DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
2. Pursuant to the amendment filed September 4, 2026, claims 1-5 and 8-15 are pending in the application. The applicant has cancelled claims 6 and 7. The applicant has amended claims 1 and 8. The applicant has added claims 12-15.
Response to Arguments
3. The applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks,” filed September 4, 2026, with respect to clams 1-11, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Non-Final Rejection of June 11, 2026, has been withdrawn. A second Non-Final Rejection is provided herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, Claim 3 recites, in relevant part, the limitation, “in the first mode.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Neither claim 13 nor claims 12 or 10, from which claim 13 depends, recites “a first mode.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 10, 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peachey et al. (US 2012/0106748 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Peachey discloses:
Peachey discloses a method (Claim 18: a method of generating simulated engine sounds in an audio system of a vehicle);
Peachey discloses an electric vehicle having an electric motor as a drive source ([0020]; FIG. 1: 100, 110; the vehicle 100 may be a fully or partially- electric vehicle; the vehicle 100 may be driven by an electric motor 110);
Peachey does not explicitly disclose a control method for controlling an electric vehicle having an electric motor, but Peachey does disclose a method of generating simulated engine sounds in a vehicle (see above); Peachey does disclose an electric vehicle driven by an electric motor (see above); Peachey does disclose that right and left external speakers may be driven to produce simulated vehicle sounds that are audible outside/external to the vehicle 100 ([0021]); and Peachey does disclose that a processor 204 may execute a simulated vehicle sound generator module 206 included in the SVSG system 102 ([0027]); all of which suggests that Peachey comprises a control method for controlling an electric vehicle having an electric motor for the benefit of enabling the system to drive right and left external speakers to produce simulated vehicle sounds that are audible outside/external to the vehicle;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the method of Peachey in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the method to drive right and left external speakers to produce simulated vehicle sounds that are audible outside/external to the vehicle;
the control method comprising:
generating an artificial sound in conjunction with a required torque for a drive system of the electric vehicle ([0023]; the SVSG system 102 may generate simulated engine sounds based on the throttle level and the road speed signal; in other examples, one or more other input signals may be utilized in addition to or in lieu of the throttle position and road speed, such as motor load, torque, power, vehicle light status, or cruise control operation);
outputting the artificial sound from a speaker mounted on the electric vehicle ([0020], [0021]; the SVSG system 102 may be configured to generate simulated sounds associated with a vehicle having a multi-gear internal combustion engine; the vehicle 100 may also include a right external (R EXT) and a left external (L EXT) speaker positioned in the motor compartment of the vehicle 100; each of the speakers 105 may be driven to produce sound waves based on audio signals generated by the SVSG system 102. The right and left external speakers may be driven to produce simulated vehicle sounds that are audible outside/external to the vehicle 100); and
generating the artificial sound in conjunction with first required torque being independent of an operation amount of an accelerator operation device of the electric vehicle in a first mode ([0023]; the SVSG system 102 may generate simulated engine sounds based on the throttle level and the road speed signal; in other examples, one or more other input signals may be utilized in addition to or in lieu of the throttle position and road speed, such as motor load, torque, power, vehicle light status, or cruise control operation).
Regarding claim 11, Peachey discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium on which a control program for controlling an electric vehicle having an electric motor as a drive source is recorded, wherein the control program causes a computer to execute a process ([0008]; The vehicle sound generator system may be stored as one or more software modules on a computer-readable medium or may be a combination of hardware and software modules. The vehicle sound generator system may be executable by one or more processors. The vehicle sound generator system may be configured to generate signals to drive speakers oriented to produce sound waves into a cabin of the vehicle, outwardly from the vehicle, or both.)
The remainder of claim 11 is rejected as claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, Peachey discloses that the artificial sound is a simulated engine sound simulating an engine sound of a virtual engine. ([0020]; The SVSG system 102 may be configured to generate simulated sounds associated with a vehicle having a multi-gear internal combustion engine.)
Claim 14 is rejected as claim 12.
8. Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peache7 in view of Maeda (US 2022/0234498 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Peachey discloses that in the first mode: calculating an engine torque of the virtual engine from the first required torque ([0023]; The SVSG system 102 may generate simulated engine sounds based on the throttle level and the road speed signal. In other examples, one or more other input signals may be utilized in addition to or in lieu of the throttle position and road speed, such as motor load, torque, power, vehicle light status, or cruise control operation.)
Peachey further discloses generating the simulated engine sound that changes in accordance with simulated gear shifting ([0030]; the simulated vehicle sound generator module 206 may be configured to generate simulated sounds signals to include simulated gear shifting and operation in a particular gear for a simulated engine type based on the operating conditions of the vehicle 100. The simulated gear shifting may refer to simulation associated with operation of a geared engine found in various vehicles having combustion engines, which may include upshifting, i.e., transitioning from a current gear to a higher gear, and downshifting, i.e., transitioning from a current gear to a lower gear.)
By the foregoing disclosures, Peachey suggests but does not explicitly disclose generating the simulated engine sound that changes in accordance with the calculated engine torque.
Maeda, in the same field of control methods for controlling an electric vehicle, teaches sound signal generation devices and sound signal generation methods for artificially generating a sound signal indicating a sound of an internal combustion engine ([0001]), comprising generating the simulated engine sound that changes in accordance with the calculated engine torque ([0049]; the virtual engine rotation speed generation unit 100 virtually calculates an output torque or the like of the virtual engine; [0086]; by the sound signal generation processing of the present embodiment, as illustrated in FIG. 10 regarding the two types of the accelerator opening Ap, a change in engine rotation speed N′ at the time of starting the virtual engine vehicle or automatic gear shifting of the transmission gear can be simulated, and it is possible to artificially generate a more realistic engine sound) for the benefit of providing a sound signal generation device and sound signal generation capable of artificially generating a sound signal indicating a realistic engine sound ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Maeda with the method of Peachey because that would have enabled the method to provide a sound signal generation device and sound signal generation capable of artificially generating a sound signal indicating a realistic engine sound ([0008]).
Claim 15 is rejected as claim 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claim 1 and claims 2-5, 8, and 9, which depend from claim 1, are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art does not disclose, teach, or suggest an electric vehicle having an electric motor as a drive source, the electric vehicle comprising processing circuitry configured to generate an artificial sound in conjunction with required torque for a drive system of the electric vehicle and to output the artificial sound from a speaker mounted on the electric vehicle, as recited by the claims, comprising:
calculating an engine torque of the virtual engine from the first required torque, and generating the simulated engine sound that changes in accordance with the calculated engine torque.
Cho et al. (US 2025/0058649 A1) discloses an electric vehicle having an electric motor as a drive source, the electric vehicle comprising processing circuitry configured to generate an artificial sound in conjunction with required torque for a drive system of the electric vehicle. Cho does not disclose, teach, or suggest:
calculating an engine torque of the virtual engine from the first required torque, and generating the simulated engine sound that changes in accordance with the calculated engine torque.
Isami et al. (US 2022/0041066 A1) discloses a battery electric vehicle that uses an electric motor as a power device for traveling, comprising a pseudo shifter and a pseudo clutch operation device, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to change the second required torque in accordance with an operation of the pseudo shifter and an operation of the pseudo clutch operation device. Isami does not disclose, teach, or suggest:
calculating an engine torque of the virtual engine from the first required torque, and generating the simulated engine sound that changes in accordance with the calculated engine torque.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Cho et all (US 2025/0058649 A1), which discloses an electric vehicle having an electric motor as a drive source and that generates an artificial engine sound.
/JOHN F MORTELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689