DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 82-94 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deaton et al (WO 2023/003922, 26 January 2023, cited from IDS).
Concerning claims 82-86 Deaton disclose double-stranded ribonucleic acids, dsRNAs, targeting INHBE gene (see Abstract). One of such dsRNA comprises sense and antisense strands, of duplex AD-1707060.1 in Table 19 on page 339, wherein antisense strand is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 217 and sense strand is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 71:
Further Deaton disclose that dsRNAs of the invention can include modifications (see lines 5-15 on page 32) such as 2'-O-methyl modifications and phosphorothioate linkages (see lines 25-35 on page 15) and can comprise GalNAc targeting ligands (see lines 33-37 on page 18). Thus, Deaton disclose dsRNAs satisfying structural requirements of claims 82-86.
Concerning claims 87 and 92 Deaton disclose in preferred embodiment that antisense strand can comprise overhang on 3' end (see line 16 on page 76).
Concerning claims 88-89 Deaton disclose that all nucleotides of dsRNA can be modified (see lines 1-5 on page 53), also modified AD-1707060.1 duplex on page 366 of Table 20 shows modifications in both strands:
While this example of modified dsRNA includes 2’- deoxyribonucleotides, this is just one specific example of modified dsRNAs disclosed.
Concerning claims 90-92 Deaton disclose that GalNAc ligand can be at 5' end of the sense strand (see lines 27-28 on page on page 80).
Concerning claims 93-94 Deaton disclose pharmaceutical composition of dsRNAs further comprising pharmaceutically acceptable diluents (see lines 12-17 on page 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 82-94 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deaton et al, above.
Teachings of Deaton are discussed above.
Deaton do not specifically exemplify modified dsRNA comprising instant SEQ ID NOs: 217 and 71 without 2’-deoxyribonucleotide modifications.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of instant invention to create a number of modified dsRNAs comprising instant SEQ ID NOs: 217 and 71 and 2’-O-methoxy and phosphorothioate modifications only based on teachings of Deaton, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, because Deaton suggest such modifications of dsRNA and does not specifically require 2’-deoxyribonucleotide modification to be present in modified dsRNA. Deaton teach a range of modified dsRNAs which encompass instantly claimed dsRNAs (see MPEP 2144.05, I : “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Concerning 102 rejection based on Deaton reference Applicant argues that the reference does not teach modified dsRNA without 2’-deoxyribonucleotide modifications. In response the reference presents unmodified dsRNA comprising instant SEQ ID NOs: 217 and 71 and further teaches that such dsRNA can comprise 2’-O-methoxy and phosphorothioate modifications, therefore teaching a genus of modified dsRNAs, many of which satisfy structural requirements of instant claims. The reference indeed provides one example of modified dsRNA, which includes 2’- deoxyribonucleotide modifications, but nowhere in the reference such modifications are taught to be required to be present in the modified dsRNA.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637