DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 6/1/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-15 are still pending in this application, with claim 1 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandl et al. (US 2020/0370726, hereinafter “Mandl”) in view of Han (US 2023/0258311).
Regarding claim 1, Mandl teaches a lamp for a vehicle (a microprojection light module 6 for use in a motor vehicle headlamp, which includes a projection device 1; see Figs. 2-3; Abstract; par. [0068]), comprising a light-entering part positioned to receive a light propagated from a light source of the lamp (entrance optical element 3 is positioned to receive light from at least one light source 2; see Figs. 2-3; para. [0068]-[0069], [0076]), the light-entering part including an incident surface having a plurality of patterns (the incident surface of the light-entering part 3 includes a plurality of micro-entrance optical elements 3a; see Figs. 2-3; para. [0068]-[0069], [0076]); and a light-exiting part including an emergent surface having a plurality of facets (an exit optical element 4 which has a plurality of micro-exit optical elements 4a; see Fig. 2; para. [0068]-[0070], [0076]), wherein the light emitted from the light source passes through the light-entering part and then propagates externally through the light-exiting part (see Fig. 2; para. [0068]-[0070]).
However, the teachings of Mandl fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the plurality of facets respectively have a plurality of plane surfaces protruding from the emergent surface at staggered heights.
Han teaches a lamp for a vehicle (vehicle lamp 1000; see Figs. 1-4; Abstract; para. [0044]-[0057]), comprising a light-entering part positioned to receive a light propagated from a light source of the lamp, the light-entering part including an incident surface having a plurality of patterns (a light emitting unit 1100 which includes a plurality of light source modules 1300 emitting light towards an optical unit 1200 which includes a plurality of lenses 1400 that include first lenses 1410 which each comprise a light incident portion 1411 that define an incident surface of the lenses arranged in a plurality of patterns; see Figs. 1-3, 6-7; para. [0044], [0048]-[0052], [0055]-[0057], [0059]-[0060], [0064]-[0067], [0072]); a light-exiting part including an emergent surface including a plurality of facets (the first lenses 1410 of the lenses 1400 of the optical unit 1200 each comprise a light emitting portion 1412 that includes at least one light emitting module 1413, comprising a plurality of light emitting surfaces 1413a, 1413b, and 1413c which can be arranged along a horizontal and/or a vertical direction to include a grid of the plurality of light emitting surfaces; see Figs. 1-3, 6-7; para. [0073]-[0076]), wherein the light emitted from the light source passes through the light-entering part and then propagates externally through the light exiting part (light emitted from the light sources 1300 passes through the light-entering parts 1411 and then propagates externally through the light exiting parts 1412; see Figs. 1-3, 6-7; para. [0048]-[0052], [0055]-[0057], [0059]-[0060], [0066]-[0067], [0072]-[0076]), wherein the plurality of facets respectively have a plurality of plane surfaces protruding from the emergent surface at staggered heights (the plurality of facets 1413 each comprise a plurality of light emitting surfaces 1413a, 1413b, and 1413c formed as a plurality of plane surfaces protruding from the emergent surface 1412 in a stepped or terraced arrangement gradually receding from a first side to a second side in the horizontal direction, and/or gradually advancing in a top-down (vertical) direction; see Figs. 6-7; para. [0073]-[0076]).
Therefore, in view of Han, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lamp of Mandl by forming the plurality of facets to respectively have a plurality of plane surfaces protruding from the emergent surface at staggered heights. One would have been motivated to modify the known lamp of Mandl by forming the plurality of facets to respectively have a plurality of plane surfaces protruding from the emergent surface at staggered heights, as taught by Han, in order to allow the plurality of facets to be disposed conforming to the body contour of the vehicle and prevent glare from occurring, while additionally contributing to the aesthetics of the vehicle lamp by improving the exterior design thereof (see Han, para. [0074], [0076] for the motivation).
Regarding claim 2, Mandl teaches wherein the plurality of patterns of the incident surface of the light-entering part includes a plurality of lattice patterns arranged in a height direction and a width direction of the light-entering part (the plurality of patterns 3a on the incident surface of the light-entering part 3 are arranged in an array in a height and width direction of the light-emitting part; see Figs. 2-3; para. [0068]-[0069], [0076]).
However, regarding claims 7-9, the teachings of Mandl fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the plurality of patterns of the incident surface of the light-entering part includes a plurality of triangular patterns, or a plurality of hexagonal patterns, or a plurality of octagonal patterns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle lamp of Mandl by forming the plurality of patterns of the incident surface of the light-entering part to include a plurality of triangular patterns, or a plurality of hexagonal patterns, or a plurality of octagonal patterns, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). In this case, since there is no disclosure of any criticality to the specific shape of the plurality of patterns on the incident surface, modifying the known vehicle lamp of Mandl by forming the plurality of patterns of the incident surface of the light-entering part to include a plurality of triangular patterns, or a plurality of hexagonal patterns, or a plurality of octagonal patterns would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the particular design requirements of a given application, in order to provide an alternate shape for the patterns of the incident surface without altering their functionality.
However, regarding claim 11, the teachings of Mandl fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the light-entering part includes a plurality of stepped portions recessed inward in a propagation direction of the light and spaced apart from each other in a width-direction of the light-entering part.
Han teaches a lamp for a vehicle (vehicle lamp 1000; see Figs. 1-4; Abstract; para. [0044]-[0057]), comprising a light-entering part positioned to receive a light propagated from a light source of the lamp (a light emitting unit 1100 which includes a plurality of light source modules 1300 emit light towards an optical unit 1200 which includes a plurality of lenses 1400 that include first lenses 1410 which each comprise a light incident portion 1411; see Figs. 1-3, 6-7; para. [0044], [0048]-[0052], [0055]-[0057], [0059]-[0060], [0064]-[0067], [0072]); wherein the light-entering part includes a plurality of stepped portions recessed inward in a propagation direction of the light and spaced apart from each other in a width-direction of the light-entering part (the light entering parts 1411 of the first lenses 1410 defining the plurality of lenses 1400 on the light-entering part of the optical unit 1200 are arranged in a stepped configuration recessed inward in a light propagation direction of the light and spaced apart from each other along a width direction of the optical unit; see Figs. 2-3, 6-7; para. [0055]-[0057], [0066]-[0067], [0072]).
Therefore, in view of Han, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle lamp of Mandl by including on the light-entering part a plurality of stepped portions recessed inward in a propagation direction of the light and spaced apart from each other in a width-direction of the light-entering part. One would have been motivated to modify the known vehicle lamp of Mandl by including on the light-entering part a plurality of stepped portions recessed inward in a propagation direction of the light and spaced apart from each other in a width-direction of the light-entering part, as taught by Han, in order to enable the vehicle lamp to be extended to accommodate any curves at the front of body of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Mandl teaches the lamp further comprising a connection member disposed between the light-entering part and the light-exiting part and having first and second plate surface facing in opposite directions and respectively connected to the light-entering part and the light-exiting part (a support 5 is positioned between the light-entering part 3 and the light-exiting part 4 to connect them together and form the projection device 1, the support including a plurality of plate surfaces facing in opposite directions which extend beyond the perimeter of both the light-entering part 3 and the light-exiting part 4; see Figs. 2-3; par. [0076]).
Claims 4-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandl (US 2020/0370726), as modified by Han (US 2023/0258311) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kolchiba (CN 116888401, see previously attached machine translation). The teachings of Mandl modified by Han have been discussed above.
However, regarding claims 4-5, the teachings of Mandl modified by Han fail to disclose or fairly suggest the plurality of patterns of the incident surface of the light-entering part includes a plurality of diagonal patterns arranged in a diagonal direction of the light-emitting part; wherein the plurality of diagonal patterns is curved inwardly.
Kolchiba teaches a lamp for a vehicle (vehicle lamp 10 which includes a first lamp unit 20 and a second lamp unit 40; see Figs. 1-2; Abstract; pg. 4, last two paragraphs; pg. 5, first through fifth paragraphs), comprising a light-entering part positioned to receive a light propagated from a light source of the lamp, the light-entering part including an incident surface having a plurality of patterns (the first lamp unit 20 includes a light emitting element 22 which emits light towards a rear surface 30b (i.e., incident surface) of a lens 30 which includes a plurality of lens elements 30bAs arranged as a refractive control portion 30bA and a plurality of total reflection prism elements 30bBs arranged as total reflection control portions 30bB; see Figs. 1-2; pg. 5, second paragraph, ninth through eleventh paragraphs; pg. 6, first through third paragraphs); wherein the plurality of patterns of the incident surface of the light-emitting part includes a plurality of diagonal patterns arranged in a diagonal direction of the light-emitting part (the various patterns 30bAs and 30bBs on the incident surface 30b are arranged in diagonal patterns having different slopes along the incident surface; see Fig. 2); and wherein the plurality of diagonal patterns is curved inwardly (the various patterns 30bAs and 30bBs are arranged along a substantially semi-annular concave curved surface centered on the optical axis Ax to define the incident surface 30b; see Fig. 2; pg. 6, third full paragraph).
Therefore, in view of Kolchiba, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the vehicle lamp of Mandl, as modified by Han by forming the plurality of patterns on the incident surface of the light-entering part as a plurality of diagonal patterns arranged in a diagonal direction of the light-emitting part, and forming the incident surface so that the plurality of diagonal patterns is curved inwardly. One would have been motivated to further modify the known vehicle lamp of Mandl by forming the plurality of patterns on the incident surface of the light-entering part as a plurality of diagonal patterns arranged in a diagonal direction of the light-emitting part, and forming the incident surface so that the plurality of diagonal patterns is curved inwardly, as taught by Kolchiba, in order to improve the degree of freedom of the formation of the light-dark cutoff line (see Kolchiba, pg. 3, fourth-fifth paragraphs of machine translation for the motivation).
However, regarding claim 10, the teachings of Mandl modified by Han fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the incident surface of the light-entering part includes a curved plate surface.
Kolchiba teaches wherein the incident surface of the light-entering part includes a curved plate surface (the various patterns 30bAs and 30bBs are arranged along a substantially semi-annular concave curved surface centered on the optical axis Ax to define the incident surface 30b; see Fig. 2; pg. 6, third full paragraph).
Therefore, in view of Kolchiba, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the vehicle lamp of Mandl, as modified by Han by forming the incident surface of the light-entering part as a curved plate surface. One would have been motivated to further modify the known vehicle lamp of Mandl by forming the incident surface of the light-entering part as a curved plate surface, as taught by Kolchiba, in order to improve the degree of freedom of the formation of the light-dark cutoff line (see Kolchiba, pg. 3, fourth-fifth paragraphs of machine translation for the motivation).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandl (US 2020/0370726), as modified by Han (US 2023/0258311) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2025/0067411). The teachings of Mandl modified by Han have been discussed above.
However, the teachings of Mandl modified by Han fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the plurality of patterns of the incident surface of the light-entering part includes a plurality of circular or elliptical patterns.
Kim teaches a lamp for a vehicle (a vehicle lamp 1 which includes a plurality of lamp modules 1000 that include a light source unit 1100 and an optical unit 1300; see Figs. 1-10; Abstract; para. [0041]-[0050], [0054]-[0058]), comprising a light-entering part positioned to receive a light propagated from a light source of a lamp, the light-entering part including an incident surface having a plurality of patterns (the optical unit 1300 comprises an incident part 1310 which receives light from the light source unit 1100 and comprises a plurality of incident lenses 1311; see Figs. 1-10; para. [0048]-[0050], [0054]-[0058]); wherein the plurality of patterns of the incident surface of the light-entering part includes a plurality of circular or elliptical patterns (the plurality of patterns 1311 of the incident surface of the light-entering part 1310 have an elliptical shape; see Figs. 6-8, 10).
Therefore, in view of Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the vehicle lamp of Mandl, as modified by Han by forming the plurality of patterns of the incident surface of the light-entering part to include a plurality of circular or elliptical patterns, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). One would have been motivated to further modify the known vehicle lamp of Mandl by forming the plurality of patterns of the incident surface of the light-entering part to include a plurality of circular or elliptical patterns, as taught by Kim, in order to provide an alternate shape for the patterns of the incident surface without altering their functionality, since there is no disclosure of any criticality to the specific shape of the plurality of patterns on the incident surface.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandl (US 2020/0370726), as modified by Han (US 2023/0258311) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guan et al. (TW I647131 B, see previously attached machine translation). The teachings of Mandl have been discussed above.
However, regarding claims 12-13, the teachings of Mandl modified by Han fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein the light-exiting part comprises a light transmittance-reducing member disposed at an edge region of a part of at least some of the plurality of facets of the emergent surface of the light-exiting part and configured to reduce light transmittance; wherein the light transmittance-reducing member comprises an edge portion pad printed in the edge region of the part of at least some of the plurality of facets of the emergent surface of the light-exiting part.
Guan teaches a lamp for a vehicle (a vehicle lamp; see Figs. 1-4; Abstract; pg. 3, eighth-fifteenth paragraphs (starting in the section “Mode-For-Invention”); pg. 4, first-seventh paragraphs), comprising a light-entering part positioned to receive a light propagated from a light source of the lamp (a light emitting member 6 emits light towards a light incident surface 31 of a lens 3; see Figs. 1-4; pg. 3, ninth-eleventh paragraphs, fourteenth-fifteenth paragraphs); and a light-exiting part including an emergent surface having a plurality of facets, wherein the light emitted from the light source passes through the light-entering part and then propagates externally through the light-exiting part (the lens 3 has a light exit surface 32 having a plurality of facets forming a second reflection region 321; see Figs. 1-4; pg. 3, ninth paragraph; pg. 4, second-fourth paragraphs); wherein the light-exiting part comprises a light transmittance-reducing member disposed at an edge region of a part of at least some of the plurality of facets of the emergent surface of the light-exiting part and configured to reduce light transmittance (the light-exiting part 32 has a second thin film 72 formed in the facets of the second reflective region 321 which has a visible light transmittance of 80% to partially reflect light incident on the film; see Figs. 1-4; pg. 7, first-seventh paragraphs); wherein the light transmittance-reducing member comprises an edge portion pad printed in the edge region of the part of at least some of the plurality of facets of the emergent surface of the light-exiting part (the light-transmittance reducing member 72 is formed on edges of the plurality of facets in the second reflective region 321 by being directly applied to the lens 3; see Figs. 1-4; pg. 7, first-seventh paragraphs).
Therefore, in view of Guan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the vehicle lamp of Mandl, as modified by Han by disposing a light-transmittance reducing member at an edge region of a part of at least some of the plurality of facets of the emergent surface of the light-exiting part and configured to reduce light transmittance, the light transmittance-reducing member comprising an edge portion pad printed in the edge region of the part of at least some of the plurality of facets of the emergent surface of the light-exiting part. One would have been motivated to further modify the known vehicle lamp of Mandl by disposing a light-transmittance reducing member at an edge region of a part of at least some of the plurality of facets of the emergent surface of the light-exiting part and configured to reduce light transmittance, the light transmittance-reducing member comprising an edge portion pad printed in the edge region of the part of at least some of the plurality of facets of the emergent surface of the light-exiting part, as taught by Guan, in order to reduce glare caused by the vehicle lamp.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandl (US 2020/0370726), as modified by Han (US 2023/0258311) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakaya (US 2014/0313758). The teachings of Mandl modified by Han have been discussed above.
Mandl teaches wherein the connection member has a periphery protruding outwardly, the periphery of the connection member being larger than that of the light-entering part and the light-exiting part (the connection member 5 includes a plurality of plate surfaces facing in opposite directions which extend beyond the perimeter of both the light-entering part 3 and the light-exiting part 4; see Figs. 2-3; par. [0076]).
However, the teachings of Mandl modified by Han fail to disclose or fairly suggest the lamp further comprises a lens holder on which the periphery of the connection member is seated.
Nakaya teaches a lamp for a vehicle (a lighting unit for a vehicle lamp 10; see Figs. 4-6; Abstract; para. [0058]-[0076]), comprising a light-entering part positioned to receive a light propagated from a light source of the lamp (lens body 14 includes an incident surface 14b1 and a rear-side surface 14a1 through which light emitted by light-emitting element 12 is incident; see Figs. 4-6; para. [0059]-[0076]); a light-exiting part, wherein the light emitted from the light source passes through the light-entering part and then propagates externally through the light-exiting part (light exits the lens 14 from a front side surface 14b3 and a front-side surface 14a2; see Figs. 4-6; para. [0060], [0064], [0069], [0071]-[0073], [0075]); and a connection member disposed between the light-entering part and the light-exiting part and having first and second plate surfaces facing in opposite directions and respectively connected to the light-entering part and the light-exiting part (front end portion 14b2A serves as a connection between the light-entering part of the lens (surfaces 14a1 and 14b1) and the light-exiting part (surfaces 14b3 and 14a2) and has plate surfaces at outer edges thereof facing in opposite directions; see Figs. 4-6; par. [0076]); wherein the connection member has a periphery protruding outwardly, the periphery of the connecting member being larger than that of the light-entering part and the light-exiting part (the connecting member 14b2A has a periphery protruding outwardly relative to the lens 14 to be wider than both the light-entering part of the lens (surfaces 14a1 and 14b1) and the light-exiting part (surfaces 14b3 and 14a2); see Figs. 5-6; par. [0076]), and the lamp further comprises a lens holder on which the periphery of the connection member is seated (a lens holder 18 is provided to hold the lens 14 and includes a groove for seating the connection member 14b2A; see Fig. 4; par. [0062]).
Therefore, in view of Nakaya, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the vehicle lamp of Mandl, as modified by Han by providing a lens holder for the periphery of the connection member to be seated on. One would have been motivated to further modify the known vehicle lamp of Mandl by providing a lens holder for the periphery of the connection member to be seated on, as taught by Nakaya, in order to provide a housing structure for the lens to protect the lens and the light source from damage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 3, the claim is allowable because it has been rewritten in independent form to include all the limitations of the base Claim 1 and intervening Claim 2, and is therefore allowable for the same reasons previously discussed in Section 18 on pgs. 14-15 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 3/11/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, since the newly presented limitation that “the plurality of facets respectively have a plurality of plane surfaces protruding from the emergent surfaces at staggered heights” is addressed by the teachings of Han (US 2023/0258311).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM N HARRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875