DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,361,467. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims recite subject matter that ranges from equivalent limitations to slightly broader versions of other limitations. The patent also includes additional limitations not present in the current claims. The variations between present independent method claim 1 claim and patented system claim 1, for example, are indicated below with standard markings indicating changes (please note: variations due to difference in statutory class are not marked)
“receive, from a client application executing on a mobile device of a user by [[at]] a server application executing in a cloud computing environment, data indicating that an item has been added to an item list of a user; identify, [[at]] by the server application, a uniform resource locator (URL) associated with the item and passing the URL to a web crawler module of the server application stored in [[the]] a hardware storage device of the cloud computing
environment; execute, [[at]] by the server application, a web crawling operation using the web crawler module to access and retrieve content from a webpage identified by the URL; execute, [[at]] by the server application, an information extraction algorithm stored in the hardware storage device based information and image-based information from the content of the webpage; execute, [[at]] by the server application, a natural language processing (NLP) model to generate
text describing the item based on the extracted text-based information and the extracted image-based information, wherein generating the text further comprises: determining, an item category of the item, and determining, item information describing the item; store, in a database coupled to the server application, the item category and the item information describing the item; execute, [[at]] by the server application, a query [[a]] against the database using the item category and the item information of the item as parameters to retrieve a plurality of item based on shared characteristics between the item and the plurality of items, by the server application, plurality of items display to the user through the mobile device of the user the mobile device, the list of proposed items for display on the mobile device; in response to detecting, [[at]] by the server application, that a second item has been added to the item list, execute a second query against the database to identify a recipe for which the item and the second item are linked; in response to the identification of the recipe, modify, [[at]] by the server application, the list of proposed items to include remaining items that are included in the identified recipe; and transmit, from the server application to the client application, the modified list of proposed items for display on the mobile device.” Changes from U.S. Patent No. 12,361,467, claim 1 to application serial no. 19/244,157, claim 1.
As can be seen from a review of the above, while substantive limitations from the patented parent have been removed from the present claim, additions to the present claim largely replace recitations from the parent with either semantic modifications or broader versions of similar subject matter. A review of the dependent claims produces a similar conclusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) (step 1). If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea) (step 2A), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception (step 2B). Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 189 L. Ed. 2d 296, 2014 U.S. LEXIS 4303, 110 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1976, 82 U.S.L.W. 4508, 24 Fla. L. Weekly Fed. S 870, 2014 WL 2765283 (U.S. 2014); MPEP 2106.
Step 1:
In the instant case claims 1-9 are directed to a process, claims 10-18 are directed to a manufacture, and claims 19-20 are directed to a machine. All claims are therefore within statutory categories. See MPEP 2106.03, Eligibility Step 1.
Step 2A, Prong 1:
These claims also recite, inter alia,
“receiving, from a client application … of a user by a server application executing in a cloud computing environment, data indicating that an item has been added to an item list of a user; identifying, by the server application, a uniform source locater (URL) associated with the item and passing the URL to a web crawler module of the server application stored in a … cloud computing environment; executing, by the server application, a web crawling operation using the web crawler module to access and retrieve content from a webpage identified by the URL; executing, by the server application, an information extraction algorithm … to extract text-based information and image-based information from the content of the webpage; executing, by the server application, a natural language processing model to generate text describing the item based on the extracted text-based information and the extracted image-based information, wherein generating the text further comprises: determining an item category of the item and determining item information describing the item; storing, in a database coupled to the server application, the item category and the item information describing the item; executing, by the server application, a query against the database using the item category and the item information of the item as parameters to retrieve a plurality of item based on shared characteristics between the item and the plurality of items; applying, by the server application, a filter to the plurality of items to generate a list of proposed items for display to the user …; transmitting, from the server application to a client application …, the list of proposed items for display …; in response to detecting, by the server application, that a second item has been added to the item list, executing a second query against the database to identify a recipe for which the item and the second item are linked; in response to the identification of the recipe, modifying, by the server application, the list of proposed items to include remaining items that are included in the identified recipe; and transmitting, from the server application to the client application, the modified list of proposed items for display”. Claim 1.
With recited additional elements reserved for consideration alone and all together combined with their recited role(s) in the claim under step 2A prong two, a careful analysis of the remaining limitations above results in the conclusion that each on its own recites an abstract idea and in combination they simply recite a more detailed abstract idea. The recited abstract idea falls within the grouping of abstract ideas described as mental processes such as concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, or judgment) and certain methods of organizing human activity, for example commercial interactions (including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors). See MPEP 2106.04(a); Eligibility Step 2A1. The claims must therefore be analyzed under the second prong of Eligibility Step 2 (Step 2A2; MPEP 2106.04(d)).
Step 2A, Prong 2:
In order to address prong 2 (MPEP 2106.04(d), Eligibility Step2A2) we must identify whether there are any additional elements beyond the abstract ideas and determine whether those additional elements (if there are any) integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. MPEP 2106.04(d), Eligibility Step 2A2. The additional elements in the present claims are a mobile device and a hardware storage device. Claims 10-20 also include a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations, and claims 19-20 further include a processor. The “server application executing in a cloud computing environment” is understood as transitory software. It is an abstraction.
The additional elements have been considered individually, in combination, and altogether as a whole together with the functions they perform, e.g., the mobile device is essentially a communication node standing in for a user. Information is received from it, transmitted to it, and displayed on it. The hardware storage device is a passive data storage device storing a web crawler module and an information extraction algorithm, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations, and the processor of claims 10-20 and 19-20 respectively, are broadly and generally recited as performing all steps, including implementing the server application, in terms of intended results of functionally nonspecific and abstractly recited activities. These additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because they amount to no more than mere conceptual instructions to apply an exception using generic components. The claims are almost entirely a recitation of abstract ideas. Claims 1-9 do not include even generic components implementing the idea. The substantive process is recited only by descriptions of abstract intended results of steps without indicating any particular functional acts performed by any device or structural element to perform the steps or otherwise obtain the intended results. The additional elements do not improve the functioning of any computer or other technology or technical field, they do not apply the judicial exception with or by use of a particular machine, they do not transform or reduce a particular article to a different state or thing, and they fail to apply or use the judicial exception beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05.
If the disclosure describes any improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field this improvement would need to be identifiable as the subject matter appearing in the claims. An indication that the claimed invention provides an improvement can include a discussion in the specification that identifies technical improvements realized by the claim over the prior art. The disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. MPEP 2106.05(a).
Claim limitations can integrate a judicial exception into a practical application by implementing the judicial exception with or using it in conjunction with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim. A general purpose computer that applies a judicial exception by use of generic computer functions does not qualify as a particular machine. Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, (Fed. Cir. 2014); MPEP 2106.05(b),(f). There are no particular machines or manufactures identified in the present claims.
The claims do not affect the transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. Changing to a different state or thing means more than simply using an article or changing the location of an article. A new or different function or use can be evidence that an article has been transformed. Purely mental processes in which data, thoughts, impressions, or human based actions are "changed" are not considered a transformation. MPEP 2106.05(c).
The claims do not apply or use the judicial exception in any other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. As a result the claim as a whole appears to be a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. MPEP 2106.05(e),(h).
The additional elements have not been found to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B:
Although the additional elements have not been found to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application the claims could still be eligible if they recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (“significantly more” than the judicial exception). MPEP 2106.05, Eligibility Step 2B.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the sparse additional elements of the claim are mere props supporting instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer. MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims invoke computers or other machinery merely as tools to perform an abstract process. Simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not provide significantly more. MPEP 2106.05(f)(2); see also OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 2015 U.S. App. LEXIS 9721, 115 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1090 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (“relying on a computer to perform routine tasks more quickly or more accurately is insufficient to render a claim patent eligible.”). The elements fail to present a technical solution to a technical problem created by the use of the surrounding technology. Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself. See Ret. Capital Access Mgmt. Co. v. U.S. Bancorp, 611 Fed. Appx. 1007, 2015 U.S. App. LEXIS 14351 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (“It may be very clever; it may be very useful in a commercial context, but they are still abstract ideas,” said Circuit Judge Alan Lourie.). MPEP 2106.05(h).
Finally, it is reiterated that the remaining dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20, do not contribute any additional elements other than those already discussed and do not add "significantly more" to establish eligibility because they merely recite additional abstract ideas that further describe the calculations and identification of data used in implementing the abstract idea. A more detailed abstract idea is still abstract. PricePlay.com, Inc. v. AOL Adver., Inc., 627 Fed. Appx. 925, 2016 U.S. App. LEXIS 611, 2016 WL 80002 (Fed. Cir. Jan. 7, 2016) (in addressing a bundle of abstract ideas stacked together during oral argument, U.S. Circuit Judge Kimberly Moore said, "All of these ideas are abstract…. It’s like you want a patent because you combined two abstract ideas and say two is better than one.").
All of the above leads to the conclusion that additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the claimed subject matter into significantly more than an abstract idea. MPEP 2106.05; Eligibility Step 2B. As a result the claims are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter because they recite an abstract idea without being directed to a practical application, and they do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP 2106.05, supra..
The preceding analysis applies to all statutory categories of invention. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are rejected as ineligible for patenting under 35 USC 101 based upon the same analysis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PERRIER et al. (International Publication Number WO 2010/051642 A1) in view of Bacharach et al. (ES 3074752 T3).
Perrier teaches, a) receiving an item on a list, b) determining additional items from that item, c) determining a plurality of item combinations including two selected items, and d) presenting the additional items in that combination, and discloses regarding
Claim 1. A method comprising: ● receiving, from a client application executing on a mobile device of a user by a server application executing in a cloud computing environment, data indicating that an item has been added to an item list of a user (see at least PERRIER abstract “receiving, at a server, information identifying at least one food item,” ¶0009 “receiving, at a server, information identifying at least one food item; … a plurality of food items including the food item identified by the received information,” ¶0110 “Once the shopping list is retrieved, the consumer has the opportunity to add, remove or edit items on the shopping list”);
● executing, by the server application, a query against the database using the item category and the item information of the item as parameters to retrieve a plurality of item based on shared characteristics between the item and the plurality of items (see at least PERRIER fig. 2A, ¶0131 “servers may further store, or have access to data associating the ingredients of the recipes with certain products in order to assist the customer during the shopping experience. These products that are associated with the ingredients may be store brand products, name brand products, etc.,” . Note: identification of the ingredient is item information and categories are “store brand,” “name brand”.); ● applying, by the server application, a filter to the plurality of items to generate a list of proposed items for display to the user through the mobile device of the user (see at least PERRIER abstract “applying, at the server, the accessed set of meal combination rules to a plurality of food items, determining, at the server, at least one meal combination including a plurality of food items including the food item identified by the received information, and transmitting the determined at least one meal combination from the server to a computing device for display”); ● transmitting, from the server application to a client application executing on the mobile device, the list of proposed items for display on the mobile device (see at least PERRIER abstract “applying, at the server, the accessed set of meal combination rules to a plurality of food items, determining, at the server, at least one meal combination including a plurality of food items including the food item identified by the received information, and transmitting the determined at least one meal combination from the server to a computing device for display”); ● in response to detecting, by the server application, that a second item has been added to the item list, executing a second query against the database to identify a recipe for which the item and the second item are linked (see at least PERRIER abstract “applying, at the server, the accessed set of meal combination rules to a plurality of food items, determining, at the server, at least one meal combination including a plurality of food items including the food item identified by the received information, and transmitting the determined at least one meal combination from the server to a computing device for display,” ¶0010 “applying the set of meal plan rules to a plurality of food items; determining a plurality of meal combinations, each of the plurality of meal combinations including a plurality of food items,” ¶0177 “ingredients of the recipes stored in memory may be search and associated with scanned items in the consumer's shopping cart. For example, if the system determines that the consumer has purchased avocado, onion, and tomato, the personal shopping device, at the direction of application servers 106, 108, 120, or 122, may prompt the consumer to purchase lemon and may further provide a recipe for guacamole”); ● in response to the identification of the recipe, modifying, by the server application, the list of proposed items to include remaining items that are included in the identified recipe (see at least PERRIER abstract “determining a plurality of meal combinations, each of the plurality of meal combinations including a plurality of food items, based on the applied set of rules, and transmitting the determined plurality of meal combinations from a server device to a computing device,” ¶094 “Upon selecting button 704, the recipe may be displayed together with a shopping list of the ingredients that are needed to make the dish,” ¶0129 “Upon selection of a recipe, the ingredients of the recipe may be placed on the consumer's interactive shopping list”); and ● transmitting, from the server application to the client application, the modified list of proposed items for display on the mobile device (see at least PERRIER abstract “transmitting the determined at least one meal combination from the server to a computing device for display,” ¶0010 “transmitting the determined plurality of meal combinations from a server device to a computing device,” ¶094 “recipe may be displayed together with a shopping list of the ingredients that are needed to make the dish”).
Perrier teaches all of the above and discloses a) receiving an item on a list, b) determining additional items from that item, c) determining a plurality of item combinations including two selected items, and d) presenting the additional items in that combination, as noted, but does not explicitly disclose identifying, by the server application, a uniform source locater (URL) associated with the item and passing the URL to a web crawler module of the server application stored in a hardware storage device of the cloud computing environment; executing, by the server application, a web crawling operation using the web crawler module to access and retrieve content from a webpage identified by the URL; executing by the server application an information extraction algorithm stored in the hardware storage device to extract text-based information and image-based information from the content of the webpage; executing, by the server application, a natural language processing model to generate text describing the item based on the extracted text-based information and the extracted image-based information, wherein generating the text further comprises: determining an item category of the item and determining item information describing the item; and storing, in a database coupled to the server application, the item category and the item information describing the item.
Bacharach also teaches a) receiving an item on a list, b) determining additional items from that item, c) determining a plurality of item combinations including two selected items, and d) presenting the additional items in that combination, and further discloses
● identifying, by the server application, a uniform source locater (URL) associated with the item and passing the URL to a web crawler module of the server application stored in a hardware storage device of the cloud computing environment (see at least Bacharach ¶0039 “the data can be extracted from a web page that presents the item and information about the item”); ● executing, by the server application, a web crawling operation using the web crawler module to access and retrieve content from a webpage identified by the URL (see at least Bacharach ¶0039 “the data can be extracted from a web page that presents the item and information about the item”);
● executing, by the server application, an information extraction algorithm stored in the hardware storage device to extract text-based information and image-based information from the content of the webpage (see at least Bacharach ¶0039 “data can be extracted from the web page that lists the item along with information about the item. … Process 100 can use any suitable technique and/or tool to extract data from web pages,” ¶0040 “data may include one or more images of the item …. the data may include descriptions of the first item. … descriptions may include any suitable content, such as text”);
● executing, by the server application, a natural language processing model to generate text describing the item based on the extracted text-based information and the extracted image-based information (see at least Bacharach “process 100 can select any suitable natural language processing algorithm”), wherein generating the text further comprises: ● determining an item category of the item and determining item information describing the item (see at least Bacharach ¶¶0040-0042 “data may include descriptions of the first item. … [0042] Process 100 can select one or more models to classify the data,” ¶0044 “natural language processing algorithm(s) can … identify particular categories associated with the first article”); ● storing, in a database coupled to the server application, the item category and the item information describing the item (see at least Bacharach ¶¶0049-0050 “attributes might include … a food group category (e.g., meat, vegetable, salad, grain, and/or any other suitable food group category), …. [0050] … attributes can be stored in any suitable format. … attributes associated with a particular item can be stored in any suitable location, such as on a server”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention (for pre-AIA applications) or filing (for applications filed under the AIA ) to modify the method of Perrier to include identifying, by the server application, a uniform source locater (URL) associated with the item and passing the URL to a web crawler module of the server application stored in a hardware storage device of the cloud computing environment; executing, by the server application, a web crawling operation using the web crawler module to access and retrieve content from a webpage identified by the URL; executing by the server application an information extraction algorithm stored in the hardware storage device to extract text-based information and image-based information from the content of the webpage; executing, by the server application, a natural language processing model to generate text describing the item based on the extracted text-based information and the extracted image-based information, wherein generating the text further comprises: determining an item category of the item and determining item information describing the item; storing, in a database coupled to the server application, the item category and the item information describing the item, as taught by Bacharach since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable and would result in an improvement. This is because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such features even from a variety of technical fields into methods and systems implemented using similar technological structures (i.e., generic computer and/or network hardware such as processors, servers, etc.). In this case the areas of technical endeavor are nonetheless similar and overlapping.
Applicant has not disclosed that the added feature solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose beyond the performance of the functions they performed separately and since each element and its function are shown in the prior art the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. It would therefore have been an obvious matter of design choice to include the feature from Bacharach in the method of Perrier. Furthermore the combination solved no long felt need. Incorporating cumulative known features is additionally obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because doing so increases commercial use of a method by attracting users that previously might have chosen between one of the previously known methods.
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the database includes a user-specific interaction history for the user, and wherein the shared characteristics between the item and the plurality of items is an identification that the item and one or more of the plurality of items were both previously interacted with by the user (see at least Perrier ¶091 "application server 106 may access the customer's shopping history and determine the top, for example, eight, products the customer purchases most frequently,'' ¶0110 “system may retrieve the shopping history of the consumer to identify those items that the consumer purchases on a regular basis”).Claim 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the shared characteristics between the item and the plurality of items is a common inclusion of both the item and one or more of the plurality of items ingredients in a recipe (see at least Perrier fig. 2A, ¶0131 “data associating the ingredients of the recipes with certain products in order to assist the customer during the shopping experience”).Claim 4. The method of claim 1, wherein the database includes a group interaction history detailing interactions previously made by a group of users, and wherein the shared characteristics between the item and the plurality of items is an identification that the item and one or more of the plurality of items were previously interacted with by a threshold number of users included in the group of users, as detailed by the group interaction history (see at least Perrier ¶0103 “manufacturer may be able to set thresholds … that out of 100 customers viewing the advertisement, 30 customers must purchase the advertised item,” ¶0200 “categories may be based upon predetermined thresholds based on the number of times a customer shops, and how much money is spent during each shopping trip. … reports may be generated to determine if customers are moving from one category to another as time progresses”).Claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein the item information of the item includes a manufacturer of the item or a granular type of the item within the item category (see at least Perrier ¶0036 “category information that describes the type of product … incentives may be submitted to be provided to a customer, within system 100, by manufacturer,” ¶0072 “date, type, quantity, price, etc, of products purchased, click-though data, advertisements viewed, date, time and cart path of shopping trip, entry time and exit time of each zone during each shopping trip, etc.”. Please note: the claim language consisting of a series of optional or alternative limitations separated by “or” does not result in further limitation beyond a single alternative because beyond the presence of any single alternative it merely represents contingencies that are not required. Applicant is reminded that optional or conditional elements do not narrow the claims because they can always be omitted. See e.g. MPEP §2111.04 "Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure."; and In re Johnston, 435 F.3d 1381,77 USPQ2d 1788, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2006) ("As a matter of linguistic precision, optional elements do not narrow the claim because they can always be omitted.").).Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein the database links the item to the plurality of items based on one or more of: ● a common recipe listing the item and one or more of the plurality of items, a nutrient correlation between the item and the one or more of the plurality of items, or a proximity of the item to the one or more of the plurality of items within a physical store (see at least Perrier ¶¶079 “information about each of the products included in the shopping establishment, including a specific location of the product within the zone, descriptive information relating to the product”. Please note: see previous comment concerning optional or alternative limitations.).Claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein the list of proposed items is displayed in a graphical user interface that allows the user to add items to the item list (see at least Perrier ¶0129 "The recipes may be searched wherein the customer provides one or more products that may be included in the recipe .... Upon selection of a recipe, the ingredients of the recipe may be placed on the consumer's interactive shopping list”).Claim 9. The method of claim 1, wherein the filter applied to the plurality of items is based on user preferences of the user (see at least Perrier ¶0035 “product preferences (e.g., preference for name or national brand or generic brand, vegetarian, vegan, kosher, etc.), etc,” ¶0145 “rules may be accessed or determined in accordance with customer's previously stored personal preferences and/or personal information. For example, if the customer does not like lima beans, the meal(s)/meal plan(s) provided to the customer will not include lima beans”).
Pertaining to computer readable medium claims 10-18 and system claims 19-20
Rejection of claims 10-18 and 19-20 is based on the same rationale noted above. In addition Perrier teaches regarding
Claim 10. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations (see at least Perrier title).Claim 19. A computer system comprising: ● a processor, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations (see at least Perrier title, ¶027 “Methods, systems, apparatus and computer-readable mediums, storing program(s) executed by a processor”).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PERRIER et al. (International Publication Number WO 2010/051642 A1) in view of Bacharach et al. (ES 3074752 T3) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Belvin (Patent No.: US 9,165,320 B1).
PERRIER in view of Bacharach teaches all of the above as noted. It teaches, a) receiving an item on a list, b) determining additional items from that item, c) determining a plurality of item combinations including two selected items, d) presenting the additional items in that combination, and e) executing an information extraction algorithm, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the information extraction algorithm further comprises optical character recognition to extract text from images.
Belvin also teaches a) receiving an item on a list, b) determining additional items from that item, c) determining a plurality of item combinations including two selected items, d) presenting the additional items in that combination, and e) executing an information extraction algorithm, and Belvin further discloses regarding
Claim 7. The method of claim 1, wherein the information extraction algorithm further comprises optical character recognition to extract text from images (see at least Belvin c14:30-40 “the algorithm use optical character recognition (OCR) to process the labels (e.g. packaging labels, sticker labels, etc .) of the food items in a picture. Through processing the text of the labels, the algorithm can identify the specific food items in a picture”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention (for pre-AIA applications) or filing (for applications filed under the AIA ) to modify the method of PERRIER in view of Bacharach to include wherein the information extraction algorithm further comprises optical character recognition to extract text from images, as taught by Belvin since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable and would result in an improvement. This is because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such features even from a variety of technical fields into methods and systems implemented using similar technological structures (i.e., generic computer and/or network hardware such as processors, servers, etc.). In this case the areas of technical endeavor are nonetheless similar and overlapping.
Applicant has not disclosed that the added feature solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose beyond the performance of the functions they performed separately and since each element and its function are shown in the prior art the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. It would therefore have been an obvious matter of design choice to include the feature from Belvin in the method of PERRIER in view of Bacharach. Furthermore the combination solved no long felt need. Incorporating cumulative known features is additionally obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because doing so increases commercial use of a method by attracting users that previously might have chosen between one of the previously known methods.
Pertaining to computer readable medium claim 18
Rejection of claim 18 is based on the same rationale noted above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
● Bhattacharjee, Patent No.: US 11,315,164 B2: teaches complementarity of a collection of items with each other (recipe).
● Fung et al., Pub. No.: US 2015/0088692 A1: teaches gathering items required to perform a task. Discloses receiving two item descriptions, determining tasks performed using those two items, identifying additional items used to perform the task, and adding those additional items to a shopping list.
/ADAM L LEVINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689 September 28, 2026