DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanii et al. (JP 2024-042293).
Regarding Claims 1 and 7, Tanii et al. discloses
a lift plate (31) which lifts a stack of sheets (SB1);
a sheet supply portion (28) which includes a conveying member (22) which rotates while being in contact with an upper surface of the stack of sheets lifted by the lift plate, and supplies a sheet (SH1) that comes into contact with the conveying member to a conveying path (i.e. the path from 31 to 25 and further downstream, Fig. 3);
a detection portion (25) which detects the sheet supplied by the sheet supply portion on the conveying path;
a first measurement processing portion (42) which measures, when the stack of sheets is lifted by the lift plate, an elapsed time from a start of supply of a first sheet by the sheet supply portion to a time when the first sheet is detected by the detection portion ("Specifically, the first measurement processing unit 42 calculates the elapsed time from the timing when the second driving force supplying unit 28 starts supplying the rotational driving force to the paper feed roller 23 to the timing when the sheet sensor 25 detects the sheet to the first measurement processing unit 42. Measure as elapsed time.");
a second measurement processing portion (43) which measures, after the measurement by the first measurement processing portion, an elapsed time from the start of supply of a second sheet by the sheet supply portion to the time when the second sheet is detected by the detection portion ("Specifically, the second measurement processing unit 43 calculates the elapsed time from the timing when the second driving force supplying unit 28 starts supplying the rotational driving force to the paper feed roller 23 to the timing when the sheet sensor 25 detects the sheet to the second measurement processing unit 43. Measure as elapsed time."); and
an acquisition processing portion (44) which acquires, based on a measurement result obtained by the first measurement processing portion and a measurement result obtained by the second measurement processing portion, a protrusion amount of the second sheet from the stack of sheets at a time of a start of supply of the second sheet, the second sheet having been supplied at a time of the measurement by the second measurement processing portion ("The detection processing unit 44 sets a first specific condition in which a first abnormal state occurs in which the second elapsed time measured by the second measurement processing unit 43 does not reach a predetermined first reference time. If the condition is satisfied, it is determined whether or not there is a failure in the paper feed roller 23 based on the measurement result by the first measurement processing section 42 .", "A phenomenon (hereinafter, this phenomenon will be referred to as "carried away") (see FIG. 4) becomes more likely to occur. When the delayed feeding occurs, the feeding start position of the next first sheet SH1 by the feeding roller 23 becomes downstream of the first position in the sheet conveyance direction D5.").
Regarding Claims 2 and 4, Tanii et al. discloses
a sheet storing portion (21) which is detachably provided in a housing (100A) of the sheet conveying device and stores the stack of sheets, wherein
the lift plate is provided in the sheet storing portion (Fig. 2), and
when the lift of the stack of sheets by the lift plate is a first lift after the sheet storing portion is attached to the housing, the first measurement processing portion measures the elapsed time from the start of supply of the first sheet by the sheet supply portion to the time when the first sheet is detected by the detection portion (i.e. it measures first sheet SH1).
Regarding Claim 3, Tanii et al. discloses
the first measurement processing portion measures the elapsed time from the start of supply of the first sheet by the sheet supply portion to the time when the first sheet is detected by the detection portion every time the stack of sheets is lifted by the lift plate (i.e. "Note that the lift plate 31 may be configured to be lowered every time the image forming process is completed." and wherein the measurement is made every time the supply of a sheet is started), and
the acquisition processing portion acquires, based on a last measurement result obtained by the first measurement processing portion, the protrusion amount of the second sheet from the stack of sheets at the time of the start of supply of the second sheet ("The detection processing unit 44 sets a first specific condition
in which a first abnormal state occurs in which the second elapsed time measured by the second measurement processing unit 43 does not reach a predetermined first reference time. If the condition is satisfied, it is determined whether or not there is a failure in the paper feed roller 23 based on the measurement result by the first measurement processing section 42").
Regarding Claim 5, Tanii et al. discloses
the sheet supply portion includes
a separation portion (24) which separates, from the sheet conveyed by the conveying member, an accompanying sheet accompanying the sheet, and
the sheet conveying device comprises:
a determination processing portion (via 11, "carried away" phenomenon from Claim 1 above) which determines, based on an acquisition result obtained by the acquisition processing portion, whether or not the second sheet has protruded beyond the separation portion; and
a notification processing portion (via 44, "When a failure of the paper feed roller 23 is detected, the detection processing unit 44 notifies the user of the failure.") which, when it is determined that the second sheet has protruded beyond the separation portion, notifies to that effect.
Regarding Claim 6, Tanii et al. discloses
an image forming portion (3) which forms an image on the sheet conveyed by the sheet conveying device.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Tanii merely describes a configuration in which a failure of the feed roller is detected only when (i) it is determined, based on the measurement result obtained by a second measurement processing portion and a predetermined first reference time, that double feeding frequently occurs, and (ii) it is also determined, based on the measurement result obtained by a first measurement processing portion and a predetermined second reference time, that a conveyance delay has occurred”, it is noted that the claims do not require any specific calculation or formula and do not require how the measurement results are used in making the determination, merely that determination of the protrusion is “based on” the first and second measurement results. This merely requires that the two elapsed times be measured (which Tanii does), and based upon/after the measurements being taken, the determination is performed.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Furukawa et al. (US Pub No. 2010/0225052) discloses comparing measured time to a reference time stored in advance for determining protrusion ([0050]-[0052]).
Katsura et al. (US Pub No. 2009/0096153) discloses comparing measured time to a prescribed time period for determining protrusion ([0126]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 August 10, 2026