DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7-10, 12-13, and 16-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,366,090. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-16 are generic to all that is recited in claims -4, 7-10, 12-13, and 16-21 of U.S. Patent Number 12,366,090. In other words, claims -4, 7-10, 12-13, and 16-21 of U.S. Patent Number 12,366,090 fully encompasses the subject matter of claims 1-16 and therefore anticipates claims 1-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 11,180,929 to Walsh.
Walsh discloses a locking system for a temperature-controlled container, the container comprising an interior and a barrier having an open position allowing access to the interior of the container and a closed position blocking access to the interior of the container, the locking system comprising: a temperature sensor (50) configured to sense a temperature within the interior of the container; a locking device (30) configured to be coupled to the barrier to lock the barrier in the closed position; and a controller (60) in communication with the locking device and the temperature sensor, the controller configured to receive the sensed temperature from the temperature sensor and control the locking device based on the sensed temperature, wherein the controller is configured to control the locking device to lock the barrier in the closed position in response to the sensed temperature rising above a predetermined threshold temperature (column 5, lines 13-21), as in claim 1.
Walsh also discloses the locking device comprises a solenoid lock and a voltage controller configured to apply a voltage to actuate the solenoid lock (column 5, lines 13-21), as in claim 2, wherein the solenoid lock locks the barrier when no voltage is applied to the solenoid lock, and the solenoid lock unlocks the barrier when a sufficient voltage is applied to the solenoid lock by the voltage controller (column 5, lines 13-21), as in claim 3, as well as the locking device further comprises a manual release mechanism configured to manually unlock the solenoid lock in an absence of any voltage applied to the solenoid lock (figure 3 shows a key cylinder lock engagement means; wherein the manual lock cylinder is capable of unlocking the locking system), as in claim 4.
Walsh further discloses after the controller controls the locking device to lock the barrier in the closed position, the controller is configured to unlock the locking device in response to the sensed temperature dropping below the predetermined threshold temperature within a predetermined period of time (column 5, lines 13-21), as in claim 5, wherein after the controller controls the locking device to lock the barrier in the closed position, the controller is configured to prevent unlocking of the locking device based on temperature in response to the sensed temperature remaining above the predetermined threshold temperature for the predetermined period of time (column 5, lines 13-21), as in claim 6, and the controller is configured to control the locking device to lock the barrier in the closed position when the sensed temperature falls below a further predetermined threshold temperature (column 5, lines 13-21), as in claim 7, as well as the controller is further configured to control the locking device to lock the barrier in the closed position at a predetermined time (column 4, line 60-column 5, line 8), as in claim 8.
Walsh additionally discloses a locking method for a temperature-controlled container, the container comprising an interior and a barrier having an open position allowing access to the interior of the container and a closed position blocking access to the interior of the container, the locking method comprising: sensing a temperature within the interior of the container (via sensor 50); and locking the barrier in the closed position with a locking device (30) in response to the sensed temperature rising above a predetermined threshold temperature (column 5, lines 13-21), as in claim 9.
Walsh also discloses locking the barrier in the closed position when no power is supplied to the locking device (column 5, lines 13-21), as in claim 10, as well as after locking the barrier in the closed position, unlocking the locking device in response to the sensed temperature dropping below the predetermined threshold temperature within a predetermined period of time (column 5, lines 13-21), as in claim 11, and after locking the barrier in the closed position, preventing unlocking of the locking device based on temperature in response to the sensed temperature remaining above the predetermined threshold temperature for the predetermined period of time (column 5, lines 13-21), as in claim 12.
Walsh further discloses locking the barrier in the closed position when the sensed temperature falls below a further predetermined threshold temperature (column 5, lines 13-21), as in claim 13, and locking the barrier in the closed position at a predetermined time (column 4, line 60-column 5, line 8), as in claim 14, as well as selecting the predetermined threshold temperature based on a safety or quality of contents in the interior of the container (column 4, lines 46-59), as in claim 15, in addition to selecting the predetermined threshold temperature based on an energy cost of controlling the temperature in the interior of the container (column 5, lines 28-40), as in claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to temperature dependent locking assemblies:
U.S. Patent Number 11,514,764 to Correnti et al.; U.S. Patent Number 4,593,543 to Stefanek; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0177551 to Clifford et al.; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0011232 to Moonier; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0340351 to Harkonen et al.; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0260775 to Denison et al.; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0145904 to Lowder; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0202220 to Denison et al.; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2011/0203331 to Picard et al.; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2005/0284200 to Moon et al.; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2004/0045330 to Moon et al.
/CHRISTOPHER J BOSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675
CJB /cb/
June 12, 2026