DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11020157.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between the claims of the present application and the patented claims is that the patented claims include more elements and are thus more specific. Thus, the invention of the patented claims is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the claims of the present application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species.” See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the claims of the present application are anticipated by the patented claims, they are not patentably distinct from the patented claims.
All of the structural elements of the pending claims are present in the patented claims defined with either identical or equivalent language. Features of the pending claims not found in the patented claims would be readily obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the field of the invention and the interaction of the structural elements recited in the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, “the proximal thread” lacks antecedent basis. It appears Applicant intended to recite “the proximal thread segment” and is understood in that manner for the purpose of examination.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 7537596) in view of James et al. (US 20060149265 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, 8, 11-15 and 17, Jensen discloses a screw 110 wherein the shank 114 of screw 110 has a proximal portion with a first thread turn or segment and a distal portion with a distal thread turn or segment (Fig. 5); a head or head portion 112 of screw 110 extending from the proximal end of the shaft portion and wherein a diameter of the head portion 112 is greater than a diameter of the shaft portion and the head portion has a head thread 116 that has the same pitch as the shaft thread 134 to have the same pitch or a different pitch (interpreted to mean “separate”) that is either constant or variable; and the shaft can be divided into two portions, a first proximal portion and a second distal portion of equal length (Figs. 5 and 6, col. 2, lines 64-67, and cols. 3-16).
Regarding claim 20, Jensen discloses the screw to be cannulated with an axial bore (col. 6, lines 18-25).
Jensen discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for a proximal portion of the shaft located proximate to the head portion to taper distally in a direction from the proximal end to the distal end.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, James et al. also disclose screw 400 to have a variable minor diameter as in Fig. 1, i.e. a shaft portion that tapers distally in a direction from the proximal end to the distal end (paras [0011] and [0036]).
Regarding claims 3-4 and 18, James et al. disclose a surgical screw 400 with a shank 401 having multiple segments, each segment having a different pitch, the pitch decreasing incrementally from the distal end to the proximal end (Figs. 4-7 paras [0007], [0013], [0023] and [0026]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 6, James et al. disclose the pitch of the shaft thread to change at intervals of equal length (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, James et al. disclose the pitch to change along only a portion of the shaft thread (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, James et al. disclose the pitch to change along a length of the shaft thread (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a variable minor diameter to the threads in the shaft portion for greater engagement and resistance to pull out in the bone.
Regarding claims 5 and 19, the screw of the combination of Jensen and James et al. is configured to create compression across fractured bone because they are capable of being used with a bone plate to apply compressive force to a fractured bone.
In the alternate, claims 1-2, 10-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 7537596) in view Ferrante et al. (US 6565573).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 10-17, Jensen discloses a screw 110 wherein the shank 114 of screw 110 has a proximal portion with a first thread turn or segment and a distal portion with a distal thread turn or segment (Fig. 5); a head or head portion 112 of screw 110 extending from the proximal end of the shaft portion and wherein a diameter of the head portion 112 is greater than a diameter of the shaft portion and the head portion has a head thread 116 that has the same pitch as the shaft thread 134 to have the same pitch or a different pitch (interpreted to mean “separate”) that is either constant or variable; and the shaft can be divided into two portions, a first proximal portion and a second distal portion of equal length (Figs. 5 and 6, col. 2, lines 64-67, and cols. 3-16).
Regarding claim 20, Jensen discloses the screw to be cannulated with an axial bore (col. 6, lines 18-25).
Jensen discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for a proximal portion of the shaft located proximate to the head portion to taper distally in a direction from the proximal end to the distal end.
Ferrante et al. disclose providing a uniform taper to the shaft of a screw such that the minor diameter continually decreases from the proximal end to the distal end of the shaft. Ferrante et al. also discloses providing three sections to shank 36 wherein the minor diameter of the trailing end is greater than a minor diameter of the intermediate section such that the taper widens in the direction of the trailing end or screw head.
Therefore it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique of providing a minor diameter that decreases towards the longitudinal axis from the proximal end to a location intermediate the proximal end and the distal end to the Jensen screw would have yielded the predictable result of a wedge fit when the screw is seated in bone.
Claims 3-5, 7-8, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 7537596) and Ferrante et al. (US 6565573), as applied to claim 1, in view of Huebner (US 6030162).
The combination of Jensen and Ferrante et al. discloses all elements of the claimed invention except for: (1) the pitch to decrease incrementally from the distal end to the proximal end of the shaft portion; (2) the distal thread segment to have a pitch that is larger than a pitch of the proximal thread segment; and (3) the pitch to change incrementally along only a portion of a length of the shaft thread.
Huebner discloses varying the pitch of a screw to generate and/or maintain axial compression between threads in the leading and trailing sections of the screw. The pitch of the threads in the leading section (distal thread segment) is larger than the pitch of the threads in the trailing section (proximal thread segment) and the pitch of the shaft thread decreases in a direction from the distal end towards the proximal end (Figs. 1-4, col. 3, lines 29-67, cols. 4-8 and col. 9, lines 1-58).
Therefore, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique of varying the pitch of a screw, as taught by Huebner, to the screw of the combination of Jensen and Ferrante et al. would have yielded predictable results, i.e., improved compression for fracture fixation.
Regarding claims 5 and 19, the screw of the combination of Jensen, Ferrante et al. and Huebner, is configured to create compression across fractured bone because they are capable of being used with a bone plate to apply compressive force to a fractured bone.
Conclusion
July 24, 2026
/Anu Ramana/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775