DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the assembly and mechanism must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 5, line 28 recites “FIG. 6 shows a front top perspective view of FIG. 6”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: mechanism in claim 1 and 16 and assembly in claim 1, 10, 16, 18 and 19
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 16-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification recites "mechanism". It is unknown what included in mechanism. As such, the examiner contends its unknown as the what structure or elements make up the mechanism, as mechanism does not provide sufficient description as to what or constitutes a mechanism.
Claims 1-10 and 16-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10, 16, 18 and 19 recite limitation “assembly”. It is unclear what this element is referring to. Appropriate correction is required.
Dependent claims not addressed above are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-10 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2716543 A1 Beyeler Antoine et al.
Regarding claim 1 Beyeler teaches, a system comprising: an assembly configured to maintain a wing on an aircraft (fig. 1a and 1b), the assembly comprising: a connector configured to removably connect to a first portion of the wing (fig. 2); and an actuator (element 10) having a mechanism configured to removably engage a second portion of the wing (element 8), wherein the second portion of the wing is configured to be moveable (element 9), and wherein the actuator is configured to control the second portion of the wing (para 0021).
Regarding claim 2 Beyeler teaches, the system of claim 1, wherein the connector includes one or more first apertures (element 5 and 6); wherein the connector is configured to removably connect to the first portion of the wing by receiving one or more spars (elements 3 and 4) of the first portion of a wing via the one or more first apertures (para 0016).
Regarding claim 5 Beyeler teaches, the system of claim 1, wherein the actuator comprises an arm (element 8), the arm configured to transfer motion from the actuator to the second portion of the wing, wherein the arm comprises a top portion and a bottom portion, and wherein the arm is configured to receive at least a portion of the second portion of the wing when the first portion of the wing is received by the connector (para 0021).
Regarding claim 6 Beyeler teaches, the system of claim 5, wherein when the first portion of the wing is received by the connector (fig. 2), the top portion of the arm is configured to face a top surface of the second portion of the wing, and the bottom portion of the arm is configured to face a bottom surface of the second portion of the wing (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7 Beyeler teaches, the system of claim 6, wherein the top portion and the bottom portion of the arm are configured to receive the second portion of the wing from a side edge of the second portion of the wing (element 7).
Regarding claim 8 Beyeler teaches, the system of claim 5, wherein the arm comprises a mouth shape including the top portion and the bottom portion (element 8).
Regarding claim 9 Beyeler teaches, the system of claim 5, wherein the arm of the actuator is configured to adjust a position of the second portion of the wing relative to the connector via movement of the arm by the actuator (para 0021).
Regarding claim 10 Beyeler teaches, the system of claim 1, wherein the assembly is configured to be connected to a spine of a fuselage of the aircraft (element 1).
Regarding claim 16 Beyeler teaches, a system comprising: an assembly configured to maintain a plurality of wings on an aircraft, the assembly comprising: a connector comprising a plurality of connecting portions (fig. 2), wherein each connecting portion of the connecting portions is configured to removably connect to a first portion of each wing of the plurality of wings (elements and 4), respectively; and a plurality of actuators wherein each actuator of the plurality of actuators is configured to have a mechanism configured to removably engage a second portion of each wing of the plurality of wings (element 10), respectively, wherein the second portion of each wing is configured to be moveable (element 9); wherein each actuator of the plurality of actuators is configured to control the movable portion of the wing of the plurality of wings (para 0021).
Regarding claim 17 Beyeler teaches, the system of claim 16, wherein each actuator of the actuators is configured to control the second portion of the wing of the plurality of wings, independently (element 10).
Regarding claim 18 Beyeler teaches, the system of claim 16, wherein the assembly is configured to connected to a spine of a fuselage of the aircraft (element 1).
Regarding claim 19 Beyeler teaches, the system of claim 18, wherein the assembly is configured to maintain at least two of the plurality of wings in different directions (para 0011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 11-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyeler as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 20220316509 A1 You; Tiesda.
Regarding claim 3, Beyeler teaches, the system of claim 2, but fails to t each, further comprising at least one pin, wherein the at least one pin is configured to be inserted through one or more second aperture of the connector into a notch of at least one spar of the one or more spars such that the wing is prevented to be removed from the connector.
However You teaches, further comprising at least one pin, wherein the at least one pin (element 118) is configured to be inserted through one or more second aperture of the connector into a notch of at least one spar of the one or more spars (elements 108 and 126) such that the wing is prevented to be removed from the connector (para 0060).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aircraft taught by Beyeler with the pin taught by You with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine is for the pressure bolt to behave “in a “quick-release” manner, enabling quick and convenient connection (and disconnection) of the modular components” (para 0060).
Regarding claim 4, Beyeler as modified teaches, the system of claim 3, You teaches, wherein while the one or more spars are configured to be slid into the connector via the one or more first apertures in a first direction, the at least one pin is configured to slid into the connector via the one or more second aperture in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (fig. 1A), and wherein the at least one pin is configured to be interlocked with the notch of at least one spar of the one or more spars (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Beyeler teaches, a method, but fails to teach, comprising: pulling one or more pins of a connector.
However, You teaches, pulling one or more pins of a connector (para 0059);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aircraft taught by Beyeler with the pin taught by You with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine is for the pressure bolt to behave “in a “quick-release” manner, enabling quick and convenient connection (and disconnection) of the modular components” (para 0060).
Beyeler further teaches, inserting one or more spars of a first portion of a wing into the connector (fig. 3); inserting a second portion of the wing into an actuator (fig. 3);
You teaches, releasing the one or more pins to secure the wing to the connector (para 0059);
Beyeler teaches, and adjusting a position of the second portion of the wing via movement of the actuator (para 0021).
Regarding claim 12, Beyeler as modified teaches, the method of claim 11, wherein inserting the second portion of the wing into the actuator includes inserting the second portion of the wing between a top portion and a bottom portion of a mouth-shaped arm of the actuator (fig. 3), and wherein adjusting the position of the second portion of the wing includes adjusting the position of the second portion of the wing via movement of the mouth-shaped arm of the actuator (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Beyeler as modified teaches, the method of claim 11, wherein inserting the one or more spars of the first portion of the wing into the connector includes inserting the one or more spars into one or more first apertures of the connector (fig. 2),
You teaches, and wherein pulling the one or more pins of the connector includes pulling the one or more pins from one or more second apertures of the connector (para 0059).
Regarding claim 14, Beyeler as modified teaches, the method of claim 13, You teaches, wherein releasing the one or more pins to secure the wing to the connector includes releasing the one or more pins through the one or more second apertures of the connector such that an end of the one or more pins is snapped into a notch (element 116) of the one or more spars that are inserted through the one or more first apertures of the connector.
Regarding claim 15, Beyeler as modified teaches, the method of claim 13, further comprising: pulling the one or more pins that are snapped into the notch of the one or more spars until the one or more pins are released from the notch; removing the one or more spars of the first portion of the wing from the connector; and removing the second portion of the wing from the actuator.
Regarding claim 20, Beyeler teaches, the system of claim 16, wherein each connecting portion of the connecting portions includes one or more first apertures and one or more second apertures (elements 5 and 6), wherein one or more spars of the first portion of the wing are inserted via the one or more first apertures (element 3),
But fails to teach, wherein the at least one pin is configured to be inserted via the one or more second apertures, and wherein the at least one pin inserted into the one or more second apertures is configured to be snapped into a notch of the one or more spars inserted into the one or more first apertures.
However You teaches, wherein the at least one pin is configured to be inserted via the one or more second apertures (element 118), and wherein the at least one pin inserted into the one or more second apertures is configured to be snapped (para 0060, “quick release) into a notch (element 116) of the one or more spars inserted into the one or more first apertures.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aircraft taught by Beyeler with the pin taught by You with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine is for the pressure bolt to behave “in a “quick-release” manner, enabling quick and convenient connection (and disconnection) of the modular components” (para 0060).
Conclusion
/C.M.C/
Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642