DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to application 19/244,203 filed on 6/20/2025.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending in this application.
The examiner notes the IDS(s) filed on 4/7/2026 and 7/13/2026 has been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,724,916. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12,724,916:
The examiner notes that claim 1, and representative independent claim(s) 10 and 19, of U.S. patent No. 12,724,916 anticipates, more specifically:
A method comprising: storing a table in a first account of a multi-tenant network-based data system, the table having a first row level security policy attached, the table and the first row level security policy being stored independently; sharing, by the first account, the table with the attached first row level security policy with a second account in the multi-tenant network-based data system, the first row level security policy limiting at least one row from being accessible to the second account; receiving, from a first user associated with the second account, a query relating to the table; generating parameters for executing the query, at least one timestamp-related function of the parameters being associated with the first account, wherein the at least one timestamp-related function is derived from a first session parameter of the first account and not derived from a second session parameter of the first user associated with the second account to prevent the second user from changing session parameters to circumvent the first row level security policy; generating, by at least one server of the network-based data system, a plan to execute the query based on the parameters, the plan including a set of operators arranged to not reveal information restricted by the first row level security policy; and executing, by one or more execution nodes assigned by the at least one server, the plan to generate a result for the query.
The examiner notes that the features emphasized above anticipate what is claimed in the limitations of claim 1, representative independent claim(s) 10 and 19 of the Instant Application.
Therefore, the claims are rejected under nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,135,815. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12,135,815:
The examiner notes that claim 1, and representative independent claim(s) 10 and 19, of U.S. patent No. 12,135,815 anticipates, more specifically:
A method comprising: storing a table in a first account of a multi-tenant network-based data system, the table having a first row level security policy attached, the table and the first row level security policy being stored independently; sharing, by the first account, the table with the attached first row level security policy with a second account in the multi-tenant network-based data system, the first row level security policy limiting at least one row from being accessible to the second account; attaching a second row level security policy to the shared table by the second account, the second row level security policy being stored independently of the table; receiving a query relating to the table; generating, by at least one server of the network-based data system, a plan to execute the query, the plan including a set of operators and arranging a first operator over a second operator of the set of operators to not reveal information restricted by the first row level security policy or the second row level security policy; and executing, by one or more execution nodes assigned by the at least one server, the plan to generate a result for the query.
The examiner notes that the features emphasized above anticipate what is claimed in the limitations of claim 1, representative independent claim(s) 10 and 19 of the Instant Application.
Therefore, the claims are rejected under nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,868,502. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 11,868,502:
The examiner notes that claim 1, and representative independent claim(s) 10 and 19, of U.S. patent No. 11,868,502 anticipates, more specifically:
A method comprising: storing a first row level security policy in a network-based data system, the first row level security policy being created by a first user; storing a table in a provider account of the network-based data system, the table and the first row level security policy being stored independently; attaching the first row level security policy to the table by a second user, the second user being associated with the provider account; sharing, by the provider account, the table with the attached first row level security policy with a consumer account in the network-based data system, the first row level security policy limiting at least one row from being accessible to the consumer account; attaching a second row level security policy to the shared table by the consumer account; receiving, from a third user, a query relating to the table, the third user being associated with the consumer account; creating, by a server of the network-based data system, a plan to execute the query, the plan including a set of operators; modifying, by the server, the plan arranging a first operator over a second operator of the set of operators to not reveal information restricted by the first row level security policy or the second row level security policy; and executing the modified plan to generate a result for the query.
The examiner notes that the features emphasized above anticipate what is claimed in the limitations of claim 1, representative independent claim(s) 10 and 19 of the Instant Application.
Therefore, the claims are rejected under nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,727,139. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 11,727,139:
The examiner notes that claim 1, and representative independent claim(s) 10 and 19, of U.S. patent No. 11,727,139 anticipates, more specifically:
A method comprising: receiving, from a user associated with a consumer account, a query relating to a table stored by a provider account in at least one data storage element in a multi-tenant database system and shared by the provider account with an attached provider row level security policy, the provider row level security policy being independent of the table, including a Boolean-valued expression, and restricting at least one row from being accessible by the consumer account, wherein a consumer row level security is also attached to the table; creating, by a compute service manager, a plan to execute the query, the plan including a set of operators; determining a role of the user in the consumer account; modifying, by the compute service manager, the plan based on the provider row level security policy and consumer row level security policy corresponding to the determined role, the modified plan includes arranging a first operator over a second operator to not reveal information restricted by the provider row level security policy; assigning, by the compute service manager, a plurality of tasks to one or more execution nodes to execute the modified plan; and generating a result for the query based on execution of the assigned plurality of tasks.
The examiner notes that the features emphasized above anticipate what is claimed in the limitations of claim 1, representative independent claim(s) 10 and 19 of the Instant Application.
Therefore, the claims are rejected under nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,494,513. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 11,494,513:
The examiner notes that claim 1, and representative independent claim(s) 10 and 19, of U.S. patent No. 11,494,513 anticipates, more specifically:
A method comprising: storing a table by a provider account in at least one data storage device; attaching a provider row level security policy to the table by a first user associated with the provider account, the provider row level security policy being independent of the table and including a Boolean-valued expression; sharing the table with the attached provider row level security policy with a consumer account, the provider row level security policy limiting at least one row from being accessible to the consumer account; attaching a consumer row level security policy to the shared table; receiving, from the consumer account, a query relating to the table; creating, by a compute service manager, a plan to execute the query, the plan including a set of operators; modifying, by the compute service manager, the plan based on the provider row level security policy and consumer row level security policy, the modified plan includes arranging a first operator over a second operator to not reveal information restricted by the provider row level security policy; dividing, by the compute service manager, the modified plan into multiple discrete tasks; assigning, by the compute service manager, each of the multiple discrete tasks to one or more execution nodes; and generating a result for the query based on execution of the assigned multiple discrete tasks.
The examiner notes that the features emphasized above anticipate what is claimed in the limitations of claim 1, representative independent claim(s) 10 and 19 of the Instant Application.
Therefore, the claims are rejected under nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,397,826. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all limitations recited in claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1-18 of US Patent No. 11,397,826:
The examiner notes that claim 1, and representative independent claim(s) 7 and 13, of U.S. patent No. 11,397,826 anticipates, more specifically:
A method comprising: storing a table by a provider account in at least one data storage device; attaching a provider row level security policy to the table by a first user associated with the provider account; sharing the table with the attached provider row level security policy with a consumer account, the provider row level security policy limiting at least one row from being accessible to the consumer account; attaching a consumer row level security policy to the shared table, the consumer row level security policy restricting access based on roles in the consumer account; receiving, from a second user associated with the consumer account, a query relating to the table; creating, by a compute service manager, a plan to execute the query, the plan including a set of operators; modifying, by the compute service manager, the plan based on a role of the second user in the consumer account, the provider row level security policy, and consumer row level security policy; defining the provider row level security policy independent of the table, the provider row level security policy including a Boolean-valued expression evaluating a policy condition and returning a Boolean as a result by a third user with a security administrative rights role; prioritizing, by the computer service manager, a first operator relating to the provider row level security policy over a second operator related to the query to not reveal information restricted by the provider row level security policy; dividing, by the compute service manager, the modified plan into multiple discrete tasks; assigning, by the compute service manager, each of the multiple discrete tasks to one or more execution nodes; executing, by the one or more execution nodes, the assigned multiple discrete tasks using the table; and generating a result for the query based on the execution of the assigned multiple discrete tasks.
The examiner notes that the features emphasized above anticipate what is claimed in the limitations of claim 1, representative independent claim(s) 10 and 19 of the Instant Application.
Therefore, the claims are rejected under nonstatutory double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yalamanchi (US 2009/0199273 A1) in view of Bender (US 2008/0052291 A1).
Regarding Claim 1;
Yalamanchi discloses system comprising:
one or more processors of a machine (FIG. 6); and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (FIG. 6), cause the machine to perform operations comprising:
storing a first table in at least one data storage device in a network-based data system (FIG. 5 – Database Table 530 and [0074]-[0075] - Thus, in one example, the access control policy logic 520 is to create an access control policy 560 for the database table 530. The access control policy 560 may contain a set of access control expressions (e.g., access control expression 562, and access control expressions 564 through 568). At different points in time and/or from different points of view the access control policy 560 may or may not be associated with database table 530. Thus, in one example, row level security may be switched on/off by controlling whether access control expressions in access control policy 560 are associated with database table 530);
storing a first row level security policy separate from the first table in the network-based data system (FIG. 5 – Access Control Policy 560 w/ Access Control Expression and [0074]-[0075] - Thus, in one example, the access control policy logic 520 is to create an access control policy 560 for the database table 530. The access control policy 560 may contain a set of access control expressions (e.g., access control expression 562, and access control expressions 564 through 568). At different points in time and/or from different points of view the access control policy 560 may or may not be associated with database table 530. Thus, in one example, row level security may be switched on/off by controlling whether access control expressions in access control policy 560 are associated with database table 530);;
attaching the first row level security policy to the first table, the first row level security policy being independent of the first table (FIG. 5 – Expression Column 532 and [0074]-[0075] - Thus, in one example, the access control policy logic 520 is to create an access control policy 560 for the database table 530. The access control policy 560 may contain a set of access control expressions (e.g., access control expression 562, and access control expressions 564 through 568). At different points in time and/or from different points of view the access control policy 560 may or may not be associated with database table 530. Thus, in one example, row level security may be switched on/off by controlling whether access control expressions in access control policy 560 are associated with database table 530).
Yalamanchi fails to explicitly disclose:
replicating the first table to generate a second table, the second table being a copy of the first table; and
in response to replicating the first table, automatically attaching the first row level security policy to the second table.
However, in an analogous art, Bender teaches
replicating the first table to generate a second table, the second table being a copy of the first table (FIG. 3 – Client Computer 302 w/ Database Entitlement Program (DEP) 348 w/ and FIG. 4 – Software Development Server 402 w/ Database Entitlement Program (DEP) 348 and [0036] - DEP 348 can be downloaded to client computer 302 from software deploying server 402, shown in exemplary form in FIG. 4 and [0038] - a copy of DEP 348); and
in response to replicating the first table, automatically attaching the first row level security policy to the second table (FIG. 3 and FIG. 4 and [0020]-[0023] - With reference now to the figures, and in particular to FIG. 1a, a relational database 102, found in a database management system, is shown for communicating data to a user 106. Note, however, that the user must go through an entitlements table 104 in order to gain access to the database 102. This entitlements table 104 is autonomous from database 102, since the same entitlement table 104 may be utilized by multiple different databases 102 and [0024] - "Including" entitlement table 110, as its name suggests, shows which rows of data are expressly authorized for a particular SQLID. For example, a user having the SQLID of "MY SQLID1" is expressly authorized to access any row of data in which "Eastern" is listed as the "Division" for which the data is appropriate. Furthermore, an "including" entitlement table 110 may have multiple columns, thus indicating that user having a specific SQLID may access a row of data that has all listed entries in a row ("AND") or just one of the entries in a row ("OR"), in a manner similar to that described above for "excluding" entitlement table 108 and [0027] and [0036] and [0038]). As construed the entitlement table is attached by way of authorized access via the division column between the entitlement table and database thus permitting row level security.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bender to the table having a first row level security policy attached of Yalamanchi to include replicating the first table to generate a second table, the second table being a copy of the first table; and in response to replicating the first table, automatically attaching the first row level security policy to the second table.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bender to Yalamanchi to do so as it provides / allows to control access to a relational database through the use of reusable entitlement tables (Bender, [0002]).
Regarding Claim(s) 10; claim(s) 10 is/are directed to a/an method associated with the system claimed in claim(s) 1. Claim(s) 10 is/are similar in scope to claim(s) 1, and is/are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim(s) 19; claim(s) 19 is/are directed to a/an medium associated with the system claimed in claims(s) 1. Claim(s) 19 is/are similar in scope to claim(s) 1, and is/are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 2-5, 11-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yalamanchi (US 2009/0199273 A1) in view of Bender (US 2008/0052291 A1) and further in view of Dutta et al. (US 2005/0177570 A1).
Regarding Claim 2;
Yalamanchi discloses a method comprising:
receiving a query referencing the ... table (FIG. 1 and [0058] - For example, if the access statement was a query, then row content may be provided as a query result and [0074]-[0075] - For example, a first access control policy may be associated with database table 530 when access statements are generated by a low level manager while a second access control policy may be associated with database table 530 when access statements are generated by an executive);
executing, the... query plan, to generate results for the query (FIG. 1 and [0058] - For example, if the access statement was a query, then row content may be provided as a query result and [0074]-[0075]).
Bender further teaches the second table (FIG. 3 – Client Computer 302 w/ Database Entitlement Program (DEP) 348 w/ and FIG. 4 – Software Development Server 402 w/ Database Entitlement Program (DEP) 348 and [0036] - DEP 348 can be downloaded to client computer 302 from software deploying server 402, shown in exemplary form in FIG. 4 and [0038] - a copy of DEP 348).
Similar motivation is noted for the combination of Bender to Yalamanchi in view of Bender, as claim 1, above.
Yalamanchi in view of Bender fails to explicitly disclose:
generating, by a first server, a plan to execute the query, the plan comprising a set of operators;
modifying, by the first server, the plan based on the first row level security policy, the modified plan comprising arranging a first operator over a second operator to not reveal information restricted by the first row level security policy; and
executing the modified query plan to generate results for the query.
However, in an analogous art, Dutta teaches:
generating, by a first server, a plan to execute the query, the plan comprising a set of operators ([0047] - The query manager 210 can augment a query by grafting an expression composed of the disjunction of Boolean expressions that are granted, wherein respective expressions are conjugated with an associated security principal to whom the grant is made, and conjuncting the resultant disjunction with the conjunction of the complement of respective Boolean expressions denied, wherein respective expressions are conjuncted with a security principal to whom the deny is made and [0065] - The optimizer 210 can move expressions, including security expressions, within the received query in order to optimize performance. In general, security expressions are tagged in order to discriminate between security expressions and non-security expressions and predicate rules are utilized to define the scope of how to incorporate security expressions within a query. The predicate rules allow the optimizer 210 to pull non-security expressions above security expressions or push non-security expressions below security expressions only after ensuring that unsafe expressions cannot be utilized to return data prior to executing security expressions);
modifying, by the first server, the plan based on the first row level security policy, the modified plan comprising arranging a first operator over a second operator to not reveal information restricted by the first row level security policy ([0047] - The query manager 210 can augment a query by grafting an expression composed of the disjunction of Boolean expressions that are granted, wherein respective expressions are conjugated with an associated security principal to whom the grant is made, and conjuncting the resultant disjunction with the conjunction of the complement of respective Boolean expressions denied, wherein respective expressions are conjuncted with a security principal to whom the deny is made and [0065] - The optimizer 210 can move expressions, including security expressions, within the received query in order to optimize performance. In general, security expressions are tagged in order to discriminate between security expressions and non-security expressions and predicate rules are utilized to define the scope of how to incorporate security expressions within a query. The predicate rules allow the optimizer 210 to pull non-security expressions above security expressions or push non-security expressions below security expressions only after ensuring that unsafe expressions cannot be utilized to return data prior to executing security expressions); and
executing the modified query plan to generate results for the query ([0067] - The query manager 110 can facilitate the query by applying the security expression and only returning data that satisfies the criteria).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dutta to the table having a first row level security policy attached of Yalamanchi in view of Bender to include generating, by a first server, a plan to execute the query, the plan comprising a set of operators; modifying, by the first server, the plan based on the first row level security policy, the modified plan comprising arranging a first operator over a second operator to not reveal information restricted by the first row level security policy; and executing the modified query plan to generate results for the query.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Dutta to Yalamanchi in view of Bender to do so as it provides / allows to optimize performance and mitigate data leaks (Dutta, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 3;
Yalamanchi in view of Bender and Dutta disclose the method to Claim 2.
Dutta further teaches wherein arranging the first operator over the second operator prevents disclosure of an error channel (Dutta, [0065] - The optimizer 210 can move expressions, including security expressions, within the received query in order to optimize performance. In general, security expressions are tagged in order to discriminate between security ex pressions and non-security expressions and predicate rules are utilized to define the scope of how to incorporate security expressions within a query. The predicate rules allow the optimizer 210 to pull non-security expressions above security expressions or push non-security expressions below security expressions only after ensuring that unsafe expressions cannot be utilized to return data prior to executing security expressions. Typically, logical operations commonly are deemed "safe," and the optimizer 210 can order such operations above or below security expressions). As noted by pulling the non-security expression (i.e., first operator) above the security expression (i.e.., second operator) only after ensuring that unsafe expressions cannot be utilized to return data prior to executing security expressions. Typically, logical operations commonly are deemed "safe," and the optimizer 210 can order such operations above or below security expressions; thus, preventing an “error channel.” This is consistent with Applicant’s specification [0064] - Error channels are a type of covert channel where the presence or absence of an error reveals information.
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Dutta to Yalamanchi in view of Bender and Dutta, as per claim 1, above.
Regarding Claim 4;
Yalamanchi in view of Bender and Dutta disclose the method to Claim 2.
Dutta further teaches wherein the query is executed without accessing a mapping table that defines the provider row level security policy (Dutta, [0047] - The query manager 210 can augment a query by grafting an expression composed of the disjunction of Boolean expressions that are granted, wherein respective expressions are conjugated with an associated security principal to whom the grant is made, and conjuncting the resultant disjunction with the conjunction of the complement of respective Boolean expressions denied, wherein respective expressions are conjuncted with a security principal to whom the deny is made). As noted by grafting an expression to a query; no mapping table is needed.
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Dutta to Yalamanchi in view of Bender and Dutta, as per claim 1, above.
Regarding Claim 5;
Yalamanchi in view of Bender and Dutta disclose the method to Claim 2.
Dutta further teaches wherein a policy expression of the provider row level security policy is evaluated using permission privilege of an owner role of the provider row level security policy ([0028] - Such security can be created by the owner of data within the data repository, wherein the created security provides security for that owner's data and [0029] - The foregoing enables the owner of data the ability to selectively determine who can access which portions of his data. In addition, the querier can be attributed with an exempt status such that the security does not apply to the querier and the querier can essentially access all the data. Typically the owner of the table is exempt in this manner from all row level security restrictions and [0048] - It is to be appreciated that a security expression for data in the database 430 can be created by the owner or manager of the data and linked to one or more users. This link can be established as an outcome of a direct grant to the user or indirectly to the user through a grant to one or more user roles, servers, groups, etc. and [0090] and [0192] – As noted above, it can be useful to grant certain users the ability to query the table without augmenting the query with the predicates. In addition, it can be useful to temporarily disable row level security without having to add, remove and/or alter some or all predicates. This can be done by granting a ExemptRowSec permission. Table Owners, members of the db_owner and sysadmin roles and users with CONTROL permission have this permission by default.).
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Dutta to Yalamanchi in view of Bender and Dutta, as per claim 1, above.
Regarding Claim(s) 11-14; claim(s) 11-14 is/are directed to a/an method associated with the system claimed in claim(s) 2-5. Claim(s) 11-14 is/are similar in scope to claim(s) 2-5, and is/are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim(s) 20; claim(s) 20 is/are directed to a/an medium associated with the system claimed in claims(s) 2. Claim(s) 20 is/are similar in scope to claim(s) 2, and is/are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter (Reasons for No Prior Art Rejection)
Upon review of the evidence at hand, it is hereby concluded that the evidence obtained and made of record, alone or in combination, neither anticipates, reasonably teaches, nor renders obvious the below noted features of applicant’s invention as the noted features amount to more than a predictable use of elements in the prior art.
Regarding Claim 6, and similar representative claim 15, the prior art of record as cited within this Office Action, nor those cited, in the additional references cited , alone or in combination, neither anticipates, reasonably teaches, nor renders obvious the feature of: “wherein executing the modified query plan comprises: dividing, by the first server, the modified plan into a plurality of discrete tasks; assigning, by the first server, each of the plurality of discrete tasks to one or more execution nodes; and generating the result for the query based on execution of the assigned plurality of discrete tasks..” Claim(s) 7 and similar representative claim 16 depend of claim(s) 6 and 15, respectfully, thus inherit the allowable subject matter of Claim 6 and 15, respectfully.
Regarding Claim 8, and similar representative claim 17, the prior art of record as cited within this Office Action, nor those cited, in the additional references cited , alone or in combination, neither anticipates, reasonably teaches, nor renders obvious the feature of: “sharing, by a first account, the first table with the attached first row level security policy with a second account in the network-based data system; and attaching, by the second account, a second row level security policy to the shared table, the second row level security policy being stored independently of the shared table;” Claim(s) 9 and similar representative claim 18 depend of claim(s) 8 and 17, respectfully, thus inherit the allowable subject matter of Claim 8 and 17, respectfully.
Thus, claim(s) 6-7 and 8-9, and similar representative claim(s) 15-16 and 17-18, are being objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; however as allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/KARI L SCHMIDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439