DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8,9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8,9, and 18 recites the limitation "the gyroscope" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,6-7,10-14,16-17,19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by von STUMBERG (US 2019/0301871).
Regarding claim 1, von STUMBERG discloses a method (abstract) comprising: turning on a 3 degrees of freedom (3DOF) tracking device (paragraph 33); in response to turning on the 3DOF tracking device, detecting a dynamic and non-stationary condition of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 33, 56-60; any sensor readings after powered including IMU, camera, determination of pose, linear or angular velocity, etc.); and operating the 3DOF tracking device based on the dynamic and non-stationary condition of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 56-60; operation of device based on any sensor readings).
Regarding claim 2, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. von STUMBERG further discloses performing a dynamic initialization process of the 3DOF tracking device by detecting the dynamic and non-stationary condition of the 3DOF tracking device after turning on the 3DOF tracking device, wherein the 3DOF tracking device is operated after the dynamic initialization process (paragraph 8, 33, 56-60).
Regarding claim 3, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. von STUMBERG further discloses determining an initial state that indicates the dynamic and non-stationary condition of the 3DOF tracking device, the initial state associated with turning on the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 33).
Regarding claim 4, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. von STUMBERG further discloses wherein the initial state comprises a combination of an initial orientation of the 3DOF tracking device, an initial position of the 3DOF tracking device, and an initial velocity of the 3DOF tracking device, wherein the 3DOF tracking device is part of a mixed reality device (paragraph 33, 52, 56-60).
Regarding claim 6, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. von STUMBERG further discloses wherein determining the initial state comprises: determining the initial state is based on the accelerometer signal without requesting a user of the 3DOF tracking device to remain in stationary conditions (paragraph 8, 33).
Regarding claim 7, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. von STUMBERG further discloses wherein determining the initial state comprises: using previously estimated orientation and positional signals of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 33).
Regarding claim 10, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. von STUMBERG further discloses further comprising: detecting that the 3DOF tracking device is switched on (paragraph 33); and in response to detecting that the 3DOF tracking device is switched on, initializing the 3DOF tracking device without waiting to detect a stationary condition of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 33, 52, 56-60).
Regarding claim 11, von STUMBERG discloses a computing apparatus (abstract) comprising: a processor (Figure 4); and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, configure the apparatus to perform operations comprising: turning on a 3 degrees of freedom (3DOF) tracking device (paragraph 33); in response to turning on the 3DOF tracking device, detecting a dynamic and non-stationary condition of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 33, 56-60; any sensor readings after powered including IMU, camera, determination of pose, linear or angular velocity, etc.); and operating the 3DOF tracking device based on the dynamic and non-stationary condition of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 56-60; operation of device based on any sensor readings).
Regarding claim 12, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. von STUMBERG further discloses performing a dynamic initialization process of the 3DOF tracking device by detecting the dynamic and non-stationary condition of the 3DOF tracking device after turning on the 3DOF tracking device, wherein the 3DOF tracking device is operated after the dynamic initialization process (paragraph 8, 33, 56-60).
Regarding claim 13, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. von STUMBERG further discloses determining an initial state that indicates the dynamic and non-stationary condition of the 3DOF tracking device, the initial state associated with turning on the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 33).
Regarding claim 14, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. von STUMBERG further discloses wherein the initial state comprises a combination of an initial orientation of the 3DOF tracking device, an initial position of the 3DOF tracking device, and an initial velocity of the 3DOF tracking device, wherein the 3DOF tracking device is part of a mixed reality device (paragraph 33, 52, 56-60).
Regarding claim 16, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. von STUMBERG further discloses wherein determining the initial state comprises: determining the initial state is based on the accelerometer signal without requesting a user of the 3DOF tracking device to remain in stationary conditions (paragraph 8, 33).
Regarding claim 17, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. von STUMBERG further discloses wherein determining the initial state comprises: using previously estimated orientation and positional signals of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 33).
Regarding claim 19, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. von STUMBERG further discloses detecting that the 3DOF tracking device is switched on (paragraph 33); and in response to detecting that the 3DOF tracking device is switched on, initializing the 3DOF tracking device without waiting to detect a stationary condition of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 33, 52, 56-60).
Regarding claim 20, von STUMBERG discloses a a-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a computer (abstract; Figure 4), cause the computer to perform operations comprising: turning on a 3 degrees of freedom (3DOF) tracking device (paragraph 33); in response to turning on the 3DOF tracking device, detecting a dynamic and non-stationary condition of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 33, 56-60; any sensor readings after powered including IMU, camera, determination of pose, linear or angular velocity, etc.); and operating the 3DOF tracking device based on the dynamic and non-stationary condition of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 56-60; operation of device based on any sensor readings).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 8, 9, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STUMBERG (US 2019/0301871) in view of SANG et al (US 2014/0062881).
Regarding claim 5, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. von STUMBERG further discloses wherein determining the initial state further comprises: in response to turning on the 3DOF tracking device, accessing a gyroscope signal from a gyroscope of the 3DOF tracking device; in response to turning on the 3DOF tracking device, accessing an accelerometer signal from an accelerometer of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 33, 101, 102); integrating the gyroscope signal and the accelerometer signal to obtain an orientation signal and a position signal using the initial state (paragraph 33, 101, 102). However, von STUMBERG does not expressly disclose refining an inclination signal of the orientation signal using the position signal; and constraining the position signal to remain substantially close to the initial position of the 3DOF tracking device. In a similar field of endeavor, SANG discloses wherein determining the initial state further comprises: in response to the 3DOF tracking device, accessing a gyroscope signal from a gyroscope of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 83-95); in response to the 3DOF tracking device, accessing an accelerometer signal from an accelerometer of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 83-95); integrating the gyroscope signal and the accelerometer signal to obtain an orientation signal and a position signal using the initial state (paragraph 83-95); refining an inclination signal of the orientation signal using the position signal (paragraph 83-95); and constraining the position signal to remain substantially close to the initial position of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 83-95). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify von STUMBERG to include the teachings of SANG, since SANG states that such a modification would increase precision by removing effects caused by rotation. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional position determination based on those disclosed by SANG.
Regarding claim 8, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, von STUMBERG does not expressly disclose wherein integrating the gyroscope signal and the accelerometer signal comprise: integrating the gyroscope signal to determine the orientation signal starting from the initial orientation; rotating the accelerometer signal from the accelerometer using the orientation signal; subtracting gravity; and performing a double integration starting from the initial position to determine the position signal. In a similar field of endeavor, SANG discloses wherein integrating the gyroscope signal and the accelerometer signal comprise: integrating the gyroscope signal to determine the orientation signal starting from the initial orientation; rotating the accelerometer signal from the accelerometer using the orientation signal; and performing a double integration starting from the initial position to determine the position signal (paragraph 83-95). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify von STUMBERG to include the teachings of SANG, since SANG states that such a modification would increase precision by removing effects caused by rotation. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional position determination based on those disclosed by SANG. Although STUMBERG and SANG disclose determination of gravity, the combination of STUMBERG and SANG does not expressly disclose subtracting gravity. The Examiner takes Official Notice that subtraction of gravity related acceleration within inertial measurements is well known and conventional in the art and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such a modification would remove error from raw acceleration based on gravity vectors.
Regarding claim 9, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. The combination of von STUMBERG and SANG further discloses after integrating only the gyroscope signal and the accelerometer signal, correcting the gyroscope signal and the accelerometer signal with biases (SANG - paragraph 83-95); and refining the inclination signal and biases using the position signal (SANG - paragraph 83-95).
Regarding claim 15, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. von STUMBERG further discloses wherein determining the initial state further comprises: in response to turning on the 3DOF tracking device, accessing a gyroscope signal from a gyroscope of the 3DOF tracking device; in response to turning on the 3DOF tracking device, accessing an accelerometer signal from an accelerometer of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 33, 101, 102); integrating the gyroscope signal and the accelerometer signal to obtain an orientation signal and a position signal using the initial state (paragraph 33, 101, 102). However, von STUMBERG does not expressly disclose refining an inclination signal of the orientation signal using the position signal; and constraining the position signal to remain substantially close to the initial position of the 3DOF tracking device. In a similar field of endeavor, SANG discloses wherein determining the initial state further comprises: in response to the 3DOF tracking device, accessing a gyroscope signal from a gyroscope of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 83-95); in response to the 3DOF tracking device, accessing an accelerometer signal from an accelerometer of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 83-95); integrating the gyroscope signal and the accelerometer signal to obtain an orientation signal and a position signal using the initial state (paragraph 83-95); refining an inclination signal of the orientation signal using the position signal (paragraph 83-95); and constraining the position signal to remain substantially close to the initial position of the 3DOF tracking device (paragraph 83-95). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify von STUMBERG to include the teachings of SANG, since SANG states that such a modification would increase precision by removing effects caused by rotation. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional position determination based on those disclosed by SANG.
Regarding claim 18, see the rejections of the parent claim concerning the subject matter this claim is dependent upon. However, von STUMBERG does not expressly disclose wherein integrating the gyroscope signal and the accelerometer signal comprise: integrating the gyroscope signal to determine the orientation signal starting from the initial orientation; rotating the accelerometer signal from the accelerometer using the orientation signal; subtracting gravity; and performing a double integration starting from the initial position to determine the position signal. In a similar field of endeavor, SANG discloses wherein integrating the gyroscope signal and the accelerometer signal comprise: integrating the gyroscope signal to determine the orientation signal starting from the initial orientation; rotating the accelerometer signal from the accelerometer using the orientation signal; and performing a double integration starting from the initial position to determine the position signal (paragraph 83-95). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify von STUMBERG to include the teachings of SANG, since SANG states that such a modification would increase precision by removing effects caused by rotation. Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional position determination based on those disclosed by SANG. Although STUMBERG and SANG disclose determination of gravity, the combination of STUMBERG and SANG does not expressly disclose subtracting gravity. The Examiner takes Official Notice that subtraction of gravity related acceleration within inertial measurements is well known and conventional in the art and would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such a modification would remove error from raw acceleration based on gravity vectors.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,941,184. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims of the instant Application are a broader version of those in the patent and therefore overlap in scope.
Conclusion
/ARIEL A BALAOING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624