Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2022125675A1 (WO’675).
Regarding claim 1, WO’675 discloses a wet co-pellet of silicon-treated carbon black and at least one additional filler. A blend of silicon-treated carbon black and at least one additional filler can be pelletized. The at least one additional filler can be graphene. See [0051-0052] and [0057]. The carbon black can be a furnace black, a gas black, a thermal black, an acetylene black, or a lamp black, a plasma black, a recovered carbon black (e.g., as defined in ASTM D8178-19), or a carbon product containing silicon-containing species, and/or metal containing species and the like. See [0068].
Regarding claims 2-3, WO’675 discloses that the at least one additional filler can be present in an amount of from 1% to 5% by weight. See [0060].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4- 7is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2022125675A1 (WO’675) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ES2725319A1.
WO’675 discloses a wet co-pellet of silicon-treated carbon black and at least one additional filler. A blend of silicon-treated carbon black and at least one additional filler can be pelletized. The at least one additional filler can be graphene. See [0051-0052] and [0057]. The carbon black can be a furnace black, a gas black, a thermal black, an acetylene black, or a lamp black, a plasma black, a recovered carbon black (e.g., as defined in ASTM D8178-19), or a carbon product containing silicon-containing species, and/or metal containing species and the like. See [0068].
But it silent about the graphene characters as applicant set forth in the claims.
ES2725319A1 discloses that the graphene materials having an average number of layers between 1 and 30 and a high aspect ratio (100-900000) can provide the following properties: a) Improved impact resistance b) Elongation improvement; c) Improvement of the flow rate. Graphene materials have a very high aspect ratio, because their thickness is very low, being between 0.35 nm. See claim 1 and page 4, lines 10-12. For graphene material having 2 layers, the thickness is about 0.7nm.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the graphene having the claimed property motivated by the fact that ES2725319A1 discloses that the use of graphene materials of high aspect ratio (100-900000) and having an average number of layers between 1 and 30, can provide the following properties: a) Improved impact resistance b) Elongation improvement; c) Improvement of the flow rate. Graphene materials have a very high aspect ratio, because their thickness is very low, being between 0.35 nm. See claim 1 and page 4, lines 10-12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the present teaching describes only carbon black co-pelletized with graphene.
The Examiner respectfully submits that silicon treated carbon is treated carbon black, which is still tread on carbon black.
The applicant argues that silica is very difficult to mix in rubber compounds, frequently requiring up to seven passes in a Banbury or mixer. This is compared with three to four for carbon black formulated compounds. To reduce this, special mixers using inter-meshing rotors are needed. It is still less efficient versus all carbon-black filler compounds.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the claims are drown to a product and not a process of using it. Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully submits that silicon treated carbon is treated carbon black, which is still tread on carbon black.
The applicant argues that ES'319 describes the use of graphene materials as additives in thermoplastics. ES'319 does not describe the use of carbon black. WO'675 and ES'319 together failed to use only carbon black with graphene.
The Examiner respectfully submits ES2725319A1 is used to show that the graphene materials having an average number of layers between 1 and 30 and a high aspect ratio (100-900000) can provide the following properties: a) Improved impact resistance b) Elongation improvement; c) Improvement of the flow rate. Graphene materials have a very high aspect ratio, because their thickness is very low, being between 0.35 nm. See claim 1 and page 4, lines 10-12. For graphene material having 2 layers, the thickness is about 0.7nm.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731