DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the application filed 20 June 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been presented for examination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,360,892. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the claims of the ‘892 patent as shown below.
Regarding claim 20 of the instant application: the method performed by claim 20 is anticipated by the storage device of claim 1 of the ‘892 patent as the storage device is configured to perform the same steps as the claimed method.
12,360,892
19/244,323
1. A storage device comprising:
(A) a nonvolatile memory device comprising a plurality of memory cells; and a controller configured to perform a write operation on at least one write unit included in the plurality of memory cells, and to perform an erase operation on at least one erase unit included in the plurality of memory cells,
(A) wherein the controller comprises an internal buffer including zone buffers, and is further configured to:
allocate a plurality of zones to a storage space of the nonvolatile memory device based on a request received from an external host device, select two or more erase units from among a plurality of erase units included in the plurality of memory cells to be allocated to each zone of the plurality of zones based on a zone map table, fixedly and sequentially manage logical addresses of data written in the plurality of zones,
(B) based on reads for sequential logical addresses being requested by the external host device,
(C) read first data corresponding to the sequential logical addresses from the nonvolatile memory device, and output the first data to the external host device,
(D) and based on the reads being requested: determine next sequential addresses without receiving a next read request from the external host device,
(E) determine at least one zone to which the next sequential addresses belong, and based on at least one feature corresponding to the at least one zone, perform a prefetch operation by reading second data corresponding to the next sequential logical addresses from the nonvolatile memory device,
(F) and storing the second data in the internal buffer.
1. A storage device comprising:
(A) a nonvolatile memory device comprising a plurality of memory cells; and a controller comprising an internal buffer, and configured to:
(B) based on receiving a plurality of read requests corresponding to sequential logical addresses from an external host device,
(C) read first data corresponding to the sequential logical addresses from the nonvolatile memory device, and output the first data to the external host device,
(D) and based on the plurality of read requests: determine next sequential logical addresses without receiving a next read request from the external host device,
(E) and based on at least one feature corresponding to the next sequential logical addresses, perform a prefetch operation by reading second data corresponding to the next sequential logical addresses from the nonvolatile memory device,
(F) and storing the second data in the internal buffer.
Claims 2/3/4/5/6/7/8/9
Claims 2/3/4/5/6/7/8/9
1. A storage device comprising: a nonvolatile memory device comprising a plurality of memory cells;
(A) and a controller configured to perform a write operation on at least one write unit included in the plurality of memory cells, and to perform an erase operation on at least one erase unit included in the plurality of memory cells,
(A) wherein the controller comprises an internal buffer including zone buffers, and is further configured to: allocate a plurality of zones to a storage space of the nonvolatile memory device based on a request received from an external host device, select two or more erase units from among a plurality of erase units included in the plurality of memory cells to be allocated to each zone of the plurality of zones based on a zone map table, fixedly and sequentially manage logical addresses of data written in the plurality of zones,
(B) based on reads for sequential logical addresses being requested by the external host device,
(C) read first data corresponding to the sequential logical addresses from the nonvolatile memory device,
(D) and output the first data to the external host device,
(E) and based on the reads being requested: determine next sequential addresses without receiving a next read request from the external host device,
(F) determine at least one zone to which the next sequential addresses belong, and based on at least one feature corresponding to the at least one zone, perform a prefetch operation by reading second data corresponding to the next sequential logical addresses from the nonvolatile memory device,
(G) and storing the second data in the internal buffer.
20. A method of managing a storage device,
(A) the method being performed by a controller and comprising:
(B) based on receiving a plurality of read requests corresponding to sequential logical addresses from an external host device,
(C) reading first data corresponding to the sequential logical addresses from a nonvolatile memory device;
(D) outputting the first data to the external host device;
(E) based on the plurality of read requests: determine next sequential logical addresses without receiving a next read request from the external host device,
(F) and based on at least one feature corresponding to the next sequential logical addresses, performing a prefetch operation by reading second data corresponding to the next sequential logical addresses from the nonvolatile memory device,
(G) and storing the second data in an internal buffer included in the controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FELD (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2023/0325090) in view of LEE (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2023/0168827).
1. FELD discloses A storage device comprising: a nonvolatile memory device comprising a plurality of memory cells (see [0035]-[0036]: storage device including a non-volatile memory such as flash); and a controller (see [0035]: storage processing circuitry) comprising an internal buffer (see LEE below), and configured to: based on receiving a plurality of read requests corresponding to sequential logical addresses from an external host device (see [043]: read request from host; [0044]: determination that the host reads are part of a sequential read stream), read first data corresponding to the sequential logical addresses from the nonvolatile memory device (see [0043]: read data is retrieved from the nonvolatile memory and stored in cache), and output the first data to the external host device (see [0039]: servicing read requests using data in the cache reduces latency for the host, this implies the data is being output to the host), and based on the plurality of read requests: determine next sequential logical addresses without receiving a next read request from the external host device (see [0044]: prefetch distance specifies how far ahead, in terms of addresses, a prefetch operation will be performed), and based on at least one feature corresponding to the next sequential logical addresses (see [0044]: maximum distance value), perform a prefetch operation by reading second data corresponding to the next sequential logical addresses from the nonvolatile memory device (see [0044]: additional data is pre-fetched from memory based on the average I/O size, the distance is how far ahead from the last read from the host data is fetched – this is the data that the system has not received a read request for), and storing the second data in the internal (see LEE below) buffer (see [0043]: data is stored in a cache).
LEE discloses the following limitations that are not taught by FELD: a controller with an internal buffer (see [0069]-[0070]: memory may be disposed within the controller, or external to the controller) and storing data in the internal buffer (see [0070]: memory can store data pertaining to read or write operations). FELD already discloses storing data in a cache by the controller, but fails to disclose the cache being internal to the controller. Implementing a buffer internal to a controller is a matter of design choice, as there are a limited number of well-known solutions for including a buffer with a memory controller. “When there is a design need for market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number if identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp." KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify FELD to have the cache be internal to the controller, as disclosed by LEE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification as this would have been obvious to try, as shown by LEE. FELD and LEE are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to storage systems.
8. The storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to perform the prefetch operation based on a number of the plurality of read requests being greater than or equal to a threshold value (see FELD [0043]: more than one read address).
9. The storage device of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive a second plurality of read requests from the external host device, wherein the second plurality of read requests correspond to logical addresses which are not sequential with the sequential logical addresses, and discard the second data based on a number of the second plurality of read requests being greater than or equal to a threshold value (see FELD [0042]: wasted pre-fetch; this is data that is not accessed by subsequent read requests, indicating the subsequent read requests were not sequential to the plurality of read requests the data is eventually evicted, which is considered as being discarded).
20. FELD discloses A method of managing a storage device (see [0035]-[0036]: storage device including a non-volatile memory such as flash), the method being performed by a controller (see [0035]: storage processing circuitry) and comprising: based on receiving a plurality of read requests corresponding to sequential logical addresses from an external host device (see [043]: read request from host; [0044]: determination that the host reads are part of a sequential read stream), reading first data corresponding to the sequential logical addresses from a nonvolatile memory device (see [0043]: read data is retrieved from the nonvolatile memory and stored in cache), and outputting the first data to the external host device (see [0039]: servicing read requests using data in the cache reduces latency for the host, this implies the data is being output to the host), based on the plurality of read requests: determine next sequential logical addresses without receiving a next read request from the external host device (see [0044]: prefetch distance specifies how far ahead, in terms of addresses, a prefetch operation will be performed), and based on at least one feature corresponding to the next sequential logical addresses (see [0044]: maximum distance value), performing a prefetch operation by reading second data corresponding to the next sequential logical addresses from the nonvolatile memory device (see [0044]: additional data is pre-fetched from memory based on the average I/O size, the distance is how far ahead from the last read from the host data is fetched – this is the data that the system has not received a read request for), and storing the second data in an internal (see LEE below) buffer (see [0043]: data is stored in a cache), included in the controller (see [0035]: storage processing circuitry).
LEE discloses the following limitations that are not taught by FELD: a controller with an internal buffer (see [0069]-[0070]: memory may be disposed within the controller, or external to the controller) and storing data in the internal buffer (see [0070]: memory can store data pertaining to read or write operations). FELD already discloses storing data in a cache by the controller, but fails to disclose the cache being internal to the controller. Implementing a buffer internal to a controller is a matter of design choice, as there are a limited number of well-known solutions for including a buffer with a memory controller. “When there is a design need for market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number if identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp." KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify FELD to have the cache be internal to the controller, as disclosed by LEE. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification as this would have been obvious to try, as shown by LEE. FELD and LEE are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to storage systems.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FELD (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2023/0325090) and LEE (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2023/0168827) as applied to claims 1, 8, 9 and 20 above, and further in view of NATHELLA (U.S. Patent Application Publication #2022/0413866).
10. The storage device of claim 1 (see FELD above), wherein the controller is further configured to set a parameter for the prefetch operation based on a set request received from the external host device (see NATHELLA below).
NATHELLA discloses the following limitations that are not disclosed by FELD: the controller is further configured to set a parameter for the prefetch operation based on a set request received from the external host device (see [0021]-[0022]: prefetch control circuity uses address-range parameters from the range prefetch instruction to configure the prefetching). A user programmer uses the range prefetch instruction, which is sent by the host when executing the program (see [0023]). Allowing a user to specify the parameters for a prefetch operation can provide a better balance between prefetch coverage and power consumption (see [0026]).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify FELD to set a parameter for prefetching, as disclosed by NATHELLA. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide a better balance between coverage and power consumption, as taught by NATHELLA. FELD and NATHELLA are analogous/in the same field of endeavor as both references are directed to prefetching.
11. The storage device of claim 10, wherein the parameter for the prefetch operation indicates at least one feature used to determine whether to perform the prefetch operation (see NATHELLA [0021]: stride parameter, specified ranges of address).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the limitations of claims 2-7 and 12-19 are commensurate in scope with the allowable subject matter identified in the parent application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MATSUDA [2023/0289080] discloses creating zones in a non-volatile memory system. [0031]-[0057]
MUTHIAH [2022/0083256] discloses a zoned namespace and prefetching of data. [0064]
JIN [2021/0056023] discloses an internal buffer in the controller, multiple buffers, each buffer corresponding to a range of addresses. [0095]-[0103]
/EDWARD J DUDEK JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2132