DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: “a first protrusion and a first protrusion” is redundant and is suggested to read as “a first protrusion and a second protrusion,” which is more consistent with antecedent bases for later (e.g., Claims 8 and 12). Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,410,901 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application and patent commonly recite the same limitations to the lighting device with the exception that the limitations are in different claim combinations [see chart below].
U.S. Application 19/244,146
U.S. Patent 12,410,901 B2
Claims 1 and 15
(note optical lens found in Claim 15)
Claim 1 // Claim 7
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 11
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Labas (U.S. Patent 11,255,496 B2).
With regards to Claim 1, Labas discloses a lighting device [Figures 1-4] including:
A lighting module including a substrate [(36) // (10)] having a length in a second direction longer than a width in a first direction [note Figures 1-3], a plurality of light source [(30) // (8)] arranged in the second direction on the substrate, a light guide portion [(26) // (6)] disposed on the substrate and the light sources; and
A reflective member [e.g., (24) or (24, 40) // (4) – Column 7, Lines 23-24, 51-55] including an insertion hole [note Figures 2-3 – where (26) // (6) is inserted] in which the light guide portion is disposed, and a reflective portion to both sides of the insertion hole and covering both sides of the light guide portion [note Figures 2-3: (24) // (4) is on both sides of (26) // (6)],
Wherein the light guide portion and the insertion hole have a width in the first direction smaller than a length direction in the second direction [note Figures 1-4], and
Wherein an upper end of the reflective portion is positioned higher than an upper end of the light guide portion [note Figures 1-3: upper end of (24) // (4) are higher than the upper end of (26) / (6)].
With regards to Claim 2, Labas discloses a diffusion layer (42) that diffuses light on the light guide portion, wherein an upper end of the diffusion layer is positioned higher than the upper end of the reflective portion [note Figures 2-3: middle portion of (42) is higher than (24)].
With regards to Claim 3, Labas discloses a width of a lower surface of the diffusion layer (42) in the first direction is the same as a width of an upper surface of the light guide portion (26) in the first direction [note Figures 2-4].
With regards to Claim 4, Labas discloses a length of the lower surface of the diffusion layer (42) in the second direction is the same as a length of the upper surface of the light guide portion (26) in the second direction [note Figures 2-4].
With regards to Claim 5, Labas discloses the width of the lower surface of the diffusion layer (42) in the first direction is larger than a width of an upper surface of the diffusion layer [note Figures 2-3: upper surface defined to be the middle semicircular portion of (42) as broadly interpreted].
With regards to Claim 6, Labas discloses the diffusion layer (42) including a first region (arbitrary, relative) at a lower portion thereof, and a second region (arbitrary, relative) disposed on the first region and having a width smaller than a width of the first region [note Figures 2-3: upper surface/region defined to be the middle semicircular portion of (42) as broadly interpreted].
With regards to Claim 7, Labas discloses the reflective member (24) including a first protrusion and a (first) second protrusion [note Figures 2-3: (40) or bottom (22)] protruding inwardly from upper ends on both sides of the insertion hole [note Figures 2-3].
With regards to Claim 8, Labas discloses the first protrusion and the second protrusion [note Figures 2-3: (40) or bottom (22)] overlap in a vertical direction with the light guide portion (26), wherein the vertical direction is a direction from the substrate toward the light guide portion [note Figures 2-3].
With regards to Claim 9, Labas discloses a minimum distance between the first protrusion and the second protrusion [note Figures 2-3: (40) or bottom (22)] in the first direction being smaller than a width of an upper surface of the light guide portion [note Figures 2-3: (26) is larger].
With regards to Claim 10, Labas discloses the reflective member (24, 40) overlaps with the substrate (36) in a vertical direction from the substrate toward the light guide portion [note Figure 3].
With regards to Claim 11, Labas discloses a diffusion layer (14) that diffuses light on the light guide portion (6), wherein the reflective member includes a first protrusion and a (first) second protrusion that protrude inwardly from upper ends of both sides of the insertion hole [note Figures 1A-B: (4) has inward first and second protrusions on both sides of the insertion hole], and wherein the diffusion layer (14) is disposed between the first protrusion and the second protrusion [note Figures 1A-B].
With regards to Claim 13, Labas discloses the first and second protrusion [note Figures 1A-B: (4) has inward first and second protrusions on both sides of the insertion hole] overlap in a vertical direction with the light guide portion (6), and wherein the vertical direction is a direction from the substrate (10) toward the light guide portion [note Figures 1A-B].
With regards to Claim 14, Labas discloses a thickness of the diffusion layer (14) is smaller than a thickness of the light guide portion (6), wherein the thickness of the light guide portion (6) is larger than a width of the light guide portion in the first direction [note Figures 1A-B: the lower thickness (6) is larger than a width of the light guide portion, as broadly interpreted], and wherein an area of an upper surface of the diffusion layer (14) is smaller than an area of a lower surface of the light guide portion (6) [note Figures 1A-B].
With regards to Claim 15, Labas discloses an optical lens (42) spaced from an upper surface of the light guide portion (26), wherein an upper surface of the light sources (30) is positioned higher than a lower surface of the light guide portion [note Figure 2].
With regards to Claim 16, Labas discloses a width of the substrate (36) in the first direction is larger than a width of a lower surface of the light guide portion [arbitrary, relative with regards to the “portion” of (26)].
With regards to Claim 17, Labas discloses the reflective member (24) includes a first recess (46) in which the substrate (36) is received at a lower portion of the reflective member [note Figure 3].
With regards to Claim 18, Labas discloses a housing [e.g., (18)] disposed under the reflective member (4) and the substrate (10) [note Figure 1B: (18) is under the protrusions of (4) and substrate (10)].
With regards to Claim 19, Labas discloses the housing (18) horizontally overlaps with lower portions of both sides of the reflective member (4) [note Figure 1B].
With regards to Claim 20, Labas discloses the housing (18) having both side extension portions (broad, relative) that contact or is coupled with the lower portions of both sides of the reflective member (4), wherein the both side extension portions of the housing vertically overlap with the lower portions of both sides of the reflective member [note Figure 1B: (18) overlaps with (4)], and wherein the vertical direction is a direction from the substrate toward the light guide portion (6) [note Figure 1B].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labas (U.S. Patent 11,255,496 B2).
With regards to Claim 12, Labas discloses the claimed invention as cited above, but does not specifically teach a minimum distance between the first protrusion and the second protrusion is smaller than a width of a lower surface of the diffusion layer and larger than a width of an upper surface of the diffusion layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have changed the shape of the reflective member such that the minimum distance between the first protrusion and the second protrusion is smaller than a width of a lower surface of the diffusion layer and larger than a width of an upper surface of the diffusion layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker that mere change of form or shape of an invention involves only routine skill in the art [In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) – MPEP 2144.05]. In this case, changing the shape of the reflective member such that the minimum distance between the first protrusion and the second protrusion is smaller than a width of a lower surface of the diffusion layer and larger than a width of an upper surface of the diffusion layer would alter the illumination, or to change the aesthetic appeal of the lighting device, as desired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, but is not considered exhaustive: U.S. Patent 6,074,074 to Marcus that teaches a lighting device with a width smaller than a length of the device [note Figures 1-17].
Tuesday, December 23, 2025
/Jason M Han/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875