Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/20/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection on 07/29/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al (US 20120194686 A1, hereinafter, "Lin") in view of Jang et al (US 20230023853 A1, hereinafter, "Jang").
Regarding Claim 1, Lin teaches an image sensor comprising: a pixel array comprising first pixel groups, second pixel groups, and third pixel groups arranged in a matrix shape, each of the first pixel groups comprising a plurality of first unit pixels and a first color filter corresponding to a first color, each of the second pixel groups comprising a plurality of second unit pixels and a second color filter corresponding to a second color, each of the third pixel groups comprising a plurality of third unit pixels and a third color filter corresponding to a third color (Lin, [0025], ln. 9, "Common ME imaging systems use a Bayer color filter patterned image sensor." It is widely known in the art that a Bayer color filter patterned image sensor consists of a plurality of red, green, and blue pixel colors arranged in a matrix pattern.); and an image signal processor configured to perform one or more image processing operations on the image signals and output image-processed image signals (Lin, Fig. 1, 18), wherein the image signal processor is further configured to change a target image signal corresponding to a target pixel based on saturation of one or more first first unit pixels among the plurality of first unit pixels in a region of interest, and wherein the target pixel is a second unit pixel, among the plurality of second unit pixels or a third unit pixel, among the plurality of third unit pixels (Lin, Fig. 6, [0040], ln. 10-12, "Blooming correction method 40 may also replace pixel values in pixels neighboring saturated values, even if their long-exposure value isn't saturated." It is widely known in the art that, in a Bayer color filter pattern, any given pixel color has neighboring pixels of each of the other two colors.). Lin does not teach a readout circuit configured to output image signals based on pixel signals output from the pixel array. However, Jang teaches a readout circuit configured to output image signals based on pixel signals output from the pixel array (Jang, Fig. 2, 151). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Jang with those of Lin because it is widely known in the art that virtually all digital cameras use a readout circuit configured to output image signals based on pixel signals output from the pixel array.
Regarding Claim 2, Lin and Jang teach the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Lin teaches the image signal processor is further configured to change the target image signal based on the saturation of the one or more first first unit pixels provided on a first side respectively in each of one or more of the first pixel groups in the region of interest and non-saturation of one or more second first unit pixels among the plurality of first unit pixels provided on a second side respectively in each of the one or more of the first pixel groups in the region of interest (Lin, Fig. 6, [0040], ln. 8-12, "Blooming correction operation 40 may use processing circuitry 18 to identify saturated pixels in long-exposure image frame T.sub.1 and replace the saturated pixel values with pixel values in short-exposure image frame T.sub.2. Blooming correction method 40 may also replace pixel values in pixels neighboring saturated values, even if their long-exposure value isn't saturated."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Lin with those of Lin and Jang because it is widely known in the art to replace pixel values in pixels which neighbor a saturated pixel.
Regarding Claim 3, Lin and Jang teach the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Jang teaches each of the first pixel groups comprises: an overflow region in contact with a plurality of photodiodes respectively included in the plurality of first unit pixels, the overflow region configured to provide a transfer path of overflowed charges between the plurality of photodiodes of the plurality of first unit pixels, and wherein the image signal processor is further configured to change the target image signal based on overflow of charges through the overflow region between the plurality of first unit pixels (Jang, Fig. 13, [0090], ln. 1-4, "…first through i-th pixels PX1 through PXi included in the same pixel group PG may share the floating diffusion region FD, may share the select transistor SX, the source follower SF, and the reset transistor RX and may output a pixel signal VOUT to the same column output line CLO."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Jang with those of Lin and Jang because it is widely known in the art to use a floating diffusion region to collect overflow charges and affect the output signal.
Regarding Claim 7, Lin and Jang teach the limitations of dependent Claim 3 as noted above. Jang teaches the image signal processor is further configured to change the target image signal, based on image signals of the plurality of first unit pixels in the region of interest (Jang, Fig. 13, [0090], ln. 1-4, "…first through i-th pixels PX1 through PXi included in the same pixel group PG may share the floating diffusion region FD, may share the select transistor SX, the source follower SF, and the reset transistor RX and may output a pixel signal VOUT to the same column output line CLO."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Jang with those of Lin and Jang because it is widely known in the art to connect multiple pixels of the same color to a single floating diffusion region that affects the output signal.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Jang and Morimoto (US 20160044290 A1, hereinafter, "Morimoto").
Regarding Claim 4, Lin and Jang teach the limitations of dependent Claim 3 as noted above. Morimoto teaches the image signal processor is further configured to change the target image signal, based on a result of summing magnitudes of at least some of U signals or V signals which are based on the image signals corresponding to unit pixels in the region of interest, and wherein the U signals and the V signals are based on YUV encoding (Morimoto, [0169], ln. 3-5, "…data generation unit 405 decreases the mixing amount in proportion to the magnitude of the sum total of blue specific color level ΔBc, magenta specific color level ΔMc, and cyan specific color level ΔCc."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Morimoto with those of Lin and Jang because it is widely known in the art to change an image based on the magnitude of the sum total of magenta and cyan color levels in a YUV coding format.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Jang and Fukuda & Inagaki (US 20190394407 A1, hereinafter, "Fukuda").
Regarding Claim 8, Lin and Jang teach the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Fukuda teaches a plurality of unit pixels of a same pixel group of the first pixel groups, the second pixel groups, and the third pixel groups share one micro lens, wherein the plurality of unit pixels of the same pixel group generate charges based on a light passing through a color filter corresponding to a same color channel, and wherein color filters placed in pixel groups adjacent to each other from among the first pixel groups, the second pixel groups, and the third pixel groups transmit lights of different spectra (Fukuda, Fig. 2, 200R, 200G, & 200B, and Fig. 3B, [0052], ln. 6-7, "…a color filter 306 that is formed between the microlens 305 and each of the photoelectric conversion unit 301 and the photoelectric conversion unit 302."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Fukuda with those of Lin and Jang because it is widely known in the art to use a color filter for multiple pixels placed between a microlens and an image sensor.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Jang and Maruyama et al (US 20190166320 A1, hereinafter, "Maruyama").
Regarding Claim 9, Lin and Jang teach the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Maruyama teaches the image signal processor is further configured to change the target image signal, based on magnitudes of image signals of pixel groups having color filters identical to a color filter of the target pixel in the region of interest (Maruyama, Fig. 11, [0114], ln. 2-11, "…first, the low saturation pixel correction unit 53 calculates a median of non-low saturation pixels [pixels having saturation level higher than a predetermined value] out of the same-color reference pixels. More specifically…the low saturation pixel correction unit 53 calculates the median of the non-low saturation pixels [pixels having a saturation level higher than a predetermined value] among the same-color reference pixels [for example, pixels denoted as “1”] having the same color as the referenced pixel of interest. Next, when the pixel of interest is a low saturation pixel, the pixel of interest is saturated, and the pixel of interest is the median or less, the low saturation pixel correction unit 53 sets the interpolation B flag and sets the median to the interpolation B interpolation value."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Maruyama with those of Lin and Jang because it is widely known in the art to change a saturated pixel based on surrounding pixels of the same color.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Jang, Maruyama, and Kobayashi (JP H04152787 A, hereinafter, "Kobayashi").
Regarding Claim 10, Lin, Jang, and Maruyama teach the limitations of dependent Claim 9 as noted above. Kobayashi teaches the image signal processor is further configured to change the target image signal, based on comparison of a first value and a second value, wherein the first value is obtained by summing image signals of pixel groups having a color filter identical to a color filter of the target pixel in the region of interest, and wherein the second value corresponds to a sum of values obtained by clipping, based on a saturation level, the image signals of the pixel groups having the color filter identical to the color filter of the target pixel in the region of interest (Kobayashi, pg. 2, ln. 26-32, "…amendment of hue and chroma saturation is possible to each color independence, and it aims at providing a color signal amendment device which raised color reproduction nature. [The means for solving a subject and operation] It is the present invention in order to solve the above-mentioned problem, The amendment signal acquired by three signals of R and CB by the correction signal generation part is added or subtracted, and the above-mentioned correction signal generation part is constituted combining an AND circuit or an OR circuit besides a subtraction machine and a clip circuit at least in the color signal amendment device which performs amendment of R, G, and B…"). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Kobayashi with those of Lin, Jang, and Maruyama because it is widely known in the art to obtain a correction signal via addition or subtraction and a clipped signal using a clipping circuit.
Claims 11, 13-15, & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Jang and Bacchiani (US 12037001 B1, hereinafter, "Bacchiani").
Regarding Claim 11, Lin teaches an image sensor comprising: a pixel array comprising first pixel groups, second pixel groups, and third pixel groups are arranged in a matrix shape, each of the first pixel groups comprising a plurality of first unit pixels and a first color filter corresponding to a first color, each of the second pixel groups comprising a plurality of second unit pixels and a second color filter corresponding to a second color, each of the third pixel groups comprising a plurality of third unit pixels and a third color filter corresponding to a third color (Lin, [0025], ln. 9, "Common ME imaging systems use a Bayer color filter patterned image sensor." It is widely known in the art that a Bayer color filter patterned image sensor consists of a plurality of red, green, and blue pixel colors arranged in a matrix pattern.); and change at least one of the second image signals and the third image signals based on saturation of one or more first first unit pixels among the plurality of first unit pixels of the first pixel groups and non-saturation of one or more second first unit pixels among the plurality of first unit pixels of the first pixel groups, wherein the first image signals are based on pixel signals of the plurality of first unit pixels of the first pixel groups, the second image signals are based on pixel signals of the plurality of second unit pixels of the second pixel groups, and the third image signals are based on pixel signals of the plurality of third unit pixels of the third pixel groups (Lin, Fig. 6, [0040], ln. 10-12, "Blooming correction method 40 may also replace pixel values in pixels neighboring saturated values, even if their long-exposure value isn't saturated." It is widely known in the art that, in a Bayer color filter pattern, any given pixel color has neighboring pixels of each of the other two colors.). Lin does not teach a readout circuit configured to output image signals, based on pixel signals output from the pixel array. However, Jang teaches a readout circuit configured to output image signals, based on pixel signals output from the pixel array (Jang, Fig. 2, 151). Lin and Jang do not teach an image signal processor configured to: generate first image signals, second image signals, and third image signals by performing white balancing of the image signals. However, Bacchiani teaches an image signal processor configured to: generate first image signals, second image signals, and third image signals by performing white balancing of the image signals (Bacchiani, Fig. 1, [0047], ln. 5-9, "The video pipeline module 156 may be further configured to support or provide a sensor RGB to YUV raw image pipeline to improve image quality, perform bad pixel detection and correction, demosaicing, white balance, color and tone correction, gamma correction, adjustment of hue, saturation, brightness and contrast adjustment, sharpening and/or chrominance and luminance noise filtering.") an image signal processor configured to: generate first image signals, second image signals, and third image signals by performing white balancing of the image signals (Bacchiani, Fig. 1, [0047], ln. 5-9, "The video pipeline module 156 may be further configured to support or provide a sensor RGB to YUV raw image pipeline to improve image quality, perform bad pixel detection and correction, demosaicing, white balance, color and tone correction, gamma correction, adjustment of hue, saturation, brightness and contrast adjustment, sharpening and/or chrominance and luminance noise filtering."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Bacchiani with those of Lin and Jang because it is widely known in the art to use processors to correct all three color signals for white balance.
Regarding Claim 13, Lin, Jang, and Bacchiani teach the limitations of dependent Claim 11 as noted above. Lin teaches the image signal processor is further configured to: change one or more of the second image signals based on the one or more of the second image signals reaching a saturation level (Lin, Fig. 6, [0040], ln. 8-10, "Blooming correction operation 40 may use processing circuitry 18 to identify saturated pixels in long-exposure image frame T.sub.1 and replace the saturated pixel values with pixel values in short-exposure image frame T.sub.2."); or change one or more of the third image signals based on one or more of the third image signals reach the saturation level (Lin, Fig. 6, [0040], ln. 8-10, "Blooming correction operation 40 may use processing circuitry 18 to identify saturated pixels in long-exposure image frame T.sub.1 and replace the saturated pixel values with pixel values in short-exposure image frame T.sub.2."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Lin with those of Lin, Jang, and Bacchiani because it is widely known in the art to correct all three image colors based on saturation levels.
Regarding Claim 14, Lin, Jang, and Bacchiani teach the limitations of dependent Claim 11 as noted above. Jang teaches the image signal processor is further configured to change one or more the second image signals and the third image signals based on overflow of charges through an overflow region between the plurality of first unit pixels, and wherein the overflow region is in contact with photodiodes of the plurality of first unit pixels and provides a transfer path of overflowed charges between the photodiodes of the plurality of first unit pixels (Jang, Fig. 13, [0090], ln. 1-4, "…first through i-th pixels PX1 through PXi included in the same pixel group PG may share the floating diffusion region FD, may share the select transistor SX, the source follower SF, and the reset transistor RX and may output a pixel signal VOUT to the same column output line CLO.").
Regarding Claim 15, Lin, Jang, and Bacchiani teach the limitations of dependent Claim 14 as noted above. Lin teaches the image signal processor is further configured to the change one or more of the second image signals or the third image signals not reaching the saturation level, based on the first image signals (Lin, Fig. 6, [0040], ln. 10-12, "Blooming correction method 40 may also replace pixel values in pixels neighboring saturated values, even if their long-exposure value isn't saturated." It is widely known in the art that, in a Bayer color filter pattern, any given pixel color has neighboring pixels of each of the other two colors.).
Regarding Claim 17, Lin teaches an image sensor comprising: a pixel array comprising a plurality of pixel groups arranged in a matrix shape (Lin, [0025], ln. 9, "Common ME imaging systems use a Bayer color filter patterned image sensor." It is widely known in the art that a Bayer color filter patterned image sensor consists of a plurality of red, green, and blue pixel colors arranged in a matrix pattern.); and output processed image signals obtained by changing at least one of the second image signals and the third image signals based on one or more of the first image signals, the second image signals, and the third image signals reaching a saturation level, wherein the plurality of pixel groups comprise a first pixel group, a second pixel group, and a third pixel group associated with different color channels, and wherein the first image signals are based on a pixel signal of a first pixel groups, the second image signals are based on a pixel signal of a second pixel groups, and third image signals are based on a pixel signal of a third pixel groups (Lin, Fig. 6, [0040], ln. 10-12, "Blooming correction method 40 may also replace pixel values in pixels neighboring saturated values, even if their long-exposure value isn't saturated." It is widely known in the art that, in a Bayer color filter pattern, any given pixel color has neighboring pixels of each of the other two colors.). Lin does not teach a readout circuit configured to output image signals, based on pixel signals output from the pixel array; and an image signal processor configured to: generate first image signals, second image signals, and third image signals by performing white balancing of the image signals. However, Jang teaches a readout circuit configured to output image signals, based on pixel signals output from the pixel array (Jang, Fig. 2, 151). Bacchiani teaches an image signal processor configured to: generate first image signals, second image signals, and third image signals by performing white balancing of the image signals (Bacchiani, Fig. 1, [0047], ln. 5-9, "The video pipeline module 156 may be further configured to support or provide a sensor RGB to YUV raw image pipeline to improve image quality, perform bad pixel detection and correction, demosaicing, white balance, color and tone correction, gamma correction, adjustment of hue, saturation, brightness and contrast adjustment, sharpening and/or chrominance and luminance noise filtering.").
Regarding Claim 18, Lin, Jang, and Bacchiani teach the limitations of dependent Claim 17 as noted above. Jang teaches the first pixel group comprises first unit pixels, the second pixel group comprises second unit pixels, and the third pixel group comprises third unit pixels, wherein the first pixel group further comprises an overflow region being in contact with photodiodes of the first unit pixels, the overflow region configured to provide a transfer path of overflowed charges between the photodiodes of the first unit pixels (Jang, Fig. 13, [0090], ln. 1-4, "…first through i-th pixels PX1 through PXi included in the same pixel group PG may share the floating diffusion region FD, may share the select transistor SX, the source follower SF, and the reset transistor RX and may output a pixel signal VOUT to the same column output line CLO.").
Regarding Claim 19, Lin, Jang, and Bacchiani teach the limitations of dependent Claim 18 as noted above. Jang teaches the image signal processor is further configured to change at least some of the second image signals and the third image signals based on an overflow of charges through the overflow region between the first unit pixels (Jang, Fig. 13, [0090], ln. 1-4, "…first through i-th pixels PX1 through PXi included in the same pixel group PG may share the floating diffusion region FD, may share the select transistor SX, the source follower SF, and the reset transistor RX and may output a pixel signal VOUT to the same column output line CLO.").
Regarding Claim 20, Lin, Jang, and Bacchiani teach the limitations of dependent Claim 18 as noted above. Lin teaches the image signal processor is further configured to change at least some of the second image signals or the third image signals based on a first result of determining that at least some of the first image signals corresponding to a region of interest of a first size reach the saturation level, and a second result of comparing the second image signals and the third image signals corresponding to the region of interest with the first image signals (Lin, Fig. 6, [0040], ln. 10-12, "Blooming correction method 40 may also replace pixel values in pixels neighboring saturated values, even if their long-exposure value isn't saturated.").
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Jang, Bacchiani, and Fukuda.
Regarding Claim 12, Lin, Jang, and Bacchiani teach the limitations of dependent Claim 11 as noted above. Fukuda teaches the color filter of each of the first pixel groups corresponds to a green color filter, the color filter of each of the second pixel groups corresponds to a red color filter, and the color filter of each of the third pixel groups corresponds to a blue color filter, wherein the first pixel groups, the second pixel groups, and the third pixel groups are arranged in the pixel array in the shape of a Bayer pattern (Fukuda, Fig. 1, [0036], ln. 3-6, "As the image sensor 107, for example, a two-dimensional single-plate color sensor having a configuration in which a primary color mosaic filter of a Bayer array is formed in an on-chip manner on light-receiving pixels of m pixels in a horizontal direction and n pixels in a vertical direction is used."), and wherein a plurality of unit pixels in a same pixel group share one micro lens (Fukuda, Fig. 2, 200R, 200G, & 200B). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Fukuda with those of Lin, Jang, and Bacchiani because it is widely known in the art to use a Bayer pattern pixel array.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Jang, Bacchiani, and Maruyama.
Regarding Claim 16, Lin, Jang, and Bacchiani teach the limitations of dependent Claim 15 as noted above. Maruyama teaches the image signal processor is further configured to change the one or more the second image signals or the third image signals not reaching the saturation level, based on the first image signals corresponding to unit pixels not saturated from among the plurality of first unit pixels (Maruyama, Fig. 11, [0114], ln. 2-11, "…first, the low saturation pixel correction unit 53 calculates a median of non-low saturation pixels [pixels having saturation level higher than a predetermined value] out of the same-color reference pixels. More specifically…the low saturation pixel correction unit 53 calculates the median of the non-low saturation pixels [pixels having a saturation level higher than a predetermined value] among the same-color reference pixels [for example, pixels denoted as “1”] having the same color as the referenced pixel of interest. Next, when the pixel of interest is a low saturation pixel, the pixel of interest is saturated, and the pixel of interest is the median or less, the low saturation pixel correction unit 53 sets the interpolation B flag and sets the median to the interpolation B interpolation value."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Maruyama with those of Lin, Jang, and Bacchiani because it is widely known in the art to change unsaturated pixels of second and third colors based on surrounding unsaturated pixels of a first color.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 & 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 5, the prior art of record – taken alone or in combination – fails to teach or render obvious based on a result of summing magnitudes of the U signals or the V signals corresponding to unit pixels provided in a first side within each of the first pixel groups, the second pixel groups, and the third pixel groups in the region of interest.
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art of record – taken alone or in combination – fails to teach or render obvious based on at least some of image signals corresponding to the plurality of first unit pixels in the region of interest reach a saturation level.
Conclusion
/STEVEN DANIEL BARRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638