Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase “wherein the first electromagnet is provided on an outer surface of the first electromagnet” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear how “the first electromagnet” is provided on an outer surface of itself.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination the Examiner interpreted “wherein the first electromagnet is provided on an outer surface of the first electromagnet” as wherein the first electromagnet is provided on an outer surface of the first pressure roller”.
Claims 6-10 are rejected because they depend from claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 11-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hee (KR101193731B1 attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Pav (US4290353A).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Hee discloses a roll press apparatus (fig.2: (200)) for manufacturing electrode plates (paragraphs 0001 and 0031-0043), the roll press apparatus comprising:
a frame (inherent, any apparatus having a frame);
a first pressure roller (fig.2: upper (210)) rotatably supported by the frame and configured to apply pressure to a first surface of an electrode plate;
a first electromagnet (fig.2: upper (215)) provided in the first pressure roller;
a second pressure roller (fig.2: lower (210)) rotatably supported by the frame and configured to apply pressure to a second surface of the electrode plate;
a second electromagnet (fig.2: lower (215)) provided in the second pressure roller;
a driver (fig.2: (220)) configured to provide a rotational driving force to the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller;
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Hee does not disclose a distance sensor configured to sense a distance between the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller; and a controller configured to receive a signal from the distance sensor and vary a strength of magnetic force from the first electromagnet and the second electromagnet so that the distance between the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller is maintained; and wherein the second electromagnet is a cylindrically shaped.
Pav teaches a roll press apparatus having an electromagnetic roller (fig.1: (7) and abstract), the press comprising: a distance sensor and controller are configured to sense and change a distance between rollers by changing a strength of magnetic force; and wherein the electromagnet is a cylindrically shaped (fig.1, col.8 lines 45-68; claim 16)
Both of the prior arts Hee and Pav are related to a roll press apparatus having an electromagnetic roller;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hee to have the configuration of a distance sensor and controller as taught by Pav; and to modify the electromagnet of the apparatus of Hee to be a cylindrically shaped as taught by Pav; since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having a distance sensor configured to sense a distance between the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller; and a controller configured to receive a signal from the distance sensor and vary a strength of magnetic force from the first electromagnet and the second electromagnet so that the distance between the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller is maintained; and wherein the second electromagnet is a cylindrically shaped.
Regarding claim 2, Hee discloses wherein the first pressure roller is configured to be disposed in the width direction of the first surface of the electrode plate, and wherein the first electromagnet is provided in a hole formed in the first pressure roller (fig.2).
Therefore, the modification of Hee in view of Pav teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Hee discloses wherein the second pressure roller is configured to be disposed in the width direction on the second surface of the electrode plate, and the second electromagnet is provided in a hole formed in the first pressure roller (fig.2).
Therefore, the modification of Hee in view of Pav teaches the limitations of claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, Hee discloses wherein the first pressure roller is configured to be disposed in the width direction of the first surface of the electrode plate, and wherein a plurality first electromagnets are positioned in holes formed in the first pressure roller (fig.2).
Therefore, the modification of Hee in view of Pav teaches the limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Hee discloses wherein the holes in the first pressure roller are formed at radial positions around a center of the first pressure roller (fig.2).
Therefore, the modification of Hee in view of Pav teaches the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Hee discloses wherein the second pressure roller is configured to be disposed in the width direction of the second surface of the electrode plate, and wherein a plurality of second electromagnets are positioned in holes formed in the second pressure roller (fig.2).
Therefore, the modification of Hee in view of Pav teaches the limitations of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Hee discloses wherein the holes in the second pressure roller are formed at radial positions around a center of the second pressure roller (fig.2).
Therefore, the modification of Hee in view of Pav teaches the limitations of claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, Hee in view of Pav does not disclose wherein the driver comprises: a driving motor providing the rotational driving force; and a belt member connected to a shaft of the driving motor and the first and second pressure rollers to transmit the rotational driving force form the driving motor to the first and second pressure rollers.
However, Having the limitations of claim 16 would have resulted from routine engineering practices and it therefore not patentable and would be obvious because there is no unexpected result
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the limitations of claim 16 in order to operate the roll press.
Claims 1 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Moon (KR101365517B1 attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Hee (KR101193731B1 attached NPL, English Machine translation) and Pav (US4290353A).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Moon discloses a roll press apparatus for manufacturing electrode plates, the roll press apparatus comprising:
a frame (inherent, any apparatus having a frame);
a first pressure roller (fig.4: (10)) rotatably supported by the frame and configured to apply pressure to a first surface of an electrode plate;
a first magnet ((fig.4: (32)) provided in the first pressure roller;
a second pressure roller (fig.4: (20)) rotatably supported by the frame and configured to apply pressure to a second surface of the electrode plate;
a second magnet (fig.4: (32)) provided in the second pressure roller;
a driver (fig.1)) configured to provide a rotational driving force to the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller;
wherein the first magnet and the second magnet are provided on outer surfaces of the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller, respectively (fig.4).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Moon does not disclose electromagnet; and a distance sensor configured to sense a distance between the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller; and a controller configured to receive a signal from the distance sensor and vary a strength of magnetic force from the first electromagnet and the second electromagnet so that the distance between the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller is maintained; and coil shaped.
Hee teaches a roll press apparatus (fig.2: (200)) for manufacturing electrode plates (paragraphs 0001 and 0031-0043), the roll press apparatus comprising:
a frame (inherent, any apparatus having a frame);
a first pressure roller (fig.2: upper (210)) rotatably supported by the frame and configured to apply pressure to a first surface of an electrode plate;
a first electromagnet (fig.2: upper (215)) provided in the first pressure roller;
a second pressure roller (fig.2: lower (210)) rotatably supported by the frame and configured to apply pressure to a second surface of the electrode plate;
a second electromagnet (fig.2: lower (215)) provided in the second pressure roller;
a driver (fig.2: (220)) configured to provide a rotational driving force to the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller; and
wherein the first electromagnet and the second electromagnet are coil shaped (paragraph 0041).
Both of the prior arts Moon and Hee are related to a roll press apparatus having a magnetic roller;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnets of apparatus of Moon to be coil shaped electromagnets as taught by Hee inn order to have the advantages of using the electromagnets of controling and adjusting the strength of magnetic field. Thereby having a first electromagnet provided in the first pressure roller and a second electromagnet provided in the second pressure roller; and wherein the first electromagnet and the second electromagnet are coil shaped and provided on outer surfaces of the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller, respectively.
Moon in view of Hee does not disclose a distance sensor configured to sense a distance between the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller; and a controller configured to receive a signal from the distance sensor and vary a strength of magnetic force from the first electromagnet and the second electromagnet so that the distance between the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller is maintained
Pav teaches a roll press apparatus having an electromagnetic roller (fig.1: (7) and abstract), the press comprising: a distance sensor and controller are configured to sense and change a distance between rollers by changing a strength of magnetic force; and wherein the electromagnet is a cylindrically shaped (fig.1, col.8 lines 45-68; claim 16)
Both of the prior arts Hee and Pav are related to a roll press apparatus having an electromagnetic roller;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Moon in view of Hee to have the configuration of a distance sensor and controller as taught by Pav, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having a distance sensor configured to sense a distance between the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller; and a controller configured to receive a signal from the distance sensor and vary a strength of magnetic force from the first electromagnet and the second electromagnet so that the distance between the first pressure roller and the second pressure roller is maintained.
Regarding claim 5, Moon discloses wherein the first pressure roller (fig.4: (10)) is configured to be disposed in the width direction of the first surface of the electrode plate, and wherein the first magnet (fig.4: (32)) is provided on an outer surface of the first electromagnet.
Hee teaches the first electromagnet (fig.2: upper (215)).
Therefore, the modification of Moon in view of Hee and Pav teaches the limitations of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Moon in view of Hee does not disclose wherein the first electromagnet is ring shaped.
Pav teaches the electromagnet is ring shaped (fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first electromagnet of the apparatus of Moon in view of Hee to have the configuration of a ring shaped as taught by Pav, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. .
Regarding claim 7, Moon discloses wherein a plurality of first magnets (fig.4: (32)) are provided on the outer surface of the first pressure roller.
Hee teaches a plurality of the first electromagnet (fig.2: upper (215)).
Therefore, the modification of Moon in view of Hee and Pav teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Moon discloses wherein the second pressure roller (fig.4: (20)) is configured to be disposed in the width direction of the second surface of the electrode plate, and the second magnet (fig.4: (10)) is provided on an outer surface of the second pressure roller.
Hee teaches the second electromagnet (fig.2: lower (215)).
Therefore, the modification of Moon in view of Hee and Pav teaches the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Moon in view of Hee does not disclose wherein the second electromagnet is ring shaped.
Pav teaches the electromagnet is ring shaped (fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second electromagnet of the apparatus of Moon in view of Hee to have the configuration of a ring shaped r as taught by Pav, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. .
Regarding claim 10, Moon discloses wherein a plurality of second magnets (fig.4: (34)) are provided on the outer surface of the second pressure roller.
Hee teaches a plurality of the second electromagnet (fig.2: lower (215)).
Therefore, the modification of Moon in view of Hee and Pav teaches the limitations of claim 10.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725