Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2022.0415239) in view of Lee (US 2022.0343863).
Regarding claim 1, Wang disclose:
A computer-implemented method comprising: determining a brightness difference between peripheral regions of a display and a foveal region of the display; (see Fig. 4; [0090-0092]; method to determine brightness differences between peripheral areas and central (‘foveal’) are of a display)
adjusting, responsive to the determining, the brightness difference by setting a peripheral region common voltage to the peripheral regions and a foveal region common voltage to the foveal region (see Fig. 4; [0090-0092]; obtaining common voltage corresponding to grayscale at each respective area to drive the display)
Wang is not explicit as to, but Lee disclose:
adjusting, responsive to the determining, the brightness difference by: applying a set of peripheral region gamma voltages to the peripheral regions and an additional set of foveal gamma voltages to the foveal region (see Fig. 4; [0064-0069]; where gamma voltages are set and applied to areas of the display with different brightness; see Wang for peripheral and ‘foveal’ regions)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, to combine the known techniques of Lee to that of Wang, to predictably allow luminance uniformity between areas of a display with the same data voltages applied thereto ([0027, 0069]).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Wang further disclose:
a top boundary of the foveal region is contiguous with a boundary of one of the peripheral regions and a bottom boundary of the foveal region is contiguous with a boundary of an additional one of the peripheral regions (see Fig. 4; where the ‘central area’ is surrounded by the ‘peripheral areas’ of the display, such that the top peripheral and bottom peripheral areas would readily have a contiguous boundary).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Lee further disclose:
the set of peripheral region gamma voltages corresponds to a collection of reference voltages, each reference voltage in the collection of reference voltages corresponding to a respective digital input value; and the additional set of foveal region gamma voltages corresponds to an additional collection of reference voltages, each reference voltage in the additional collection of reference voltages corresponding to a respective additional digital input value (see Fig. 6, 8-9; [0025]; digital input video data with regional (central or peripheral) gamma voltage corresponding thereto)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. Lee further disclose:
each respective digital input value corresponds to a respective luminance value specific to at least a pixel in at least one of the peripheral regions; and each additional respective digital input value corresponds to a respective additional luminance value specific to at least an additional pixel in foveal region (see [0062])
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Lee further disclose:
including a pause period for a predefined time frame after the setting of the set of peripheral region gamma voltages (see [0024]; dummy frame data where no data is supplied)
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Lee further disclose:
applying a peripheral region gate signal to a set of pixels in at least one of the peripheral regions; and applying a foveal region gate signal to a set of pixels in foveal region (see [0082-0084])
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein. Lee further disclose:
each of the peripheral region gate signal and foveal region gate signal is a pulsed voltage (see ([0055, 0082-0084]; where scan(gate) voltage signal applied in synchronization with Hsync (shown as a pulse signal) for each different area)
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Lee further disclose:
applying peripheral region pixel timing parameters to a set of pixels in at least one of the peripheral regions; and applying foveal region pixel timing parameters to a set of pixels in foveal region (see ([0053-0055, 0082-0084]; where scan(gate) voltage signal applied in synchronization with Hsync )
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Lee further disclose:
the peripheral region pixel timing parameters and foveal region pixel timing parameters correspond to a demultiplexer on time parameter, a demultiplexer dead time parameter, or a source driver signal (see Fig. 1, 6; [0053-0055, 0073-0075]).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1, where Wang and Lee further disclose:
at least one physical processor; a display (see Wang Fig. 5; processor 400, display 200; see Lee Fig. 1; processor 110; display 150)
physical memory (see Wang Fig. 5; memory 411)
Regarding claims 11-20, claims 11-20 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 2, 3, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 8, and 1, respectively.
Conclusion
/kenneth bukowski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621