DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, last line, “the notch” should be changed to --said one of the notches--.
In claim 11, line 6, “the notch” should be changed to --said one of the notches--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claims 8 and 9 be found allowable, claims 14 and 15 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof, respectively. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 6, 9-10, and 13-15 are rejected (wherein claims 3 and 10 inherit their rejections due to their dependencies) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the inner wall" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, this is the first recitation of the structure, so “the” should be changed to --an--.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the first direction" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, this is the first recitation of the direction, so “the” should be changed to --a--.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the top surface of the cover" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, this is the first recitation of the structure, so “the top surface” should be changed to --a top surface--.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the inner wall" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, this is the first recitation of the structure, so “the” should be changed to --an--.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first direction" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, this is the first recitation of the direction, so “the” should be changed to --a--.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the top surface of the cover" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, this is the first recitation of the structure, so “the top surface” should be changed to --a top surface--.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the inner wall" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, this is the first recitation of the structure, so “the” should be changed to --an--.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the first direction" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, this is the first recitation of the direction, so “the” should be changed to --a--.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the socket drive" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, this is the first recitation of the structure, so “the” should be changed to --a--.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-12, and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,598,447. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim a valve-plug assembly comprising a valve comprising one or more notches and one or more circumferential grooves at least partially overlapping with said one or more respective notches, a plug comprising an inner wall, an outer wall from which one or more keys are disposed, said one or more keys sized and shaped to respectively fit within the one or more notches and respectively moved within the one or more circumferential grooves in a first direction as the plug is rotated to secure the plug to the valve, a tamper-evident pin configured to be inserted into a hole in the plug and one of the notches in the valve, wherein the tamper-evident pin is configured to break when pressed against a side wall of the notch by rotating the plug in a second direction, and a socket drive within the inner wall and comprising one or more relief so that a device can rotate the plug in a first direction, but the one or more reliefs prevent the device from rotating the plug in the second direction. ‘447 lacks claiming a cover having a substantially flat horizontal top surface; and at least one blade extending substantially perpendicular from the top surface of the cover, wherein when each of the keys in the plug is inserted into a corresponding notch in the valve, a space exists within each notch above the key and the at least one blade is sized and shaped to fit in the space within each notch above the key.
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,359,744. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim a valve-plug assembly comprising a valve comprising one or more notches and one or more circumferential grooves at least partially overlapping with said one or more respective notches, a plug comprising an inner wall, an outer wall from which one or more keys are disposed, said one or more keys sized and shaped to respectively fit within the one or more notches and respectively moved within the one or more circumferential grooves in a first direction as the plug is rotated to secure the plug to the valve, a tamper-evident pin configured to be inserted into a hole in the plug and one of the notches in the valve, wherein the tamper-evident pin is configured to break when pressed against a side wall of the notch by rotating the plug in a second direction, a socket drive within the inner wall and comprising one or more relief so that a device can rotate the plug in a first direction, but the one or more reliefs prevent the device from rotating the plug in the second direction, and a cover having a substantially flat horizontal top surface; and at least one blade extending substantially perpendicular from the top surface of the cover, wherein when each of the keys in the plug is inserted into a corresponding notch in the valve, a space exists within each notch above the key and the at least one blade is sized and shaped to fit in the space within each notch above the key.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-9, and 14-15 (as understood: 2, 9, and 14-15) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakefield (US 1,788,786).
Regarding claim 1, Wakefield discloses in Figs. 1-10 a plug 38 for a valve (comprising the contiguous housing portions 2, 3, 6, 11, 13, 66 containing valves therein comprising valves 20, 46), the plug 68 comprising: an outer wall (from which pins 77 extend); and one or more keys 77 disposed on an external surface of the outer wall; wherein said keys 77 are sized and shaped to respectively fit within one or more corresponding notches (comprising the vertical portions of “L-slots 76” that open to the top of the element 66) and one or more circumferential grooves (comprising the horizontal portions of “L-slots 76”) in the valve to secure the plug 68 to the valve.
Regarding claim 2, Wakefield discloses in Figs. 1-10 that the plug 68 further comprises a socket drive 75 disposed within the inner wall and configured to receive a device to rotate the plug 38 within the valve in the first direction.
Regarding claim 7, Wakefield discloses in Figs. 1-10 a valve-plug assembly comprising:
a valve (comprising the contiguous housing portions 2, 3, 6, 11, 13, 66 containing valves therein comprising valves 20, 46) comprising a valve body (comprising contiguous housing portions 2, 3, 6, 11, 13, 66) configured to be inserted into a well opening of a container 1, 4, an upper edge (with projections 69) having one or more notches, and one or more circumferential grooves at least partially overlapping with said one or more respective notches; and
a plug 68 comprising an outer wall (from which pins 77 extend) and one or more keys 77 disposed on an external surface of the outer wall;
wherein the one or more keys 77 are sized and shaped to respectively fit within one or more corresponding notches (comprising the vertical portions of “L-slots 76” that opens to the top of the element 66) and the one or more circumferential grooves (comprising the horizontal portions of the “L-slots 78” in the valve) to secure the plug 68 to the valve;
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Wakefield discloses in Figs. 1-10 that the valve further comprises a threaded portion 3 configured to engage a threaded portion 4 of the well opening of the container 1, 4.
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Wakefield discloses in Figs. 1-10 that the plug 68 further comprises a socket drive 75 disposed within the inner wall and configured to receive a device to rotate the plug 38 within the valve in the first direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 10 (as understood: both) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakefield in view of Sudo et al. (US 5,765,980).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Wakefield discloses a socket drive 75, as previously discussed, but lacks teaching that the socket drive comprises one or more reliefs configured to prevent the device from rotating the plug within the valve in a second direction.
Sudo teaches in Figs. 6-8 a socket drive 11 disposed within the inner wall of a fastener and configured to receive a device to rotate the lid fastener a first direction, wherein the socket drive 11 comprises one or more reliefs 14 configured to prevent the device from rotating the fastener in a second direction (col. 7, lines 23-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the socket drive disclosed in Wakefield to be formed within a centralized inner wall of the plug and comprise one or more reliefs to prevent the device from rotating the plug in a second direction so that the plug can only be loosened by a special tool, as Sudo teaches (col. 7, lines 44-45). In other words, the plug is more resistant to tampering by unauthorized people.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 11-12 would be allowable if the double patenting rejection(s) were overcome by amendments or filing of the proper terminal disclaimer and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6 and 13 would be allowable if the double patenting rejection(s) were overcome by amendments or filing of the proper terminal disclaimer and if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The prior art fails to disclose or render obvious, in combination with the other limitations recited:
regarding claims 4 and 11, a tamper-evident pin configured to be inserted into the hole and said one of the notches in the valve, and the tamper-evident pin is configured to break when pressed against a side wall of the notch by rotating the plug in a second direction; and
regarding claims 6 and 13, a cover having a substantially flat horizontal top surface; and at least one blade extending substantially perpendicular from the top surface of the cover, wherein when each of the keys in the plug is inserted into a corresponding notch in the valve, a space exists within each notch above the key and the at least one blade is sized and shaped to fit in the space within each notch above the key.
Conclusion
/J. W./
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753