DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Receipt of Arguments/Remarks filed on June 25 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-81, 83-86, 90, 92, 95, 98 and 101 were/stand cancelled. Claims 82 and 91 were amended. Claims 82, 87-89, 91, 93-94, 96-97 and 99-100 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 82, 87-88, 93, 96 and 99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deaton et al. (WO2023003922, cited on PTO Form 1449).
Applicant Claims
The instant application claims a double-stranded ribonucleic acid (dsRNA), wherein the dsRNA comprises a sense strand and an antisense strand each 21 to 23 nucleotides in length, wherein:
the antisense strand comprises a nucleobase sequence of at least 21 contiguous nucleotides of UUAUUAAGAAAGUAUAAGCCAGG (SEQ ID NO: 272); and
the sense strand comprises a nucleobase sequence of at least 20 contiguous nucleotides of UGGCUUAUACUUUCUUAAUAA (SEQ ID NO: 126);
wherein at least one nucleotide of the dsRNA is a modified nucleotide selected from a 2’- O-methyl modified nucleotide or a 2’-fluoro modified nucleotide; wherein at least one internucleoside linkage is a phosphorothioate linkage; and wherein the dsRNA further comprises a ligand or targeting moiety that comprises at least one N-acetyl-galactosamine (GalNAc).
The instant application claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising the dsRNA and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, excipient or combination thereof.
The instant application claims a method of inhibiting Inhibin Subunit Beta E (INHBE) expression in a cell, the method comprising contacting the cell with the dsRNA and maintaining the cell for a time sufficient to obtain degradation of the mRNA transcript of an INHBE gene, thereby inhibiting expression of the INHBE gene in the cell.
The instant application claims a method of treating a disorder mediated by or associated with Inhibin Subunit Beta E (INHBE) comprising administering to a subject in need of such treatment a therapeutically effective amount of the dsRNA.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Deaton et al. is directed to metabolic disorder-associated target gene iRNA compositions and methods of use thereof. Table 2 (page 151) shows unmodified sense and antisense strand sequences of INHBE dsRNA Agents. One specific dsRNA taught is AD-1657641 which corresponds to positions 2162-2184 of INHBE. As shown below the sense sequence has 19 contiguous nucleotides of instant SEQ ID No: 126 (Qy):
And the antisense strand has 21 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 272 (Qy):
Table 3 shows modified sense and antisense strand sequences of INHBE dsRNA agents including AD-1657641 (which is the same sequence as the unmodified AD-1547641 set forth above) wherein the sense strand has the sequence: cscsuggcUfuAfUfAfcuuucuuaauL96 and the antisense strand has the sequence: asUfsuaaGfaAfAfguauAfaGfccaggscsg (page 156). As established on page 145 this modified sequences include a 2’-O methyl modified phosphorothioate, for example cs, and L96 is a ligand comprising a GalNAc.
Additionally, Deaton et al. claims a double stranded ribonucleic acid (dsRNA) agent for inhibiting expression of a metabolic disorder-associated target gene selected from the group consisting of inhibin subunit beta E (INHBE)…wherein the dsRNA comprises a sense strand and an antisense strand forming a double stranded region, wherein the sense strand comprises at least 15 contiguous nucleotides differing by no more than 3 nucleotides from the nucleotide sequence of any one of SEQ ID NO: 1…and the antisense strand comprises at least 15 contiguous nucleotides differing by no more than 3 nucleotides from the corresponding portion of the nucleotide sequence of any one of SEQ ID NO: 2…(claim 1). SEQ ID NO: 1 corresponds to NM_031479.5 Homo sapiens inhibin subunit beta E (INHBE), mRNA whereas SEQ ID NO: 2 is the reverse complement of SEQ ID NO: 1 (page 425-426).The INHBE target gene is expressly claimed (claim 7).
As claimed, all of the nucleotides in the sense and/or antisense strand are modified (claim 25) wherein modifications include 2’-O-methyl modified nucleotide, 2’-fluoromodified nucleotide and phosphorothioate group (claim 26). As claimed the double stranded region is 21-23 nucleotide pairs in length (claim 38).
As claimed the dsRNA agent further comprises a targeting ligand which comprises a GalNAc (claims 72, 74-76).
Claimed is a pharmaceutical composition for inhibiting expression of a metabolic disorder-associated target gene selected grom the group consisting of INHBE comprising the dsRNA agent and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 123).
Claimed is a method of inhibiting expression of a metabolic disorder-associated target gene selected from the group consisting of inhibin subunit beta E (INHBE)…in a cell, the method comprising contact the cell with the dsRNA agent or the pharmaceutical composition thereby inhibiting expression of the metabolic disorder-associated target gene in the cell (claim 129; 130). Inhibiting expression decreases metabolic disorder-associated target gene protein level in serum of the subject by at least 50% (claim 144). Treating a subject having a metabolic disorder is claimed (claim 145). Disorders include cardiovascular disease (claim 157). Therapeutic doses taught are from about 0.01 mg/kg to about 50 mg/kg (claim 164).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
While Deaton et al. expressly teaches sequences which fall within the scope claimed, Deaton et al. does not expressly teach a length of 21 nucleotides, the sequences in a pharmaceutical composition or in the method.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a dsRNA comprising a sense and antisense strand which is 21 nucleotides in length and differs by no more than 3 nucleotides from SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2 and is modified and conjugated to a ligand. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to form this dsRNA as Deaton et al. expressly claims a dsRNA corresponding to these sequences. As specifically claimed the length is 21, 22 or 23 nucleotides. Therefore, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to form a dsRNA of this length. Regarding the claimed modification, Deaton et al. exemplify sequences with both 2’-O methyl and phosphorothioate rendering the choice of these obvious and expressly teaches a GalNAc ligand attached.
Regarding the instantly claimed sequences:
Instant SEQ ID NO: 126 (Qy) and Deaton et al. SEQ ID No: 1 (Db)
Instant SEQ ID NO: 272 (Qy) and Deaton et al. SEQ ID NO: 2 (Db)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form instantly claimed SEQ ID No: 126 and 272 as these are sequences which meet the requirements of dsRNA taught in Deaton et al. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to target this portion of SEQ ID NO: 1 as exemplified compound AD-1657641 targets a similar region. Rendering obvious claims 82 and 87-88.
Regarding claim 87, as shown in Table 3, the sense and antisense strand both contain at least one modified nucleotide, such as 2’-O methyl modified phosphorothioate.
Regarding claim 88, as shown in Table 3, the sense and antisense strand both contain at least one phosphorothioate linkage.
Regarding claim 93, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and utilize the dsRNA with a carrier. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize a pharmaceutical composition with a carrier in order to deliver the dsRNA. One skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success as Deaton et al. expressly teaches a pharmaceutical composition with the dsRNA.
Regarding claims 96 and 99, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to contact a cell with the dsRNA. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to contact a cell with the dsRNA in order to inhibit expression of INHBE as taught by Deaton et al. Regarding the claimed “maintaining the cell…for a time sufficient”, the instant specification provides no limiting definition of time sufficient. Deaton et al. teaches inhibiting expression decreases metabolic disorder-associated target gene protein level in serum of the subject by at least 50%. This reads on a time sufficient. Deaton et al. teaches administering therapeutically effective doses and expressly claims dosage amounts which are suitable. Therefore, Deaton et al. teaches the same administering/contacting as claimed.
Claims 89, 91, 94, 97 and 100 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deaton et al. (WO2023003922, cited on PTO Form 1449) as applied to 82, 87-88, 93, 96 and 99 above in view of Li et al. (WO2019055633).
Applicant Claims
The instant application claims the ligand or targeting moiety is conjugated to the 5’ end of the sense strand of the dsRNA.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
The teachings of Deaton et al. are set forth above. Deaton et al. teaches suitable ligands are disclosed in WO2019055633 (Li et al.) (page 119).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
While Deaton et al. teaches ligands, Deaton et al. does not teach conjugation to the 5’ end of the sense strand of the dsRNA. However, Deaton et al. directs the reader to Li et al.
Li et al. is directed to RNAi agents and compositions. The RNAi agents contain a targeting ligand which is an N-acetyl-galactosamine (claims 10-12). The targeting ligand can be conjugated to the 5’ and/or 3’ end of the sequence (page 79; 80) with conjugation to the 5’ end of the sense strand specifically taught (page 79; claim 16).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Deaton et al. and Li et al. and conjugate the targeting ligand comprising GalNAc to the 5’ end of the sense strand. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to attach the targeting ligand to the 5’ end as Li et al. suggest that the target ligand can be conjugated to either the 5’ and/or 3’ end. Since there are only two choices one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success. Furthermore, since Deaton et al. expressly directs the readers’ attention to Li et al. and their teachings on ligand, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments/Declaration under Rule 132
Applicants’ arguments filed June 25 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that the dsRNA disclosed in Deaton (AD-1657641) does not have a sense strand comprising at least 20 contiguous nucleotides of instantly claimed SEQ ID No: 126. It is argued that the claimed dsRNA demonstrates surprising and unexpected properties as described in the examples of the pending application and submitted declaration under 37 CFR 132. It is argued that Compound ID 100612 has 100% sequence identity with AD-1657641 (sequence in Deaton). Compound ID 100613 has 100% sequence identity with instantly claimed SEQ ID NO: 126/272. It is argued that the results show that duplex 100612 did not maintain comparable levels of target suppression at the reduced concentration. The declaration states that the ability of duplex 100613 to achieve and maintain robust gene silencing at substantially reduced concentrations is indicative of an unexpectedly high level of intrinsic potency. Therefore, the claimed dsRNA demonstrates surprising and unexpected results.
Regarding Applicants’ arguments and the submitted declaration, A Declaration is due full consideration and weight for all that it discloses. Declarations are reviewed for the following considerations: 1) whether the Declaration presents a nexus such as a side-by-side or single-variable comparison (In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1689 (Fed. Cir. 1996)) MPEP 716.01(b), 716.02(b); 2) whether the Declaration presents a comparison to the closest art MPEP 716.02(e); 3) whether the Declaration is commensurate in scope with the scope of the claims (In re Kulling, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990)) MPEP 716.02(d), 716.03(a), 2145; 4) whether the Declaration shows the difference in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both a statistical and practical significance (Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992)) MPEP 716.02(b); and 5) whether the prima facie case is sufficiently strong that allegedly superior results are insufficient to overcome the case for obviousness (Pfizer Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1321, 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2007)) MPEP 2145.
Here the declaration clearly provides a side by side comparison with the closest art. However, the examiner cannot agree that the declaration is commensurate in scope to the claims. The claims do not limit the scope of the claims to Compound ID 100613 as the claims merely require 21 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 272 or 20 contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 126. Thus, even though SEQ ID NO: 273 and 127 were removed from the claims their sequence still falls within the scope as amended.
Looking to the instant specification, SEQ ID 273/127 duplex corresponds to Compound ID 100614, which as shown in the table below performs more similar to Compound 100612 than 100613:
. Therefore, if 100613 possess unexpected properties as stated by the declarant in the declaration under Rule 132, the declaration cannot be said to show an unexpected effect over the full scope of the claims as compound 100614 falls within the scope claimed and does not possess the same effect from 0.1 nM to 10 nM as indicated as for 100613.
Double Patenting
Claims 82, 87-89, 91, 93-94, 96-97 and 99-100 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-81 of copending Application No. 19163749. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The instant application claims a double-stranded ribonucleic acid (dsRNA), wherein the dsRNA comprises a sense strand and an antisense strand each 21 to 23 nucleotides in length, wherein:
the antisense strand comprises a nucleobase sequence of at least 21 contiguous nucleotides of UUAUUAAGAAAGUAUAAGCCAGG (SEQ ID NO: 272); and
the sense strand comprises a nucleobase sequence of at least 20 contiguous nucleotides of UGGCUUAUACUUUCUUAAUAA (SEQ ID NO: 126);
wherein at least one nucleotide of the dsRNA is a modified nucleotide selected from a 2’- O-methyl modified nucleotide or a 2’-fluoro modified nucleotide; wherein at least one internucleoside linkage is a phosphorothioate linkage; and wherein the dsRNA further comprises a ligand or targeting moiety that comprises at least one N-acetyl-galactosamine (GalNAc).
The instant application claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising the dsRNA and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, excipient or combination thereof.
The instant application claims a method of inhibiting Inhibin Subunit Beta E (INHBE) expression in a cell, the method comprising contacting the cell with the dsRNA and maintaining the cell for a time sufficient to obtain degradation of the mRNA transcript of an INHBE gene, thereby inhibiting expression of the INHBE gene in the cell.
The instant application claims a method of treating a disorder mediated by or associated with Inhibin Subunit Beta E (INHBE) comprising administering to a subject in need of such treatment a therapeutically effective amount of the dsRNA.
Copending ‘749 claims a double-stranded ribonucleic acid for inhibiting expression of angiotensinogen (INHBE) wherein the dsRNA comprises a sense strand and an antisense strand each 15 to 30 nucleotides in length. Specific sequences claimed include 603, 594, 611, and 620.
Instant SEQ ID NO: 272 (Qy) and Copending ‘749 SEQ ID NO: 603 (Db) have 100% identity.
Instant SEQ ID NO: 126 (Qy) and Copending ‘749 SEQ ID No: 594 (Db) have 100% identity.
As claimed at least one nucleotide of the dsRNA is a modified nucleotide selected from group consisting of a 2’-O methyl modified, a 5’-phosphorthioate, etc. (claim 31). At least one phosphorothioate is claimed (claim 60). A ligand or targeting moiety conjugated to the 5’ end of the dsRNA is claimed specifically the sense strand (claim 62; 64). The targeting moiety is a GalNAc (claim 65). A pharmaceutical composition with the dsRNA and carrier is claimed (claim 76). A method of inhibiting INHBE expression is a cell with the same method steps as instantly claimed is claimed (claim 77). A method of treating a disorder with the same method step as instantly claimed is claimed (claim 79).
The difference between the instant claims and copending ‘749 is that ‘749 does not expressly claim SEQ ID NO: 603, 594, 611, and 620 have at least one modified nucleotide, at least one internucleoside linkage and a ligand or targeting moiety. However, copending ‘749 does claim that such features can be part of the dsRNA.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize any of the specifically taught modifications and ligands. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try any of the specifically taught modifications, internucleoside linkages and ligand/targeting moiety as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp. Note: MPEP 2141 KSR International CO. v. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007).
Regarding the claimed sequences in 88 and 91, copending ‘749 claims sequences with the required number of contiguous nucleotides.
Regarding the length of 21 nucleotides in claims 88 and 91 , copending ‘749 claims an overlapping length of 15 to 30. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 89-90, 91-92, copending ‘749 claims conjugation at the 5’ end of the sense strand.
Regarding claims 93-94, copending ‘749 claims the same pharmaceutical composition.
Regarding claims 96-97 and 99-100, copending ‘749 claims the same methods.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed June 25 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that copending ‘749 is not a proper ODP as it is not earlier filed. Applicants refer to Allergen which Applicants argue indicates that there can be no ODP rejection because an ODP reference must have an earlier effective filing date.
Regarding Applicants arguments, firstly, the MPEP makes it clear that if double patenting is the only remaining rejection, then non-statutory double patenting over a later filed application can be dropped to allow for the earlier filed application to proceed to allowance. Note: MPEP 804. However, as previously indicated copending ‘749 is not later filed.
As set forth in MPEP 804 I.B.1 (a):
Here, the instant application has a patent term filing date of March 11 2024 (as priority under 35 USC 119 is not taken into consideration when determining the patent term filing date). Copending ‘749 also has a patent term filing date of March 11 2024.
Therefore, the instant application and copending ‘749 have the same patent term filing date: As pointed to in the last Office Action, MPEP 804 I.B.1 (b) (ii) expressly states:
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Regarding the arguments with regards to Allergen, the USPTO has designated as precedential an Appeals Review Panel decision. Ex parte Baurin, Appeal 2024-002920 (ARP Aug. 6, 2026) (precedential). In this decision, the guidance to USPTO personal on how the Office will apply Allergen is stated. Specifically it is stated that USPTO personnel should continue to follow existing pre-Allergan OTDP practice discussed in MPEP § 804 unless a determination is made that the holding of Allergan applies because (1) the application (or patent under reexamination) and the OTDP reference are in the same family and have the same patent term filing date, and (2) the claims under examination are first-filed, first- issued, and later-expiring. In this context, consistent with Allergan, a first- filed, first-issued claim is a claim present in a patent that has the first actual filing date and the first issue date of all the patents in that family. This can arise in reexamination of a patent or in an application for reissue. It will rarely, if ever, arise in original examination because a patent examiner will rarely, if ever, be in a position to determine that the claims under examination will be first-filed, first-issued, and later-expiring claims.
Therefore, the guidance in MPEP 804 still applies for the reasons set forth above and the rejection is maintained.
Claims 82, 87-89, 91, 93-94, 96-97 and 99-100 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-112 of copending Application No. 19622634. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
The instant claims are set forth above.
Copending ‘634 claims a double-stranded ribonucleic acid (dsRNA) for inhibiting expression of angiotensinogen (INHBE) wherein the dsRNA comprises a sense and antisense strand each 15 to 30 nucleotides in length. A specific sequence claimed is the antisense strand comprising SEQ ID NO: 621 and the sense strand comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 612 (claim 28).
As shown in the alignment below, SEQ ID NO: 612 of copending ‘634 (Qy) has 20 contiguous nt alignment with instantly claimed SEQ ID NO: 126 (Db):
SEQ ID NO: 621 (QY) has 100% identity to instantly claimed SEQ ID NO: 272 (Db):
As claimed the dsRNA is modified with 2’-O-methyl, 2’-fluoro, 5’-phosphorothioate. Claimed is a ligand or targeting moiety conjugated to the 5’ end, 3’ end or both ends of the dsRNA wherein the ligand or targeting moiety is at least one N-acetyl-galactosamine (GalNAc). Pharmaceutical composition comprising the dsRNA and pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, excipient or combination thereof are claimed. A method of inhibiting INHBE expression in a cell is claimed. A method of treating a disorder mediated by or associated with INHBE is claimed.
The difference between the instant claims and copending ‘634 is that ‘634 does not expressly claim SEQ ID NO: 612 and 621 have at least one modified nucleotide, at least one internucleoside linkage and a ligand or targeting moiety. However, copending ‘634 does claim that such features can be part of the dsRNA.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize any of the specifically taught modifications and ligands. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try any of the specifically taught modifications, internucleoside linkages and ligand/targeting moiety as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp. Note: MPEP 2141 KSR International CO. v. Teleflex Inc. 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007).
Regarding the claimed sequences in 88 and 91, copending ‘634 claims sequences with the required number of contiguous nucleotides, see alignment above.
Regarding the length of 21 nucleotides in claims 88 and 91, copending ‘634 claims an overlapping length of 15 to 30. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 89-90, 91-92, copending ‘634 claims conjugation at the 5’ end of the sense strand.
Regarding claims 93-94, copending ‘634 claims the same pharmaceutical composition.
Regarding claims 96-97 and 99-100, copending ‘634 claims the same methods.
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL VANHORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636