Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2022125675A1 (WO’675).
Regarding claim 1, WO’675 discloses a wet co-pellet of silica and/or Silicon-treated carbon black and/or at least one additional filler can be charged to the mixer. A blend of silica and/or Silicon-treated carbon black and/or at least one additional filler can be pelletized. The at least one additional filler can be graphene. See [0052] and [0057]. The carbon black can be a furnace black, a gas black, a thermal black, an acetylene black, or a lamp black, a plasma black, a recovered carbon black (e.g., as defined in ASTM D8178-19), or a carbon product containing silicon-containing species, and/or metal containing species and the like. See [0068].
Regarding claims 2-3, WO’675 discloses that the at least one additional filler can be present in an amount of from 1% to 5% by weight. See [0060].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4- 7is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022125675A1 (WO’675) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ES2725319A1.
WO’675 discloses a wet co-pellet of silica and/or Silicon-treated carbon black and/or at least one additional filler can be charged to the mixer. A blend of silica and/or Silicon-treated carbon black and/or at least one additional filler can be pelletized. The at least one additional filler can be graphene. See [0052] and [0057]. The carbon black can be a furnace black, a gas black, a thermal black, an acetylene black, or a lamp black, a plasma black, a recovered carbon black (e.g., as defined in ASTM D8178-19), or a carbon product containing silicon-containing species, and/or metal containing species and the like. See [0068].
But it silent about the graphene characters as applicant set forth in the claims.
ES2725319A1 discloses that the graphene materials having an average number of layers between 1 and 30 and a high aspect ratio (100-900000) can provide the following properties: a) Improved impact resistance b) Elongation improvement; c) Improvement of the flow rate. Graphene materials have a very high aspect ratio, because their thickness is very low, being between 0.35 nm. See claim 1 and page 4, lines 10-12. For graphene material having 2 layers, the thickness is about 0.7nm.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the graphene having the claimed property motivated by the fact that ES2725319A1 discloses that the use of graphene materials of high aspect ratio (100-900000) and having an average number of layers between 1 and 30, can provide the following properties: a) Improved impact resistance b) Elongation improvement; c) Improvement of the flow rate. Graphene materials have a very high aspect ratio, because their thickness is very low, being between 0.35 nm. See claim 1 and page 4, lines 10-12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the filler used in WO'675 must contain silica and the present teaching does not contain silica as the filler.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004)
The applicant argues that the present teaching describes only carbon black co-pelletized with graphene.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., only carbon black co-pelletized with graphene) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The applicant argues that WO'675 describes the direct addition of graphene to the polymer mixer (free addition). In contrast to WO'675 the present teaching claims the addition of carbon black co-pelletized graphene into the polymer mixer instead of separate addition.
The Examiner respectfully submits that WO’675 discloses a blend of silica and/or Silicon-treated carbon black and/or at least one additional filler can be pelletized in the presence of water. See [0052] and [0057]. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The applicant argues that the present teaching does not involve wetting agents, pre-treatment, or adjustment of mixing procedures to enable its adaptation. It is a drop- in regarding existing rubber compound manufacturing procedures. It does not include plastics or thermoplastic polymers or such materials. It does not include functionalization of any other chemical modifications to compounding materials.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004). In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The applicant argues that the data tables in the present teaching, co-pelletization allows superior properties compared to free addition of graphene.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the WO’675 discloses a wet co-pellet of silica and/or Silicon-treated carbon black and/or at least one additional filler can be charged to the mixer. A blend of silica and/or Silicon-treated carbon black and/or at least one additional filler can be pelletized. The at least one additional filler can be graphene. See [0052] and [0057]. The Examiner respectfully submits that the applicant must compare the instant application with the closest art. Evidence of unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the subject matter claimed. In re Linder 173 USPQ 356. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside (i.e. as well as the upper and lower limits) the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960). Further more any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In re Merk & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The applicant argues that ES'319 failed to use co-pelletized carbon black with graphene.
The Examiner respectfully submits that ES2725319A1is used to show the graphene characters as applicant set forth in the claims. ES2725319A1 discloses that the graphene materials having an average number of layers between 1 and 30 and a high aspect ratio (100-900000) can provide the following properties: a) Improved impact resistance b) Elongation improvement; c) Improvement of the flow rate. Graphene materials have a very high aspect ratio, because their thickness is very low, being between 0.35 nm. See claim 1 and page 4, lines 10-12. For graphene material having 2 layers, the thickness is about 0.7 nm.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731