 0183, 0186, 0190-0192].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store required power 1432 together with operating frequency 1632 in Jung's multi-parameter transmitter memory so that the mode-associated parameters are available for establishing the requested charging mode.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chae Yong, Jung, and Park teaches the invention set forth above, Chae Yong and Jung further teach “wherein the mode memory circuit is arranged to store a plurality of parameters for at least one power level mode,” [Chae Yong teaches required power 1432 associated with a requested charging mode and operating frequency 1632 associated with generation of the AC signal in the fast-charging mode (Figs. 14, 16; paras. 0183-0185, 0191-0193), wherein operating frequency 1632 may be stored in memory (para. 0192); Jung teaches transmitter memory 1820 storing a plurality of optimized driving-condition parameters including driving frequency, voltage level, and PID constant values (Fig. 18; paras. 0183, 0186, 0190-0192)]; “wherein the plurality of parameters include at least one reference power level and at least one parameter value,” [required power 1432 represents the initial power required when changing to the corresponding charging mode and operating frequency 1632 represents an operating parameter associated with generation of the AC signal in the corresponding charging mode (Figs. 14, 16; paras. 0183-0185, 0191-0193), with the respective charging-mode packet fields being configurable according to implementation (paras. 0185, 0193)]; “wherein the at least one reference power level represents a power level of the power transfer signal,” [required power 1432 represents an intensity value of the initial power required when changing to the corresponding charging mode (Fig. 14; paras. 0183-0185)]; and “wherein the at least one parameter value is for a signal of the transmitter coil in accordance with the at least one reference power level.” [power transmission unit 620 includes transmitting coil 622 and a carrier generator that may generate an AC signal having a specific operating frequency for transmission through transmitting coil 622 (Fig. 6; paras. 0095-0096); operating frequency 1632 specifies the frequency at which transmitter 600 generates the AC signal in the fast-charging mode corresponding to the requested fast-charging power (Fig. 16; paras. 0115, 0191-0193); teaches an operating-frequency parameter for the transmitter-coil signal in accordance with the reference power level associated with the corresponding power level mode].
However, Chae Yong does not expressly teach storing required power 1432 together with operating frequency 1632 in transmitter memory.
In an analogous art, Jung teaches transmitter memory 1820 storing a plurality of optimized driving-condition parameters for a corresponding operating condition [Fig. 18; paras. 0183, 0186, 0190-0192].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store required power 1432 together with operating frequency 1632 in Jung's multi-parameter transmitter memory so that the mode-associated parameters are available for establishing the requested charging mode.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chae Yong, Jung, and Park teaches the invention set forth above, Park further teaches “wherein the initialization phase is prior to a power transfer phase.” [calibration phase 550 precedes power transfer phase 560 in the wireless power transfer procedure (Fig. 5; paras. 0122, 0133), and steps S1200-S1205 correspond to the calibration phase while steps S1210-S1215 correspond to the power transfer phase (para. 0224); teaches performing the initialization/calibration phase prior to the power transfer phase].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung teaches the invention set forth above, Chae Yong further teaches “determining of the first reference power level for at least one of the at least one power level modes in relation to at least one of a parameter value of the drive signal and a parameter value of the power transfer signal properties,” [the fast-charging mode has a corresponding power level and charging-mode-change operating frequency 1632, wherein operating frequency 1632 may be a frequency determined as a result of testing to stably generate the AC signal in the fast-charging mode or a frequency previously used to stably generate the AC signal in the fast-charging mode (Fig. 16; paras. 0191-0193); teaches determining the reference power level associated with the fast-charging mode in relation to an operating-frequency parameter of the drive signal]; and “storing the first reference power level mode.” [Chae Yong teaches that the fast-charging mode is associated with corresponding power and operating information, including required power 1432 and operating frequency 1632 (Figs. 14, 16; paras. 0183-0185, 0191-0193), and operating frequency 1632 may be previously stored in memory (para. 0192); Jung further teaches transmitter 1800 including memory 1820 that stores optimized driving conditions including driving frequency, voltage level, and PID constant values (Fig. 18; paras. 0183, 0186, 0190-0192); teaches storing predetermined transmitter operating information associated with the reference power level].
However, the combination of Chae Yong and Jung does not expressly teach “wherein a power receiver steps through the at least one power level mode during an initialization phase.”
In an analogous art, Park teaches operating a wireless power receiver through different power conditions during a calibration phase prior to power transfer [the wireless power transfer procedure includes calibration phase 550 preceding power transfer phase 560 (Fig. 5; paras. 0122, 0133); during calibration, the wireless power receiver operates under a light-load condition in which transmitted and/or received power is close to the minimum expected output power and a connected-load condition in which transmitted and/or received power is close to the maximum expected output power (Fig. 12; paras. 0204-0207); the receiver determines and reports received power under each condition, while the transmitter determines transmitted power under each condition (para. 0207); the received-power packet includes a mode field identifying the light-load or connected-load calibration condition (Fig. 13; Table 3; paras. 0209-0211), and the transmitter determines calibration constants from the transmitted and received power values determined under the two conditions (Figs. 12, 14; paras. 0212-0217); teaches stepping the receiver through different power conditions and determining corresponding transmitter-side power values during initialization/calibration].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Chae Yong and Jung so that, during an initialization phase preceding power transfer, the power receiver steps through its power level modes and the transmitter determines and stores the reference power level for each mode in relation to the transmitter-side parameters determined in that mode, as taught by Park, in order to obtain reference values reflecting the characteristics and use environment of the transmitter-receiver pair (Park, paras. 0202-0203).
Note: For purposes of examination, the limitation “the first reference power level mode” in claims 20 is interpreted as “the first reference power level” (see the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Chae Yong, Jung, and Park teaches the invention set forth above, Chae Yong and Jung further teach “storing a plurality of parameters for the at least one power level mode,” [Chae Yong teaches required power 1432 associated with a requested charging mode and operating frequency 1632 associated with generation of the AC signal in the fast-charging mode (Figs. 14, 16; paras. 0183-0185, 0191-0193), wherein operating frequency 1632 may be stored in memory (para. 0192); Jung teaches transmitter memory 1820 storing a plurality of optimized driving-condition parameters including driving frequency, voltage level, and PID constant values (Fig. 18; paras. 0183, 0186, 0190-0192)]; “wherein the plurality of parameters include at least one reference power level and at least one parameter value,” [required power 1432 represents the initial power required when changing to the corresponding charging mode and operating frequency 1632 represents an operating parameter associated with generation of the AC signal in the corresponding charging mode (Figs. 14, 16; paras. 0183-0185, 0191-0193), with the respective charging-mode packet fields being configurable according to implementation (paras. 0185, 0193)]; “wherein the at least one reference power level represents a power level of the power transfer signal,” [required power 1432 represents an intensity value of the initial power required when changing to the corresponding charging mode (Fig. 14; paras. 0183-0185); see also Park, wherein the transmitter determines transmitted power under the different calibration conditions (Fig. 12; paras. 0205-0207, 0212)]; and “wherein the at least one parameter value is for the drive signal.” [operating frequency 1632 specifies the frequency at which transmitter 600 generates the AC signal in the fast-charging mode (Fig. 16; paras. 0191-0193), and Jung's stored driving conditions include driving frequency and voltage level (Fig. 18; paras. 0190-0192); teaches an operating parameter for generating the drive signal].
However, Chae Yong does not expressly teach storing required power 1432 together with operating frequency 1632 in transmitter memory.
In an analogous art, Jung teaches transmitter memory 1820 storing a plurality of optimized driving-condition parameters for a corresponding operating condition [Fig. 18; paras. 0183, 0186, 0190-0192].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store required power 1432 together with operating frequency 1632 in Jung's multi-parameter transmitter memory so that the mode-associated parameters are available for establishing the requested charging mode.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Chae Yong, Jung, and Park teaches the invention set forth above, Chae Yong and Jung further teach “storing a plurality of parameters for the at least one power level mode,” [Chae Yong teaches required power 1432 associated with a requested charging mode and operating frequency 1632 associated with generation of the AC signal in the fast-charging mode (Figs. 14, 16; paras. 0183-0185, 0191-0193), wherein operating frequency 1632 may be stored in memory (para. 0192); Jung teaches transmitter memory 1820 storing a plurality of optimized driving-condition parameters including driving frequency, voltage level, and PID constant values (Fig. 18; paras. 0183, 0186, 0190-0192)]; “wherein the plurality of parameters include at least one reference power level and at least one parameter value,” [required power 1432 represents the initial power required when changing to the corresponding charging mode and operating frequency 1632 represents an operating parameter associated with generation of the AC signal in the corresponding charging mode (Figs. 14, 16; paras. 0183-0185, 0191-0193), with the respective charging-mode packet fields being configurable according to implementation (paras. 0185, 0193)]; “wherein the at least one reference power level represents a power level of the power transfer signal,” [required power 1432 represents an intensity value of the initial power required when changing to the corresponding charging mode (Fig. 14; paras. 0183-0185)]; and “wherein the at least one parameter value is in accordance with the at least one reference power level.” [operating frequency 1632 is the operating frequency at which transmitter 600 generates the AC signal in the fast-charging mode and may be a frequency determined as a result of testing to stably generate the AC signal in that mode or a frequency previously used to stably generate the AC signal in that mode (Fig. 16; paras. 0191-0193); teaches an operating-frequency parameter selected in accordance with the reference power level associated with the corresponding power level mode].
However, Chae Yong does not expressly teach storing required power 1432 together with operating frequency 1632 in transmitter memory.
In an analogous art, Jung teaches transmitter memory 1820 storing a plurality of optimized driving-condition parameters for a corresponding operating condition [Fig. 18; paras. 0183, 0186, 0190-0192].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store required power 1432 together with operating frequency 1632 in Jung's multi-parameter transmitter memory so that the mode-associated parameters are available for establishing the requested charging mode.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest “wherein the mode circuit is arranged to determine a power transfer function between a parameter of the drive signal and an output power of the power receiver based on the configuration parameter, wherein the mode circuit is arranged to determine the first reference power level for the at least one power level mode based on the power transfer function,” in combination with the remaining limitations of claims 1 and 8.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest “wherein the mode circuit is arranged to determine a power transfer function between a parameter of a transmitter coil signal and an output power of the power receiver based on the configuration parameter, wherein the mode circuit is arranged to determine the reference power level for the at least one power level mode based on the power transfer function,” in combination with the remaining limitations of claims 1 and 8.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if amended to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest “wherein the mode circuit is arranged to determine a coupling factor between the power transmitter coil and a power receiver coil based on the configuration parameter, wherein the mode circuit is arranged to determine the first reference power level for the at least one power level mode based on the coupling factor,” in combination with the remaining limitations of claims 1 and 8.
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/ SPE, Art Unit 2836