DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al (PG Pub NO 2022/0157919) in view of Wang et al (PG Pub NO 2023/0205377)
As in claim 1, Tian et al discloses a light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) comprising:
a substrate; (Fig 4 item 100)
a driving transistor disposed on the substrate and comprising an active layer, a source electrode, a drain electrode, and a gate electrode; (Fig 4) discloses driving transistor having active layer (471), a source electrode (473), a drain electrode (474), and a gate electrode (472)
a first passivation layer disposed on the source electrode and the drain electrode; a reflective layer disposed on the first passivation layer, and connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode of the driving transistor through a hole in the first passivation layer; (Fig 8 item 126) discloses passivation layer disposed on the source electrode and the drain electrode and a reflective layer (RE) disposed on the first passivation layer (126) connected to the source electrode through a hole in the passivation layer
a support layer disposed on the reflective layer (Fig 8 item PLN2); at least one micro light emitting diode disposed on the support layer [(Fig 8 item EL) discloses light emitting diode disposed on the support layer(PNL2)], emitting red light, green light or blue light, and comprising a pixel electrode, the pixel electrode electrically connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode of the driving transistor through the reflective layer; (Fig 8) discloses a light emitting layer EL (organic light emitting diode) at least partially in the subpixel aperture and on a side of the anode AD connected to drain electrode (D) of the driving transistor through the reflective layer (RE).
But fails to disclose a touch sensor surrounding the at least one the micro light emitting diode; and a first connection line and a second connection line connected to the touch sensor. However, Wang et al (Fig 11 and Par 0107, 0111) discloses touch sensor electrode (TE) surrounding the light emitting diode (EL) and (Fig 12, 21) discloses first connection line and a second connection line connected to the touch sensor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify Tian et al display device with the teaching of Wang et al wherein touch sensor would be incorporated/disposed within said display device in order to provide user with a device that has added functionality as well as it is well known and obvious in the art to add touch input on a display device.
As in claim 3, Tian et al in view of Wang et al discloses the light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) of claim 1, wherein the substrate comprises an active area in which an image is displayed, the active area (Fig 4 item DA) comprising: a display circuit area (Fig 4 display area); a core pixel area located in the display circuit area and allowing the at least one micro light emitting diode to be disposed [(Fig 8) discloses the display area comprising light emitting diode]; a first power supply area located outside of the display circuit area and allowing a first power line to be disposed; a second power supply area located outside of the display circuit area and allowing a second power line to be disposed; and a gate driving circuit area located outside of the display circuit area and allowing a gate driving circuit to be disposed. (Fig 3-4 and Par 0072,0073, 0080, 0136-0138) discloses first power supply (133) located outside of the display circuit area (DA) and second power supply(134) located outside of the display circuit area (DA) and a gate-on-array (GOA) area outside the display area is provided. Thus it is obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to deduce the display area (DA) has light emitting diode is disposed and components of display pixel/display such as power supply, gate driving circuit are disposed outside of the display circuit area (DA) in order not to interfere display light to the user.
As in claim 4, Tian et al in view of Wang et al discloses the light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) of claim 1, wherein the at least one micro light emitting diode comprises: a first electrode and a second electrode; the pixel electrode electrically connected to the first electrode, the pixel electrode including a conductive material; and a common electrode electrically connected to the second electrode. (Fig 8) discloses pixel electrode electrically connected to the first electrode having conductive material and a common electrode.
As in claim 15, Tian et al in view of Wang et al discloses the light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) of claim 1, further comprising: a second passivation layer disposed on the first passivation layer; and a third passivation layer disposed on the reflective layer. Tian et al (Fig 8) discloses passivation layers.
Claim(s) 2, 6, 7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al (PG Pub NO 2022/0157919) in view of Wang et al (PG Pub NO 2023/0205377)in further view of Park et al (PG Pub NO 2023/0195252)
As in claim 2, Tian et al in view of Wang et al discloses the light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) of claim 1, wherein the touch sensor comprises a first touch sensor electrode spaced apart from the at least one micro light emitting diode Wang et al (Fig 11 and Par 0107, 0111) discloses touch sensor electrode (TE) surrounding the light emitting diode (EL) . But fails to disclose touch sensor electrode comprising the same conductive material as the pixel electrode. However Park et al (Fig 14) discloses first touch sensor electrode (TS) spaced apart from the at least one micro light emitting diode (P) and (Par 0075) discloses The touch sensor electrode TSE may include the same material as the cathode electrode CE of the pixel P. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Tian et al in view of Wang et display device with the teaching of Park et al such that touch sensor electrode and pixel electrode would comprise same conductive material in order to reduce cost by utilizing same material.
As in claim 6, Tian et al in view of Wang et al in further view Park et al discloses the light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) of claim 2, wherein the touch sensor further comprises a second touch sensor electrode disposed adjacent to the first touch sensor electrode in a column direction and comprising a same conductive material as the reflective layer, wherein the first touch sensor electrode and the second touch sensor electrode are electrically interconnected to each other through one connection line among the first connection line and the second connection line, and wherein the one connection line comprises at least one of the same conductive material as the reflective layer, a same conductive material as the source electrode or drain electrode, a same conductive material as an electrode between the source electrode or drain electrode and the active layer, and a same conductive material as an electrode under the active layer. (Wang et al; Fig 1, 4, 10A, 12, 14 and 21) discloses a second touch sensor electrode disposed adjacent to the first touch sensor electrode in a column direction and comprising conductive material as the relay electrode and having vertical connection line electrically interconnecting the first touch sensor electrode and the second touch sensor electrode wherein all display electrodes comprising conductive material that allow signals/electricity to be transferred/transmitted.
As in claim 7, Tian et al in view of Wang et al in further view Park et al discloses the light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) of claim 2, wherein the touch sensor further comprises a third touch sensor electrode disposed adjacent to the first touch sensor electrode in a row direction and comprising the same conductive material as the pixel electrode, wherein the first touch sensor electrode and the third touch sensor electrode are electrically interconnected to each other through one connection line among the first connection line and the second connection line, wherein the horizontal connection line comprises the same conductive material as the pixel electrode. (Wang et al; Fig 1, 4, 10A, 12, 14 and 21) discloses plurality of touch sensor electrode disposed adjacent to other touch electrodes in a row direction and comprising conductive material as other electrodes.
As in claim 10, Tian et al in view of Wang et al discloses the light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) of claim 1, but fails to disclose one of the first connection line and the second connection line intersects at least one data line, and the other of the first connection line and the second connection line intersects at least one scan line. However Park et al (Fig 3) discloses first connection (TL) line and the second connection line (TB) intersects at least one data line (DL), and the other of the first connection line and the second connection line intersects at least one scan line (SCANL). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Tian et al in view of Wang et al touch display device with the teaching of Park et al touch display device in order to elaborate the locations of connections lines with respect to data line and scan line within touch display device that is well-known in the art.
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al (PG Pub NO 2022/0157919) in view of Wang et al (PG Pub NO 2023/0205377) in further view Park et al (PG Pub NO 2023/0195252) and in further view of Bok et al (PG Pub NO 2017/0269749).
As in claim 8, Tian et al in view of Wang et al in further view Park et al discloses the light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) of claim 2, wherein the touch sensor, but fails to disclose further comprises a second touch sensor electrode, a third touch sensor electrode, and a fourth touch sensor electrode disposed adjacent to the micro light emitting diode and comprising the same conductive material as the pixel electrode, wherein the first touch sensor electrode, the second touch sensor electrode, the third touch sensor electrode, and the fourth touch sensor electrode do not overlap with the micro light emitting diode, and the first touch sensor electrode, the second touch sensor electrode, the third touch sensor electrode, and the fourth touch sensor electrode are electrically connected to each other to form the touch sensor. However, Bok et al (Fig 7) discloses plurality of touch sensor electrode(s) electrically connected to each other and disposed adjacent to the light emitting diode (LED) having conductive material and said plurality of touch sensor electrode(s) do not overlap the light emitting diode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Tian et al in view of Wang et al in further view Park et al touch display device with the teaching of Bok et al such that signal lines are disposed only in one outer area of the active area in order to improve light transmittance of active area.
As in claim 9, Tian et al in view of Wang et al in further view Park et al discloses the light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) of claim 8, but fails to disclose the first touch sensor electrode, the second touch sensor electrode, the third touch sensor electrode, and the fourth touch sensor electrode are disposed spaced apart from the active area in which the micro light emitting diode is disposed. However, Bok et al (Fig 7) discloses plurality of touch sensor electrode(s) disposed spaced apart from the light emitting diode in which the light emitting diode is disposed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Tian et al in view of Wang et al touch display device with the teaching of Bok et al such that signal lines are disposed only in one outer area of the active area in order to improve light transmittance of active area.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al (PG Pub NO 2022/0157919) in view of Wang et al (PG Pub NO 2023/0205377) in further view Park et al (PG Pub NO 2023/0195252) and in further view of Ritter et al (PG Pub NO 2010/0302201).
As in claim 11, Tian et al in view of Wang et al in further view Park et al discloses the light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) of claim 2, Wang et al (Fig 14-21) discloses touch sensor electrode; but fails to disclose the first touch sensor electrode has either a block shape without an opening or a ring shape. However Ritter et al (Fig 8) discloses touch sensor electrode has a ring shape. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Tian et al in view of Wang et al in further view Park et al touch display device with the teaching of Ritter et al such that the touch electrode would have ring shape as an alternate design choice to yield same predictable result.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al (PG Pub NO 2022/0157919) in view of Wang et al (PG Pub NO 2023/0205377) in further view of Chen et al (PG Pub NO 2021/0126171)
As in claim 5, Tian et al in view of Wang et al discloses the light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) of claim 4, Tian et al (Fig 8) discloses a light emitting layer EL; but fails to explicitly disclose the at least one micro light emitting diode further comprises an insulating layer, and wherein the insulating layer exposes at least a portion of the first electrode and at least a portion of the second electrode. However Chen et al (Fig 1-4) discloses the starcher of light emitting diode (i.e. micro light-emitting diode) comprising an insulating layer (i.e. protection layer 130), and wherein the insulating layer (i.e. protection layer 130) exposes at least a portion of the first electrode (electrode 125) and at least a portion of the second electrode (electrode 120). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Tian et al in view of Wang et display device with the teaching of Chen et al to show/teach a well-known light emitting diode (i.e. micro light-emitting diode) structure of pixel circuit (i.e. light emitting diode).
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al (PG Pub NO 2022/0157919) in view of Wang et al (PG Pub NO 2023/0205377) in further view of Kim et al (PG Pub NO 2019/0179466)
As in claim 16, Tian et al in view of Wang et al discloses a light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) of claim 15, further comprising: But fails to disclose a bank layer disposed on the touch sensor, wherein the third planarization layer is disposed on the bank layer. However Kim et al (Par 0099) discloses the bank 270 may be provided on the planarization layer 250
As in claim 17, Tian et al in view of Wang et al discloses a light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) of claim 1, wherein the first passivation layer comprises an organic layer. (Fig 8 item 126) discloses passivation layer. But fails to disclose passivation layer comprising an organic layer. However Kim et al (Par 0120) discloses the use of organic passivation layer in a display device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Tian et al in view of Wang et display device with the teaching Kim et al such that the passivation layer would comprise an organic layer in order to reduce manufacturing cost
As in claim 18, Tian et al in view of Wang et al in further view of Kim et al discloses a light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) of claim 1, wherein the support layer comprises an adhesive material. Tian et al (Fig 8 item PLN2) discloses support wherein the components of display layer would obviously comprises an adhesive material in order to bond each layer of the display.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al (PG Pub NO 2022/0157919).
As in claim 19, Tian et al discloses a light emitting diode display device (Fig 8 and Par 0003) comprising:
a substrate; (Fig 4 item 100)
at least one micro light emitting diode disposed over the substrate, and comprising at least two electrodes including a pixel electrode; (Fig 8 item EL)
a driving transistor disposed over the substrate, and comprising an active layer, a source electrode, a drain electrode, and a gate electrode; (Fig 8) discloses driving transistor (TFT) disposed over the substrate(100) and comprising an active layer, a source electrode, a drain electrode, and a gate electrode
a reflective layer through which the pixel electrode and the source electrode or drain electrode of the driving transistor are electrically connected to each other; (Fig 8) discloses pixel electrode (AD) through reflective layer (RE) electrically connected to drain electrode (D) of the driving transistor
But fails to disclose a touch sensor spaced apart from the at least one micro light emitting diode, wherein the substrate comprises an active area in which an image is displayed, the active area comprising: a display circuit area; a core pixel area located in the display circuit area and allowing the at least one micro light emitting diode to be disposed [(Fig 4, DA) discloses core pixel area]; a first power supply area located outside of the display circuit area and allowing a first power line to be disposed; a second power supply area located outside of the display circuit area and allowing a second power line to be disposed; and a gate driving circuit area located outside of the display circuit area and allowing a gate driving circuit to be disposed. (Fig 3-4 and Par 0072,0073, 0080, 0136-0138) discloses first and second power supply located outside of the display circuit area (DA) and a gate-on-array (GOA) area outside the display area is provided. Thus it is obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to deduce the display area (DA) has light emitting diode is disposed and components of display pixel/display such as power supply, gate driving circuit are disposed outside of the display circuit area (DA) in order not to interfere display light to the user.
13. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (PG Pub NO 2023/0205358) in view of Wang et al (PG Pub NO 2023/0205377).
As in claim 20, Lee et al discloses a touch display panel (Abstract and Fig 1) comprising:
a substrate; (Fig 13-15 item SUB)
a driving transistor disposed over substrate and comprising an active layer, a source electrode, a drain electrode, and a gate electrode; (Fig 13-15 item DRT) discloses driving transistor disposed over substrate (SUB) and comprising an active layer (ACT), a source electrode (E2), a drain electrode (E3), and a gate electrode (E1)
at least one micro light emitting diode disposed over the substrate and comprising at least two electrodes including a pixel electrode; (Fig 13-15 item EL) discloses light emitting layer disposed over the substrate and (Fig 9) discloses comprising at least two electrodes including a pixel electrode
a reflective layer through which the pixel electrode (PE) and the source electrode (E2) or drain electrode of the driving transistor (DRT) are electrically connected to each other (Fig 13-15) discloses overcoat layer (OC) through which the pixel electrode (PE) and the source electrode (E2) of the driving transistor (DRT) are electrically connected to each other, a horizontal touch sensor disposed in a horizontal direction; a vertical touch sensor disposed in a vertical direction and intersecting the first horizontal touch sensor; a horizontal touch routing line electrically connected to the first horizontal touch sensor; (Fig 3B and 11 items TX_TE & RX_TE) discloses touch electrodes TE having horizontal touch sensor (TX_TE) disposed in a horizontal direction; a vertical touch sensor (RX_TE) disposed in a vertical direction and intersecting the first horizontal touch sensor and a horizontal touch routing line electrically connected to the first horizontal touch sensor(TX_TE);
and a vertical touch routing line electrically connected to the first vertical touch sensor, wherein each of the horizontal touch sensor and the vertical touch sensor comprises at least two touch sensor electrodes electrically connected to each other, and wherein the driving transistor is disposed between the at least two touch sensor electrodes. (Fig 3B and 11) discloses vertical touch routing line electrically connected to the first vertical touch sensor (RX_TE) and (Fig 5, 8 & 11) discloses the horizontal touch sensor and the vertical touch sensor comprises at least two touch sensor electrodes electrically connected to each other and (Fig 13-15) discloses the driving transistor is disposed between the at least two touch sensor electrodes.
But fails to explicitly discloses the connection of the pixel electrode and the source electrode or drain electrode of the driving transistor is through reflective layer. However Wang et al (Fig 11) discloses pixel electrode (AD) and the source electrode or drain electrode of the driving transistor (TFT) is through reflective layer (RE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify Lee et al touch display device with the teaching of Wang et al such that a reflective layer is used within touch screen to connect pixel electrode to source electrode or drain electrode of the driving transistor under the light emitting layer in order to guide light to a given direction and provide superior outdoor readability lowering power consumption.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BENYAM KETEMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626