DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 82-94, in the reply filed on 01/15/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 95-98 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 82-94 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deaton et al (WO 2023/003922, 26 January 2023, cited from IDS).
Concerning claims 82-86 Deaton disclose double-stranded ribonucleic acids, dsRNAs, targeting INHBE gene (see Abstract). One of such dsRNA comprises sense and antisense strands, of duplex AD-1707060.1 in Table 19 on page 339, wherein antisense strand is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 217 and sense strand is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 71:
SEQ ID NO: 217 1 AAGACGGCAGAAUGGAAAGAGGC 23
|||||||||||||||||||||||
AD-1707060.1 antisense 1 AAGACGGCAGAAUGGAAAGAGGC 23
SEQ ID NO: 71 1 CUCUUUCCAUUCUGCCGUCUU 21
|||||||||||||||||||||
AD-1707060.1 sense 1 CUCUUUCCAUUCUGCCGUCUU 21
Further Deaton disclose that dsRNAs of the invention can include modifications (see lines 5-15 on page 32) such as 2’-O-methyl modifications and phosphorothioate linkages (see lines 25-35 on page 15) and can comprise GalNAc targeting ligands (see lines 33-37 on page 18). Deaton presents AD-1707060.1 duplex with those modifications on page 366 of Table 20 (see explanation for abbreviations in the Table on pages 144-146):
Concerning claims 87 and 92 Deaton disclose in preferred embodiment that antisense strand can comprise overhang on 3’ end (see line 16 on page 76).
Concerning claims 88-89 Deaton disclose that all nucleotides of dsRNA can be modified (see lines 1-5 on page 53), also modified AD-1707060.1 duplex on page 366 of Table 20 shows modifications in both strands:
Concerning claims 90-92 Deaton disclose that GalNAc ligand can be at 5’ end of the sense strand (see lines 27-28 on page on page 80).
Concerning claims 93-94 Deaton disclose pharmaceutical composition of dsRNAs further comprising pharmaceutically acceptable diluents (see lines 12-17 on page 19).
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637